Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wine.

• 17-05-2016 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭

Is there a noticeable difference for an uneducated heathen between a cheapo bottle of plonk for say a tenner and a decent drop of grape juice for around thirty or forty quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

Yes there is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Isnt there a thread specifically for you and your questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Those three posts just summed up
    Boards perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭luftmensch

Between 10 and 30 euro I'd imagine.

Kneemos you are very unappreciative of the gift you have been given. I'd love my own thread. A haven for my pondering and shíte talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

If you call it vino, your automatically a connoisseur and can't drink the cheap stuff anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

No....it's all rank

I once had cause to drink expensive enough wine and it was every bit as stink as that schooner cooking stuff you see at house parties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

No, I love all wine equally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

No....it's all rank

I once had cause to drink expensive enough wine and it was every bit as stink as that schooner cooking stuff you see at house parties

Don't think I've ever tasted proper expensive stuff.Love to see what the difference is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Kneemos you are very unappreciative of the gift you have been given. I'd love my own thread. A haven for my pondering and shíte talk.

You have had one for the past 2 weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

I think education is less relevant than taste buds here. If you have a functioning tongue I would suggest there is a difference.

Had your tongue bitten off by a Turk in a grog house fight? Save your money.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    You have had one for the past 2 weekends.

But a permanent non-specific one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

But a permanent non-specific one!

Open one??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The sort that inhabit that thread think Dutch Gold is high brow.

No offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

kneemos wrote: »
    Is there a noticeable difference for an uneducated heathen between a cheapo bottle of plonk for say a tenner and a decent drop of grape juice for around thirty or forty quid.

Cheapo bottle of plonk for a tenner? :eek: I'd expect to get at least ten bottles of plonk for that! Mind you, I have a geographical advantage. :pac:

But the answer to the question is "no".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

There's a huge difference. It always amazes me when I come back to Ireland to see people picking up a bottle of Château Topaz for €8.99 along with their diesel. Peering at the back of the bottle to see the strength of it.

There are a few exceptions, but you'll struggle to get a good bottle of wine for under €20, especially in Ireland where tax and excise rates are so high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Peering at the back of the bottle to see the strength of it.

Dont drink wine meself, I'm more of a beer kinda bloke, but that's normal isn't it?

I mean, who in this world wants to pick up a few good bottles of pale ale / pilsner or lager, spend twenty or thirty bucks on em, only to get the bastards home and realise they're alco-free:confused:
    Personally I don't buy beer that has an abv% of less than 5%.

I imagine the same goes for wine drinkers, might even be a case of a bloke wanting to know what kinda stuff he's gonna be swilling around his guts if he has work in the AM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Expensive wine isn't always good wine.

Have picked up some fantastic wines for between 10 and 12 in some of the smaller little wine shops. O'briens also have some excellent specials and it's fairly easy to get a decent wine for around a tenner. Most of the Aldi specially selected wines are very good as well.

Tesco Gavi or Fiano (often on offer at 9 euro) great for the price.
    So yes you can get good enough wine relatively cheaply , if you know what you are looking out for.

I stay away from the plonk that's a tenner in some of the convenience stores they are rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Kneemos you are a Board legend.

So I have been told WRT your constant questions.

Get a fekkin life love. A quick goggggglllle will sort out the tannin question re wine. But you already know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Kneemos is like Alan Davis on QI, asking the questions the rest of us are too embarassed to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

I can drink an 8e bottle of wine and be grand but the one time I get notions and buy a 13e bottle (**** you brancott estate), I'm in a heap the next day.

Give me beer or spirits any day over those bottles of red and white piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Buy some decent 2015 bordeaux for 40 a bottle in france and in 10 years it'll be for 200

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Next time you are on a holiday abroad op, you should visit a winery and go on the tour, make sure you try a few of their different wines on the tour. Then come home and try some Blossom Hill.

I like wine a lot, but when I started drinking it I didn't really know one from the other, nor did I care. It is only when you start tasting the high end stuff you will immediately notice a difference.. then you will start paying attention to the different varieties.

btw... The mid range bottle of Italian Montepulciano wine is about €8 - €10 in Tuscany.. the exact same bottle of wine back in Dublin airport was €34.

Deep Six wrote: »
    I can drink an 8e bottle of wine and be grand but the one time I get notions and buy a 13e bottle (**** you brancott estate), I'm in a heap the next day.

Give me beer or spirits any day over those bottles of red and white piss.

Brancott Estate is usually only around a tenner in Tesco. I always street clear of it. Nederburg (South African) I think is another one I avoid like the plague. Went to a friends for dinner and it was the wine. Was in bits the next day. Paul Masson is like a big carafe of plonk as well.

I'm not mad about the lidl own wine range I think it's called Cima Rossa.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Depends on the individual's palate too. I have two mates who really know their vino. Like collect the stuff and can blind test tell the differences. I've been brought along to blind tastings with far more educated palates in the room and my faves are almost inevitably the very cheapest and the very dearest on the table. Like an 8 quid bottle of plonk and a 400 quid bottle type range. The mid range stuff is OK for me, but not a standout.

From what I recall this is something about the stronger tastes and tannins in both? So long as my tastebuds were overwhelmed I was happy out. The middle range stuff tends to be more mellow or something.

I can't really recall TBH, but they seemed to have a grasp on the reasons and were able to tell whether I would like a wine or not ahead of time. They were also slightly jealous that I could rave about a Tesco special and an aged wine, grape trampled by unicorns. :D Though where I did note a difference was in aftertaste. The really pricey stuff went down easier and left little bitterness in the mouth. Oh and the fancy stuff was much more hangover free.

This was red wine of course. I refuse to accept the existence of white(Unless it has naturally occurring bubbles). At the Last Supper, it was Judas who brought the Chardonnay.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

The hangover will tell you the difference..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

If this is turning into a serious discussion :pac: then there's so much you can do to wreck a "good" wine, there's a limit to how much it's worth. Not shaking the bottles (when bringing them home from the shop), not subjecting them to extremes of temperature (so no buying the 40€ stuff in Burgundy, then leaving it sit in the car while you go to McDonalds on the way back to Cherbourg), storing it at the right temperature, serving it at the right temperature, keeping it long enough, opening it far enough in advance, drinking it with the "right" food ...

I won't waste good wine (i.e. what I'd buy for more than 5€ a bottle on my sisters because they choose based on colour (just the colour :rolleyes: ) then drink it by the half-bottle. My brother has a better appreciation of why I'll serve one glass of three different wines with three different courses ... but I'd still struggle to justify paying more than a tenner when I can get gold-medal wines for less than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

No difference, it is all grapes stamped around by foot anyway.

I have been known to drink wine from a mug :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

There's a good wine shop in Baggott St called corkscrew. They have great wines and only charge double what they are worth in the country of origin lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Yes , it's like their is a difference between tesco cola, Pepsi cola and coke cola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I find the main difference is the taste.

I won't waste good wine (i.e. what I'd buy for more than 5€ a bottle on my sisters because they choose based on colour (just the colour :rolleyes: ) then drink it by the half-bottle. .

Reminds me of the time I was given a very expensive bottle of whiskey (peat whiskey I think) and not being a whiskey drinker, gave it to my Mum. Visted at Christmas to find her giving out yards about the whiskey "tasted like a lump of turf and ruined the Irish coffees."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

As any backpacker will testify, that's not odd at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've drank red wine ranging from cheap from down the cornershop to flashy sommelier stuff. Neither is worth it imo.

Go to a local wine tasting and find out for yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Often drank it from a tea pot at 7 in the morning after a good session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Here is an interesting video (only 4 minutes so won't take much of your time)

I would agree. People who can 'tell' the difference between wine are talking out of the asses.
    There is a big difference between personal taste and then opinion on quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I had occasion to sample a glass of €900 red a few years ago. Meself and herself were in Tallinn, sitting in a hotel garden, playing a game of chess.

^^
    Not like us at all. Wouldn't be every weekend we'd be doing that!

Anyway, we got chatting to an older couple at the next table. They were Irish too, and recognised the accents. Turns out he is a noted billionaire. I won't name him, but that should narrow it down. Also, he lives on a big boat, with loads of other billionaires. We had a grand ol' chat for half an hour or so before they had to leave, and they sent a waiter over with two glasses before they went. Feckin' lovely! We decide to order anothe two glasses after a bit, and the waiter delicately advised us to check the wine list. Just in case there was anything we might prefer. Sound man! The one we were after wasn't sold by the glass. At nine hundred yoyos, you don't open this bottle just to tip a glass out.

Now, I'm sure if I went down the offie, I'd have picked it up for half what the hotel were charging, but still, that was the most expensive and, hands down clear winner, the most delicious wine I've ever tried. Was it nicer than a €10 bottle of cab sav? Damn right it was. Was it €890 nicer? Probably not. Would I ever spend that kind of cash on a bottle of wine? No. Not even if I had his money. It's obscene. Obscene but very tasty. Actually...... Maybe I might?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My late father was a wine connesieur and had some really excellent wines in his collection. You can really tell a good wine from revolting battery acid plonk once you've tried the good stuff.

On holiday in 2007 in Provence with my ex we stayed right in the Chateauneuf du Pape area and the gite proprietor sold bottles of this excellent wine for only €12 a bottle. A steal when Chateauneuf du Pape retails for €60+ here in Ireland.

But I don't drink wine any more. I'm an alcoholic and wine was my tipple of choice. You can pick up really good wines for less than €20 if you know what to look for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Restaurants will have a mark up of 3 or 4 times what they are paying wholesale for their wine so I suppose it really does matter where you are spending your €10. I haven't seen an Irish restaurant offer anything less than €15 a bottle for well over a decade so €30-40 would usually get you something good but, to me, virtually indistinguishable from the €15 bottle. In Tesco or Supervalue though you will pick up something fairly decent for €10 or even a few quid cheaper. I've been in restaurants that have offered a €25-30 wine only to see the same wine in Tesco for less than a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

There's a rule. If it costs more than €20 then you absolutely must tell someone. Anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I can't tell the difference apart really, what I like and the price are sometimes the same, sometimes way different. I don't drink enough of it to know much about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭MarcoAntonio23

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

If it doesn't taste better as you are drinking it then it is really really bad !

Having said that you probably have to go to 9/10 euros (generally) to get reasonable stuff . Thats probably some sort of price management sort of thing (economics may not be my strong point)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

I drink a bit but am honestly hopeless at telling them apart. I've had really nice cheap ones and horrible expensive ones. If I find a brand I like, I'll stick with it. Going somewhere and want to impress the hosts? Then I'll up my price limit by a tenner and pick something French which has a decent looking label.

I reckon a lot of the wine snobs are bluffing. "You can really taste the Autumn breeze on the initial sip and the aftertaste evokes the hardship of the peasantry of the Mezzogiorno." Shove it up your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

All comes down to taste. I like Pouilly Fume and Sancerre white wine which would not be cheap but on the other hand I don't like some expensive Italian reds like Barolo or Amarone (both way too heavy for me) and love some of the cheaper Italian reds like Nero D'Avola.

I can't drink any Cab Sav reds. I hate the numb tongue feeling the tannins give.

Note: I despised wine before I met my wife and considered all wine the same. It's really not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

In my opinion, there is a difference in wine below a certain price (€7.50 in a supermarket) and the stuff costing more. I'll happily drink an Aldi Red at that price, but it is nice to sample a better bottle every so often. I won't pretend to be able to describe the different regions, grapes, vintage etc., but a good bottle does stand out