Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW38 Transfers. Final chance for a blaze of glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Does Robles start tomorrow?

No. It's Howard's last game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

eh i dunno wrote: »
    No. It's Howard's last game

Balls...no GK so..not worth the hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭IsMiseMyself

While my team is a bit patchwork, it's okay. I'm hoping that a good few people get caught out with no-shows - it's not as if there will be yellow/red flags to warn them for the likes of PvA and Defoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Worth saying, it's also Flamini, Rosicky and Arteta's last game tomorrow for Arsenal. Some might be given a start...couldn't tell ya who tho.

Think I might get rid of Hazard...frees up a bit of cash and I can just bench Payet. All for a -8

Forster

-- Bellerin -- Ogbonna -- Simpson

Tadic -- Mahrez -- Sanchez (C) -- Townsend

--- Aguero -- Giroud -- Kane

Other option is to go without a goalie and have the following for a -4

Tadic -- Hazard -- Sanchez (C) -- Mahrez

---- Aguero -- Kane -- Giroud

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Worth saying, it's also Flamini, Rosicky and Arteta's last game tomorrow for Arsenal. Some might be given a start...couldn't tell ya who tho.

They need a win to guarantee third and also have an outside chance of finishing second, can't see Wenger risking it for sentiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

Think I might get rid of Hazard...frees up a bit of cash and I can just bench Payet. All for a -8

Forster

Tadic -- Mahrez -- Sanchez (C) -- Townsend

--- Aguero -- Giroud -- Kane

Other option is to go without a goalie and have the following for a -4

Tadic -- Hazard -- Sanchez (C) -- Mahrez

---- Aguero -- Kane -- Giroud

So its -4 + Forster + Townsend versus Hazard against the champs.
    My first impression is, and granted I'm new to the forum, the minus 4 wins.
    I don't like hitting in a defender.

Just noticed you tend to agree with this from you post re. Robles!!
    Who can you play instead of Simpson?

Would love some advice. Context: I am three points ahead in my main money league. My rival has made only one transfer so far, and because of that I don't want to take a hit, as I don't want to willingly go into the weekend one point behind. Team, with exactly zilch in the bank:

Cech Robles
    Cresswell PVA Simpson Moreno Smalling
    Sanchez Eriksen Willian Payet Mahrez
    Defoe Kane Aguero

Obviously Arsenal attackers are attractive, but the only way I can afford Giroud is for Kane or Aguero, and I'm hesitant about that. Rolling the dice on Theo is tempting, but it's definitely a gamble.

If not Arsenal, then I'm thinking Southampton with either Tadic or Mane for Eriksen or Willian (if the latter, it can only be for Tadic).

Thoughts appreciated!

Edit: after some sneaky stalking mathematics, I've reason to believe he may have brought in Tadic himself. So there is the blocker potential too...

Ah the Payet news. Defoe and Payet to Giiroud and Saint?
    I'm almost certain not to pick my man Mane, or Tadic 'cos I need a Hail Mary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Will be swapping Payet out for Tadic by the looks of things, joys of the 2pm deadline tomorrow, will hopefully know for definite if he's out or not!

Edit: like an idiot I didn't check if Sturridge was due another drop, now leaves me .1 short for Payet/Sturridge out Aguero/Tadic in. One final kick in the teeth from this miserable season :pac:

Will be swapping Payet out for Tadic by the looks of things, joys of the 2pm deadline tomorrow, will hopefully know for definite if he's out or not!

Edit: like an idiot I didn't check if Sturridge was due another drop, now leaves me .1 short for Payet/Sturridge out Aguero/Tadic in. One final kick in the teeth from this miserable season :pac:

Long and KDB so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Elliott to Pickford

I've 6.1 million to replace Payet.

I already have -

Sanchez, KDB, Mane, Mahrez,

Giroud, Aguero, Long

I want to bench Mahrez so who to buy for 6.1.

I'm thinking Lanzini, Noble or Davis at Southampton.

Any thoughts ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Is payet defo out lads? Where's the news from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Think I'll be very boring and get Valencia in and a blocker

It's that or Tadic for Payet which may leave me with 2 defenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Think I'll be very boring and get Valencia in and a blocker

It's that or Tadic for Payet which may leave me with 2 defenders

In the exact same boat.

Valencia in for Lovern is indeed very meh....was hoping for a spectacular Prodstonesque punt for my last transfer of the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Have to decide between Mane and Tadic. Mane can be explosive but is flaky. Think I will go for Tadic's form, consistency and set pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,466 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Anyone know off hand how many clean sheets there where in gw38 of the last 4 or 5 seasons. Can't imagine too many. Usually full of goals right. I'm going to go with 3 defenders most likely to get attacking returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭LostArt

Deeney and Tadic in for Carroll and Payet. Now to spend the morning agonising over which of them I'll captain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

Still looking for confirmation on Payet before making transfers. This doesn't really help from David gold as it implies he might still play.

David Gold
    David Gold‏ @davidgold

Getting ready to leave for Stoke, tough place to go but winnable. Dimitri Payet doubtful. Good luck. dg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Cartman78 wrote: »
    In the exact same boat.

Valencia in for Lovern is indeed very meh....was hoping for a spectacular Prodstonesque punt for my last transfer of the season

even more boring is the idea of spreading the risk and bringing in Gabriel, its just all so dull!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Sanchez Hazard Alli Payet Antonio
    Aguero Defoe Carroll

My front 8. Would like Giroud but need 3 transfers to buy him. Thinking Payet and Defoe to Tadic/Mané and Deeney/Vardy.

Which options please or are there other possibilities?

10 ahead in one league, 34 in other.

Sanchez Hazard Alli Payet Antonio
    Aguero Defoe Carroll

My front 8. Would like Giroud but need 3 transfers to buy him. Thinking Payet and Defoe to Tadic/Mané and Deeney/Vardy.

Which options please or are there other possibilities?

10 ahead in one league, 34 in other.
    I would go Tadic & Deeney.

Thanks. You in the money yourself today?

I wonder what the odds on Howard getting subbed off near the end to the acclaim of the crowd?! desperate times I know but 1 > -4

http://www.westhamfans.org/content/payet-mystery-deepens-will-he-or-wont-he

As has been widely reported, Dimitri Payet did not train with the rest of the squad yesterday and did not join them on the coach for the visit to Stoke City, there has been no official confirmation that the Hammers talisman will not be playing but it looks increasingly as if that is the case. Top joint scorer Payet was substituted towards the end of the 3-2 victory over European rivals Manchester United, and apparently has a 'niggle', however it is unlikely that a small injury would prevent the mercurial french man from at least featuring at some point in the match. West Ham United coped without Payet when he was last injured, albeit with a raft of draws rather than victories, however we were informed early this morning that Payet may well still make the trip to Stoke and that his absence was due to the fact that one of his sons was unwell and that he had needed to be at home to help out.

Think I'll just leave him in now and hope for the best.

Aaaaagh. Maybe leave Payet in now. Should get some work done once league is over with all the free time I will have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Mother of God Payet you troll. :P Don't know what to do now

I'm just gonna leave him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

I'm no closer to a transfer decision than I was 3 days ago!
    rival has taken a -4 to get aguero in I reckon and possibly captain him
    so I'm now 17 ahead and will make just the one

safest is to sell smith for Gabriel I reckon although payet to tadic is still tempting as is Carroll to rashford or deeney!
    current squad
    Forster Adrian
    smalling bellerin Fuchs PVA smith (injured)
    mahrez Townsend Sanchez payet hazard
    aguero long Carroll

1.2 ITB
    what ye reckon ? if I don't sell Carroll I'll bench him and play 352 I think

km79 wrote: »
    I'm no closer to a transfer decision than I was 3 days ago!
    rival has taken a -4 to get aguero in I reckon and possibly captain him
    so I'm now 17 ahead and will make just the one

safest is to sell smith for Gabriel I reckon although payet to tadic is still tempting as is Carroll to rashford or deeney!
    current squad
    Forster Adrian
    smalling bellerin Fuchs PVA smith (injured)
    mahrez Townsend Sanchez payet hazard
    aguero long Carroll

1.2 ITB
    what ye reckon ? if I don't sell Carroll I'll bench him and play 352 I think

Smith to Gabriel definitely the safest option if you're protecting a lead. Boring but sensible ;)