But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done you with your shiny new PB!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

congrats!!! that's brilliant :) what's up next? are you doing Dunshaughlin or either of our two races?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Very nice, you smashed your expectations! Looks like a well run race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Congrats on the PB Anne, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Great racing, very strong finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Younganne wrote: »
    PB was 29.20
    new PB 27.56. . . ya could say Im Happy with that!!:D:D

And so you should be, great racing Anne!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well done on pb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thanks folks, its great when I manage to surprise myself!!

Firedance wrote: »
    congrats!!! that's brilliant :) what's up next? are you doing Dunshaughlin or either of our two races?

What's Next?? well I definitely would love a crack at the 5k & 10k PB but I'm away on holidays for middle 2 weeks in June so I will miss Dunshaughlin and reckon the running will all be easy running if its very hot (South of France in June?? no idea, we hit a heat wave in Italy last year so will just have to wait and see!!) Clonee 10k is a possibility!!!

time to revisit my PBs and see whats what!!

Distance| Current PB|When
    5km|23.21| June 2013 - Bohermeen
    6km|27.56|May 2016 - Navan
    5m|40.06| June 2012 - Irish Runner,Race Series, Phoenix Park
    10Km|49.58| June 2013 - Dunshaughlin
    10m|1.21.57|Feb 2016 - Trim
    Half m|1.48.45| March 2013 - Meath Spring Half -Bohermeen
    Full| 3.55.25| April 2016 - Rotterdam

There's plenty to be chipping away with there for the moment.

Not 100% committed yet but Hopeful of doing Dublin marathon and i've signed up for the 3/4 marathon in Longwood early Oct to keep me motivated!!!

Saturday 14th May
    Plan: 4m easy
    Actual 4m easy

Went to Kettlebells class in the morning and it was grand but hamstring tightened up after it.

So I left the run until evening time and hamstrings were still a little tight so kept it very handy, by turn around at 2m they were much better. Lovely sunshine but a lovely breeze to keep it cool too!!

10.15, 10.16 10.06, 10.00, 9.49(.10)
    Total 4.10m in 41:35 @ 10.09

Sunday 15th May
    Plan 9m easy
    Actual 9.30m Easy

Foam rolled before i headed out for this just before lunchtime. Another Beautiful day with a lovely breeze to keep it cool!! Kept it nice and slow and legs were fine. Hamstrings tightened slightly for last mile or so!! Went down the main road to keep it relatively flat and take a break from the hills.

10.09, 9.56, 9.58, 9.57, 9.57, 10.00, 9.53, 9.51, 9.49, 10.02(.30)

Total 9.30m in 1:32:30 @ 9.57

WTD: 29:19m
    MTD: 53.36m
    YTD: 646.53m

Mind those hammers! Have you ever tried AIS Anne? I find it very good, especially for calves and hamstrings and its nice and gentle to do - there's some info on it here

Thanks FD, I do some of them already but not often enough. I will add the rest also.

Plan for the Week
    Mon| Tue| Wed| Thur| Fri| Sat| Sun
    Rest| 5m Easy| 6m Steady| 5m Easy| Rest| 1m wu, 4 x 1km @ 4.40, 3min rec, 1m CD| 9m Easy

Im going to have to do some Maths and work out 4.40 in mph!!:o

Monday 16th May
    Plan Rest
    Actual Rest I took a complete rest day and skipped the Kettlebells class and just rested the legs as i don't want to make them worse, they were feeling much better today anyway. 18 years married today:eek:

Tuesday 17th May
    Plan 5m Easy
    Actual 5m Easy

Working from home so got the dog and headed out in the sunshine as I knew the rain was forecast for later in the evening!! Lovely relaxing very easy run, no issue with the legs. followed it up with plenty of stretching and my Kettlebell home program. I started the 30 day challenge for Athletics for strength & Mobility with Kinetic Revolution.
    Stage 1 - 6 days doing Basic Mobility & Balance Training. I'm hoping this along with the Myrtl program I'm doing will strengthen the hips & glutes and will lead to less injuries in the long term.

10.03, 10.06, 10.04, 9.50, 9.57
    Total 5.03 in 50:15 @ 10.00

I brought the kids to the athletics training last night and god love them they got soaked. They have County Relays tonight so needed the practice. Not sure if i'll manage to get my run done today as I'm on Cheerleading duty. the youngone arrived in to the kitchen at 7.30 this morning "Mammy I'm so looking forward to it, but i'm not" she's 7 but running under 9 relay, it will be fun!!;)

WTD: 5.03m
    MTD: 58.39m
    YTD: 651.56m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Conrgats on the Wedding Anniversary.

Wednesday 18th May
    Plan: 6m Steady
    Actual 0 m (3 hrs standing on the trackside:eek:)

As feared I didn't manage to fit in my run before heading for the County Juvenile Relays in Claremount stadium in Navan with Rathkenny AC's 2 newest members!!!
    My 7 year old was so worried about dropping the baton that she was shaking with the fear(and the cold) when we arrived, so we had to get onto the track and show her the different things about zones etc, It would have been easier if the coach said nothing about zones to the U9 team!! anyway she had a great run and she loved it!! She was giving out she couldn't do any more races!!!

Long wait for us then while her brother went in the U12 & U13 relays. He wasn't happy doing u13 as hes still 10 but he wa son the team so went with it!! They drew lane 1 and he was on the first leg and he did his best but didn't like the inside lane but he gave it his all. About 2 hrs later, he was doing 3rd leg for the u12 and had a better lane , lane 4. He was handed the baton in 3rd place and from the other end of the track(as he was suppose to be doing 1 leg again) i watched with pride and amazement :eek: as he caught the guy in 2nd place and stormed past him to hand over well clear in 2nd position. They finished in 2nd place but came 4th overall as it was all done on time!! He was on a high afterwards and this was a big deal for the two of them as they only joined the club last week!! 10pm by the time we got home!!

Thursday 19th May
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 6m steady

Got out for this with the dog mid morning and the rain had stopped, fair auld breeze but nice and warm. The pace in the first mile was fine but in miles 2 -4 the were a bit all over the place with the hills, and turns over & back to add the distance without going past a house with dogs!!! so i gave up looking at he watch and just went with steady feel and it ended up much better.

9.30, 9.21, 9.24, 9.34, 9.25, 9.23, 9.28(.10)
    Total 6.10 in 57:32 @ 9.26

Afternoon spin to Monsatervin to see my insoles man and he is delighted with my progress. He is removing the lift from my left insole as its no longer needed and this is whats causing the few issue with the legs at the minute, especially the left one.

When i went to him first 4 years ago my alignment was so bad, my knees were touching when i stood up straight and now there is about 3 ins of daylight between then and my pelvis is perfectly aligned!! So happy days and they insoles will eventually be removed.

Headed straight back to Navan in time for a very enjoyable kettlebells class. Hamstring were a little tight but the class loosened them out and no issue with them since.

Friday 20 May
    Plan Rest
    Actual 5m Easy

Playing catch up and nearly didn't go our for this because :o I'm a lazy arse by nature, but Community games athletics on tonight so wont get out at home!! After reading about the running on grass on the Novices thread and always saying i will do it but end up back on the road, I decided to head over to the Polo grounds and do the run there, all really slow and relaxed!! The first mile over registered very fast but honestly i wasn't going that fast!! Really enjoyed this today and must do it more often!!! Plenty of wind and it tried to rain a few times but overall a nice warm day and lovely for running!!

8.26, 10.15, 10.13, 10.06, 10.01, 10.04(.14)
    Total 5.14m in 50:23 @9.49

WTD: 16.27m
    MTD: 69.63m
    YTD: 662.80m

Saturday 21st May
    Plan 1m wu, 4 x 1k @ 4.40, 3m min rst, 1m cd
    Actual: 1m wu 4 x 1k @ 4.40 , 3m rec 1m cd

Penultimate Sat class of the CBF program and its always The Dirty Thirty This sends shivers up some peoples spines but im weird and i love this type of thing. 6 different sets of 30 x kettlebell exercise followed by 30 x non k'bell exercise, and 2 sets of 30 runs. Loved it and was buzzing after it!!! Football match after lunch and out for my run the minute I got home about 5 or else it mightn't have got done

I had worked out the 4.40 was approx 7.30 so that was the aim. The first one i went off waaay too fast so spent the rest of the time trying to get back to the correct zone, 2nd rep went away to fast again, slowed it too much and then had to get it back up, 3rd was a little better and 4th was better again. Will take a bit of practice getting the feel for the faster reps!! Happy enough with it and felt grand, weather was beautiful for this and i was fairly sweating by the end. Changed clothes and straigh back out for a bit of a walk with the dog and the youngone, was feeling guilty as the dog hasn't had a run since thur.

9.38, 7.23, 7.18, 7.28, 7.19 9.44
    Total 5.71m @ 8.45 in 49:58

Sunday 22 May
    Plan 9m Easy
    Actual 9m easy

Really really enjoy this, out the back roads with the dog and kept it really slow, sun was shining and there was lovely shade on parts of this route. Even the hailstones half a mile from home was lovely!!!
    Paces are a bit all over the place as theres lots of hill so went by feel for the whole run.

10.12, 10.06, 9.51, 9.52, 10.02, 10.10, 10.05, 10.00, 9.53, 9.47(.11)
    Total 9.11m i 1:31:16 @ 10.01

WTD: 31.09m
    MTD: 84.45m
    YTD: 677.62m

Plan for the Week

Mon| Tue| Wed| Thur| Fri| Sat| Sun
    Rest| 5m Easy| 1m wu, 6 x 600m @ 7.30 pace, 2min rec, 1 m cd| 5m Easy| Rest| 20mins Rec| 5k Race

Monday 23rd May
    Plan: Rest
    Actual: Kettlebells

I had a very interesting afternoon appointment at the Saucony Stride Lab at Amphibian King in Bray. I needed a second pair of runners and i was waiting until after my visit last week to Mike Davis before getting them. One of the pairs he recommend was Saucony Ride and seeing as I've worn them before i knew i would get them. So decided to see what the Stride lab showed up.

My daughter always tells me i run funny :eek: and i knew she had a point, so was looking forward to this.

1. Overall i have very good posture(which is huge improvement for me) but i tend to be too upright, i need to lean slight more forward when I'm running.

2. Both of my knees collapse inwards, the left a little more so and it leads to my ankles rolling in. I have to do single leg squats to address this for starters and them look for more detailed exercises.

3. My left hip is perfectly aligned and doesn't drop but my right hip drops slightly and i have to continue to do my hip strengthening exercises but do a 70/30 split on the right for the moment. I also have to fire up the glutes & hip flexors before i run to try increase my range of motion for a longer stride.

I got my New runners and a better understanding of why I "run funny":P

Back home on time for another great Kettlebells class. We were in teams of 7, 1 resting station, 1 running, 2 x k'bells, 3 x cardio.
    Delighted with my progress since Nov, moved from 8kg & 10kg K'bell to 14kg & 16kg, but still on a 12kg for one exercise , shoulder press, but will get there!! Buzzing after the class:D

Tuesday 24th May
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 5m Easy nearly naked:eek:

After reading about the Naked challenge yesterday, I decided to give this a go. Seeing as i have been trying to slow down my easy runs but I am a slave to the watch this was going to be a challenge. Had to make a birthday cake with the youngest for Granddad when i got home so while it was cooling I hit the road with my trusty sidekick. I set the watch to distance and locked the screen so no peeking!!
    I got into my easy pace and then i consciously slowed it some more, i felt very comfortable and when the first mile beeped in I had a quick glance and it showed 10.23. Continued to keep it slow and kept the pace going on the hill, i usually end up chasing a certain lap pace after this hill, but i just kept it nice and slow. i enjoyed the run and didn't bother with the watch anymore until i got home. I was pleasantly surprised that the nice slow pace didn't feel too slow and will definitely do this again for my easy runs.

10.23, 10.25, 10.26, 10.22, 10.20, 10.32(.22)
    Total 5.22m in 54:11 @ 10.23
    RHR = 53

Wednesday 25th May
    Plan: 1m wu, 6 x 600m @ 7.30 pace, 2min rec, 1 m cd
    Actual:1m wu, 6 x 600m @ 7.30 pace, 2min rec, 1 m cd

Had to take two of the kids to the Dentist this morning so decided to do this before collecting them from school at 10.30 and take the pressure off for getting my work done when i got home. Sent them off to school with childminder and away out the door at 9am. I headed down the main road as its easier than on the hills so left the sidekick at home, i have to sneak out the front door while she in utility room or she'd follow me:eek: she'll be delighted with easy gentle walk later!!

The pacing went a bit better on this than last Sat but definitely need more attention, i start off too fast everytime so need to work on this!!

9.45, 7.22, 7.31, 7.32, 7.25, 7.25, 7.18, 9.48

Total 5.50 in 49:29 @ 9.00

WTD: 10.72,
    MTD:95.17m
    YTD: 688.34m

Thursday 26th May
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 5m easy nearly naked again!! ;)

Headed over to the Polo grounds to do this on grass again as I want to take a little break once a week from the roads. Can't do any harm. A half mile jog over, 7 laps and half mile jog back, watch was set to distance so just took it slow and drifted off into dream world as i went round and round and round - 7 laps. it was only gorgeous!!

The grass had been recently cut and with each lap my nose got more blocked so that it was completely blocked when i finished. No sunshine and no real heat, just overcast day with a little nip in the air you would feel if standing around.

Looking at the stats on watch now its interesting to see the last part back on the road increases somewhat in pace even though it felt like same effort!!

10.19, 10.23, 10.24, 10.17, 10.21, 10.06(.31)
    Total 5.31m in 54.52 @ 10.20

Kettlebells clas this evening, looking forward to that!!1

WTD: 16.03m
    MTD:100.48m
    YTD: 693.65m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Funny that running in grass, I have worn h/r monitor a few times and I
    run about 15-20 sec slower in grass at same h/r as on path so although
    easier on joints must be more of an effort, or maybe it's just me.

Kennyg71 wrote: »

I always find running on grass is more of an effort and its usually slower too as a result of this. Probably why i usually avoid it as i don't like my stats looking slow!!:eek::eek:

I must dig out the H/R monitor again and check it out!!

Kennyg71 wrote: »

nope, me too :) tried again the other day after FBOTS post and same thing, I think its because I lift my knees a bit higher so feet are not dragging in the grass that creates the rise in HR. I'm just not bothering any more :p

Firedance wrote: »
    nope, me too :) tried again the other day after FBOTS post and same thing, I think its because I lift my knees a bit higher so feet are not dragging in the grass that creates the rise in HR. I'm just not bothering any more :p

my legs were covered in grass and there was loads inside my runners!! pfff me no like it!!:rolleyes: obviously not lifting my feet enough!!!

Younganne wrote: »
    my legs were covered in grass and there was loads inside my runners!! pfff me no like it!!:rolleyes: obviously not lifting my feet enough!!!

:D:D to be honest I'm not sold on the benefits outweighing the eh non benefits! its supposed to be gentler on your joints but if it changes your normal running gait and raises your HR for the same pace as the road then pffft indeed. :cool:

Saturday 28th May
    Plan: 20 mins recovery
    Actual 20 mins recovery

After a bit of a lie-in, i grabbed the dog at 8.30 and away before i started into the day. While doing this it struck me that it probably would have been better doing this after kettlebells but not sure i was going to get a chance later so just went with it. lovely easy run and really enjoyed, lovely mild morning, but discovered an hour later that it had lashed in the local village as there was plenty of floods and it was lashing when i got to Navan!!! Irish weather!!!:eek:

Total 2.01m in 22:18 @ 11.07

Sunday 29th May
    31st Patrick Bell & Nicky Philips Memorial 5km race Bohermeen

Decided to do this last week to see if i could do something with my 3 yr old PB of 23.21 from the same course in 2013. Going by McMillian on my 2 week old PB @ 6k I was on target for 23.05, but i really fancied a sub 23!!
    Yesterday evening the I realised the hips were tight and stretched them a bit, and when i got up this morning they were still the same. Contemplated not bothering with the run but then decided to just go and see how i got on and if i had to take it easy, so be it. It wasn't a target race afterall!!

I had an airport drop off to do for 11 and headed back to my mams in Navan. After the journey my hips were very tight and so I had a coffee and left my youngest at Mams and headed out to Bohermeen.

Got there over an hour early, unheard of for me:rolleyes: but i knew i wanted to do a good warmup. At 1.20 i headed off for a warmup and after 5 laps of the track i had to stop as the heat was very intense and the throat was very dry. Headed off for some water and then off up to the start after a bit of a chat with a few different people.

Just shortly after 2 we were off without much of ado and pace was a bit hot:eek:, so i dropped it a bit. The heat was pretty intense but i decided to just block it out and go with the flow and run on feel!! Mile 1 clocked in at 7.12
    Mile 2 was slower and getting slower so i decided to push to get back to similar pace as mile 1. This ahd a short hill but otherwise the course was flat and lovely quite country roads. I was surpised to see people hugging the righthand side of the road even on the bends, while i took the racing line and passed a few on each bend!!!;) mile 2 came in at 7.23.

7.16Ch
    Coming in for the last .1, i was really struggling but still passing people and moving forward and out of nowhere when i turned into the home stretch i found a bit of a sprint finish and clocked .54 for last .14 @ pace of 6.34.

Crossed the line in
    Chip Time 3.14 m in 22:46 @7.15
    4th F 40
    Overall 96th / 267
    Female 16th / 120
    Delighted with the result today!!:D

Great spread as usual from Bohermeen with burgers, tea coffee, sandwiches & buns a plenty!! and lot and lots of hot sunshine!!!

I went for a little recovery run with the 2 youngest kids after i got home as i didn't get to do a cooldown, the heat got to the little one and had to take here home!!!
    wu 1.23 @ 10.13
    CD2.15 @ 11.32

Total for the day 6.52m

WTD: 24.56m
    MTD:109.01m
    YTD: 702.28m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Fantastic running Anne!

That's brilliant Anne !! Well done, nice chunck off your pb there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Super stuff, really excellent racing

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done, great racing and nice PB to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Diggin' deep, very well done, congrats on the PB and placing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Great running Anne, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Nicely done Anne :)