Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

whelan2 wrote: »
    How's it going now?

Looking better, thanks.
    Just finished feeding and doctoring them now.
    Built an outdoor enclosure from big squares and dumped all calves into it.
    Disinfected and fumigated the building.
    Going to leave the calves outside for a few days and do a deep clean on the shed. Disinfect and fumigate again. Then return calves because I really miss the autofeeder.
    20 dead, I can't see any more dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Dawggone wrote:
    Looking better, thanks. Just finished feeding and doctoring them now. Built an outdoor enclosure from big squares and dumped all calves into it. Disinfected and fumigated the building. Going to leave the calves outside for a few days and do a deep clean on the shed. Disinfect and fumigate again. Then return calves because I really miss the autofeeder. 20 dead, I can't see any more dying.

It might be worth your while buying a few hutches in case this happens again. I have an old calf shed that can take 35 and a new for 80. Was lucky I could switch and put the new calves in a clean disinfected house. Once you get it in the shed don't transfer a calf out of it even if you think their ok. Made that mistake and lost 4 instead of 1. Calf looked fine but 2 days later was on a drip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I was just up at a contractors place paying him a few bob and he took me over to have a look at a piece of scrap from a hire tractor he had. He was getting something repaired with the local mechanic when the mechanic spotted a crack near the back wheel.

Turns out there was only one bolt holding the back wheel onto the tractor! Imagine what would have happened if the bolt broke with the tractor carrying a load at 40k:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

hows bulling going,bulling heavy here.gone to stage dont ring ai man now he comes any way.if it continues at this rate bulls will be in after 3 weeks of ai.bit worried it might be too much for them so thinking of giving the hd one week before shipping him to heifers and bringing back the fr from the heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I was just up at a contractors place paying him a few bob and he took me over to have a look at a piece of scrap from a hire tractor he had. He was getting something repaired with the local mechanic when the mechanic spotted a crack near the back wheel.

Turns out there was only one bolt holding the back wheel onto the tractor! Imagine what would have happened if the bolt broke with the tractor carrying a load at 40k:eek:

There is a bearing in the hub's on back of 30 series Deere's for sure that if unauthorized greased tends to fail, disintegrates, causes play allowing the shaft-wheel come free. Can be quite spectacular

Twas a Massey.

Just don't tell Reggie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Dawggone wrote: »
    Looking better, thanks.
    Just finished feeding and doctoring them now.
    Built an outdoor enclosure from big squares and dumped all calves into it.
    Disinfected and fumigated the building.
    Going to leave the calves outside for a few days and do a deep clean on the shed. Disinfect and fumigate again. Then return calves because I really miss the autofeeder.
    20 dead, I can't see any more dying.

Dawg, is the feeder the reason the calves have to stay inside. Can the calves get access to a paddock from the calf shed. Saw photos of a cover a farmer had made for his calf feeder. Basically a 15 X 8 enclosed leanto that the feeder and stations were built in to. The leanto was against the calf shed during the winter and then lifted to a paddock during the Spring. Farmer ran water and power to the edge of the paddock, and lean to had room for a pallet of replacer. Thought it was a clever idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

keep going wrote: »
    hows bulling going,bulling heavy here.gone to stage dont ring ai man now he comes any way.if it continues at this rate bulls will be in after 3 weeks of ai.bit worried it might be too much for them so thinking of giving the hd one week before shipping him to heifers and bringing back the fr from the heifers

94% submission after 23 days. The cows not bred were mostly later calvers. Scanned them and just one needs a cidr, the rest just a shot of eustumate.
    40 heifers ai'd out of 45. Early feb should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

94% submission after 23 days. The cows not bred were mostly later calvers. Scanned them and just one needs a cidr, the rest just a shot of eustumate.
    40 heifers ai'd out of 45. Early feb should be interesting.

Simillar here on day 21 with cows today 90% bred ,scanned what wasn't served on Friday and 4 needed cidrs rest perfect and will leave be till mid /end of comming week before going with estrumate .heifers 100% 12 days .53% naturally and synced remainder with estrumate .teasers gone with cows and heifers now .will watch heifers till June 1 then let Hereford bull in for 2/3 weeks then bring him back to cows .no beef straws used yet .hoping to get lots of heifers as I'm thinking there will be a big shortage in 2 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone using sexed semen this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Simillar here on day 21 with cows today 90% bred ,scanned what wasn't served on Friday and 4 needed cidrs rest perfect and will leave be till mid /end of comming week before going with estrumate .heifers 100% 12 days .53% naturally and synced remainder with estrumate .teasers gone with cows and heifers now .will watch heifers till June 1 then let Hereford bull in for 2/3 weeks then bring him back to cows .no beef straws used yet .hoping to get lots of heifers as I'm thinking there will be a big shortage in 2 years

Ai man was saying as much yesterday, hes nearly running out off bb straws at this stage, also sells alot of holstein bulls for different guys and was saying their is no market for them
    Knows a lad with a bull who's grandmother won the 3 year old class in the dairy world expo in 2008 with the dam recorded at 11000 litres at 4.0%pr as a heifer with numerous show awards herself and was selling for 2000 euro, was nearly tempted to buy him but I'd say his fertility sub - index mighten be the best haha

Dawg, is the feeder the reason the calves have to stay inside. Can the calves get access to a paddock from the calf shed. Saw photos of a cover a farmer had made for his calf feeder. Basically a 15 X 8 enclosed leanto that the feeder and stations were built in to. The leanto was against the calf shed during the winter and then lifted to a paddock during the Spring. Farmer ran water and power to the edge of the paddock, and lean to had room for a pallet of replacer. Thought it was a clever idea.

Exactly Clyde, I'm completely ruled by the autofeeder, but you've given me a little food for thought...

Quick question, lads and lassies.

A neighbour ambushed me over the weekend and handed me a photocopy of a map of our lands. He proposed swapping two plots of his ground about (1 1/4 acres, max) for about 2 acres of mine.

Now I have very little road frontage and these two plots would give me about 200m+ of road frontage extra. The thing is, the only person this land is useful to is me as they are long narrow strips and you would struggle to turn a tractor in. The majority is used by a person of the travelling community for years for grazing a horse and I would be concerned that he could have a claim as well.

Looking at it from my point of view, I would end up with less land and a large bill for taking down and re erecting sheep wire and planting a replacement hedge before knocking both ditches (A rough cost would be around 5k all in) while he would have an extra 2 acres of land for c1k of transaction fees and fencing.

Would I be cheeky to suggest buying the 2 plots for a premium price and just have c1.5k in costs but have a large section of road frontage?

Just to add, I place no value in road frontage as I won't be selling sites or giving them to children so it wouldn't be of much interest to me.

Just interested in peoples thoughts about the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭fepper

He might not want to sell it

Noticed when cleaning the ring yard last night that a cow was passing blood in dung. Checked the herd found/saw nothing. Milking this am and cow lies down while being milked. Plenty milk and eye perfect. Checked her gums and they're as white as snow...found the culprit. Called vet and he says she has a bleeding ulcer...first calver, calved 3mts.

What'd ye think? I reckon she ate something...

She died an hour after vet left.

fepper wrote: »
    He might not want to sell it
    No, he might not.

And if not, it might put it to bed?

Tbh, the more I think about it, the less I want to end up paying a couple of grand for less land:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭fepper

Offer him a good few Kerry coop shares, that should tempt him

fepper wrote: »
    Offer him a good few Kerry coop shares, that should tempt him
    I'm not going to comment on Kerry co-op shares but I do enjoy the speculation around them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Quick question, lads and lassies.

A neighbour ambushed me over the weekend and handed me a photocopy of a map of our lands. He proposed swapping two plots of his ground about (1 1/4 acres, max) for about 2 acres of mine.

Now I have very little road frontage and these two plots would give me about 200m+ of road frontage extra. The thing is, the only person this land is useful to is me as they are long narrow strips and you would struggle to turn a tractor in. The majority is used by a person of the travelling community for years for grazing a horse and I would be concerned that he could have a claim as well.

Looking at it from my point of view, I would end up with less land and a large bill for taking down and re erecting sheep wire and planting a replacement hedge before knocking both ditches (A rough cost would be around 5k all in) while he would have an extra 2 acres of land for c1k of transaction fees and fencing.

Would I be cheeky to suggest buying the 2 plots for a premium price and just have c1.5k in costs but have a large section of road frontage?

Just to add, I place no value in road frontage as I won't be selling sites or giving them to children so it wouldn't be of much interest to me.

Just interested in peoples thoughts about the situation.

Keep talking, youll eventually figure the whole situation out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Noticed when cleaning the ring yard last night that a cow was passing blood in dung. Checked the herd found/saw nothing. Milking this am and cow lies down while being milked. Plenty milk and eye perfect. Checked her gums and they're as white as snow...found the culprit. Called vet and he says she has a bleeding ulcer...first calver, calved 3mts.

It would wanto be a fairly big ulcer I'd imagine. Sounds like she ate sumthing. How was her bcs? She hardly managed to avoide the worm dose? Pain in the hole.

Good bcs. Wormed, and yes, pita.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I know it's too late now, but if you pull the skin in the middle of her back at the spine, or give her a rounded kick to the chest area when she is standing and she arches down her back with pain, you've wire in her.
    With a ulcer, she should have a swollen jowl and the pocket of skin between her front legs should have fluid as her heart starts to fail. They should be present for a few hours at least before heart failure.
    Sh1te when you loose a cow inexplicably like that.
    Harm if the year...

I know it's too late now, but if you pull the skin in the middle of her back at the spine, or give her a rounded kick to the chest area when she is standing and she arches down her back with pain, you've wire in her.
    With a ulcer, she should have a swollen jowl and the pocket of skin between her front legs should have fluid as her heart starts to fail. They should be present for a few hours at least before heart failure.
    Harm if the year...

I don't think it was wire or metal because I tested to know was the magnet still inside, and it was. I think maybe glass...

Thanks for the tip about the symptoms of ulcer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Harm if the year...

I think you're getting two conditions mixed up a bit.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

There are two types, at least, of ulcer. One type high up in the digestive tract, blood will be black, semi digested. Other type in the intestines blood will be much more visible. I can't remember which is the treatable one but we saved a cow with it a few years ago. Transfusion, loads of iv fluids and a lot of coffee. Greysides could probably fill in the blanks.

Blood was black.
    I asked vet to do a transfusion but he told me he hadn't the kit and that he hadn't done one in over 22yrs...it's another bank holiday here and this fool answers the phone on bank holidays....

Animals don't get sick on bank holidays...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Today was a good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Blood was black.
    I asked vet to do a transfusion but he told me he hadn't the kit and that he hadn't done one in over 22yrs...it's another bank holiday here and this fool answers the phone on bank holidays....

Animals don't get sick on bank holidays...

Kit me hole. Any transfusion I've seen the kit is very basic. Mcgyveresque. Usually involving cutting the arse out of a 2l mineral bottle to act as a hopper for blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

So, just shy off 1000 acres on a FBT. Se corner of Lincolnshire just off edge of the fens, might have a 'slight' :D Bg problem which the family trust knows about and would like new tenant to deal with. Although the previous one was beaten back. Who's interested? Mutt and barker want to have their superior management input also!
    http://www.rightmove.co.uk/commercial-property-for-sale/property-54075937.html

So, just shy off 1000 acres on a FBT. Se corner of Lincolnshire just off edge of the fens, might have a 'slight' :D Bg problem which the family trust knows about and would like new tenant to deal with. Although the previous one was beaten back. Who's interested? Mutt and barker want to have their superior management input also!
    http://www.rightmove.co.uk/commercial-property-for-sale/property-54075937.html

What'll it make for say, 10yr tenancy?
    Dwelling houses?