The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Heard that the lads that own/run the Rob Roy have bought Annies in Sundays Well. Anyone know more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

mimihops wrote: »
    Is there anywhere in town to get Breton style galettes now that Paradise Crepe has closed down?

It's closed down? Feck it anyway, we have a gift voucher for it that we were planning to use soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭mimihops

It's closed down? Feck it anyway, we have a gift voucher for it that we were planning to use soon.

Yup it has closed unfortunately and another restaurant called Gwens has opened instead. Now this is purely speculation but it could possibly be the same owners so you should check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭dibkins

Is there anywhere in town to get Breton style galettes now that Paradise Crepe has closed down?

I make them myself around once a week:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭mimihops

dibkins wrote: »
    I make them myself around once a week:P

I'll be over so dibkins!! :-) Think I might have a go off making them myself, couldn't be too difficult (I hope!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Ate in Orso the weekend, it was very good, called in at 9 and there was no free tables so she took my mobile and called me back in 15 or 20 minutes time, which was a enough time to get a drink in Arthur Maines next door.

The food was very good, I had Scallops cooked perfectly with Parmesan potatoes and a lovely house cocktail, girlfriend had a veggie potatoe back which also tasted excellent.

2 mains, 2 sides and 2 cocktail for just under 50 euro, 8/10 for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Orso is that the same as the one in Bandon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Ate in Orso the weekend, it was very good, called in at 9 and there was no free tables so she took my mobile and called me back in 15 or 20 minutes time, which was a enough time to get a drink in Arthur Maines next door.

The food was very good, I had Scallops cooked perfectly with Parmesan potatoes and a lovely house cocktail, girlfriend had a veggie potatoe back which also tasted excellent.

2 mains, 2 sides and 2 cocktail for just under 50 euro, 8/10 for me.

favourite restaurant in Cork, delicious & consistent food and very reasonably priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

New burrito joint opening soon in Douglas, at the entrance to the woollen mills. Newish street food gaff up the road by apache called taken 123 is pretty decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

Seems to happen a fair bit in Cork. Place was always busy when I went or looked in.

Odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

ate in Liberty grill tonight - food was grand - nothing memorable.. the chicken in my salad was v overcooked.. and not the real thing.. my +1 said "it was grand"... but its a nice informal friendly setting.. friendly staff..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Milly33 wrote: »
    Orso is that the same as the one in Bandon

No, orso is the same group as market lane, elbow lane, blackrock castle.

The bandon cafe is warren allen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

sporina wrote: »
    ate in Liberty grill tonight - food was grand - nothing memorable.. the chicken in my salad was v overcooked.. and not the real thing.. my +1 said "it was grand"... but its a nice informal friendly setting.. friendly staff..

What do you mean by 'not the real thing'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

What do you mean by 'not the real thing'?

like it was not a fresh breast of chicken.. and defo not a whole breast - 3 grilled slivers.. maybe bought in.. the processed sort.. but i could be wrong..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

thanks pwuple never knew this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

Liberty Grill is one of these slightly above average places that somehow has been elevated to Michelen status mainly due to Cork's sheep mentality when it comes to food outlets!

Step forward Eco, KCs, Cornstore, Rossini, Bull and Coq...

Actually some of them aren't even average!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 taco.cat

kcb wrote: »
    Liberty Grill is one of these slightly above average places that somehow has been elevated to Michelen status mainly due to Cork's sheep mentality when it comes to food outlets!

Step forward Eco, KCs, Cornstore, Rossini, Bull and Coq...

Actually some of them aren't even average!

Some of those are not like the others!

Liberty Grill is good, consistent food at a good price. It's not haute cuisine by any stretch of the imagination, and it doesn't try to be. It has a menu that's broad enough to appeal to most people, while not being so broad as to be impossible to make everything fresh. It is also very well located. That's why people like it and recommend it.

KC's is a takeaway, so can't possibly be compared with the other restaurants on your list. The reason it's popular is that you can get freshly prepared, good quality takeaway that will have you full to the brim for a tenner or less. It's higher quality than most takeaway places by a mile.

I have seen very few instances of anyone strongly recommending Eco's, Rossini's or Cornstore here. Most people would say they're overpriced or poor quality.

Coqbull, I can't really speak to to. It seems divisive alright.

There's no doubt that some people stick with what they like, but that's the same in any city in the world. There's always great restaurants that will close down because no-one eats there, and poor restaurants that are constantly busy for inexplicable reasons. It is in no way unique to Cork.

The only comparison I'm making is in their magical elevated status. Nothing to do with genre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

kcb wrote: »
    The only comparison I'm making is in their magical elevated status. Nothing to do with genre.

There's no magical elevated status, they are just popular and (I hope!) do well. I'm all for that, fair play to them, it takes a lot of work in the fickle business that is food.

I get that people want variety and going to the same place over and over again is hella boring, but that doesn't diminish that particular business.

And by the way, Cork is exceptionally well served for variety in places to eat. I go out once a month with a group of friends. We pick a different place every month... Thought we would start doing duplicates eventually, but we are into our 6th year of it without a repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

pwurple wrote: »
    but we are into our 6th year of it without a repeat.

The constant closing and opening of places might also play a part in that.

I really would struggle to come up with 70+ places I would be willing to go for dinner in the city. I might manage 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Gutted to hear chilli padi on father Matthew street is closing it's doors tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

rob316 wrote: »
    Gutted to hear chilli padi on father Matthew street is closing it's doors tomorrow.

I am shocked I have been there twice over the last few weeks and I rate there curry's higher then ramon. But to be fair both times we where the only ones in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Oh no! That's a shame. Anytime I've been in there in the evening though there has been max 10 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Fermoy closed too.

Not sure about Ballincollig.

Fermoy closed too.

Not sure about Ballincollig.

The locations are cat when you compare them to ramen. The food on the other hand is streets ahead.

Jimmy the manager in father Matthew st is sound so nice to my son and loyal to the regulars like myself. I'll be going there tomorrow to wish them the best.

The full menu is €8 tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Noooo really? Nothing about it online? Gutted :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Léan wrote: »
    Noooo really? Nothing about it online? Gutted :(

It's on their Facebook page.

Add Ramen to that list of unexplainable popular places........

Fair play to them 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I for one am not surprised. They used to make the best Beef Rendang ive ever had but the standard plummeted a while back.

I know someone in the business who has personal knowledge of those involved and, basically, they didnt want to pay the original chef his due and he moved on... Cue massive drop in standards w/ new chefs.