Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Nonsense the ref was only dying to give ye a chance to level, that is one of the worst calls i'v seen, not a free in a million years, we were never behind in the entire match until the last puck, it was a close game but we should have won and would have if it wasn't for that shocking call.

There was lots of bad calls throughout the match for both teams. Just cause the last one went against you doesn't mean you were robbed. Plenty went with you too. Nothing like a bit of graciousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Figsy32 wrote: »
    There was lots of bad calls throughout the match for both teams. Just cause the last one went against you doesn't mean you were robbed. Plenty went with you too. Nothing like a bit of graciousness.
    I'll be gracious when we lose fair and square, when it's down to complete incompetence and the ref blatantly trying to give a draw i'll complain, The better team didn't win today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

I would agree and i think within the next year or two this overly defensive system will naturally fade away when the likes of Bennetts, Curran, Gleeson, de Burca, Dunford are 23/24 years old. You can already see the improvement in the likes of Bennett and Curran over a one year period.
    McGrath is doing a fine job making us the fittest and hardest working team in the country with a great attitude. Remember, when McGrath took over we were a shambles in defence. He literally had no option but to change away from our more attacking style. It needs to be a natural progression back to a more attacking approach so that we don't lose our meanness in defence.

On last weeks game i thought Barrons touch and close control was outstanding, Shane Fives had his best game in a Waterford jersey and probably should have got man of the match. He looks physically stronger than last year and wasn't shy about using it. Coughlan too has filled out a bit and looks much more confident this year. Derek McGrath IMO is doing a hell of a lot more right than wrong. People must think this management business is terribly easy.
    People must think this management business is terribly easy.ask Davy Fitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

KevIRL wrote:
    Tipp and Limerick well on top, but for a lot of sides Tipp would be out out of sight already, limerick probably already out of sight against wexford

Look we didn't get one for the tackle on Barron but got away with one for a foul on Cunningham. It was just the class of Kelly that just pipped us. There Will be nothing between them again come Munster semi final. The difference in a week on entertainment value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,607 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Sick.

Will give us encentive for June now

Let the lads enjoy the night and train hard in fota

The Clare hype train we will be full steam ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Slieve Gullion

Unlucky today lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Great game. Looking forward to next day... and the one after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

There's no doubt that Kirwan's decision for the final free was a disgrace but he made some awful decisions on both sides all the way through.

Thought we visibly flagged in the last ten minutes and many of our lads looked leggy, tired in mind and body. That's when our decision making cost us dearly.

In contrast the Clare lads powered on and were hurling at the same pace at the end as at the beginning.

To be fair, it probably should have been another draw, but congrats to Clare.

One other thing, Davy Fitzgerald was a disgrace again on the sideline. He does a disservice to all decent Clare people and his shouting at Austin Gleeson when he was injured you wouldn't expect from a British soccer lout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    There's no doubt that Kirwan's decision for the final free was a disgrace but he made some awful decisions on both sides all the way through.

Thought we visibly flagged in the last ten minutes and many of our lads looked leggy, tired in mind and body. That's when our decision making cost us dearly.

In contrast the Clare lads powered on and were hurling at the same pace at the end as at the beginning.

To be fair, it probably should have been another draw, but congrats to Clare.

One other thing, Davy Fitzgerald was a disgrace again on the sideline. He does a disservice to all decent Clare people and his shouting at Austin Gleeson when he was injured you wouldn't expect from a British soccer lout.

Don't like defending the bloke as I don't like the man but cameras seem to be on him more than any other manager out there. I'm sure you will get a lot more than him ****ing and blinding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

niallo27 wrote: »
    Don't like defending the bloke as I don't like the man but cameras seem to be on him more than any other manager out there. I'm sure you will get a lot more than him ****ing and blinding.

I have no idea what the cameras show but when you're at it all game its a reflection of your character not the cameras.

He can't be allowed to continue the way he is but then when nothing has been done up to now what are the chances it will be stopped? There should be no place in the game for the way he acts and yet it seems to be celebrated as passion in the media owing to their greater "please everybody" mindset.

And its definitely true that he makes others dislike Clare. There wouldn't be much reason to dislike them otherwise. He was the same at Waterford and have despised him for a good 6 years now, just in case anyone thinks this a spur of the moment reaction to defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

orm0nd wrote: »
    Ye stepped off the gas big time 5 minutes from full got great respect for that WD team but ye lacked the killer instinct 2 day

Can't wait 4 the next 1

Exactly....game is not over until final whistle

Blaming the ref when Clare shot some terrible wides at times
    Though Austin Gleason bust through there for a point when waterford 2 points up and shot wide...if that hadve gone over it would've left Clare needing a goal as it was they eeked out a draw and got a good point to win it

And a side mention to a big amount of misplaced passes in midfield as an area to work on

While the ref was questionable waterford had the winning of it....though makes for a exiting build up to June 5th and what odds for a draw as there's nothing between these two...just who ever wants it more/luck on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭deisedude

Ref was diabolical. Aside from the obvious incident at the end about 5 minutes beforehand either Bennett or O Halloran was on the end of the most blatant push and no free. Kirwan played advantage another time when there was no advantage to us and Clare got a point out of it. Fair play to Clare they were dogged and Kelly was a joy to watch but i've never felt more robbed at a final whistle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I have no idea what the cameras show but when you're at it all game its a reflection of your character not the cameras.

He can't be allowed to continue the way he is but then when nothing has been done up to now what are the chances it will be stopped? There should be no place in the game for the way he acts and yet it seems to be celebrated as passion in the media owing to their greater "please everybody" mindset.

And its definitely true that he makes others dislike Clare. There wouldn't be much reason to dislike them otherwise. He was the same at Waterford and have despised him for a good 6 years now, just in case anyone thinks this a spur of the moment reaction to defeat.

As i have said before i am defending him i think he is an idiot, but if you want to compare it to some Waterford look at Dan Shanahan is no angel, roaring and shouting at refs, practically on the pitch every chance he gets trying to intimidate players. But hey its good old Dan the media love him lets all forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

niallo27 wrote: »
    As i have said before i am defending him i think he is an idiot, but if you want to compare it to some Waterford look at Dan Shanahan is no angel, roaring and shouting at refs, practically on the pitch every chance he gets trying to intimidate players. But hey its good old Dan the media love him lets all forget about it.

You couldn't compare the conduct of the two of them, Dan has some level of humility. Plenty of people get animated, that is not the issue.

But his general conduct is disgusting. I don't recall him being threatened with a ban at all, the only time was a ref in Waterford called Kissane who did fourth official in a Tipp v Waterford league game in Thurles reporting him that day but no ban.

He really needs a game in the stands to sort him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭spaceCreated

The fact of the matter is seeing as we're Waterford we'll have to be able to beat the other team and the referee. thats the way its always been. I think this team is capable of doing it and we were unlucky not to do so today. Our players looked a lot sharper and De Burca won't be that off form again as he was in the first half. We were definitely the better team today but not by enough to beat some poor diving and strange decisions. I think we were afraid to touch Clare players at the end because if we did it was a free every time, Clare had to drag someone to the ground to get a free. Very soft yellows for Waterford and the only decision we got in our favour that was wrong was the Noel Connors one. If we tried jumping in to people we might get more decisions liek Clare did today but where does that leave hurling?

We'll keep playing and we'll keep getting better and we'll be able to beat other teams and bad decisions, good practice for Kilkenny anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Think ken's comment last week could be construed as it was better to play hurling for waterford when he did as opposed to when his father played. As i said a while ago clare waterford now is laochra gael stuff. Unfortunately like cork before they are the ones with the all ireland medals. Let's hope that changes. We are now shorter odds pre championship than i can remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

The fact of the matter is seeing as we're Waterford we'll have to be able to beat the other team and the referee. thats the way its always been. I think this team is capable of doing it and we were unlucky not to do so today. Our players looked a lot sharper and De Burca won't be that off form again as he was in the first half. We were definitely the better team today but not by enough to beat some poor diving and strange decisions. I think we were afraid to touch Clare players at the end because if we did it was a free every time, Clare had to drag someone to the ground to get a free. Very soft yellows for Waterford and the only decision we got in our favour that was wrong was the Noel Connors one. If we tried jumping in to people we might get more decisions liek Clare did today but where does that leave hurling?

We'll keep playing and we'll keep getting better and we'll be able to beat other teams and bad decisions, good practice for Kilkenny anyway.

Just back from Thurles. Gutted. What was the free count ; desperate ref but W'ford shot themselves in the foot near the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Proud of the team and management's performance today. It was wonderful to watch both teams going at it from the very start with alot more openness. 6 pts up on two different occasions I didn't see us ever losing it but we were out on our feet with less than 10 mins to go and credit to Clare they kept plugging away and got their rewards. McGrath missed 2 bad frees for them and they had 2 wides from play aswell that would have brought them closer to us earlier but the decision made by Kirwan was disgusting. How an experienced referee got that call wrong is beyond me. Barron must be head and shoulders the bed midfielder in the country at the moment,he was brilliant as was Aussie who showed the class we always knew he had. I would question Devine's substitution as alot of problems stemmed from around the midfield area after Dunford came on as he didn't get to the pace of the game.
    On the other hand questions will be raised as to how we lost big leads twice but the brilliance of Tony Kelly just was a joy to behold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭lukin

From what I saw when Austin Gleeson was being treated for the cut he got the camera switched to Davy and he was effing and blinding his head off.
    What about it do not know.It might have been nothing to do with Gleeson's injury.
    Edit:having watched it again on League Sunday it seems Davy was objecting to the free given for the foul on Gleeson which resulted in him being escorted from the field with blood streaming from his face.It was definitely a free though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

lukin wrote: »
    From what I saw when Austin Gleeson was being treated for the cut he got the camera switched to Davy and he was effing and blinding his head off.
    What about it do not know.It might have been nothing to do with Gleeson's injury.
    I wouldn't be a qualified lip reader but it was quite clear that Davy was roaring 'theres nothing f***ing wrong with him'. You'd hope that once the blood was visible, he was a little rueful about exploding like that.

citykat wrote: »
    I wouldn't be a qualified lip reader but it was quite clear that Davy was roaring 'theres nothing f***ing wrong with him'. You'd hope that once the blood was visible, he was a little rueful about exploding like that.

Heh-heh,if Gleeson had his head taken off Davy would still say there was nothing wrong with him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

lukin wrote: »
    Edit:having watched it again on League Sunday it seems Davy was objecting to the free given for the foul on Gleeson which resulted in him being escorted from the field with blood streaming from his face.It was definitely a free though.

Please stop trying to defend the indefensible.

Just compare his carry on the line today to Donal Og's and Louis Mulqueen's etc

The whole Clare backroom team behaved with the utmost dignity apart from him.

There is absolutely no justification whatsoever for the vitriol that Fitzgerald screams at opposing players. It's not like it's a one off. He's been at it for years.

He's an utter disgrace to all decent Clare people and to decent hurling folk, full stop.

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Please stop trying to defend the indefensible.

Just compare his carry on the line today to Donal Og's and Louis Mulqueen's etc

The whole Clare backroom team behaved with the utmost dignity apart from him.

There is absolutely no justification whatsoever for the vitriol that Fitzgerald screams at opposing players. It's not like it's a one off. He's been at it for years.

He's an utter disgrace to all decent Clare people and to decent hurling folk, full stop.
    I'm not defending Davy Fitz at all.If you read my post you'll see I said it was definitely a free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

We should have had the game wrapped up at this stage but there is no allowing for this kind of refereeing. You have to feel for the players missing out on a league medal due to an incredibly inconsistent refereeing performance.

https://twitter.com/hurlingcrazy/status/729357931406364672

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Disgraceful refereeing by Kirwan today, absolutely disgusted by it. Sickening way to lose a game, clear foul ignored and free given for nothing to the opposition to effectively decide the game.

Some really good performances form Waterford today, particularly Curran and Barron, really impressed with these lads after the week they had.

Congrats to Clare, as sickened as I am, I must admit huge admiration for Tony Kelly and an absolutely masterful display today, super scores, real leadership too. Such a talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭skaface

Never so dissappointed after a match as I was today leaving Thurles..
    Referee was a disgrace, and in being so cost us
    Back to back League titles..
    In saying all this, we were Six points up twice during the game ( same last week) and couldn't
    Close out the game..
    Poor decision making on AND off the field cost us dearly today..
    Why was Tom Devine taken off , when he was causing havoc with the Clare defence..
    Also, when Brick was called ashore, we had no one to win a high ball in the forward line.. Maurice should have come on sooner IMO..
    Hopefully lessons will have been learned today,
    But we need to start closing out games and getting cuter on the field.
    We should have won this game today, no if,s or buts.. Titles are hard to come by, we don't want to be saying in seven or eight years time - they were a great team, very unlucky not to win.an All Ireland.. We've had that with the Marquee team of the last fifteen years..
    Time to start learning from.our mistakes.. Starting on June 5th... Rant over : -)
    UP THE DEISE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,607 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What now for us ???

June 5th will be extra tough with people expecting a backlash from us. Lose and its the dreaded qualifers which have not been kind on us in the past. Would love to shut up Davy and Clare and make a Munster final

Our heads are down now and they will be hard too lift again

Kirwan should never ref a Waterford game again and was a lucky man no Waterford supporter got there hands on him. McGrath seemed relaxed the complete opposite to Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Leave the referee aside for one moment and try to see where we came up short. As I said earlier we lost a 6pt lead twice,something wrong there maybe? Phillip Mahony I think was taken for 1.05,his lack of pace exposed more than once. Several times Clare moved the ball through the middle to pick off scores and the giving up possession for their puckouts led to this happening. Curran was immense, Bennett tried hard but there are better days ahead for him hopefully this year. So in truth if you count Aussie and Paddy Curran as our only 2 best forwards today it means we have room to improve for 4 weeks time in this dept. Maurice needs to start the next day as I feel his physicality can reap rewards

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Terrible referee generally but it's done now and on to the championship. Some good performances today.

Sok- no chance for the goal but dealt well with some dangerous high balls in second half
    Shane Fives-not as good as last week and maybe not fully fit
    Barry Coughlan-thought he done well and is very solid this year
    Noel -his best game this year for sure
    Philip- didn't think it was his best day made a few mistakes
    Darragh- brilliant point from play and excellent again
    Aussie- immense mostly
    Jamie Barron- his best game for us I thought
    Kevin- stepped up a lot from earlier in the year and hitting form at right time
    Tadgh- very poor in the first half with distribution , gifted clare 3 scores but fantastic in the second half
    Tom D- game passed him by in the first half but unlucky not to get a goal before taken off
    Brick- good game and surprised he was taken off just before the end
    Jake- took the goal well but quiet other than that
    Patrick C- excellent today bar one bad free , he is class
    Shane B- very closely marked today and not much ball broke his way but 2 good scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Hard luck Waterford. Ye played your part in what was a brilliant game. Clare would swap their league medals for a win the next day. Waterford are a serious team and It will take a very good team to beat them from now on. Heads up!