Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

If Conor v Mayweather happens, which set of rules would they follow?

Queensbury Rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Holly holm

Holly Holm is a World Champion Boxer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Zero-Cool wrote: »

That's my mate in the snapchat, and another poster on the forums mate, madness how far that joke has come haha

this is farcical beyond farcical, typcial TMZ shyte.
    anyone who believes that could ever happen in any mans lifetime is an idiot.
    It reads like rocky Vs thunder lips. The closest any man ever has to seeing such a match was randy couture and James toney end of story.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Jeremy Botter is hit and miss but he has said McGaregor/Diaz is 99% done for UFC202. August 20th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

That would be good, get this out of the way and back to business NY in November for FW title defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

I don't for a single second believe the fight would ever happen but if it did this forum, and probably the whole internet would have to shut down with the handbags squabbling between the McGoat fanboys & The Flomos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Holly Holm is a World Champion Boxer

There is not one UFC fighter who would beat a World Champion Boxer in Boxing at the same weight.

She is a ufc fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Paddy power giving odds of 1/5 that the fight DOESNT happen in 2016. If anyone has a spare few grand lying around, You won't get an interest rate like that anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

She is a ufc fighter.

She is Also a World Champion Boxer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭qwabercd

*was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

You lost. Give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭doxy

Must be a load of rubbish. If somehow it's not, then everyone who's foolish enough to buy a PPV ticket deserves exactly what they're going to get. The Irish amateur lads going to the olympics would stand a MUCH better chance against Mayweather than McGregor does. Freak show in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

doxy wrote: »
    Must be a load of rubbish. If somehow it's not, then everyone who's foolish enough to buy a PPV ticket deserves exactly what they're going to get. The Irish amateur lads going to the olympics would stand a MUCH better chance against Mayweather than McGregor does. Freak show in the extreme.

yeah no mcgregor cant box atal :rolleyes::rolleyes:

don't get me wrong its highly unlikely he would win but to call it a freakshow at all never mind an 'extreme' one when you look at the standard of some of mayweathers past opponents is a bit ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

Paddy power giving odds of 1/5 that the fight DOESNT happen in 2016. If anyone has a spare few grand lying around, You won't get an interest rate like that anywhere else.

lol as if they would accept a bet of anything like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭doxy

Depp wrote: »

The gulf in class between McGregor's and Mayweather's boxing skills would be astronomical. Like nothing anyone has ever seen in a top level professional fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Saipanne wrote: »
    Queensbury Rules.

That would put McGregor at a seemingly insurmountable disadvantage. I seriously doubt he'd accept such a fight, particularly after losing to Diaz.

If they reached a compromise and fought with some non-boxing MMA moves allowed, I could see him possibly giving it a shot. Mayweather would obviously be more likely to refuse though since that would take his own advantages away.

(I realise this is a highly unlikely match to even happen, but sure it's fun to speculate while awaiting actual news) :D

What we're essentially looking at is something akin to Roy Keane vs Brian O'Driscoll, where either Keane has to concede that full body tackles are part of the game, or O'Driscoll has to concede that he's not allowed to carry the ball in his hands. One of them is going to be massively out of their comfort zone depending on which rules are used, and given the stakes for both fighters I find it hard to see either of them conceding their own advantages.

doxy wrote: »
    The gulf in class between McGregor's and Mayweather's boxing skills would be astronomical. Like nothing anyone has ever seen in a top level professional fight.

oh yeah sure mayweather has only ever fought top level guys and didnt pad his record with cans atal! dont get me wrong thered be a gulf in class but it wouldnt be astronomical or anything, hed put up more of a fight than berto did anyway!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Boxing rules, Mayweather wins easily.

MMA rules, McGregor wins easily.

It'll obviously never happen anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Lads, check John Kavanagh's Facebook page for some of the emails he has been getting from journalists about this story. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

oh yeah sure mayweather has only ever fought top level guys and didnt pad his record with cans atal! dont get me wrong thered be a gulf in class but it wouldnt be astronomical or anything, hed put up more of a fight than berto did anyway!:D

Of all the hilarious things McGregor fanboys say on this forum, the suggestion that there is anything other than astronomical (and then some) gulf between McG's and Mayweather's boxing skills is the best.

jaysus youd swear i was saying he was going to win the bloody thing! :rolleyes:

Roll your eyes all you want, it doesn't make your assertion any less preposterous.

All irrelevant though as this will never, ever happen.

Roll your eyes all you want, it doesn't make your assertion any less preposterous.

All irrelevant though as this will never, ever happen.

i agree with that alright zero fear of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

My nan would knock McGregor out, he's ****e that lad......boards.ie

Mod Note: take some time off, already warned you before about this trolling nonsense..

sonofenoch wrote: »
    My nan would knock McGregor out, he's ****e that lad......boards.ie

If your nan was one of the best boxers (and the best defensive one) of the last 20 years, then yeah, maybe she would.

Nobody is saying "McGregor is ****e". What they're saying is when it comes to elite levels of sport when the tiniest margins can make all the difference, the difference between the two wouldn't be... quite so tiny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

don't get me wrong its highly unlikely he would win but to call it a freakshow at all never mind an 'extreme' one when you look at the standard of some of mayweathers past opponents is a bit ridiculous

As a boxer, McGregor wouldn't be fit to lace the gloves of a single man who Mayweather has fought since he became a world champion. Never mind have any hope in hell of winning a fight between the two.

To a man, the Irish elite boxing team would make him look like a lost child in a boxing ring, he wouldn't be able to touch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

They should do it Thai rules few more moves them boxing few less than mma sorted. Mayweather would love an elbow to the face in clinch!

As a boxer, McGregor wouldn't be fit to lace the gloves of a single man who Mayweather has fought since he became a world champion. Never mind have any hope in hell of winning a fight between the two.

To a man, the Irish elite boxing team would make him look like a lost child in a boxing ring, he wouldn't be able to touch them.

did i ever say hed a hope of winning? not gunna argue with you cause its all un-quantifiable opinions but i dont see the gap as being that big, its definitely there alright, but I'm sure he knows how to lace up a pair of gloves!