Every Arsehole in Ireland Tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Is looking for Leicester on a map of the UK so they can become passionate about the club they "have followed since they were a kid." when they show up in the pub tomorrow night wearing a blue jersey using terms such as 'we', 'us' and 'them'.

Pretty much how all the 'greatest supporters in the world' found 'their' club over the years.

I'm sure glad I stuck the score on at 5000-1 back in August, come on ye foxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

**** the Queens league and any Irish dope that supports it.
    Why?

Good ol' fashioned Red Neckery. Irish style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Wouldn't open my curtains if a league of Ireland game was played in my back garden, absolute dire standard. Well done to Leicester and God bless her majesty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

**** the Queens league and any Irish dope that supports it.

I don't think she's that directly involved with it these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,401 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The OP is talking rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,351 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

omerin wrote: »
    Wouldn't open my curtains if a league of Ireland game was played in my back garden, absolute dire standard. Well done to Leicester and God bless her majesty

Numpty.

So you think
    1) Every EPL game is a classic.
    2) Part-time footballers from Ireland, some earning maybe €100 per week for playing should be producing football to the standard of those in the EPL, where some players are on £350,000 per week?

Idiotic comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

I am a Sligo Rovers supporter, because, eh, I come from Sligo.

That explains the bitterness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

NIMAN wrote: »
    Numpty.

So you think
    2) Part-time footballers from Ireland, some earning maybe €100 per week for playing should be producing football to the standard of those in the EPL, where some players are on £350,000 per week?

Idiotic comment.

How was it idiotic? He didn't say every game in the EPL is a classic or that low paid Irish league players should be producing the same standard. He just said he wouldn't watch it because the standard is poor and he's right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Am I allowed support other teams in different league's though?

Do we have an guidelines on where the stupidy starts and ends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nancyball. Meh...

Numpty.

So you think

Idiotic comment.

No players are on 350 a week anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Lots of bitter begrudgers in after hours tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

omerin wrote: »
    Wouldn't open my curtains if a league of Ireland game was played in my back garden, absolute dire standard.

It's pretty much the standard you could hope for from a small country where soccer has to compete with other sports. League of Ireland football is about going to games for the craic than the actual standard of football.

Top marks though for you though and your hard earned barstool expertise.

P.S. Well done Leicester

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Luch Energiya Vladivostok fluffed their chance to move out of the relegation zone in the Russian second tier this morning. I was mildly gutted at this, and while this probably makes me a wee bit sad, I hope it doesn't make me an asshole.

Up Finn Harps!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,036 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I must admit I strongly detest anybody who comes out with the 'we played well' when speaking about a team from an entirely different country than ours.
    I wouldnt even use it when referring to my own counties GAA team because I'm not actually on the team.

No players are on 350 a week anyway.

Typo.
    Meant to be 250k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I sincerely doubt that anyone is doing that.

Am I allowed support other teams in different league's though?

Do we have an guidelines on where the stupidy starts and ends?

As far as I'm aware these types just have it in for 'da brits'. SO your'e safe enough with every thing else. Even Stalin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Numpty.

So you think

Idiotic comment.

Gwan out of that. I know a league of Ireland footballer, and the flash b@stard is rollin in an '09 motor.:pac:

He must be on €150 a week so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭JoseWasntReady

I'm from Dublin so I support a team from Dublin. I don't understand how someone from Ireland can get so emotionally invested in a team from a city or town they've no connection to.

I'm sure Liverpudlians and Mancunians think it odd too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

It's pretty much the standard you could hope for from a small country where soccer has to compete with other sports. League of Ireland football is about going to games for the craic than the actual standard of football.

Top marks though for you though and your hard earned barstool expertise.

P.S. Well done Leicester

Lol there'd be more craic watching paint dry and thanks for bringing up the barstool reference as the standard is that of a pub league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Eh, amazing as this sounds. I am a Sligo Rovers supporter, because, eh, I come from Sligo.

Nothing in sport annoys me more then this argument. It's borderline hipster. Just continue to support Sligo and watch LOI, good for you and I will watch the EPL. See life hasn't changed for any of us.

Now as it happens, I'm actually a spurs fan so I was one of the few who wasn't happy come the final whistle but I think everyone has known (certainly since last monday) that's been all over bar the shouting and I couldn't be happier for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

We did well though to win the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ShakerMaker91

I'm from Dublin so I support a team from Dublin. I don't understand how someone from Ireland can get so emotionally invested in a team from a city or town they've no connection to.

Well I'm from Tipperary and we don't have a local team here so we watch the Premier League instead!

Really?

I've been a Beatles fan for the last 30 years. I loved their music the first time I heard it & still love it now.

Do you think the average Scouser thinks I'm odd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

As another Sligonian I'd just like to put it on record that OP doesn't speak for the whole flamin county....

Jaysus...

Or maybe they just like sports?

A team 10 meters from me has the same connection to me as a team 1000 km away from me if they entertain me, particularly if it's at the top level of the game.
    It's not some closed shop where the players in a 10 mile radius have to play for the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

There are many people who grew up watching English soccer teams on telly. They didn't have a league of Ireland club within an ass's roar of them and RTE didn't show LOI so it's RTE's fault way I see it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Speaking personally, my father wouldn't have been one to bring us to football games and even if he did, he's from Tipp so he was hardly gonna bring us to a Dublin game. United and Liverpool were the big names when I was a kid, and you would see the games on telly. By the age of 4 I was a United fan, and I still am 36 years later.

Tl;dr - it was the TVs fault.