Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every Arsehole in Ireland Tonight...

• 02-05-2016 10:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Is looking for Leicester on a map of the UK so they can become passionate about the club they "have followed since they were a kid." when they show up in the pub tomorrow night wearing a blue jersey using terms such as 'we', 'us' and 'them'.

Pretty much how all the 'greatest supporters in the world' found 'their' club over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

That's wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No they aren't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Not me, I'll be one of the people giving out about what feels like everyone ****eing on about it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Is looking for Leicester on a map of the UK so they can become passionate about the club they "have followed since they were a kid." when they show up in the pub tomorrow night wearing a blue jersey using terms such as we', 'us' and 'them'.

Spurs fan I take it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I for one couldnt give a fiddlers fart about who won the english league

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

bear1 wrote: »
    Spurs fan I take it?

Eh, amazing as this sounds. I am a Sligo Rovers supporter, because, eh, I come from Sligo.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I'm delighted for them. I'll never be a Leicester fan, but what an achievement.

A friend of mine is a genuine lifelong Leicester fan. He is on cloud 9.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Kiss me Maryanne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Eh, amazing as this sounds. I am a Sligo Rovers supporter, because, eh, I come from Sligo.

Me too. But it is possible to support a team in a different league too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Jamie Vardy's having a party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Eh, ok, eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭JoseWasntReady

**** the Queens league and any Irish dope that supports it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I know where Leicester is. Up North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Would you like some salt for that chip on your shoulder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Is looking for Leicester on a map of the UK so they can become passionate about the club they "have followed since they were a kid." when they show up in the pub tomorrow night wearing a blue jersey using terms such as 'we', 'us' and 'them'.

Pretty much how all the 'greatest supporters in the world' found 'their' club over the years.

Everyone is delighted at the most unlikely sporting winner of all time. You don't even need to have an interest in football to smile at the outcome.

I have seen nobody claiming to be a lifelong Leicester Supporter. Except people from Leicester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Oh God Gerry, don't tell me you're on the sauce again tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭mosstin

Nah, but there's definitely one arsehole taking to a discussion forum venting about what is a really glorious achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Is looking for Leicester on a map of the UK so they can become passionate about the club they "have followed since they were a kid."

Here's your map > http://leicester.town-centre-hotels.co.uk/Images/Leicester.bmp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

*Schligo*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Been a lifelong fan of us since December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ShakerMaker91

people are just congratulating Leicester for pulling off possibly the greatest sporting achievement ever not one person I know is coming out saying they support Leicester?

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,315 ✭✭✭circadian

Got any proof to back this up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Been a lifelong fan of us since December.

😀

As a Utd fan, once Liverpool,Arsenal, Man City or Chelsea didn't win it, I'm happy. Fair play to Leicester.

I'd have been happy for Spurs to win too. Good job for them getting into the CL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Skid X wrote: »
    Everyone is delighted at the most unlikely sporting winner of all time. You don't even need to have an interest in football to smile at the outcome.

I have seen nobody claiming to be a lifelong Leicester Supporter. Except people from Leicester.

No they're not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Yes, I too like to imagine hypothetical scenarios to get bitter about when large numbers of people celebrate a joyous, historic occasion, because I'm a broken husk of a human being!!

I think I'll pre-emptively start a thread about Irish people having the nerve to support Ireland in Euro 2016, even though we probably won't win the tournament by winning every match 4-0.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,667 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Hey you there enjoying a major sporting event, we don't take kindly to sports outside of Sligo 'round here ya hear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I'm sure glad I stuck the score on at 5000-1 back in August, come on ye foxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Why?

Good ol' fashioned Red Neckery. Irish style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Wouldn't open my curtains if a league of Ireland game was played in my back garden, absolute dire standard. Well done to Leicester and God bless her majesty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I don't think she's that directly involved with it these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The OP is talking rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

omerin wrote: »
    Wouldn't open my curtains if a league of Ireland game was played in my back garden, absolute dire standard. Well done to Leicester and God bless her majesty

Numpty.

So you think
    1) Every EPL game is a classic.
    2) Part-time footballers from Ireland, some earning maybe €100 per week for playing should be producing football to the standard of those in the EPL, where some players are on £350,000 per week?

Idiotic comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

I am a Sligo Rovers supporter, because, eh, I come from Sligo.

That explains the bitterness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

NIMAN wrote: »
    Numpty.

So you think
    2) Part-time footballers from Ireland, some earning maybe €100 per week for playing should be producing football to the standard of those in the EPL, where some players are on £350,000 per week?

Idiotic comment.

How was it idiotic? He didn't say every game in the EPL is a classic or that low paid Irish league players should be producing the same standard. He just said he wouldn't watch it because the standard is poor and he's right.

Good ol' fashioned Red Neckery. Irish style.

Am I allowed support other teams in different league's though?

Do we have an guidelines on where the stupidy starts and ends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nancyball. Meh...

Numpty.

So you think

Idiotic comment.

No players are on 350 a week anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Lots of bitter begrudgers in after hours tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

omerin wrote: »
    Wouldn't open my curtains if a league of Ireland game was played in my back garden, absolute dire standard.

It's pretty much the standard you could hope for from a small country where soccer has to compete with other sports. League of Ireland football is about going to games for the craic than the actual standard of football.

Top marks though for you though and your hard earned barstool expertise.

P.S. Well done Leicester

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Luch Energiya Vladivostok fluffed their chance to move out of the relegation zone in the Russian second tier this morning. I was mildly gutted at this, and while this probably makes me a wee bit sad, I hope it doesn't make me an asshole.

Up Finn Harps!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I must admit I strongly detest anybody who comes out with the 'we played well' when speaking about a team from an entirely different country than ours.
    I wouldnt even use it when referring to my own counties GAA team because I'm not actually on the team.

No players are on 350 a week anyway.

Typo.
    Meant to be 250k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I sincerely doubt that anyone is doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Am I allowed support other teams in different league's though?

Do we have an guidelines on where the stupidy starts and ends?

As far as I'm aware these types just have it in for 'da brits'. SO your'e safe enough with every thing else. Even Stalin!

Numpty.

So you think

Idiotic comment.

Gwan out of that. I know a league of Ireland footballer, and the flash b@stard is rollin in an '09 motor.:pac:

He must be on €150 a week so.