Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,374 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well Whelan, you said earlier about good staff. Jim Woulfe did say last week that it was one of the biggest problems facing dairy farmers!!!!

Poor DG lads don't have shares to argue over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    I blame the Glanbia rep in Nigeria

Now glanbia's letting go 40 in ballitore.....will they be able to pay for milk this month at all at all benjy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

rangler1 wrote: »
    Now glanbia's letting go 40 in ballitore.....will they be able to pay for milk this month at all at all benjy
    A bad warning sign but at least they're reacting to the downturn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

This what your on about?
    Efficency.
    http://www.kildarenow.com/jobs/new-glanbia-venture-will-create-25-construction-jobs-in-co-kildare/53593

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Why would a company wait for a downturn to improve efficiency?

Surely that should be the first order of business every day?

Remind me where did that contract go again. Arrabawn wasn't it.
    The fe*ckers.!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,374 ✭✭✭✭Water John

All those lads, must have been unloading the artics of the empty bottles.

May be have a mobile workforce that goes to who ever wins the tender each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

30 unit herringbone.... alot of walking.....

50 unit rotary... anything else waste of time

I've done a fair few milkings in a 30 unit herringbone with acrs, dumpline and a few other bells and whistles.. one man at his ease would put roughly 180 cows through it in an hour, clusters would be coming off the first cow just as you'd be putting it on the last cow. Parlour had rubber mats down in the pit which makes a huge difference, legs or feet were never tired after milking in it..

Don't give me an ideas!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Don't give me an ideas!
    You'll have loads of money now with this new liquid contract that you have taken from those poor Glanbia lads and lassies:pac:

30 unit herringbone.... alot of walking.....

50 unit rotary... anything else waste of time
    How your new unit doing? Cows and yourselves adjusted well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

kowtow wrote: »
    Absolutely right. The truth is that we just don't know whether or not we have passed through the top of some sort of supercycle... 'tho there are plenty of signs to suggest we have.

My concern is not cycles per se... rather whether as an industry we are gearing up for a model which only really has a place one decade in three... the 'global powder' trade. When harvest 2020 was thought through I wonder did anyone even consider the risk that the figures were based on a very unusual decade?

And you are quite right we are still well placed to weather the storm. Low debt and the fact that we haven't yet scaled up in a meaningful sense means that family labour and cash accounting will keep most people's heads above water one way or another.

It may very well be that the biggest mistake we could make would be to invest hard at the first sign of an upturn on the assumption that prices will return to 30c...it will be interesting to see what the industry and press approach is when that time comes.

*The price could, of course, return much higher than 30c in the near term. I'd be surprised, but I am cautious with this kind of thing. It takes about 37 milliseconds to turn a car of futures contracts into cash if the market goes against me. A farm full of cows isn't quite so liquid.

+1. Excellent, but guarded post!

If it looks like a duck etc etc....
    Where's the rebound going to come from Kowtow?
    The best we can hope for is the proverbial dead cat bounce...or a major weather event to alleviate the pain for a little while.
    I'm not pessimistic, more practical than anything else, but there's always the chance of a temporary reprieve.

Atm I'm hoping that the rains in S.America will drag the wheat price along with it...third year now suffering.

Milk is suffering since..? Remind me ?

Forgive me I'm tired. Us dairy men do work so hard....Oh to be a tillage farmer.

Dawggone wrote: »

Forgive me I'm tired. Us dairy men do work so hard....Oh to be a tillage farmer.
    Better than driving a 20 year old fiat with no heating:-) ill retract my statement they work hard with bad gear and pittance of a sfp
    happy dawg;-)

Better than driving a 20 year old fiat with no heating:-) ill retract my statement they work hard with bad gear and pittance of a sfp
    happy dawg;-)

I bought and payed for my SFP at 2.5 times face value.
    Losing €80kp.a to those pesky young farmers...
    :):)

I keep a few cows and a few chickens but the tillage side eats up/into your time. Long hours.

See the French love the inside 24/7 dairy model because it industrialises the work kinda like pig farmers, and they can plan their holidays/weekends off 6mts ahead.

Brilliant business model or what?
    To me it's just plain thick.

Just turning cows out to pasture and the whole herd just froze...seismic activity.
    Weird really. Didn't know that animals freeze in position for earthquakes, or is it just cows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Just turning cows out to pasture and the whole herd just froze...seismic activity.
    Weird really. Didn't know that animals freeze in position for earthquakes, or is it just cows?

Did you ever see it before?

There's some low key seismic activity a few times a year, but it's the first time I've seen animals during a rumble. They copped it about 10 seconds before me. Those 10 seconds were quite surreal. Total silence and stock frozen in position, they didn't even swish a tail.

I bought and payed for my SFP at 2.5 times face value.
    Losing €80kp.a to those pesky young farmers...
    :):)

I keep a few cows and a few chickens but the tillage side eats up/into your time. Long hours.

See the French love the inside 24/7 dairy model because it industrialises the work kinda like pig farmers, and they can plan their holidays/weekends off 6mts ahead.

Brilliant business model or what?
    To me it's just plain thick.
    Where do u see tillage going in ireland and France in the longterm Dawg? Some v good tillage men in my area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

There's some low key seismic activity a few times a year, but it's the first time I've seen animals during a rumble. They copped it about 10 seconds before me. Those 10 seconds were quite surreal. Total silence and stock frozen in position, they didn't even swish a tail.

And you being the typical paddy said"what 4he f××k is wrong with ye".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,156 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Apparently dogs are very sensitive to it

Where do u see tillage going in ireland and France in the longterm Dawg? Some v good tillage men in my area.

Grains are, and have been leading the charge downhill ahead of dairy. Overproduction, huge stocks etc. you know the story.
    There will be no difference between dairy and tillage from now on IMHO.

keep going wrote: »
    And you being the typical paddy said"what 4he f××k is wrong with ye".

A definite WTF moment.

First cut to be finished this evening and hopefully pits covered.
    3 weeks late.

Apparently dogs are very sensitive to it

I'd say if you had your bare feet on the ground you'd feel the shockwave as well no matter how faint before the vibrations of the actual earthquake arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

was bring in cows for one of the canturbury earth quakes a few years ago they took off straight threw every fence on front of them

trixi2011 wrote: »
    was bring in cows for one of the canturbury earth quakes a few years ago they took off straight threw every fence on front of them

Feckin xbreds!!

27mm of rain last night just as we'd finished the silage. :)

Off now to throw plastic over the pits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

27mm of rain last night just as we'd finished the silage. :)

Off now to throw plastic over the pits.

Better to be born lucky than rich.

I was born neither:-D