Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016, Mod Warning in OP, 10/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'd have taken off Moreno, moved Clyne to LB, dropped Milner to RB brought on Sturridge and moved Firmino to left side attack and Ibe to right side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Not to worry Ibe will be better than Sterling.

This is so annoying how people pop up with this line, 2 seasons ago ibe looked a terrific talent and it was not unreasonable to say he could go down sterlings route. He hasent and thats that, the "I told you so attitude" is unnecessary.

Anyways, dissapointing result but very much still an open affair. All set up for another classic anfield european night hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Don't know why Klopp could feel we could keep a clean sheet against s very decent side, albeit low scoring, in a massive game when we couldn't keep a clean sheet against Newcastle.
    Hopefully we don't rue not scoring next week. Massive game, so I'll do the thread.

I suppose the upside is that there will be no ambiguity about what approach to take next week - it has to be attack with an attacking selection and formation, had we got out with a 1-0 win there would have been a danger of trying hold that advantage through control and defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Augeo wrote: »
    Do you really think so?

I think if Sturridge was playing with firmino both wouldn't be dropping back so that alone would create space, Sturridge attracts defenders attention as he's a lethal goalscorer.

Having him on the bench for 90 mins was a ridiculous decision IMO, which I thought before, during & after the game.

Benteke was brought on too late too, Villa Real showed little interest in having a go, we matched them in that department.

All that said 0 - 0 would have been deserved but with our defense playing for a 0 - 0 is naive in the extreme.

He does, that's why he posted it. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Some of you guys might be interested, Kevin Keegan is a guest on the Late Late Show tonight and there is a Hillsborough tribute on it.

Gbear wrote: »
    Don't think we could've afforded to start him. Not with that midfield 3.

Maybe he should've come on instead of Ibe, but then you're relying on wandering Firmino to be disciplined enough to cover Moreno.

You can take these risks if you're not **** on the ball but the team we had available was.

Millner should be tasked with covering Moreno if Moreno bombs forward, also Lucas & the 2 CBS should be last line of defence and not too high.

Lallana, Ibe & an out of form Firmino is a joke of a front 3, none of them are drawn to the box naturally, they are all support players and there was no one to support last night. Benteke did give VR something to think about for the little time he was on.

The claim that Sturridge makes us a 10 man team is lunacy IMO, the oppositions defence wil never think he's not contributing.

No better man for the job next week but if we concede another we need 3, VR have a huge advantage now.

That's football but I really feel we didn't even attempt to play to our strengths last night.

We had to do feck all pressing as we had the ball quite often anyway, they really did a job tactically on us and we plodded away playing into their hands for 80 odd minutes.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    He does, that's why he posted it. :cool:

Got there before you kid but you didn't spot the subtlety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Still pi$$ed off from last night.

I hate this attitude 'we'll do em' at Anfield' because we wont always have nights like we had against Dortmund.

I really think we could have scored a few goals last night if he started with Sturridge, or even gave him 30 - 35 minutes. Lallana did nothing and Ibe was a shocking sub to bring on. Too negative. You'd think we were playing Barcelona they way he went about the game.

They have very little about them, their not that good and are easily the worst of the 3 we could have wanted in the semi, we should beat them next week.. but we leave ourselves open now w/o an away goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

We should have had a few goals without Sturridge also last night lets not forget.....

NukaCola wrote: »
    We should have had a few goals without Sturridge also last night lets not forget.....

You'll always get chances, midfielders aren't prolific at converting them though so can't be surprised when they don't, can apply the same logic to VR, could've been 4 all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

NukaCola wrote: »

We played better against Dortmund away though, yeah no Origi, Can or Sakho though. Firmino's snap shot, Moreno, can't think of many more chances. Bringing on Benteke so late was odd, one thing about Firmino good form or not, he'll press and make a nuisance of himself. Maybe he was done out at the end.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Origi was a huge loss even more so than Sturridge in these type of games.

Danny Ings in full training with U21s, so maybe just maybe we'll see him play a few minutes before the end of the season.

K-9 wrote: »
    We played better against Dortmund away though, yeah no Origi, Can or Sakho though. Firmino's snap shot, Moreno, can't think of many more chances. Bringing on Benteke so late was odd, one thing about Firmino good form or not, he'll press and make a nuisance of himself. Maybe he was done out at the end.

Allen had a great chance after 10 mins. Milner played Lallana in at one stage but was wrongly called offside i think, didnt get to see a replay though.

Augeo wrote: »
    You'll always get chances, midfielders aren't prolific at converting them though so can't be surprised when they don't, can apply the same logic to VR, could've been 4 all.

I agree, I'm just saying that there is goals in the team, VR as many said aren't fantastic and I think we can win by 2 clear goals, but VR will punish an open team quite easily.

I'd agree with a lot of people who would have liked to see Sturridge get minutes but I absolutely understand why it wasn't done. Its a hard decision either way, had we been braver I could see us getting more out of the game, however we'd be a bit more open which would suit VR perfectly....

We are missing 3/4 first teamers and lost Coutinho at Half time.....there's a lot to consider but with the midfield and backline we had available I understand why Klopp took a defensive approach. Personally I'd have rather lost 2-1 than 1 nil. An away goal is priceless and we might regret being so defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,735 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Dissapointed with the result but the ties not over by any means.
    As mentioned above it was a strange decision not to bring sturridge on for the last 30 mins or so to stretch their defence a bit , and as for ibe i dont think he brought anything to the team .
    I'd rather see ojo given a chance over ibe at anfield.
    As already said at least we know what we have to do so no doubts about how to approach the game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,879 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The level of negativity here is unreal.

Having a go at Klopp etc.

Thing is Allen missed a sitter, his finishing is awful. Still not over his miss against WBA in 13/14 that arguably cost us the title!

Firmino hit the post and Moreno should have passed to Ibe.

We can still win next week, Villareal were not that good. We are more than capable of beating them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

murpho999 wrote: »

Thing is Allen missed a sitter, his finishing is awful. Still not over his miss against WBA in 13/14 that arguably cost us the title!

We can still win next week, Villareal were not that good. We are more than capable of beating them.

Quite a few people, myself included, are questioning his tactics and subs - what's wrong with that? If Rodgers had done the same thing that happened last night, he'd be shredded in here.

I'm a big fan of Klopp, but I think he got it wrong last night and the result now leaves us needing to win by 2 clear goals against a side who thrive against teams who play open, attacking football.

Nobody is saying we can't win next week, just that we now have no room for error in what was already going to be a difficult game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

We're allowed to question the manager. He may be right and we may be wrong, but we're allowed. Or will we just leave blank posts because the manager is always right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

murpho999 wrote: »

I think that's harsh of Moreno. He was running full pelt concentrating on getting away from his marker Ibe was about 10-15 yards the other side not in Moreno's eyeline considering the angle he was running at . If had of seen him it would have a wonder pass imo.

MD1990 wrote: »
    I think that's harsh of Moreno. He was running full pelt concentrating on getting away from his marker Ibe was about 10-15 yards the other side not in Moreno's eyeline considering the angle he was running at . If had of seen him it would have a wonder pass imo.

The guy just said Allens miss against WBA cost us a league title, I dont think he knows the meaning of the word harsh......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Klopp's decisions last night may cost us a CL place.

I'm not being serious btw, Klopp is perfect.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Kolo

“Next week is a final and we have to give everything to try to smash this team. You can tell that they are really, really happy but I’m saving the memory of their happiness up for next week. I like that. I like to see how happy they are right now."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭RayCon

If Rodgers had done the same thing that happened last night, he'd be shredded in here.

In fairness Rodgers would never have found himself in a European Semi-Final

monkey9 wrote: »
    Kolo

“Next week is a final and we have to give everything to try to smash this team. You can tell that they are really, really happy but I’m saving the memory of their happiness up for next week. I like that. I like to see how happy they are right now."

Thats some cold stuff right there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

monkey9 wrote: »
    Kolo

Wow.

I love Kolo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

The Villareal players and management team celebrating seems to be a good sore point for our lads - manager included - no harm that - can be used to full advantage to tear into them next week.

This is Liverpool, we don't do cup competitions like everyone else ... especially not in my memory. There is plenty left in this tie.

As for Klopp - he gets questioned like any other manager - i think people were a little surprised to see him not go for it like we've seen before - and then conceding a truly awful goal in last kick of the game - adds to the criticism - but hey - that's football.

Quite a few people, myself included, are questioning his tactics and subs - what's wrong with that? If Rodgers had done the same thing that happened last night, he'd be shredded in here.

I'm a big fan of Klopp, but I think he got it wrong last night and the result now leaves us needing to win by 2 clear goals against a side who thrive against teams who play open, attacking football.

Nobody is saying we can't win next week, just that we now have no room for error in what was already going to be a difficult game.

Nobody is saying that you can't debate Manager's line-ups but he didn't get it that wrong. It was almost 0-0 which people would have been happy with and Villareal scored a good goal, which is just going to happen sometimes.

Also, our defence is not that good in all honesty, so conceding a goal can happen. No need to slate the manager over it.

I'm sure he'll have a different approach next week and I think we're more than capable of beating them.

MD1990 wrote: »

He should be thinking that he had a very difficult chance on and looked for options.

Players communicate as well and I'm sure Ibe was screaming for the ball. If he doesn't expect somebody to be up running alongside him, and doesn't look for it then it does not say much for his football intelligence.

I've seen Moreno do those runs loads of times now but he's only scored 3 goals.
    Time he realised he's not a great finisher and did the right thing for the team. If he had got that ball to Ibe then it was an almost certain goal.