Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016, Mod Warning in OP, 10/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Ibe was terrible. He'll not be around much longer with performances like that

An impact sub. For the opposition unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭mosstin

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    What a frustrating finish...

Felt it was a superb away performance tbh. People will complain about how "they were there for the taking" but they're LETHAL on the counter and we weren't gonna be committing many players forward. Not sure what Moreno was doing so far out of position at such a key moment. We didn't look threatened at all that game.

I'm surprised you're surprised. This is his major flaw - he simply does not understand when to stick and when to twist. An opposing coach surely emphasises the fact that he leaves acres at crucial points in the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭mosstin

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Lads any highlights on tonight? Was at a work thing earlier and just in home.

Don't go there. Really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Easy enough now to say we should have went for it. If we had and they caught us on the counter 2 or 3 times the same people would be complaining the tie is over, and we didn't play it tight and bring it back to Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,489 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

To suggest they were there for the taking tonight, but also that they're definitely going to score at Anfield is a bit unusual. They were extremely defensive today, and now going into the second leg with a goal they will be even more so. If they really are there for the taking then we should be able to do it over 90 minutes at home.

Moreno has athletic gifts. He's very fast for one. Unfortunately he has the brain of a goldfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,994 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

mosstin wrote: »
    Don't go there. Really.

I'd no phone either this evening. Just heard we lost in injury time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    He sure was. Gave a right bollicking for giving the ball away, again.

Ibe didn't even seem bothered.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Turtyturd wrote: »
    The Sturridge wankery will start soon enough but everyone knows why he was left out.

They are going to play the same way next week so I would start Benteke and play the way we did tonight.

Surely the thing to do after Phil went off was to bring Sturridge on and play Firmino a bit deeper? Ibe just gave the ball away. Such an odd move by Klopp.

mosstin wrote: »
    Don't go there. Really.

Was a decent match live but yeah, not much highlights. Firmino hitting the post and a few half chances.

Lallana must have been onside from that Milner ball though.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

At least Captain America will cheer me up in a bit over that drab sh1t.

Easy enough now to say we should have went for it. If we had and they caught us on the counter 2 or 3 times the same people would be complaining the tie is over, and we didn't play it tight and bring it back to Anfield.

Yeah, I'd say Klopp wanted to keep a clean sheet, they had their best spell, probably only spell at the end.

Still, an away goal and it looks a lot better, Bringing on Benteke is a bit pointless, better risking it with Sturridge for 10 minutes even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Lads any highlights on tonight? Was at a work thing earlier and just in home.

The match thread on reddit usually have a highlights link, not a great game to watch to be honest.

https://www.reddit.com/r/footballhighlights/comments/4gvkwb/villarreal_v_liverpool_europa_league_28apr2016/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

At least Allen did well, wasn't even sure he'd be picked tbh.
    Not a lot more positive to say. We tried to get lucky only to get a hard slap at the bedroom door :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

To suggest they were there for the taking tonight, but also that they're definitely going to score at Anfield is a bit unusual. They were extremely defensive today, and now going into the second leg with a goal they will be even more so. If they really are there for the taking then we should be able to do it over 90 minutes at home.

The away goal was there for the taking. The way the game was panning, the risk was greater than the reward.

As you say they play on the counter. 1-0 down going away to Anfield.. They would of having to come out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Fromvert

We all know Ibe is rubbish and is not good enough to stay at Liverpool. Klopp chose to bring him on though. Klopp needs to take the blame for that when everyone knows he's not up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Fromvert wrote: »
    We all know Ibe is rubbish and is not good enough to stay at Liverpool. Klopp chose to bring him on though. Klopp needs to take the blame for that when everyone knows he's not up to it.

He was MOTM against Bournmouth 10 days ago so it's not totally out of the blue he came on but yes it's looking that he is short of talent to stay in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

We'll do these cúnts next week, crowd be up for it, players be up for it, Klopp be up for it! Sturridge on fire, be grand!

Go to bed, don't be worrying, another great Anfield European night on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Fromvert

He was MOTM against Bournmouth 10 days ago so it's not totally out of the blue he came on but yes it's looking that he is short of talent to stay in the long term.

It's easier to play in a nothing game. One team is safe from relegation, the other just after a huge comeback to get into the semis of the Europa League and rest their whole team. Both teams out for kick about in the sun basically.
    He's not able to perform when there's something at stake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Moreno not squaring it to Ibe was the killer. That moved perfectly summed up Moreno as a footballer - kick the ball ahead of you, run after it really fast, follow it up with hitting the ball as hard as possible while not once using your brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,284 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Firmino has been poison this past few weeks

Big European football night at anfield next week :)
    If they score once we need three.... bit of spice, should be a great game as we really have to go at them from the off IIMO

Could try and eek out a 1 nil & ET too but that's hopefully a conceptual non runner for klopp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,798 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Awful kick in the teeth after a very hard fought and controlled European away performance. I expect lots of result orientated criticism. The last few minutes were exactly why we approached things as we did.

Very tough now - we'll need three at least.

K-9 wrote: »
    Yeah, I'd say Klopp wanted to keep a clean sheet, they had their best spell, probably only spell at the end.

Still, an away goal and it looks a lot better, Bringing on Benteke is a bit pointless, better risking it with Sturridge for 10 minutes even.

Benteke made sense imo. We were restricted to crosses most of the game and needed a target man.

As I said next week will be more of the same, Villareal will defend the same, we'll have plenty of the ball and plenty of crosses, so I'd start Benteke with the clear instruction to stay in the box and make a nuisance of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Benteke made sense imo. We were restricted to crosses most of the game and needed a target man.

As I said next week will be more of the same, Villareal will defend the same, we'll have plenty of the ball and plenty of crosses, so I'd start Benteke with the clear instruction to stay in the box and make a nuisance of himself.

But can he follow that instruction?

Sturridge starts next week we have a good chance of winning the match & going through. Goals win games, he scores goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

Augme wrote: »
    Moreno not squaring it to Ibe was the killer. That moved perfectly summed up Moreno as a footballer - kick the ball ahead of you, run after it really fast, follow it up with hitting the ball as hard as possible while not once using your brain.

That's b0llox, he was after running the length of the pitch while holding off a defender. He has to make a decision one way or another while breaking his neck to stay ahead of his man and hold off his marker, we all wish the outcome was better but that opportunity all came from him and he was decisive.
    My first reaction was 'unlucky Albie, great effort' and after watching it back my opinion hasn't changed.

But can he follow that instruction?

Klopp needs to get Sturridge to have a word with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭jpboard1

Why didn't Sturridge play?