Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

Ennis it was the last time

Venue for U21 final confirmed for Ennis.
    6pm throw in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Is the U-21,s definitely being scrapped and replaced with U-20?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Is the U-21,s definitely being scrapped and replaced with U-20?

I believe so,it was ratified at Congress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

got this this am
    Following discussions between the London County Board and the Connacht Council Mayo GAA can confirm we have received a limited allocation of tickets to cover players, management and sponsors for the upcoming Connacht Senior championship game on May 29th in Ruislip.

The size of this allocation means we cannot supply tickets to our clubs nor will we have tickets for sale through Elverys MacHale Park. Unfortunately this means some fans may not have access to tickets. We will endeavour to work with the London County Board and the Connacht Council and should more tickets be become available we will notify clubs immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Green_Tae

Another uber-dramatic one-point victory for the Mayo u21s. While it's always good to see the Dubs getting beat I would be a tad concerned going forward, e.g. what did the manager say to those lads at half-time, they looked catatonic in the second half? I think they'll really have to perform in both halves to beat Cork. The Rebel's No.11 for example is a lot better than anything Dublin had and will need watching.

Good team this Mayo side - another exciting bunch of attack minded backs emerging onto the scene, particularly Akram who was very busy. Shame Cian Hanley's not there but they're good enough to win anyway.

Padraig Hughes from Armagh is the referee for the All Ireland under 21 football final.Not a huge fan as he tends to overly fussy and whistle happy which tends to be a hindrance to the possibility of a free flowing contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

seligehgit wrote: »
    Padraig Hughes from Armagh is the referee for the All Ireland under 21 football final.Not a huge fan as he tends to overly fussy and whistle happy which tends to be a hindrance to the possibility of a free flowing contest.

If he refs like that at home he must put in some very long days.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Well done to the mayo ladys today.great come back to win by 1.great few weeks for mayo football. Long may it continue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

It was looking very ominous for the ladies there for a while. Fair play to them for pulling it back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The first person to suggest that the last time Leicester City won the league was 1951 gets a slap from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

The first person to suggest that the last time Leicester City won the league was 1951 gets a slap from me.

Yea, you dont want to hear it at all, thats why you were sure to make the connection:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Tottenham won it that year, you're backing the wrong team! :pac:

martyos121 wrote: »
    Tottenham won it that year, you're backing the wrong team! :pac:

OK, maybe there is something in it.

Come on you spurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Should you not be asking the Rossie's permission to reference Leicester City? A month ago, they were convinced they were the "fairytale, feel good factor" story of the year.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Should you not be asking the Rossie's permission to reference Leicester City? A month ago, they were convinced they were the "fairy tale, feel good factor" story of the year.

They have all disappeared off boards since then :)
    But we are well used to that, wait for a few weeks and they will be back when the "Tar is melting and the ice cream is melting" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

yop wrote: »
    They have all disappeared off boards since then :)
    But we are well used to that, wait for a few weeks and they will be back when the "Tar is melting and the ice cream is melting" :)

I wish I shared your optimism regarding the weather forecast. Doesn't seem very realistic today.

Mike Solan hopeful that he'll have a fully fit squad for the U21 final, which is good news. The full-back who went off injured in the semi-final is expected to be back for the match. How many expected to head down to Ennis? Sadly the timing couldn't be worse for me, so I won't be able to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Heading down to it for sure. An AI is at stake. Never mind the good it would do for the county but the confidence and most importantly the self belief it will bring to this young team will be colossal.

Really disappointed that I can't make it.

On the 10th anniversary of the last great triumph at U21 and all, same opposition, same venue.

Same result hopefully.

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Heading down to it for sure. An AI is at stake. Never mind the good it would do for the county but the confidence and most importantly the self belief it will bring to this young team will be colossal.

Yes, a win here would be very significant going forward as many of the guys involved would be minors from 2013.
    That sort of experience in Mayo has been a rare commodity for decades, hopefully they can win it.

Fowler87 wrote: »

Might see you there!;-) I'd be expecting a very big crowd to head down,there's an All Ireland at stake and this crop of potentially very special players have a record of success and are Mayo's future.In addition it's a bank holiday weekend which is likely to bump the numbers up.The traffic is likely to be brutal,I've never been to Ennis before.I've been told by a Banner man that the parking is not too easy to come by.

I missed out on the 2006 win,TG4 was my saviour that day.I can't imagine there will be a very large crowd travelling from the Rebel county?It's going to take a monumental effort for the lads to get over the line,Cork have a very decent team.They've beaten a highly regarded Kerry team and Monaghan.Young Hurley is going to require special attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Hope to make it down myself, will be a long day with some MAyo day tidy towns duties in morning!

I see brehaney putting the boot into Mayo again,
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/surely-the-gods-must-relent-with-mayo-34663048.html

It's going to take a monumental effort for the lads to get over the line,Cork have a very decent team.They've beaten a highly regarded Kerry team and Monaghan.Young Hurley is going to require special attention.

I think they're going to have to find another gear too. Dozing off midmatch isn't going to cut it. I think Cork are where they fully expected to be in this competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Might see you there!;-) I'd be expecting a very big crowd to head down,there's an All Ireland at stake and this crop of potentially very special players have a record of success and are Mayo's future.In addition it's a bank holiday weekend which is likely to bump the numbers up.The traffic is likely to be brutal,I've never been to Ennis before.I've been told by a Banner man that the parking is not too easy to come by.

I missed out on the 2006 win,TG4 was my saviour that day.I can't imagine there will be a very large crowd travelling from the Rebel county?It's going to take a monumental effort for the lads to get over the line,Cork have a very decent team.They'veten a highly regarded Kerry team and Monaghan.Young Hurley is going to require special attention.
    And we thought we were the ones with the hunger....

There'll be some craic in Ennis if they win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PressRun wrote:
    There'll be some craic in Ennis if they win!

Ennis is a great spot I saw Clare play there a couple of times in the early 90s .

I was at the 1992 munster final when they beat Kerry we were on the sideline, I think it was in limerick. I've never been on the sideline watching a game before or since. That was a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

When is the team being named?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Good luck tomorrow lads, is it really Mayo day tomorrow. Just heard it on newstalk .

padd b1975 wrote: »
    When is the team being named?

They don't tend to name the Mayo team at this grade until match day from what I've observed over the years.