Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every accomplishment starts with a decision to try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

aero2k wrote: »
    So, save us the aggro (please tell me that has two g's) and yourself the humiliation, and just stay!:)

You and me both...

Yo, tnks a mil for dat, ok ill stay seen as u askd so nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭aero2k

Firedance wrote: »
    Yo, tnks a mil for dat, ok ill stay seen as u askd so nice

And now I shall have to exit the stage, gracefully, despite the pain....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Thanks Neady - How are you after that epic weekend training?!
    I love swimming, I always have but I've never 'worked' at it before it's always just been purely for enjoyment. I'll start counting laps and seeing if I can progress with that - I must have a sneaky peak on the tri logs for tips on bilateral breathing, I think Kate said KG's log is the place to go? I'm hoping to look at bikes this weekend too with the idea of commuting to work a few times a week, if I can run in I can certainly cycle! But sush, don't tell anyone :p

Welcome to the dark side ;):D The SFTB thread is brill. If you can't manage the suggested distances at first you can always do half. Better to have good form doing less. So excited for you with your new bike. The Beast of Ballyhoura (http://www.beastofballyhoura.com) is only 24 hrs this year. You should get a team together, it would be so much fun and a nice little intro to proper AR for you!!!!!

:D did Neady send you over!! I haven't a bike bought yet and you're sending me links to crazy ass races :D

It's important to have a target race picked out ;)

Edit: I just remembered I had saved this link. https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/84339/379746.docx
    It's all the sessions from the SFTB thread. It doesn't have the videos or the explanation of the drills but it might be useful for yourself and hillsiderunner

Edit: I just remembered I had saved this link. https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/84339/379746.docx
    It's all the sessions from the SFTB thread. It doesn't have the videos or the explanation of the drills but it might be useful for yourself and hillsiderunner

super, thanks! - now how do I get my log moved over to the wonderful side...? :D

on second thoughts, as this is the first instruction in that link

Exercise
    To be completed at your leisure, when next in the pool.
    1. From a standing position, let yourself fall slowly backwards underwater, as you exhale slowly and constantly. Either say "mmmmmmm" and exhale through the nose, or make a motorbike "Brmmmmm" sound and exhale through your lips. Fall slowly down to the bottom; repeat a few times.

I'm out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Will link to it. Not signing up for any races though :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

WHOOOAAA

WHOOOOOAAAAA

WHOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAHHH!!!!!

What the heck has gone on here :eek::eek::eek:

Ah feck it, I'll meet ya in ballyhourra AM :D:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    WHOOOAAA

WHOOOOOAAAAA

WHOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAHHH!!!!!

What the heck has gone on here :eek::eek::eek:

Ah feck it, I'll meet ya in ballyhourra AM :D:D

I was expecting you :D:D:D

yeahwwww, shag this running lark, its all about the adventure racing now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

We'll turn Tangs canal run (Pffft) into an AR weekend.... Canoes, bikes, orienteering, camping stoves..... REAL racing :D:D

super, thanks! - now how do I get my log moved over to the wonderful side...? :D

on second thoughts, as this is the first instruction in that link

Exercise
    To be completed at your leisure, when next in the pool.
    1. From a standing position, let yourself fall slowly backwards underwater, as you exhale slowly and constantly. Either say "mmmmmmm" and exhale through the nose, or make a motorbike "Brmmmmm" sound and exhale through your lips. Fall slowly down to the bottom; repeat a few times.

I'm out!!

I thought you'd be all over this one:D

aero2k wrote: »
    I thought you'd be all over this one:D

To clarify, in case anyone thinks you've gone insane, I used to be a biker.

Maybe I should buy another motorbike and take up scrambling :D

To clarify, in case anyone thinks you've gone insane, I used to be a biker.

Maybe I should buy another motorbike and take up scrambling :D

Biking is like marathon running - there's no used to be, you're just on a little break, that's all.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I was expecting you :D:D:D

yeahwwww, shag this running lark, its all about the adventure racing now :pac:

You do know that those mad people carry those HEAVY bikes UP MOUNTAINS, right?

Seriously, you have really been very stoic and upbeat throughout this setback, and still supportive of everyone else... Fair play to you and glad to see you starting to get your energy back too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

annapr wrote: »

Seriously, you have really been very stoic and upbeat throughout this setback, and still supportive of everyone else... Fair play to you and glad to see you starting to get your energy back too.

+1 to that Anna, you're a powerhouse of positive energy. A shining example to us all.

About carrying bike up mountains, it's been 8 months - the pain memories have faded. I don't think it was really that hard, I was over playing the pain :) Cycling down mountains is fun fun fun

I know, it'll never happen but sure its a distraction for now :p
    Neady83 wrote: »
    About carrying bike up mountains, it's been 8 months - the pain memories have faded. I don't think it was really that hard, I was over playing the pain :) Cycling down mountains is fun fun fun

hmmmm, I'm fairly sure it was horrifically hard :D

Halfords have some nice cheap road racers (although their CS is rubbish) I might start off with the basics and take it from there.. its *only* 13.5 miles door to door for the commute, surely a little bikeen that's not to heavy would do the job!

The bikes aren't that heavy and mostly you're pushing them with a bit of lifting thrown in :D

+1 to the second bit. I'm sure you've a whole pile of good karma built up!!!

Monday 18th April 3.09 miles @ 12:44 (fast walk)

Delighted with this, did my old 3 mile run route and walked as fast as possible - faster than last weeks. Forgot the HR monitor and I may have jogged a few sets of traffic lights. Meant to do another 3 miles this eve with the dog but couldn’t leave the Boston tracker till Murph was over the line, ended up having glass of wine instead of a 3 mile walk! Not a nice hand to be dealt on the day especially with all the hard work everyone had put in over the winter. Impressive display of sticking it out by all.

Tuesday 19th April
    Lunch: 3.10 miles @ 12:58 (fast walk) heart rate 129BPM (the avg if I don’t run at all is around 119-120).
    Same route, a little less jogging the traffic lights today as I had the HR strap on and it spikes quickly with a jog but usually drops back down again quickly enough.
    Eve: 3 miles @ 14:50 (no HR monitor) a fast walk in St Catherines with the dog but the pace avg is lower because I stopped to use the workout machines along the path and there’s an enormous hill to climb too :) absolutely stunning evening, I have quite a collection of photos from that park but couldn’t resist taking another one. Jogged in spots on this too.

Pic

Neady / career move - what's a Cyclocross bike? looks like it could be used for road racing AND adventure racing? Do either of you have any experience with them? Was having a look at THIS as an example...

everyone else, close your ears :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I know, it'll never happen but sure its a distraction for now :p

hmmmm, I'm fairly sure it was horrifically hard :D

Halfords have some nice cheap road racers (although their CS is rubbish) I might start off with the basics and take it from there.. its *only* 13.5 miles door to door for the commute, surely a little bikeen that's not to heavy would do the job!

One bit of advice, stay away from Halfords and even more importantly, stay away from cheap bikes in Halfords. The quality is shocking and I wouldn't trust the mechanics to even put the bike together.

Honestly, your best bet is to get a decent quality bike that won't fall apart if you hit a pothole. Go with entry level established bike companies and your local bike shop who actually care about quality and your custom. You could pick up a great entry level race bike for 800-1000 bucks and most of the established companies will have a lifetime guarantee on the frame. With the bike to work scheme, you will only have to pay around half the price so a bike which costs 800-1000 will be only 4-500 and you will be getting a quality entry level bike. It's really a worthwhile investment to get something that you know will work. Ask the bike shop about the bike to work and a little advise on what you are looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Neady / career move - what's a Cyclocross bike? looks like it could be used for road racing AND adventure racing? Do either of you have any experience with them? Was having a look at THIS as an example...

This is cyclocross:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPcGHnVyn4M

Cyclocross is just off road cycling on trails and the like. I've never ridden one but looking at that bike you linked it seems like it could be ideal for you because as you said, they'll work for both on and off the road. I'd definitely visit your local bike shop before you buy anything though. They'll be able to advise you better and make sure that the bike fit is right. It might work out a tiny bit more expensive than buying on line but at least you'll have the right bike (and they usually throw in a free service)

El Caballo wrote: »
    One bit of advice, stay away from Halfords and even more importantly, stay away from cheap bikes in Halfords. The quality is shocking and I wouldn't trust the mechanics to even put the bike together.

Honestly, your best bet is to get a decent quality bike that won't fall apart if you hit a pothole. Go with entry level established bike companies and your local bike shop who actually care about quality and your custom. You could pick up a great entry level race bike for 800-1000 bucks and most of the established companies will have a lifetime guarantee on the frame. With the bike to work scheme, you will only have to pay around half the price so a bike which costs 800-1000 will be only 4-500 and you will be getting a quality entry level bike. It's really a worthwhile investment to get something that you know will work. Ask the bike shop about the bike to work and a little advise on what you are looking for.

Yeah, I know you're right...thanks E.
    El Caballo wrote: »

Okey dokey, there won't be any of that going on so, all I see is mud and people carrying their bikes :D
    Cyclocross is just off road cycling on trails and the like. I've never ridden one but looking at that bike you linked it seems like it could be ideal for you because as you said, they'll work for both on and off the road. I'd definitely visit your local bike shop before you buy anything though. They'll be able to advise you better and make sure that the bike fit is right. It might work out a tiny bit more expensive than buying on line but at least you'll have the right bike (and they usually throw in a free service)

Yup thanks K, I have a tip for a good shop in Lucan so I'll just go straight there and see what they say. Now I just have to speak to my boss.... undoubtedly there will be rolling eyes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Neady83 wrote: »

The bikes aren't that heavy and mostly you're pushing them with a bit of lifting thrown in :D

Hello....!!!??? You forget that I am an avid reader of both of your reports, I remember the pain better than you two do!!! :D

Wednesday 20th April RHR 57 - total 6 miles fast walk

Lunchtime 3 miles @ 13:10 avg HR 123. Same route as the last two days, cracking day and runners out everywhere :rolleyes: could ye not all hide indoors till I’m better like…. Was feeling pretty good today and RHR was 57 this morning which is edging closer to the low 50’s high 40’s it was before. So I thought I’d try a little jog mid run keeping an eye on the HR - amazingly it didn’t spike immediately! I kept going for about half a mile till it went over 140 and walked again then but was thrilled to bits with that - pace was rubbish but I was JOGGING!!

Evening 3 mile @ 14:01 avg HR 115. Again up to St Catherines park with the dog, glorious evening, super to be able to get out in this weather. This was mostly walking, with a reluctant dog who wanted to be off sniffing and chasing rabbits rather than marching along to a pace on my wrist - sorry Wooders. We jogged up the steep hill in the forest trails because its actually harder to walk up then run up and jogged the downhills too. Stopped the watch at 3 miles and ambled the rest of the way to the car through fields so someone could have their bit of fun.

Thursday 21st April RHR 63

Lunchtime: 3.5 miles @ 13:30 avg HR 120 was knackered after a bad night's sleep so wasn’t surprised I couldn’t muster up any pace, or even attempt a jog. Beautifully stunning day!

Evening: Gym workout
    Stationary bike: 20 mins @ level 4
    Rower: 10 mins at level 10 (highest)
    Treadmil 16 mins @ 7kph & incline 5

Followed up by 45 mins pilates class - holy mother of divine god :eek: BG how do you do these classes?? I have aches in parts of my core I didn’t even know existed - wanted to get up and leave after 5 mins - stuck it out as as the walk from where we were in the hall was too long to ‘sneak’ out :D glad I stayed, might actually go back next week!

Got my bloods done this morning as today marks 4 weeks on the meds, it’ll take 2 weeks apparently for these results as some of them have to go to Jame’s lab.

Had to stop the car in the way home from the gym to take a photo of the evening sky - stunnung!

Friday 22nd April RUN 3 miles @ 12:48 avg HR 144

whoop whoop WHOOP! Ok its pretty pathetic pace wise but I jogged the whole 3 miles :D kept a good eye on the HR, it was creeping up to 140 on the 3rd mile and I had planned to stop when it did but it was going up at such a slow rate I decided to hell with the consequences (max was 161 in the last bit). Spotted by meno on the quays who was probably surprised (and relieved!) to see me jogging - see, your plan didn't break me :pac:

Happy Friday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Yippee!!!!!!!!!!!!

Happy Friday indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Delighted to see you back in action(pace is irrelevant ...

playing devil’s advocate here...I’m assuming Doc said it was ok to run???

Younganne wrote: »
    Delighted to see you back in action(pace is irrelevant ...

playing devil’s advocate here...I’m assuming Doc said it was ok to run???

Sort of...the reason for the running ban was because at the time my heart rate was so high that tachycardia was the concern, however, my RHR never went over 100 (so no tachycardia) and its gone down steadily in the mornings over the last few weeks and is almost back to where it was. In the course of the conversation with the doctor originally she did say 'once things go back to normal' - It'll be another two weeks before yesterdays bloods come back (taken by the nurse - no doctor consultation).

I'm not going to make a habit of today, I really just wanted to see where I am in the recovery stage. I'll stick to the fast walking & the gym workouts for another week with the occasional jog mid walk thrown in. Its just great to see things going in the right direction. When I tried to jog previously mid walk it would feel wrong, today felt great (HR was 82 10 mins after run, now 73 which is about normal for being at work)