Scumbags on CCTV beating up and robbing autistic man at DART MOD NOTE #1

Elemonator wrote: »
    Lads don't bother yourselves! They will get a most severe sentence. Since I'm not feeling generous today, I would suggest a SUSPENDED SENTENCE!

It's so sad to see. I heard from a friend in college that they were Eastern European. That's a big shame about the EU, you can't deport the fcukers home.

Maybe your friend is a big liar.
    Or is just wrong.

That's the problem with online lynch mobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

LI heard from a friend in college that they were Eastern European. That's a big shame about the EU, you can't deport the fcukers home.

I will bet you €100 that they are Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

I'd rather get to the root cause of why these thugs act like that rather than locking them up only to come out worse.

I cannot even comprehend how they could ever do this... mind boggling.

In a perfect world we'd like the first bit. But that the moment we're not solving the root cause and we're not locking them up. How about we do at least one of them.
    I don't know how many previous convictions these guys have but you frequently read of guys with 10 or 20. How about we lock those guys up and just don't let them out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Lads don't bother yourselves! They will get a most severe sentence. Since I'm not feeling generous today, I would suggest a SUSPENDED SENTENCE!

It's so sad to see. They even had previous convictions, what they were doing on the street I don't know. I heard from a friend in college that they were Eastern European. That's a big shame about the EU, you can't deport the fcukers home.

They're not Eastern European they are good old home grown scrotes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

They seem to have arrested two people for this.

Good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

Sapphire wrote: »
    They seem to have arrested two people for this.

Good.

Yeah, they'll be off the streets for at least 3 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

True.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

omahaid wrote: »
    I have no idea about this petition but I strongly suspect it is as a result of peoples frustration and their belief that there will be no real punishment resulting from this appalling crime.

nothing guarantees no prosecution than thousands or people sharing the suspects names on facebook so yeah, that will work out real well.

also, the dpp dont decide either guilt or punishment. May as well be sending a letter to Santa

folks, the law on suspended sentences being throuwn out is a good thing, it means when someone gets a sentence they will actually have to serve it
    It's so sad to see. They even had previous convictions, what they were doing on the street I don't know. I heard from a friend in college that they were Eastern European. That's a big shame about the EU, you can't deport the fcukers home.

so much wrong with this statement.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

snubbleste wrote: »
    Dublin is an unadulterated KIP

Dont lump us in with Bray....

esforum wrote: »
    nothing guarantees no prosecution than thousands or people sharing the suspects names on facebook so yeah, that will work out real well.

also, the dpp dont decide either guilt or punishment. May as well be sending a letter to Santa

I made no comment on the effectiveness of such a petition, you are mistaken if you think I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Remember folks, crime pays.............for the judiciary, solicitors, barristers and all the related staff. Its an industry. Why the hell would a Government want to reduce crime? Think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yeah there is an online petition (not mine);calling for the DPP yo prosecute. Cannot link for obvious reasons but Google is your friend. Have signed myself and it goes straight to the DPP everyone it's signed.

Googled but couldnt find anything, paste the search term to use, that won't be against any rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Remember folks, crime pays.............for the judiciary, solicitors, barristers and all the related staff. Its an industry. Why the hell would a Government want to reduce crime? Think about it.

Yeah its everyone else fault but the criminals, some people really try to blame the government for everything, criminal apologists like you sicken me

VinLieger wrote: »
    Yeah its everyone else fault but the criminals, some people really try to blame the government for everything, criminal apologists like you sicken me

I think you missed his point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭V1llianous

This isn't about Irish Rail rebuilding a laneway, especially one used by a lot of people at 6pm during daylight hours. This is a criminal justice issue.

This man could have just as easily been targeted up the road or down the road. If you have people walking the streets looking for vulnerable people to punch in the head and rob, and you're already known for 'street violence', you need to go straight to jail, don't collect 188 euro.

There are no mitigating factors in this story, it's as violent, nasty and opportunistic as it gets. I can only hope the book is thrown at the two people arrested for this and they are taken off the streets for as long as possible.

An autistic guy on his way home from work who was just after helping a man in a wheelchair get off the train gets his nose bust up and phone robbed simply because he looked vulnerable to someone. It's such a really ****ed up thing to happen. :(

Apart from the act of violence against him it will probably make him terrified to do anything outside of the house again. This isn't a violent anonymous act against an innocent victim who can understand that for what it is and while not acceptable can move on after processing and working through it. This is a violent anonymous act against an innocent victim who cannot comprehend why it has happened and in all likelihood has spent years being taught how to interact publicly and cope with everyday situations that all of us take for granted. I am the father of an autistic son and it is so hard for him to cope in public and busy situations - I am delighted when my son wants to go for a bag of chips or to the shops as him happily doing that and being able to do that with support has taken years of work to achieve. This stupid act by these people has probably undone years of work by lots of people.

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

You missed my point and I'm no criminal apologist either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Googled but couldnt find anything, paste the search term to use, that won't be against any rules

It's a .org one. It came up on my FB feed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 726 ✭✭✭RIGHTisRIGHT

I'd rather get to the root cause of why these thugs act like that rather than locking them up only to come out worse.

I cannot even comprehend how they could ever do this... mind boggling.

What do statements like this even mean?
    The root of the problem is a corrupt legal system that wants to keep a cushy middle and upper class awash in easy money.

The solution is for evil to be dealt with in the harshest way possible.

Here it is

<mod snip>here it aint</mod snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Here it is

Unfortunately won't have the least bit of attention from the judiciary paid to it.

To be fair, even I'm not in favour of our justice system being based on petitions :D

Grandeeod wrote: »

Not much I can add to this but it's 100% true.
    Protest against water charges and you will have 14 guards raid you house in the early hours however.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Here it is

Please don't post the link here. Thanks.

He the scumbag has been released without charge.

Not much I can add to this but it's 100% true.
    Protest against water charges and you will have 14 guards raid you house in the early hours however.

What is the point here? Gardai have arrested the people involved so why the anti Garda rant?

That's what happens when you break the law, you get arrested.

The problem with everyone becoming vigilantes on the internet is that offenders may get off, as their right to a fair trial may be gone.

Not to mention the fact that someone online may blame someone in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭12Phase

They could do a lot more to avoid creating creepy lanes leading into DART stations too. A lot of them have really bizarre and lonely secondary entrances or access routes.

I'm not saying that it's any kind of excuse for this kind of thuggery, but they could do with a bit of investment into these to make them less mugger-friendly.

For example, in Sandymount there's a really weird lonely pathway that runs from Serpentine Avenue through to the DART station in parallel to the track. As far as I am aware it's owned by Dublin City Council but it's a really dangerously lonely spot.

A similar one runs to Landsdowne Road.

Similar places exist in many European systems, I think it's just a product of them being so old, but at the same time there's no reason why they couldn't be sorted out over time. They're often fine at peak times as there are loads of people using them but off-peak they're dangerously isolated and out of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Chuck 'em under the dart...

bubblypop wrote: »
    What is the point here? Gardai have arrested the people involved so why the anti Garda rant?

That's what happens when you break the law, you get arrested.

The problem with everyone becoming vigilantes on the internet is that offenders may get off, as their right to a fair trial may be gone.

Not to mention the fact that someone online may blame someone in the wrong.

My problem is not with the guards so much as those in power giving the orders.
    There is no interest in talking repeat offenders off the streets as this would dry out the revenue stream for the legal professions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

the_syco wrote: »
    This got headlines because this victim was autistic. The passerbys probably know that to get involved is to get beaten, and nothing will be done to the scum.

Phoning the Gardai involves taking out your phone; which will get nicked, and you'll get a box for your troubles.
    Ah sure that's grand so, carry on regardless :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

esforum wrote: »
    no, they do have what I would have called 'cable' back in the day and playstations. 2 last I checked, might be a 3 or 4 now.

Its still only 2's that they have in there ;)