Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags on CCTV beating up and robbing autistic man at DART MOD NOTE #1

• 21-04-2016 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Apologies if this has been put up already, but take a look at this.

Fair warning - the article is hard to read but the footage definately isn't a pretty sight.

The young fella got two black eyes, a broken nose and a stolen phone from the ordeal.

The Gardai seem to know who the attackeres are - but no arrests have been made. What are they waiting for - a written invitation? :confused:

As for the scumbags themselves - they deserve to be blowtorched in the feet, although given their "terrible childhoods" etc etc I imagine a suspended sentence and a written apology will suffice for whatever judge they eventually get thrown in front of. I suppose it would be too much to ask for people in their local communities to turn them in upon seeing this footage?

We (the mods) are going to have to step in and ask you to please no longer say what you would like to do the the guy/girls who assaulted the autistic guy in this incident.

There have been too many threats and violent words on the thread so far which are not allowed on boards.ie.
    Can I ask that you please hold back on posting what you would like to see happen to the guy.

This is an emotional story for everyone, everyone has the sympathy of the poor lad that was attacked and I think that we can agree as a community that the guy that assaulted him is in the wrong.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So that's the reward he gets for being a decent citizen helping another person off the dart who was in a wheelchair:mad:

Forget about the slap on the wrist justice system,Put their names and faces on the front of the papers so communities know exactly what is living amongst them and let them deal with these sociopaths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    The Gardai seem to know who the attackeres are - but no arrests have been made. What are they waiting for - a written invitation? :confused:

The report says "Two people have been arrested in connection with a daylight attack"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Poor lad. Hope he recovers from the trauma and these guys are severely punished. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

Don't worry. They'll face the full force of the Irish legal system. Might even get a suspended sentence out of it.
    What's the betting they have 20 or more previous convictions each. Article says the male is known to Gardai "involvement in drugs and violent street crime". I'd love to live in a society where these scum were actually put in jail. I don't care about it being punitive but I'd like if the rest of society was protected from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭recyclops

The Term known to gardai is one that particularly annoys me, the only reason someone should "known" to gardai is if they are constantly breaking the law.

surely if constantly breaking the law you are of no use to society and should be put away for a good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Theres no fear of the gardai, courts or prison anymore, need to properly punish these pieces of filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

recyclops wrote: »
    The Term known to gardai is one that particularly annoys me, the only reason someone should "known" to gardai is if they are constantly breaking the law.

surely if constantly breaking the law you are of no use to society and should be put away for a good while.

It's a shame the whole "put them on an island away from the rest of us" idea just wound up creating Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

The culprit will be a 'talented footballer' whose life has changed since <insert cliché here >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

These people need rehabilitation.

With a cricket bat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Yet another boards thread,Yet another unprovoked violent incident.
    These incidents could be stopped if government actually wanted to tackle it.
    But nope,It will go on and on,Next week or the week after we will be discussing another incident here,Nearly always involving the same scum.

I don't really even blame the scum,I blame us as a society for tolerating it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

The only people who get appropriate sentences in this country are people who are not repeat offenders. If you have 20/30/40 previous convictions then the judiciary have to give light sentences otherwise we would need less judges and less barristers/solicitors.

I'm sure there are many that will come on with their "cite your sources" and roll eyes but those people are part of the reason this poor young man got assaulted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

€10 in the poor box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    Yet another boards thread,Yet another unprovoked violent incident.
    These incidents could be stopped if government actually wanted to tackle it.
    But nope,It will go on and on,Next week or the week after we will be discussing another incident here,Nearly always involving the same scum.

I don't really even blame the scum,I blame us as a society for tolerating it.

During our last election I contacted my local representatives and talked about crime. This was the gold nugget I got back from one.

"On crime, I don't believe that mandatory sentencing of any kind will help matters. To reduce crime, we need to improve the lives and conditions of people, enhance family and community supports,and put far more focus on support and rehabilitation in the prison system, and on post-release services, than on simple punitive measures that just don't work. Rehabilitation and support have a far greater effect on recidivism rates than ever-longer sentences and mandatory punishments that take no account of circumstances or anything else."

That's a Socialist Party TD. I agree that education is the best solution but if they're attacking the public while they're being educated and enhanced can we at least protect normal decent people. If somebody has 20 or 30 or more previous convictions, I think they've been educated enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

He is a knack bag from ballybrack and the guards are the least of his worries.

I agree that education is the best solution but if they're attacking the public while they're being educated and enhanced can we at least protect normal decent people. If somebody has 20 or 30 or more previous convictions, I think they've been educated enough.

I agree. The protection of victims seems to be taking second place to the "rehabilitation" of the criminals these days.

You often see more sympathy for the criminal than the victim because sure didn't have a terrible hard childhood altogether.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Dublin is an unadulterated KIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

What I found just as disturbing is the amount of passers by that kept the head down & just kept walking...shame on them :mad:

snubbleste wrote: »
    Dublin is an unadulterated KIP
    Bray is county Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Bray is county Wicklow.

Little Bray, Co Dublin :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Bray is county Wicklow.
    :o
    I did not read the news story in true AH fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Absolute scum.

It makes me sad/mad to think my son could be subjected to such little baxtards when he gets older.

There is no justice in this country, it's a farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Foxhound38 wrote: »

criminals arent always sitting at home waiting for a knock on the door and Gardai that respond to these crimes can sometimes be the only response in the area and cannot be taken of patrol to investigate.

Of course on TV thats how it works, 1 crime an episode and all units be them uniform or detective have no other cases to solve and the CSI officer also arrests the suspect and takes the victims statement while solving the forensic evidence all before lunch but in the real world the uniform Garda dealing with this probable has another 10 cases on the go and will still be assigned to patrol tomorrow instead of given the time to investigate and do something pointless like arrest a criminal.

The criminal mind you, after being arrested and charged will probable nick a car or bike to get home after getting bail because in the past 24 hours he has turned his life around.
    What I found just as disturbing is the amount of passers by that kept the head down & just kept walking...shame on them :mad:

common event. People will rarely get involved and are more likely to record the attack and then complain about the gardai than get involved or be witnesses in court. While rare in itself its usually a passing taxi that will step in or call the Gardai.
    He is a knack bag from ballybrack and the guards are the least of his worries.

as long as he wasnt ****ting on his own doorstep his neighbours wont give a ****

esforum wrote: »
    criminals arent always sitting at home waiting for a knock on the door and Gardai that respond to these crimes can sometimes be the only response in the area and cannot be taken of patrol to investigate.

Of course on TV thats how it works, 1 crime an episode and all units be them uniform or detective have no other cases to solve and the CSI officer also arrests the suspect and takes the victims statement while solving the forensic evidence all before lunch but in the real world the uniform Garda dealing with this probable has another 10 cases on the go and will still be assigned to patrol tomorrow instead of given the time to investigate and do something pointless like arrest a criminal.

The criminal mind you, after being arrested and charged will probable nick a car or bike to get home after getting bail because in the past 24 hours he has turned his life around.

common event. People will rarely get involved and are more likely to record the attack and then complain about the gardai than get involved or be witnesses in court. While rare in itself its usually a passing taxi that will step in or call the Gardai.

as long as he wasnt ****ting on his own doorstep his neighbours wont give a ****

They aren't his neighbours and he isn't originally from there.

It happened in Bray and the people arrested were arrested in Bray. I am talking about the criminals, are you refering to the victim?

The guy who hit the poor lad is not from bray and doesn't live there he lives in ballybrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

The young man’s anxious father said he would like to see extra security on trains and for the laneway to be rebuilt.

This isn't about Irish Rail rebuilding a laneway, especially one used by a lot of people at 6pm during daylight hours. This is a criminal justice issue.

This man could have just as easily been targeted up the road or down the road. If you have people walking the streets looking for vulnerable people to punch in the head and rob, and you're already known for 'street violence', you need to go straight to jail, don't collect 188 euro.

There are no mitigating factors in this story, it's as violent, nasty and opportunistic as it gets. I can only hope the book is thrown at the two people arrested for this and they are taken off the streets for as long as possible.

An autistic guy on his way home from work who was just after helping a man in a wheelchair get off the train gets his nose bust up and phone robbed simply because he looked vulnerable to someone. It's such a really ****ed up thing to happen. :(

The guy who hit the poor lad is not from bray and doesn't live there he lives in ballybrack.

right, I have no idea what you are talking about now.

The attack happened in Bray, the scumbag lives in Ballybrack. You said the "Gardai are the least of his worries" and I responded that "his neighbours wont give a ****" to which you replied "they arent his neighbours"

whats going on here? Who does he have to be worried about and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The attack happened in Bray, the scumbag lives in Ballybrack. You said the "Gardai are the least of his worries" and I responded that "his neighbours wont give a ****" to which you replied "they arent his neighbours"

hopefully he is worried about getting his legs broken

Guy who was attacked is from Bray

Guy who attacked him is from ballybrack (not originally)

Neighbours in ballybrack are afraid of him s9 no worries there.

Others in ballybrack/bray are not afraid of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Sterilise the lot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Stacker Pentecost

A beating to within an inch of their lives which would see them never walk (at least properly) again is what's required.

Never mind the bent Irish 'justice' system.

Guy who was attacked is from Bray

Guy who attacked him is from ballybrack (not originally)

Neighbours in ballybrack are afraid of him s9 no worries there.

Others in ballybrack/bray are not afraid of him

right, grand thanks for the clarification. I doubt there will be retaliation but who knows

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm a helpful guy. I stop for people with punctures. Help buggies up and down stairs. Hold doors open. I hope if something like that happens in front of me I'd have the stones to help. My son is on the spectrum and I won't actually watch that video. Some people are just feral pests who can't be redeemed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

lertsnim wrote: »
    Sterilise the lot of them

I agree 100% with this, lads with 20+ convictions are never going to raise well respected children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sure they go to a prison with all the mod cons if they are eventually convicted of anything so prison holds no fear for them.

Prison shouldn't be comfortable, the thought of going there should put real fear in people which isn't happening at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Some people just needed to be locked up forever and kept away from society people like this can't be rehabilitated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Scumbags.

Feed them to Lions

Bring in chain gangs and manual labour like rock breaking in prisons, enough of them sitting on couches watching sky sports and playing with the brand spanking new consoles, prison is meant to be punishment not a holiday which is what scum like this see it as if they even get sent there at all

VinLieger wrote: »
    Bring in chain gangs and manual labour like rock breaking in prisons, enough of them sitting on couches watching sky sports and playing with the brand spanking new consoles, prison is meant to be punishment not a holiday which is what scum like this see it as if they even get sent there at all
    But, but, but...prison is about rehabilitation & not punishment surely? :pac::pac::pac:

Don't see much rehabilitation happening with all these reoffenders walking the streets so obviously that has failed.

Lets get the punishment back in as priority and then go back to being all touchy feelly about the rehabilitation again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

VinLieger wrote: »

Do they really have the sports package and the latest consoles in Irish prisons?

I don't know about Irish prisons but they do it in US prisons as a way to control the inmates: You get an xbox but if you go starting fights at dinner time we'll take it away.

That's the logic behind it from what I've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

The attacker's name popped up in a post on my Facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Looks like the scumbags names and addresses have been published on fb seems neighbours were only too happy to help out the toe rags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭golfball37

omahaid wrote: »
    The only people who get appropriate sentences in this country are people who are not repeat offenders. If you have 20/30/40 previous convictions then the judiciary have to give light sentences otherwise we would need less judges and less barristers/solicitors.

I'm sure there are many that will come on with their "cite your sources" and roll eyes but those people are part of the reason this poor young man got assaulted.

Nail on the head sir. The free legal aid gravy train is keeping solicitors in business and the judges are complying by ensuring we have the revolving door policy when it comes to recidivist filth. These judges started out as lawyers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

What a week to be a scumbag, no more suspended sentences as they're unconstitutional at least until the government decide to "fix" it.

Law allowing courts to activate suspended sentences ruled unconstitutional

Birneybau wrote: »
    The attacker's name popped up in a post on my Facebook page.

Yeah there is an online petition (not mine);calling for the DPP yo prosecute. Cannot link for obvious reasons but Google is your friend. Have signed myself and it goes straight to the DPP everyone it's signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The perpetrator assaulted me about 12 years ago. Him and about 5 of his mates jumped on me for no reason whilst I was walking home one night. He has been to prison several times and still hasn't changed. Throw the key away this time.

His brother also broke the nose and mugged a 16 year female Spanish student. He is not too long out of prison.

The family are scum. Whenever I am ranting about troublesome families ruining council estates and not being evicted, it is this family in particular that im pointing out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

What were the burds doing in the video?