Scumbags on CCTV beating up and robbing autistic man at DART MOD NOTE #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Sterilise the lot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Stacker Pentecost

A beating to within an inch of their lives which would see them never walk (at least properly) again is what's required.

Never mind the bent Irish 'justice' system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Guy who was attacked is from Bray

Guy who attacked him is from ballybrack (not originally)

Neighbours in ballybrack are afraid of him s9 no worries there.

Others in ballybrack/bray are not afraid of him

right, grand thanks for the clarification. I doubt there will be retaliation but who knows

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm a helpful guy. I stop for people with punctures. Help buggies up and down stairs. Hold doors open. I hope if something like that happens in front of me I'd have the stones to help. My son is on the spectrum and I won't actually watch that video. Some people are just feral pests who can't be redeemed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

lertsnim wrote: »
    Sterilise the lot of them

I agree 100% with this, lads with 20+ convictions are never going to raise well respected children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sure they go to a prison with all the mod cons if they are eventually convicted of anything so prison holds no fear for them.

Prison shouldn't be comfortable, the thought of going there should put real fear in people which isn't happening at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Some people just needed to be locked up forever and kept away from society people like this can't be rehabilitated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,033 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Scumbags.

Feed them to Lions

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Bring in chain gangs and manual labour like rock breaking in prisons, enough of them sitting on couches watching sky sports and playing with the brand spanking new consoles, prison is meant to be punishment not a holiday which is what scum like this see it as if they even get sent there at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

VinLieger wrote: »
    Bring in chain gangs and manual labour like rock breaking in prisons, enough of them sitting on couches watching sky sports and playing with the brand spanking new consoles, prison is meant to be punishment not a holiday which is what scum like this see it as if they even get sent there at all
    But, but, but...prison is about rehabilitation & not punishment surely? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    But, but, but...prison is about rehabilitation & not punishment surely? :pac::pac::pac:

Don't see much rehabilitation happening with all these reoffenders walking the streets so obviously that has failed.

Lets get the punishment back in as priority and then go back to being all touchy feelly about the rehabilitation again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

VinLieger wrote: »

Do they really have the sports package and the latest consoles in Irish prisons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Do they really have the sports package and the latest consoles in Irish prisons?

I don't know about Irish prisons but they do it in US prisons as a way to control the inmates: You get an xbox but if you go starting fights at dinner time we'll take it away.

That's the logic behind it from what I've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

The attacker's name popped up in a post on my Facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Looks like the scumbags names and addresses have been published on fb seems neighbours were only too happy to help out the toe rags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭golfball37

omahaid wrote: »
    The only people who get appropriate sentences in this country are people who are not repeat offenders. If you have 20/30/40 previous convictions then the judiciary have to give light sentences otherwise we would need less judges and less barristers/solicitors.

I'm sure there are many that will come on with their "cite your sources" and roll eyes but those people are part of the reason this poor young man got assaulted.

Nail on the head sir. The free legal aid gravy train is keeping solicitors in business and the judges are complying by ensuring we have the revolving door policy when it comes to recidivist filth. These judges started out as lawyers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,549 ✭✭✭✭Varik

What a week to be a scumbag, no more suspended sentences as they're unconstitutional at least until the government decide to "fix" it.

Law allowing courts to activate suspended sentences ruled unconstitutional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Birneybau wrote: »
    The attacker's name popped up in a post on my Facebook page.

Yeah there is an online petition (not mine);calling for the DPP yo prosecute. Cannot link for obvious reasons but Google is your friend. Have signed myself and it goes straight to the DPP everyone it's signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The perpetrator assaulted me about 12 years ago. Him and about 5 of his mates jumped on me for no reason whilst I was walking home one night. He has been to prison several times and still hasn't changed. Throw the key away this time.

His brother also broke the nose and mugged a 16 year female Spanish student. He is not too long out of prison.

The family are scum. Whenever I am ranting about troublesome families ruining council estates and not being evicted, it is this family in particular that im pointing out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

What were the burds doing in the video?

Yeah there is an online petition (not mine);calling for the DPP yo prosecute. Cannot link for obvious reasons but Google is your friend. Have signed myself and it goes straight to the DPP everyone it's signed.

Why exactly is there an online petition to the DPP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

JustShon wrote: »
    It's a shame the whole "put them on an island away from the rest of us" idea just wound up creating Australia.
    Spike Island.
    Mesrine65 wrote: »
    What I found just as disturbing is the amount of passers by that kept the head down & just kept walking...shame on them :mad:
    This got headlines because this victim was autistic. The passerbys probably know that to get involved is to get beaten, and nothing will be done to the scum.

Phoning the Gardai involves taking out your phone; which will get nicked, and you'll get a box for your troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

One woman was trying to stop the scumbag from hitting the lad, the other went through his pockets while he was on the ground.

Someone got shot in the legs in Bray last year I'm what was allegedly a punishment shooting. Maybe that'll happen again. Quite concerning however that there are 2 pictures of different people on the FB page shared by the same person both alleging that the person in the pic is the attacker. The second picture is of someone who I used to see go around with the attacker, but there no sign of him in the CCTV so I can only guess that the sharer has made a mistake. That's the problem with these things doing the rounds on FB. You could share anyone's pic on those posts and say it was the attacker. Nobody is doing any investigative work before calling for the breezeblocks to be brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

bubblypop wrote: »
    Why exactly is there an online petition to the DPP?

Google it and read it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

fatknacker wrote: »
    What were the burds doing in the video?
    going through the lads pockets by the looks of things. They got his phone which I believe has not been recovered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

no, they do have what I would have called 'cable' back in the day and playstations. 2 last I checked, might be a 3 or 4 now.

I know its not your petition but you do realise the DPP wont be making a decision based on an online petition and naming suspects before they get to court is a literal get out of jail card for them.

the_syco wrote: »
    This got headlines because this victim was autistic. The passerbys probably know that to get involved is to get beaten, and nothing will be done to the scum.

Phoning the Gardai involves taking out your phone; which will get nicked, and you'll get a box for your troubles.

A coward dies a thousand deaths, a hero but one.

or

all that evil needs to triumph is for good man to stand idle by

whichever takes your fancy

Google it and read it.

Not finding anything.
    Anyway that doesn't answer the question.
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

I'd rather get to the root cause of why these thugs act like that rather than locking them up only to come out worse.

I cannot even comprehend how they could ever do this... mind boggling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

bubblypop wrote: »
    Not finding anything.
    Anyway that doesn't answer the question.
    Why?

I have no idea about this petition but I strongly suspect it is as a result of peoples frustration and their belief that there will be no real punishment resulting from this appalling crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Lads don't bother yourselves! They will get a most severe sentence. Since I'm not feeling generous today, I would suggest a SUSPENDED SENTENCE!

It's so sad to see. They even had previous convictions, what they were doing on the street I don't know. I heard from a friend in college that they were Eastern European. That's a big shame about the EU, you can't deport the fcukers home.