Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Serious reflections on that! Can't wait to get mine back from the bodyshop and put a nano coating on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

OSI thats a beautiful car, really loving the new GTI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Curran wrote: »
    Thats because it rarely sees a wash of late, given Im that busy with life in general.
    It used to be kept absolutely spotless....alas, kids put a stop to that! :( :P

Your shop is above elite....no excuses :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

I have a severe dislike for paying someone to do a job I can do equally as well myself....not just on cars...anything really. Just time isn't always on my side! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Can't see your pics OSI :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Looking excellent Osi.
    How did you find using it?
    You will be glad you used this I have no doupt in my mind.
    I washed mine againyesterday and it was a doddle.
    Foamed and pressure washed the wheels. They came up 95% clean.
    Got a clean MF cloth and some shampoo in a bucket to finieh them off, Literally one wipe each was all it took and tehy look first day again.

Loving that Gti by the way. Looks real nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

OSI wrote: »
    Vectra, it's surprisingly easy to work with I will say. Very preferential to any wax I've tried. Are you doing anything to maintain it? Any idea what the Reload stuff is for? The box mentions using it "after IH", which means nothing to me, but I'm guessing it's a top up spray between treatments?

Did you give it a final wipedown with Reload after one hour ?

They recommend this.

Reload is what I use to maintain the CQUK.

I took 1/3 of a bottle and put it in another spray bottle and topped it with water . This I use as a drying aid / QD maybe once every second wash.

Then after say 5 or 6 washes I would do the above but once dry I will give it a light coat of Pure Reload.

I still have about 1/3 bottle left from new.
    I must actually get one again.

I honestly am convinced thi is the best product I have used on any car to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

Bought some products recently from detailingshed, only put to use this morning:P
    Not a complete detail by any means but she came up well. Didn't get the chance to wax though because by the time I had it prepped and polished the sun had come over the house.....maybe tomorrow :pac: Has the usual wash damage from previous owner so she's booked in for a professional job next month.
    26558422795_069eacf0af_c.jpgF11 by Tony, on Flickr
    25953444534_dfe52f9c83_c.jpgF11 by Tony, on Flickr
    25953446404_d05b4b52e0_c.jpgF11 by Tony, on Flickr
    26492357981_1f01340a94_c.jpgF11 by Tony, on Flickr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Just a photo I have of Iron-x doing it's thing yesterday.

IMAG0693.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

After a few days on and off work thanks to the good weather, I would now class her as really really clean. Sealed with Blacklight, HD wax. The paint need correcting, two stage I would say. It is so frustrating when you detail a car that looks perfect and spot every tiny imperfection.....OCD is curse.

a6d82fd6-e13d-45c9-8ae3-bc7d90a828fc.jpg
    349908ad-d81f-4865-aa01-cdaa0b1fd9d5.jpg
    91CE2730-60DA-4F6D-8E6B-171FADA4BB00.jpg
    58F19709-B097-4A9B-B256-5751F0CDDE80.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Looks the dogs dangley bits now tho.

Plates can be seen in 1st and 4th pic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Question. If one was to use a DA on paintwork that had no clear coat, what would happen?

The pad would turn the colour of the paint. Instead of removing lacquer, you'd be removing a layer of paint.

Thought so.... So there's no way of "restoring" paintwork without a clearcoat is there? Hand polish does sfa.

There is but you'd have to be even more careful and remember that you're removing paint, not lacquer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

It'll be restored with a Machine compound/polish alright but like MM said, you'd be taking off a layer of paint, just make sure to seal/protect it after and should be good!

This is on a tractor that was resprayed about 6 years ago, but the retarrds decided not to put a coat of lacquer on, so it's gone faded a tad. Obviously won't be a pro job. Just if there was anything I could do myself, I'd give it a shot.

A tractor???? It'll have a layer of ****e on it soon enough, you could DA a few microns off that instead :pac:

Ya, its in need of some tlc, getting new stickers for it and a few bits, would like to have the John Deere green restored as opposed to this dull colour.

Could be a single stage paint....no lacquer....so you'd get colour transfer immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

A bit of t cut be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

So spent a bit of time on the car yesterday.

snow foamed
    De tared
    Washed
    clay barred
    Washed
    Blacklight
    Waxed

Car looked great.

Came out an hour later and the f*cking birds had sh1t all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,505 ✭✭✭MarkN

So today I had to take scratch X to my pretty much unmarked car due to some roadworks plastic barriers taking flight in winds due to not being secured properly. Got out of the car to see it had hit the front bumper, wing, mirror, door handle and rear quarter. Went over to the hut of the fellas working and the foreman was decent enough about it, said he'd be as annoyed if it was his car, we swapped numbers etc

Pretty much all of the scuffing came out with the scratch X but the front wing has a scrape running a good 10 inches (not through to the paint). Presume a machine polish of some kind would be needed to buff it? Not gonna bill them for a buff but frustrating all the same driving along minding my own business etc

Looks pretty minor Mark - would only need the lightest of going over with a machine polisher to sort that, I reckon.

That said, Id have hit the roof if it were my car! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

MarkN wrote: »
    So today I had to take scratch X to my pretty much unmarked car due to some roadworks plastic barriers taking flight in winds due to not being secured properly. Got out of the car to see it had hit the front bumper, wing, mirror, door handle and rear quarter. Went over to the hut of the fellas working and the foreman was decent enough about it, said he'd be as annoyed if it was his car, we swapped numbers etc

Pretty much all of the scuffing came out with the scratch X but the front wing has a scrape running a good 10 inches (not through to the paint). Presume a machine polish of some kind would be needed to buff it? Not gonna bill them for a buff but frustrating all the same driving along minding my own business etc

Looks like plastic transfer so try bit of thinners or petrol.
    Then wash right away and ready wax or polish if it's removed.

Curran wrote: »
    Looks pretty minor Mark - would only need the lightest of going over with a machine polisher to sort that, I reckon.

That said, Id have hit the roof if it were my car! :P

I stayed as calm as I could, going off on one with construction workers doesn't work IMO :p

I'll have to find a man with a polisher, doubt Elite do one panel jobs!

Hmmm, Id say he would....but if you want to shoot me an email, and can make it over some day Im there, if he's too busy to do it, I'll give it some love! ;)

Ah fair play, very decent of you. An excuse to buy something while I'm there so ;)

Any excuse to get ye in the door! :D :P