Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

vectra wrote: »
    Just curious,

Are you saying it would be ok to use Essence and then apply cquk directly over it without a wipedown?
    Sounds like a plan.

This is what Curran told me but I was dubious due to the fact that in theory CQUK would be bonding to the polish rather than the paintwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

You have to think of Essence as being totally different. Its polish, filler and protection. Essence is not a regular polish. It has semi permanent fillers in it, and protection also, which stand alone, is good for up to 12 months.
    Yes, CarPro say it's the perfect base to Cquartz / CQUK...no need to remove. Buff it after a set on the machine polisher and it's simply walk away and the car is protected or alternatively its ready for the subsequent Cquartz coating....hence why us making huge ripples in Detailing circles!
    To be honest, it does sound too good to be true, but going on reviews it's superb...hoping to test it in the coming days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭cena

Did this today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Could be something to get an awesome finish on a dark color car then .
    Or white for that matter to give it a bit of "Pre gloss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭keano25

Curran, can you recommend a rotary polisher for me? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

keano25 wrote: »

If you are looking for something cheap enough I can suggest the Cleanyourcar EP801.

Anything upto €200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Whats the consensus on that 80 euro one in argos. Bought one, turned it on to see if it was working, and did no more with it. Must get a few bits and bobs for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭cena

Whats the consensus on that 80 euro one in argos. Bought one, turned it on to see if it was working, and did no more with it. Must get a few bits and bobs for it.
    I used it today. See my above post

keano25 wrote: »
    vectra wrote: »
    If you are looking for something cheap enough I can suggest the Cleanyourcar EP801.

Cant fault that recommendation.
    The more expensive you go, generally the lighter they are. Machine polishing is a energy zapping process, and your arms can be hanging off you quite soon after starting into a door or side panel. So if you are deciding between a few, go for the lightest option, you'll be happy you did! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Some suspected key scratches 95% removed from my buddies 3 Series today, used Menzerna 300 on a Microfiber Cutting Disc and sealed with Menzerna Power Lock.

received_841945055910340_zpsxygu6rxr.jpeg

received_841945072577005_zpsic3bytfa.jpeg

received_841945142576998_zpsorzd1ncg.jpeg

After:

IMG_20160503_203538_zpsqqquaznc.jpg

Gave the C5 it's well needed wash today. It does a lot of high mileage and once it went beyond a certain level of dirtiness i wouldnt bring it to a car wash and waited to get a chance ot do it myself (i've yet to give it a proper machine polish, etc and my car cleaning gear has been inaccessible for a while so i could justify using a 'normal' car wash).

The difference was amazing. Was like a completley different car, it had been dirty that long. Felt like i legitimately changed cars. Looks completely different. haha.

XLl1lYa.jpg

VkPjzIp.jpg

However, all is not rosy in the Citroen garden.. I've noticed some fairly serious paint damage on both front wheel arches. Must be from stones flying up from the front wheels and pelting the paint. Not sure what the best approach is here. I think I'll try touching it up myself with a toothpick and tub o' colour-matched paint from motor factors, but if it doesn't work I reckon the only real solution is a respray of both wings?

Here's a pic of the worst side:

http://i.imgur.com/Bh9y6tq.jpg

Just about to buy wipers on Micks Garage and seen Mudflaps.. wonder would they be worth investing in for the above issue? (get the area affected painted and sealed, and then cover with a mud flap to prevent it getting hit again!?).

Seen as I seemed to have killed the thread, here are another 2 from my car wash adventures :P

(haven't messed with the contrast or anything on the pics, just resized. Mad the difference a good wishy washy can make!)

BxWoXyQ.jpg

k9JAQdP.jpg

The cat in the first picture (if you found him!) disappeared for a while. and just when I was finished cleaning, i put the pressure washer in the shed, put away the buckets etc. and came back out, and there were little paw prints up along the bonnet and across the roof... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

My feckin cat keeps doing that.
    He damaged paint on bonnet of 1.

That's like night and day KKV. Those black alloys really suit the car. Make sure that when you're getting new tyres you tel the guy to be extra careful removing the old one!!

Make sure that when you're getting new tyres you tel the guy to be extra careful removing the old one!!

The amount of butchers doing tyres around the country is unreal..

Talk about pride in your work.. most of them don't give a ****..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

I got a puncture repaired in Drumcliff in Sligo. The guy had the tyre machine with the soft rollers. I was pleasantly surprised as it was out in the boonies. I would go there again if I needed tyres.

That's like night and day KKV. Those black alloys really suit the car. Make sure that when you're getting new tyres you tel the guy to be extra careful removing the old one!!

Oh I do. I've been in and out of tyre places 3 times since getting them and asked each time. In fairness, once I've said it to them, they've been careful enough with them.

I remember I had the 407 and got the tyres changed on it. The wheels were ruined. Circular scrape marks the whole way around the face of them. (I only did 2 wheels thankfully).

The lads were literally just opening their business that day, though, so I said nothing (as I'm sure they realised, and didn't thin it necessary to bust their balls over something on their first day). I wasn't as fussed about the 407 as I am about the C5 though. Especially after paying for the refurb of the wheels. I've managed to avoid kerbing them so far, so not letting a tyre place wreck them on me :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Gave the car a good was and clay today. Claying is very tedious I find. I applaud anyone who does it on a regular basis.

A throughout de-tar and de-iron prior to claying, makes the chore a whole lot easier. And it becomes a little easier with experience....can do a good claying, with a claybar, in about 20-30 minutes on an average family sized car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I finally got off my rear and gave me car a spring clean
    Yesterday I tackled the clean. It was a good day for it as it was cloudy enough, but dry. I found a handy work bench out the front....

ikgKNqE3

I started with the usual two bucket wash with AG shampoo, detar with Carpro TarX (God that's good stuff, the tar flowed off). The detar was repeated (thanks to a stupid amount of tar on the car). Next was another wash followed with it being clayed with a claycloth and home made lube (water, APC and a good squirt of Fairy washing up liquid). It was washed again, dried with a Dry-me-Crazy and two coats of Collinite 845. Buffed by hand.

Wheels were Bilt Hamber Autowheels, detarred, rewashed, dried, AG SRP and two coats of AG extra gloss protection. Tyres was Orchard Tyre Care (I can't think of the right name right now). Wheel arches were AG Engine & Machine cleaner, and old pot scrubber then washed (hence the black bucket above).

Interior was Bilt Hamber Surfix (geez that's great tack!) and AG Fast Glass. It was also hoovered.

The results

MsnathDJ

uJH32T1b

Next on the list was a wash of my motorhome. That was the usual 2BM, dry, wheels & tyres and interior (I was away for a few days in it). After that was a brand new motorhome for a detail. We have found at home that a coat or two of Collinite makes it so much easier to wash later, especially the black streaks that plague coachbuilt motorhomes from water marks. It was the usual 2BM wash AG Shampoo, claycloth as above, washed again and a very thin coat of Collinite 845 applied. It was buffed to finish.

1nKrnuRR

sSIGQKjK

cr8VU3pC

Wheels, tyres, glass will all follow. The interior was done already with furniture polish.

Next on the list is an old Citroen AX GT door to learn machine polishing. That's the plan for tomorrow when it's supposed to be raining.

That's a fair amount of work Ian, fair play. Lovely finished products!

The OAC Tyre stuff is called Glitz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

That's a fair amount of work Ian, fair play. Lovely finished products!

The OAC Tyre stuff is called Glitz.

Thanks. I'm sitting on me arse here and I'm too lazy to go to the shed to check the bottle.

Edit, the second motorhome was finished today. The day isnt ong enough to do one car and two motorhomes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭weekaizer

Started to wash the Avensis yesterday and finished today! snow foam and wash with fairy liquid to remove all protection.
    Detared and clayed followed by polish with medium pad and fast gloss menzerna Polish using a d/a.
    Today I finished by applying collinite 845.
    Tyres dressed, Windows cleaned with rainox and black trim treated with a chemical guys product. Forget the name but the car turned out like new!

Good work lads - all vehicles looking very well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Curran wrote: »
    A throughout de-tar and de-iron prior to claying, makes the chore a whole lot easier. And it becomes a little easier with experience....can do a good claying, with a claybar, in about 20-30 minutes on an average family sized car.

Done both, I ran out of tar x so had to use a different brand, so thats something I'll need to pick up soon. It was my first time to properly clay a car so hopefully next time I'm faster. I reckon it took me about 45 mins.

Tried to also use the Bilt Hamber finis wax that I got from you but I couldn't get the nack of it so I switched over to a spray on wax. To be fair waxing is the thing I looked into the least so maybe a bit more learning is required before I do it again.

Secret to waxing or sealant is to apply it in thin layers. Its easier to buff off then. Two thin layers is better than one layer that has been lashed on. Though what is hard to define, is what is and what isnt thin! :) There should be little effort to buff a thin layer....if you are having to work at it, then you need to go thinner the next time! ;)
    Sometimes it can be a bit hard to get the wax to spread nicely, and the slightest spritz of water, a misting at best, on the applicator, will help it transfer from the pot to applicator and from there to the paintwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭tech

Today the A5 got a little clean up :)

20160429_090939.jpg
    20160429_090930.jpg
    20160429_090919.jpg
    20160429_090126.jpg
    20160429_090909.jpg
    20160429_085352.jpg
    20150926_111935.jpg
    20150904_194001.jpg
    20160506_144956.jpg
    20160506_150925.jpg
    20160506_150921.jpg
    20160506_154035.jpg
    20150926_120902.jpg
    20150926_120849.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

tech wrote: »

fantastic stuff.

have you any tips for cleaning the chrome exhaust please?

Elect a clown... Expect a circus