When did you realize you're becoming "old"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

When many of the films, or tv programs being made are reboots of programs i watched as a teenager.
    Pop singers you liked are now on classic hits radio .
    When people in shops call you sir.
    Do kids these days know who bosco is ,
    or what the den , old kids program was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Dayo93

When the job started rehiring , all the lads now are between 21 - 26 , I started in the job when i was 18 , At that time I thought the lads that were 30 were old bastards. Now I am the old bastard at 40 :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Whe you realise you graduated from college on the guts of 20 years ago. EEk!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

When you start looking incorporating the 40s and over bracket for a potential partner.

When ya look at the booze in the fridge but have to think first as hangovers are now at least two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

When I clicked into this thread

Save me Jebus, I must be ....

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Was talking to my mam (a teacher) there yesterday and asked her whether I knew anyone in her school these days, before she answered I caught myself and asked if I knew any of the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

When I realized I had pre-programmed Radio 1 into my car stereo!

My sister also told me I'm old now because I said I don't think these new dessert creations with loads of chocolate and cream and donuts on top of milkshakes look appetizing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

I saw an article over the weekend where copper face jacks celebrated its 20th anniversary and thought "i KNEW it wasnt around when I was a young wan!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭bernard0368

When you see a 20 something year old and her mother walking up the road and you think the mother is hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

When you're in a nightclub and a great 90s hit comes on....I think it was Rhythm of the Night....and the group of young ones standing near you start asking what the song is because they've never heard it before!

Was in a club a few years ago and "Where's me jumper came on" I was on the dance floor dancing and singing all the lyrics, some girls besides me goes "Oh my god you know the lyrics" I was like yea doesn't everyone?

That was about 4 years ago now and i can't even imagine myself going to a club. I find it hard enough to go to a noisy pub!

But i have friend in his 40's who's out every Friday and Saturday burning the candle at both ends. And then there was Jack Lesley who partied away up until he was 98, Age is really in your head. Mostly it's just your interests change as does what makes you happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Went to a nightclub for the first time in about 18 months on Saturday night. My ears were still ringing until Monday morning ... I'm 31.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Seeing certain items of fashion come back around can make you feel old alright.

I see boot runners are all the rage again. In my Faith No More fan days they were all I wore (footwear wise I mean).

Black reebok ones with the union jack. Although some used to remove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭Melodeon

The great majority of the people doing the Leaving Certificate exam this year have no memories of the 20th century.
    In a couple of years time, Leaving Cert students will mostly have been born in the 21st century.

I can remember 2001: A Space Odyssey coming out; mad science fiction stuff about a time so far into the future it seemed utterly beyond comprehension :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Laughing away to some 80s jokes and references in the film in Sing Street, and seeing a group of early 20 somethings in front of us not have a clue what we were laughing about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Playing ps2 games and remembering when they were released :o

Thinking a 00 car is still fairly new

When you're missing a few teeth :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Its happening suddenly for me. When some of my friends who are a few years younger than me come up with an idea and think its great craic - some of the time all i think is"fupin idiots".

Im definitely gonna be a grumpy old man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Few kids playing football and ball ended up being kicked in my direction whilst I was walking past. Got a shout of "hey mister, can you kick our ball back"

That was the exact moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

when you just want to go home and rest after work / friends going to a club.

When you start cutting back on sweets / crap food because of cholesterol :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

When your own Father says to your Mother 'our children are getting old aren't they'.....needless to say he was swiftly reminded that he recently turned the big 5-0.

When people on boards think they're old because their father recently turned 50....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Kat1170

When I realised that this was about the tenth time this thread has been rehashed in the last ten years or so ....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=77960076

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=51858264

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=52382671

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87813551

etc. etc. etc. :mad::mad: (My old grumpy face)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

When people on boards think they're old because their father recently turned 50....

Both my folks are past 60 and they weren't all that young when they had me.

Hearing songs from my heyday being played as clsssics is probably the big one for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

When you sit on your own balls ;-)

Kat1170 wrote: »
    When I realised that this was about the tenth time this thread has been rehashed in the last ten years or so ....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=77960076

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=51858264

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=52382671

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87813551

etc. etc. etc. :mad::mad: (My old grumpy face)

If you were *really* getting old, the dementia would be kicking in and it'd look like a new thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I remember in about the year 2002 and I used think that 1992/1993 cars were old. Now I look at 1999/2000 cars and I say to myself they're nearly new. I also remember looking at cars online which were about €22,000+ in around 2005 and now there selling for under €1500.
    When I look back at year year 2000 and I think of the people who turned fifty and now there pensioners and the people who people who became pensioners in the years 2000 are now in the eighties.
    When I relies the kids in school now can't remember/weren't born when 9/11 or the 7/7 bombs or Irish stories such as Rachel O'Reilly murder, Catherine Nevin, John Gilligan being jailed or the Omagh bomb.
    When I relies that programmes such as Lost and Desperate Housewives first aired nearly twelve years ago!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

When I went raving it was called E, now it's called Molly.

That moment in a pub when I looked at a girl I would have chatted up, then thought I am old enough to be her father.

When I started looking at nasal/ear hair trimmers on Argos' website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Kat1170

When I started to be happy that I'd gotten socks-jocks for Christmas :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

When I needed reading glasses and having to fish them out of my bag every time I go food shopping when they perch on the end of my nose so I can read the labels

When going to bed after 10.00 is 'a late night'

When I start any small talk with 'there's a great stretch in the evenings'

When I noticed I mainly watch RTE 1 and mainly listen to Radio 1 or Newstalk and have stopped listening to music stations completely