Polish Family Allegedly Forced From Home by Mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Bob24 wrote: »
    I think that's easy to say when you are not in the situation and don't have the full story (who knows if there weren't other lower profile incident before with this one being an escalations).

If you had a group of people setting stuff on fire in front of your house and threatening you and you felt it was likely to happen again (possibly when only your kids or only your wife is at home), you would think twice.

Also, we don't know if it is the case there but an experience like this could traumatise children. Would you stay if your kids were telling you everyday they don't want to go out because they are afraid?

I don't think we remotely have enough information to judge whether their choice to leave was the right one.

Unfortunately this happens daily across the country and with the current housing crisis i wouldn't so quick to hand back my keys if everyone handed back their keys over single or minor incidents of anti social behaviour then the housing crisis would be a lot worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

pronounced "blaggard"

that shut me up. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

esforum wrote: »
    that shut me up. :D

It should have you in front of the mirror doing your pronunciations my lad! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

It should have you in front of the mirror doing your pronunciations my lad! :pac:

I assure you my veh-eec-le is trained to perfection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I definitely feel theres more to this than we're being told. Theres a few rough types in Mayfield sure but not a racist mob type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Bob24 wrote: »
    I wouldn't discard the possibility of them being targeted because they are Polish. But yes, the fact that they are Polish should neither trigger more nor less public outrage than if they were Irish.

If they were targeted because they were Polish then yes there should be public outrage about it

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

There should be public outrage at anyone being targeted in this manner. While in some circumstances there can be mitigating factors - peodphiles, Liverpool supporters etc. it's never something that should be condoned.

That's the North side for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

If they were targeted because they were Polish then yes there should be public outrage about it

There should be outrage because a family was attacked by a gang of useless idiots (regardless of the nationality of that family). The fact that they are Polish can of course be mentioned and has some relevance, but shouldn't be the main reason why this is a shocker.

Categorising victims by origin or religion divides society by implying it is Irish vs. Polish or Irish vs. immigrants (and encourages people to identify themselves in these categories). Whereas in my view the issue is more normal family (accepted by society) v.s. scum (rejected by society).

(this is coming from someone who is not a native Irish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

fair play to the neighbour who came to their aid and put herself in harms way to protect them, a traveller lady she was and she said the polish family was lovely, we need more people like her who help rather then take pics for social media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

There was a story line this a couple of years ago in waterford. It was shockingly badly reported. All the media reports said "racist mob attacks Romanian families." we even had a prime time special on it.

There were a series of muggings on that Street and the community believed a couple of people from those two houses were responsible. The gardai and local politicians were contacted but nothing was done about it. Then a mob descended on the houses and that's where the reporting started. There were bricks thrown through the windows and kids in the house, so obviously the mob actions were wrong, although I believe most were just marching to show unity against who they thought were committing the crimes.

The back story was never given in any news outlet, it was left to people to question wy this family and not another Romanian families, or Polish, or Brazilian, or Chinese or whatever.

I don't know what the backstory is to this or of there is one. But from experience I don't trust the reporting of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,131 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Something like this, except on a much smaller scale, happened to my family years ago. It was because my Dad stood up to the local thugs who liked to hang around outside our house. Thank god we got out of that area. I wonder if something similar happened in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Anyone who's found guilty of this sort of hate crime should, if in social housing, be evicted and barred from the estate. If the Gardai find them in the estate they should be locked up, preferably in the kiddie fiddler wing.

And there dole stopped until the family or whoever are fully compensated. Take the scumbags free money away and he/she will soon toe the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Something like this, except on a much smaller scale, happened to my family years ago. It was because my Dad stood up to the local thugs who liked to hang around outside our house. Thank god we got out of that area. I wonder if something similar happened in this case?

That's more than likely what happened here. Probably one of the family stood up to the yobbos and then the scum decided to get their revenge.