When did you realize you're becoming "old"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Hanging around with 19/20 year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

When I was talking to my nineteen year old cousin about the craic we used to have when I was his age, how we had a few drinks but were never tempted to do drugs or anything like that and how we all were relatively sensible

He nodded, gave me a sympathetic smile and all of a sudden I realised....."I'm one of them!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

My body feels like its in old age and I am only just out of my teen age years

I think Chocolate Girls comment is so true, when my mum sees old class mates says how old they look and you just avoid saying "well so have you" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭josip

When I had trouble reading small type

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

When you're in a nightclub and a great 90s hit comes on....I think it was Rhythm of the Night....and the group of young ones standing near you start asking what the song is because they've never heard it before!

When your own Father says to your Mother 'our children are getting old aren't they'.....needless to say he was swiftly reminded that he recently turned the big 5-0.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

When you have a stick that's used for just for Stirring Paint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

When you have a stick that's used for just for Stirring Paint.

There is a lot to be said for having such a stick. Paint needs stirring. I own such a utensil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I did my leaving cert in 1998. There are people who were born that year doing the leaving cert this year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 the running joke

I realized I was becoming old when those pesky, no-good neighbouring kids were running all over my lawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

When you're in a nightclub and a great 90s hit comes on....I think it was Rhythm of the Night....and the group of young ones standing near you start asking what the song is because they've never heard it before!

When your own Father says to your Mother 'our children are getting old aren't they'.....needless to say he was swiftly reminded that he recently turned the big 5-0.
    I don't think that ever stops! My grandad was a volunteer driver for meals on wheels in his late 70's and he used to talk about the "young wans" he was delivering meals to! (these were people in their early 70's)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

When you bend down to pick things up and emit a weird sounding groan.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

The day I install heated grips & a gel saddle on the motorcycle will confirm that I am indeed old...

Not installed yet, 51 years & counting :cool: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

When you realise all the people who helped build your cranóg are dead.

I don't laugh out loud very often but this really set me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Still remember this happening, back in 2014 someone posted a picture on FB stating "1998 is as far away as 2030".

That was a kick the balls when I sat and thought about it. Mortgage, marriage, kids didn't knock me at all. But a stupid random picture on Facebook in 2014 did it. I'm old. (Well middle aged)

After that I started noticing the greys hairs, receding hairline, hair growth in nose and ears, how younger other people started looking on (now rare) nights out, grumbling about the sh1te music on the radio, shouting at the tele and getting pains on my right knee!?! What the fcuk is that about? For no reason at all my knee started to occasionally cripple me with pain.

I also wear slippers now. I think thats the most depressing fact of all. Slippers! They are for Grandads for Christ sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

I was sitting in a bar and Smells like teen spirit came on I told my mate the story of how he came up with the name for the song mentioning Kurt cobain Numerous times, anyway at the end of the story the barmaid asked me who Kurt Cobain was, felt in Incredibly old when I explained who he was she asked why doesnt he write music anymore I replied he killed himself .... 22 years ago she replied with a tut " sure im only 19" . old fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Sitting down after a meal to let the grub settle and having a nap.
    Realising that girls you once went out with are now nearly too old to have kids.
    Watching youngsters tear into a job like mad and stopping them to tell them "take your time"
    Nose hair ,ear hair, grey hair and loosing hair.
    Actually listening to Nuala Carey or Jean Byrne giving the weather forecast on the tv as opposed to just looking at 2 nice birds on the box!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

- Watching Beverly Hills Cop 2 the other night and realised it's 29 years old!!! :eek:

- Out for a work do a while back and found it kinda awkward/"wrong" looking at the 18/19 year olds in the pub

- Becoming more interested in politics/current affairs

- Looking forward to a Friday night means relaxing on the sofa with a few episodes of whatever show I'm watching and munchies, not an all-night/weekend session

- Eyebrows need trimming at the barber

- Music ended (pretty much) about a decade ago and the 70-90s shall live forever in my car. The "oldies" hours on the radio though are now stuff I'd listen to

- Going on about "the old days" when you catch-up with people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Buying Springsteen tickets recently and noticing that my first time seeing him in Slane was 31 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

When it became 20 years since I did my leaving cert.

Two fcuking decades!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

A sore back after sitting on a low bar stool for an evening.

Never booking a standing ticket for a concert anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    - Eyebrows need trimming at the barber

Barber asked me this the other day and I was thinking, aw man, am I at that stage :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

When a mother in the supermarket tells her child to "....mind the man!"

When you're referred to as "The Man" then you know you're old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

When people younger than me started using realized instead of realised.

When you buy a couple of months worth of loo roll (because it was on special), and when you catch yourself ever-so-slightly looking forward to using a new laundry product.

When you're irritated by the doorbell or phone ringing during a favourite tv show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭snor

When I am reading the deaths in the newspaper and worse again, RIP.ie

When I make the effort bend down to tie my shoelaces, I look to see is that anything else I could be Doing when I am down there.

My kids talk about history events they are learning about in school and I remember them e.g. Falklands war!

When I see things in musums from my youth - plug in phones with a dial, large backed TVs etc.

I am only in my 40s.................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 kmc25_1

When Google targeted ads started showing me funeral insurance to lessen the burden on those left behind.

Wtf

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was trying to do some recruiting at DIT today and it really messed with my head when I started saying 'back in my day in college'

The time I bent to tie a shoes lace, and I had a look around to see if anything else needed doing while I was down there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Knees. My knees told me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭12Phase

When Gardai start looking like teenagers.