whats the weather like in your area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

High bike wrote: »
    Ducking horrendous wet and a bitter easterly wind in the mid west,Angela's Ashes springs to mind

Get out the tarpaulins lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭Redbishop

Miraculous weather here in north Longford.
    Young lad home for the weekend just washed and hung out his own clothes.
    Cold but some sun and nice fresh breeze with no rain yet here today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Half the farm roadway under water and stream/ river about to burst it's banks here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

I said wrote: »
    Get out the tarpaulins lol

Sure Ireland would be a great place if it had a roof over it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Milked out wrote: »
    Half the farm roadway under water and stream/ river about to burst it's banks here

Thats what we had up here last weekend,I feel your pain

Not a bad day in Wicklow after,milky sun since about noon
    Keen east wind
    This pic is looking Sw towards the northern extent of that rain area which is in over wexford all day

Hard to believe I took that photo an hour ago
    Torrents of rain here now undoing all of todays drying :mad:
    Twas expected though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Cavan, blue skies all day and no rain. Sun out but cold. 7 degrees. Great drying however. Probably P down tomorrow...........

Round two just after kicking off after a brief lull of about an hour of light rain. Right driving rain. Tractor got a nice wash when dumbass here didn't close the back windows yday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Looking at some of the weather sites there. Weather looks like picking up from Friday on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Milked out wrote: »
    Round two just after kicking off after a brief lull of about an hour of light rain. Right driving rain. Tractor got a nice wash when dumbass here didn't close the back windows yday

Been keeping a close eye on the rainfall radar on met eireann and by jaysus it certainly looks like ye have taken some beating from wind and rain today down in the cork /Kerry area .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭White Clover

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Been keeping a close eye on the rainfall radar on met eireann and by jaysus it certainly looks like ye have taken some beating from wind and rain today down in the cork /Kerry area .

Like an auld lad near here used to say "don't tell me but ask me" !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Any sign of Daisy lately? Miss her sayings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Looking at some of the weather sites there. Weather looks like picking up from Friday on?

Which one's are you looking at?
    Here in wexford Meteoblue is giving rain tomorrow and then not too bad till Friday and then rain next week as well.

Heavy rain here this morning and then stopped for a few hours and now lashing again.

Edit: There giving rain here Wednesday and Thursday here as well on the runs now on netweather but rain next weekend as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

mahoney_j wrote: »

Jesus it was some b#t#h of a day, the biggest problem is it was from the east, .alot of sheds around here are open to the east and this rain went right through them and ill be surprised if there isnt alot sick calves after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Which one's are you looking at?
    Here in wexford Meteoblue is giving rain tomorrow and then not too bad till Friday and then rain next week as well.

Heavy rain here this morning and then stopped for a few hours and now lashing again.

Edit: There giving rain here Wednesday and Thursday here as well on the runs now on netweather but rain next weekend as well.

Met.ie and yr.no and I see a guy over teagasc fb page has an image up showing the weather improving. As well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Met eireann forecast is brutal, yr is showing sign of improvement after mid week don't know how reliable they are tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

cows in today, enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

We have absolutely no shelter from this east rain. Brutal morning in North Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Met.ie and yr.no and I see a guy over teagasc fb page has an image up showing the weather improving. As well
    thay guy on fb said there was a blocking high on the way for the last week, I am still waiting........wheatenbriar on here is normally on the ball. Dont know how they are saying what May will be like when April is only started

Foggy calm morning. Rain stopped here at about 2am I think, showers after that. If it could stay dry today and tonight may try them out for a few hours 2moro. Agree with the lads the east wind is a fcuker

Weather models are only good on detail up to 4 days ahead max
    Thankfully as the days get longer,each dry day does more work at undoing the rain damage,so we've that to help?
    This week is indeed looking like it will deliver dryer days to do that job but with the caveat that showers will be about so if you get them,it's a step backwards again
    Growth looks like it's going to be terrible slow for a while due to a harsh northeasterly and the general trend towards north themed weather sources being dominant
    That doesn't mean the wind won't be from the south at times but it can be cold from there too if it's source is actually north as its circulating so it's southerly in your place but it's actually circulating round a high pressure or low pressure somewhere with the air source originally way up north

Now I may go back to work,made eggs benedict this morning,kitchen is full of smoke :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

whelan2 wrote: »
    cows in today, enough said
    Ye are getting a taste of what we had in cork yesterday, slowly brightening up down here so I'll let the cows out for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭LinF

Raining and the poor sheep in the fields all look so miserable! Cows are all inside though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A bad 7 days ahead, but looks better after that;
    http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/avnpanel1.html

Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Lavinia

It is beautiful spring weather here, sunshine, breeze etc.

I wish :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Wtf was your one on farming weather on about yesterday with her growth is well ahead of normal? It's never been worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Wtf was your one on farming weather on about yesterday with her growth is well ahead of normal? It's never been worse.

A different type of grass maybe. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

A different type of grass maybe. :rolleyes:

Water grass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i jave the grand total of 2 cows and 2 calves out , they were born in mid february and have a dry 20 acres to roam across. everrything else hasnt seen grass at all yet. the sheep have a lot of the grass pared down now and no resonse fom fertilizer yet, thank god we have plenty of silage, there wont be any cattle out here til at least saturday or early next week. the store cattleare being held up from getting out so it will be hard to finsh off grass id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

keep going wrote:
    Jesus it was some b#t#h of a day, the biggest problem is it was from the east, .alot of sheds around here are open to the east and this rain went right through them and ill be surprised if there isnt alot sick calves after it.

Wasn't it just.

Stinging cold and wet rain, yard flooded, kinsale flooded, cows in a dismal mood.

And this morning it's glorious.