Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

macslash wrote: »
    ^^^ Ah in fairness it wasn't just one bad kick out last Sunday. There were a few.

I remember 2 though that weren't all that bad but the backs messed them up. Kyne and Heaney both failed to catch 2 relatively straightforward kickouts and they went over the line. The backs were at fault there but everybody seemed to be having a go at the goalie shouting at him to kick it out the middle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

macslash wrote:
    ^^^ Ah in fairness it wasn't just one bad kick out last Sunday. There were a few.

From what I hear the best goalie in the county is Shane Sheridan who plays for killanin, but heavens forbid Kevin puts another player from killanin on the team, it's his call so let him get on with it, too many hurlers on the ditch with begrudgery towards players west of galway, hope Kevin does his own thing and ignores the whingers!

crusier wrote: »
    From what I hear the best goalie in the county is Shane Sheridan who plays for killanin, but heavens forbid Kevin puts another player from killanin on the team, it's his call so let him get on with it, too many hurlers on the ditch with begrudgery towards players west of galway, hope Kevin does his own thing and ignores the whingers!

If he is the best goalkeeper in Galway, he should be galways goalkeeper. I can absolutely assure you I do not begrudge any player from the west of Galway. Growing up, my heroes were Sean og de paor, Kevin Walsh and Paul Clancy. As were Ja Fallon and Michael Donnellan. Last year, Cathal Sweeney was one of our better players. I abhor the whole north v west thing. That's why I am so disappointed in seeing an apparent bias towards the west. Like I said in previous posts, maybe I don't know the full story behind it. Maybe there are players who just don't want to put in the commitment, maybe there are players who think it's a waste of time as Galway will lose to Mayo anyway. Maybe some players don't have the temperament to deal with inter county training etc. And that's a real shame - I've no doubt in my mind that the team Galway will field come championship will not be the strongest that they could field. My guess is that it's a combination of all the stuff I mention above (as well as other things) but I think that's a very sad state to be in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

This goalkeeper issue is a non issue, one bad kickout and he has to go? Let's get a grip. We have no movement for kickouts, doesn't matter who is in goals if we have no movement. Dolan kickouts were poor in his two games, especially against Tyrone. Saw Breathnach play in goal against athenry (Dolans club) last years championship and was one of best kicking displays I've seen from a keeper in club football especially when his team were against Tom Flynn and had no big lads in midfield themselves. I think if Galway had a half decent movement plan for kickouts that he could execute them. I agree that we need a runner midfield instead of another big fella.

There were 6 bad kickouts the last day, 3 long and 3 short. 2 led directly to opposition scores. There was another score given away when he passed to Heaney just when his man was lining him up for a hit, hospital pass that resulted in a score aswel. He was directly at fault for a goal against Derry and probably the majority fault for the debacle with Conroy vs Meath. We can go back to the 2013 disaster vs Mayo and the OG last year where he inexplicably drew on the ball instead of going down on it. Don't like to be giving out about amateur sportsmen but we really need a change here. I've been hearing about Dolan being the best club goalie in the county for over a year, although I don't tend togo to intermediate games. He looked excellent in the early games and FBD, he's out for the year though according to Hoganstand

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    There were 6 bad kickouts the last day, 3 long and 3 short. 2 led directly to opposition scores. There was another score given away when he passed to Heaney just when his man was lining him up for a hit, hospital pass that resulted in a score aswel. He was directly at fault for a goal against Derry and probably the majority fault for the debacle with Conroy vs Meath. We can go back to the 2013 disaster vs Mayo and the OG last year where he inexplicably drew on the ball instead of going down on it. Don't like to be giving out about amateur sportsmen but we really need a change here. I've been hearing about Dolan being the best club goalie in the county for over a year, although I don't tend togo to intermediate games. He looked excellent in the early games and FBD, he's out for the year though according to Hoganstand

Dolan did his cruciate a few weeks ago if I remember correctly. O'donoghue was sub keeper on Sunday. From what I've seen of both of them, my preference would be o'donoghue but notice between them

I'm not going to judge MB on the kick outs or bad passes.. Execution errors can happen to anyone.

The reason I wouldn't play him, goes back further than this year, and I expressed the point at the time.

If a goalie won't put their body on the line in a big championship game against your biggest rival, then he won't ever do it.(ie the Mayo game where he kicked it off Hanley or whoever it was).

Disappointing to see the TG4 selections for Sunday.

Thought it would be Galway/Cork and Tipp/Clare.

Hoped it would be a Galway double header (and it would be warranted as they're the two most important games) so I could record the football but they decided to show Cork/Kerry in a dead rubber with Tipp/Clare.... *sigh*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Disappointing to see the TG4 selections for Sunday.

Thought it would be Galway/Cork and Tipp/Clare.

Hoped it would be a Galway double header (and it would be warranted as they're the two most important games) so I could record the football but they decided to show Cork/Kerry in a dead rubber with Tipp/Clare.... *sigh*.

Hardly a dead rubber - If Kerry beat Cork, Cork could easily be relegated.

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Hardly a dead rubber - If Kerry beat Cork, Cork could easily be relegated.

All dependent on other scores which is my point.

There a lot more at stake in the Galway/Cavan game... It wouldn't kill them to show one D2 game especially looking at the overall picture.

Similar to how they showed Clare/Limerick last week while Galway played Waterford but needed a result in the Tipp game on top.

There just seems to be an unwillingness to show any football games outside of D1 regardless of what's at stake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I think don't it matters who's in goals. Walsh still hasn't any plan for kickouts and it easily has been the decisive factor in many close defeats or draws in the recent past. Doesn't matter if it's Dolan, Breathnach or O'Donoghue. It's sadly one of many reasons this current regime peaked at an AI Quarter Final.

Footballers giving another rubbish display.

2 up to 2 down and no score for 15mins with loads of basis errors.

*Sigh*

3 down at HT and no score for over 20 mins.

Galway barely even got out of their half in those 20mins.

Seriously starting to wonder about KW.

Just seem to play like a junior team for long stretches with constant errors.. Making average teams look like Dublin. Wonder what they work on in training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Cavan had 9 wides in the 1st half. Galway had 0. Didn't even seem to be creating chances after a good first 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭mjp

Sounds like were being beat all over the place and finally brings on a sub 15 mins into 2nd half when he brings on heaney for danny Cummins. Too slow making changes on the line have cost us on too many times in this league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭MfMan

So that's it. Not an iota of progress in 2 years, nor for the 3 years before that either. Players, nor enlightened management, just not there.

Poor 2nd quarter of the game cost Galway. Outscored by 6 points during that period. Rest of the match was pretty much nip and tuck on the scoreboard but the damage was already done.

Can't say that they deserve to go up though. Does any side gift as many cheap scores to the opposition as this Galway side does? Constantly caught foostering around in possession at the back.

Utter rubbish.

Take away a draw or two and we'd have been relegated.

Still no kick out strategy which is bread and butter at the top level.

Should have saved the trip to Portugal and worked on kick outs here.
    It would at least limit those periods where you get milled since you're not just constantly kicking it back.

Probably fair to say a player who's ilk isn't as relevant in todays game would be so abject to adapting to the modern game.

More rubbish in Salthill.

Cork hitting 9 points after 11mins.

Just getting so many shots.

Same old story, man to man in defence and only one Galway player contesting up front.
    You need two players at every break.

Who evers playing 4 has been responsible for 5 scores... Cant get the team online and its not a mainstayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

More rubbish in Salthill.

Cork hitting 9 points after 11mins.

Just getting so many shots.

Same old story, man to man in defence and only one Galway player contesting up front.
    You need two players at every break.

Who evers playing 4 has been responsible for 5 scores... Cant get the team online and its not a mainstayer.

Paul Hoban I think.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Paul Hoban I think.

Nope. He's 2 and id recognise him anyway.

Its someone with a green helmet and kinda tall.

Having an absolute nightmare and they took off Hoban instead.

Apart from the 5/6 scores that have come from his side he also took a short puck out and got intercepted(was saved on the break), intercepted a pass and then managed to get himself hooked(again saved) and its just a disaster every time the balls around him.
    Could be McInerney or someone like that.

Edit: Its Tuohy

JC seems to have taken it upon himself alone to keep Galway in Div. I.

2 goals for Cork in last 10 minutes looks like it will relegate the hurlers.

No game plan... No structure to the play.

Cork can sit a spare man back and still get intelligent balls into their players. Balls they can win.

We're just lumping balls aimlessly towards a FF line where we have small players with little hope of success.

We should be playing like Cork, lads like Burke, Flynn, Whelan etc aren't going to be plucking balls of the air or winning rucks.

Leaving ourselves completely exposed at the back playing man to man while Cork have extra bodies back.

Galway sport.... Irelands underachievers.

At least Connacht have an excuse unlike the other three teams.

No more than the footballers, the hurlers simply must learn how to close a game down and make it difficult for opposition to score. In mitigation, hurlers defence has been decimated with injuries. Sounds like not enough forwards on their game, only JC and Mannion by sounds of radio. At least they should have an easy route to 1/4 finals next year, hasn't done Clare or Limerick any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

I wonder who they'll blame for now.

Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Hard luck to ye today, ye don't deserve to go down, a win and two draws while cork lost all 5 matches and are staying up, system is bs and needs to be changed.

True the system is a joke but them's the rules I guess. Worst thing from a Galway perspective is that they were threadbare in defence today due to injuries so didn't have a full deck to deal with for the biggest game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Cork were the better side in all honesty. Always kept the scores ticking over and got two poor goals. Horgan was winning every dual he had in there. Thought Hoban was absolutely toxic out there and Tuohy was only slightly better. Hanbury was decent but at the same time

David Burke outside midfield means we win no breaking ball. Brehony just was a body out there for the mostpart where at least Glennon is making shapes. Thought Mannion and and Canning had good games. Whelan up against two men is an absolutely stupid tactic.

Saw a tweet before from the supporters club asking why Galway would have to be in a relegation playoff when Cork had no points. Today is why.

How can we have two senior teams with no plan for kickouts/puckouts? Cork were taking quick ones, short ones, well placed dummy runners whereas our goal is to make Niall Burke a poor man's Johnny Glynn.

Really disappointing day. For the hurlers this might be the kick up the hole needed to jumpstart a proper championship but I don't know about the footballers who have found a low plateau in League campaigns since they got relegated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Rob Thomas

Footballers are going nowhere and have been for 4 years.

A couple of honest performances and heroic defeats against supposed better teams has kept Walsh in a job for the last two years and brushed over the rubbish he was serving up.

We're 3rd now in Connaught and looking at a short year again.

No sign whatsoever of any plan or progress.

He has to go. End of

Very disappointing result for the footballers. The positives from the performance include:

- Shane Walsh was absolutely outstanding. The best player in the pitch. It is good to be going into a summer with him on form.

- Eamonn Brannigan played very well, linking up well and popping over a few points.

Negatives include:

- Patrick Sweeney was awful today. Yes, he got a goal but he constantly gave the ball away, dropped the ball, fouled his opponent.

- the tactic of direct ball into Comer didn't work once today

- breathnach made a mess of numerous kickouts. Looks very hesitant kicking the ball out which is a sign his confidence is totally gone.

- Declan Kyne looks completely out of his depth at this level. In the league matches I've been to, he has struggled badly in all of them