Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Ironic it was stolen this week and Dubshed on as well.
    Wonder has it taken a trip up there?

Horrible feeling to have it stolen. I had 2 cars stolen years ago.. it was a creepy feeling driving them after getting them back. Hence both were swiftly sold and replaced.

Hope you get sorted ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,550 ✭✭✭JoeA3

vectra wrote: »
    Ironic it was stolen this week and Dubshed on as well.
    Wonder has it taken a trip up there?

Horrible feeling to have it stolen. I had 2 cars stolen years ago.. it was a creepy feeling driving them after getting them back. Hence both were swiftly sold and replaced.

Hope you get sorted ok.

I doubt the thieves were Dubshed enthusiasts ;)

I know exactly what you mean though... getting a stolen car back, it wouldn't feel the same to me after that.

OSI wrote: »
    €360 for app connect :-/

Anyone here had it done, and can vouch for it's worth?

ouch. I didn't price it locally myself yet but I know lads have had it done cheaper - 300 ish. A portion of that cost is labour and it's a 20 minute job tops...

It's on my to-do list, I've seen plenty of reviews and videos of it in action and it'd be a nice to have. Plenty of vids on youTube, such as: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ciqCutAO30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

If you're an apple user I definitely wouldn't pay that money for it as the car has all the functionality it offers anyway. Apple maps are pretty poor too and the music app can be buggy.

Android auto is better, mainly for WhatsApp and Google maps. If you've already got nav and don't use the maps that often to find places I'd also leave it off, if you look for obscure places a lot with Google maps then it might be worthwhile.

Spotify/Play music works on both, but it also works via Bluetooth just with less ability to browse.

That's saucy money for the license.

If you're an apple user I definitely wouldn't pay that money for it as the car has all the functionality it offers anyway. Apple maps are pretty poor too and the music app can be buggy.

Android auto is better, mainly for WhatsApp and Google maps. If you've already got nav and don't use the maps that often to find places I'd also leave it off, if you look for obscure places a lot with Google maps then it might be worthwhile.

Spotify/Play music works on both, but it also works via Bluetooth just with less ability to browse.

That's saucy money for the license.

When you put it like that, it does seem pointless :pac:
    But I'm a sucker for gadgets and from the demos I've seen of it, it's like having a "iPad" like interface on the radio screen, which is pretty cool.

Pity it doesn't work over Bluetooth though. You have to connect the phone via USB / Lightning cable which is fiddly tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

If it was maybe 100 euro I'd give it a whizz, but yeah for what it gives you it's too expensive

Having full control over Spotify and Google Maps would be a big bonus for me, and I don't mind the USB connection as phone get's plugged in every time I'm in the car anyway. Will have to question that price though, it's a tad saucy for a product key.

It's one of my peeves on the ergonomics front - the location of the USB socket. It's buried in that cubby in front of the gearstick, which is awkward to get at and you need toddler's hands to connect the cable... and then you need to leave the flap open if the phone's connected.

It'd be better located in the armrest or in or around the cupholders.

I watched a few videos of the spotify interface and it's not just the same as the phone. There are some limitations in it I presume for safety. Still better than just next ot previous track mind you. Haven't seen whatsapp in action on it. Iv enough feckin distractions in this car ad it is to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I doubt the thieves were Dubshed enthusiasts ;)

I know exactly what you mean though... getting a stolen car back, it wouldn't feel the same to me after that.

I agree,
    But not what I meant. Sorry.

My point was it could be very easy to slip it on to a boat returning to Scotland when the rest are going home from Dubshed. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,033 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Car found! Will fill ye in when I've more details. Seems to be undamaged

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Wow, brilliant! Great news... fill us in on the details when you can :)

If you check the average mpg in the trip computer for the current tank you might get an idea of how enthusiastic the boyos were on their brief test drive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Brilliant - I was thinking of this all day. Looking forward to updates. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,033 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Ha ha Joe! Brilliant :D

Not a scratch on her. Still looking for the OH's car so fingers crossed.

Tracker will be fitted along with new barrels and car then will be detailed!

Thanks for all the kind words - boardsies can be very sound folk :)

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Having full control over Spotify and Google Maps would be a big bonus for me, and I don't mind the USB connection as phone get's plugged in every time I'm in the car anyway. Will have to question that price though, it's a tad saucy for a product key.

You can't search for songs or artists on Spotify only browse playlists. You can't access Google Maps either only Apple maps. The VW integration is actually better imo.

Good stuff Everlast, you come across really upbeat considering the **** morning you had.

I'm in Belfast this weekend, anyone been to DubShed before? I'm prob not gonna go but anyone that's been, what's it like?

http://www.dubshed.com/

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Good stuff Everlast, you come across really upbeat considering the **** morning you had.

I'm in Belfast this weekend, anyone been to DubShed before? I'm prob not gonna go but anyone that's been, what's it like?

http://www.dubshed.com/

It's brilliant by all accounts, the pictures that crop up across the forums every year are pure car porn. I've been tempted to go before but it's a very long round trip for me.

Awe shure ye drive a fast bus now, ye could knock an hour off that time:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Excellent news you got it back in one piece!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kodirl

@everlast. Glad to hear you got your car back..Hopefully they caught who took it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

everlast75 wrote: »

For the gun or the car?

Long time lurker here... usually seething with jealousy and rage at all your purchases. :p But, then I get all sad when one's stolen. Glad you got it back everlast. You're rock turning may have caused a nervous abandoning.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    For the gun or the car?.

Apt username too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

Glad to hear you have it back.
    I was sick for you thinking about this all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ondafly

great news EverLast !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

everlast75 wrote: »

I'd upgrade the house security as recommended early today first, along with sensor lights and keep them out in the first place. What kind of car is your wifes car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭daraghmack

Out of curiousity what would ye consider average annual mileage on a GTI / R? Just wondering what is considered high mileage on these type cars after say 3 years? Obviously the GTD is a different story as it is diesel.

daraghmack wrote: »
    Out of curiousity what would ye consider average annual mileage on a GTI / R? Just wondering what is considered high mileage on these type cars after say 3 years? Obviously the GTD is a different story as it is diesel.

How long is a piece of string I guess...

Everyone's different but I'd consider anything over 20k (miles) p/a above average. I average less than 10k p/a myself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭daraghmack

How long is a piece of string I guess...

Everyone's different but I'd consider anything over 20k (miles) p/a above average. I average less than 10k p/a myself ;)

Thanks Joe, Yeah I know that everyones situation is different. I reckon I will average 15k - 20k (kms) pa over the next three years and I'm just wondering what mileage is considered high on these when it comes to selling. It's a GTI picked up mid Jan and I have 4k kms on it already cos I love it and I can't stop driving it ðŸ˜႒

daraghmack wrote: »
    Thanks Joe, Yeah I know that everyones situation is different. I reckon I will average 15k - 20k (kms) pa over the next three years and I'm just wondering what mileage is considered high on these when it comes to selling. It's a GTI picked up mid Jan and I have 4k kms on it already cos I love it and I can't stop driving it ðŸ˜႒

Ah 15-20k is grand imo. Technically on a PCP deal, you're supposed to keep it to max 20k pa, above that you're penalised a few cents per km when it comes to 3 years and they are valuing your trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

There was a 161 gti in the estate where I live for about a month. Then a report of a break in, and the occupants being threatened with screwdrivers until the keys to a brand new car were handed over. The gti was gone after that and replaced with a 161 Passat a while later, can only assume it was the car that was nicked. Shocking stuff and apparently not that uncommon where I am out in Leopardstown. Brief notice from the management company said high value cars were being targeted for export.

Good to hear yours is back everlast and that you weren't harmed when it was taken either.