If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Please help disabled driver choose a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,728 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Petrol or daysul, 1.0, 1.4 or 1.6?

Petrol

Dealer hasn't included a price for my car in that quote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That would be normal. They do a separate buy in of your trade in so that you can claim more VAT back.

Thanks Colm

Lads

Quote for getting replacement part for the engine is €945 including labour.

The car is in for a service anyway which is going to cost €265

Also, the wipers need to be replaced, which is another 40 euro.

Over a grand for the whole lot!!!

I think I'm gonna go look at the Hyundai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,672 ✭✭✭✭vectra

VW Scirocco?
    Friend of mine drives one and he is in a wheelchair.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Have a look at the Skodas, do you need a chair lift in the boot?

Lads

Quote for getting replacement part for the engine is €945 including labour.

The car is in for a service anyway which is going to cost €265

Also, the wipers need to be replaced, which is another 40 euro.

Over a grand for the whole lot!!!

I think I'm gonna go look at the Hyundai?

I wouldn't bother servicing it as you won't get an extra €265 for the car, nor will you lose €265 on the trade in if it isn't done.
    unless it's in there right now :)

vectra wrote: »
    VW Scirocco?
    Friend of mine drives one and is a wheelchair.

Had a look. Roof too low

I wouldn't bother servicing it as you won't get an extra €265 for the car, nor will you lose €265 on the trade in if it isn't done.
    unless it's in there right now :)

It's in the dealer now. It was in for service anyway

Moonbeam wrote: »
    Have a look at the Skodas, do you need a chair lift in the boot?

No don't need chair lift. I put chair in passenger seat

Hope you don't mind me asking, but how do you manage the car with your fiancé, or does she go in the car with you?

Separate cars

Is that going to be the case in future as well?

Dunno. We talked about having one car between us, and the possibility of having one of those drive from vehicles too.....?

Another disadvantage we have, is that we can't take cars for test drives.....

You know yourself, you only get the exemption every two years and cannot dispose of the car in that time. If the Golf is serviced and repaired I'd be inclined to hang on to it until the two of ye are certain what ye want out of a car. I'm sure herself would qualify for an exemption too, but at the same time there's no point in getting something for the sake of it and it getting in the way of getting the right car.
    Even apart from a drive from wheelchair car, even something like a Berlingo multi space or similar that could accommodate both yourself and herself with you driving should be considered. Again I don't know whether the two of you can manage ramps etc without assistance.

You know yourself, you only get the exemption every two years and cannot dispose of the car in that time. .

Correct but not entirely correrct.
    You can dispose of it but you must get permission from Revenue and you will have to pay back some if not most of the discount you initially get.

Point being, you're realistically committing to the car for 2 years.

Yes,
    But you can if you wish change it whenever you want,
    This results in the repayment to revenue.

The following is the deal I've been given to change my car; this DOES NOT include the cost of the conversions, which is another kettle of fish altogether!!!!

Hyundai I30 Diesel Deluxe 3 door Auto - 27045
    VRT - 5563
    Bal - 21482
    Less VAT - 4106 = 17465
    Less 2010 VW Golf(3465)

= 14000

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

€3465 for a 6 year old Golf? Is it in terrible nick or something? Intergallactic mileage? Really is very, very small money for it.

Lol!! No there's only 20 odd thousand kilometres on it. The body has bumps and scratches all around it though- particularly along the drivers door sill....where I rest my chair when taking it apart/assembling it.

Dealer said he's going to have to pump a lot of cash into getting it back to good nick to re-sell it

Whoa there! Is that against the list price of the car?

How much is a 3 door auto i30 on the road?

Just remind us, isn't your car a 2010 1.4 TSI DSG?

Whoa there! Is that against the list price of the car?

How much is a 3 door auto i30 on the road?

Just remind us, isn't your car a 2010 1.4 TSI DSG?

The 3 door auto is 27k I think? Yes, my car is a 2010 1.4 TSI DSG

That does not sound like a good deal at all.

Why? Explain as simply as you can lol! Dealer said that there's a lot of damage to all four panels of the car(which there is!), and that it will take a lot of work to repair it.

ok. a 3 door petrol auto i30 is not a desirable car to anyone except you. the masses want a 5 door not auto and probably diesel. so this is the kind of car you don't want hanging around the place. normally you would expect a dealer to discount such a car by at least €1500. this doesn't seem to have happened here and it looks like they're charging you full RRP.
    they're effectively getting your Golf for 2 grand

by the looks of it.

unless the car is in pure Shiite or I've got my figures wrong on the hyundai it doesn't add up.

ok. a 3 door petrol auto i30 is not a desirable car to anyone except you. the masses want a 5 door not auto and probably diesel. so this is the kind of car you don't want hanging around the place. normally you would expect a dealer to discount such a car by at least €1500. this doesn't seem to have happened here and it looks like they're charging you full RRP.
    they're effectively getting your Golf for 2 grand

by the looks of it.

unless the car is in pure Shiite or I've got my figures wrong on the hyundai it doesn't add up.

It's a 3 door diesel auto. I've to hand him 14k for the i30....then I've to go and pay for either getting the hand controls transferred- or maybe a new set cos they're in their 3rd car, and possibly a new electric seat raiser too.....?

'Tis great being disabled lol!!!

got ya. still seems like a bit of a raw deal. have you priced a golf for comparison?