The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭jadie

whatever76 wrote: »
    hearign great things about Ali's Kitchen
    http://www.aliskitchencork.com/#menu-s

Ali's is okay bit expensive for what you get and their coffee isn't hot which is a major bugbear of mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

dudara wrote: »
    I've heard of a new BBQ joint opening soon, called Holy Smoke. The chef behind it is John Relihan who was one of Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen". Going to open Easter Saturday on Little Hanover Street

Like we need another bbq joint..

mccard wrote: »
    Going to treat the family to breakfast some morning over the weekend. Anywhere in the city good for breakfast?

My favourite places for brekkie in the city are the River Lee hotel, out on the balcony over the river, and Goldberg's.

Serendipity would be next, and then maybe blackrock castle / market lane.

Salt on victoria road is is getting good word of mouth for breakfast, but I haven't tried it myself.

Hayfield manor does an absolutely outstanding breakfast, a buffet with everything you could imagine on it, but it's quite fancy, being 5 star, so not everyone's cuppa. My kids loved the bunnies in the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Brandon F

pwurple wrote: »
    Like we need another bbq joint..

I'm all for it. There's not one place in Cork that comes close to some of the ones in Dublin.

Brandon F wrote: »
    I'm all for it. There's not one place in Cork that comes close to some of the ones in Dublin.

Meh. They seem to be wall to wall in london too. I'm over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Treating herself for her birthday (and me really) to Jacobs on the Mall on Saturday, looking forward to it. I'll report back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Liberty Grill is the original brunch place I think, they were doing it before it really took off in Cork. Eggs benedict still really good (with a side of Rosscarberry black pudding :pac:)

Been to Brick Lane once and had the mini irish - it was nice but I don't like when they give you those "fancy" sausages. Whatever happened to the good aul Irish breakfast sausage?!

Had the full Irish in Goldbergs once and it was nice - haven't been back since though.

Hope to try Son of a Bun this week - looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

leahyl wrote: »
    Liberty Grill is the original brunch place I think, they were doing it before it really took off in Cork. Eggs benedict still really good (with a side of Rosscarberry black pudding :pac:)
    !

The old Bodega was probably the first place in Cork to cop on to the whole brunch phenomenon, a tad before the Liberty Grill, as far as I remember.

Never heard the Bodega for brunch to be honest back then, perhaps it was, but for me it's Liberty Grill anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Ah yeah! I was trying to remember where we went before Liberty :-) Bodega is not what it used to be, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

Saw on facebook there's a new place opening on Pauls street , 21 Paul st to be precise . I didn't recognise the exact location from the FB pics but maybe close to the old bully's restaurant ... It's called Hey Presto and is advertising as fresh, natural food on the go.

It's the place between waterstones and The Woodford. Was a café before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

It's the place between waterstones and The Woodford. Was a café before.

yeah there was a cafe there - had a coffee there once - staff were so rude that i never went back... its not the best spot.. interesting none the les..

must try Ali's Kitchen - though I think that she uses Cork Coffee Roasters Coffee - not a fan - will have a look none the less.. have some lunch perhaps

sporina wrote: »
    yeah there was a cafe there - had a coffee there once - staff were so rude that i never went back... its not the best spot.. interesting none the les..

must try Ali's Kitchen - though I think that she uses Cork Coffee Roasters Coffee - not a fan - will have a look none the less.. have some lunch perhaps
    Nope. She uses cloud picker beans. I've had coffee there - it's very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I had lunch today in Jacques before I left Cork. Mushrooms on toast (in a mustard white wine sauce) with some crisp bacon and it was really good. Jacques is a consistently great spot.

dudara wrote: »
    I had lunch today in Jacques before I left Cork. Mushrooms on toast (in a mustard white wine sauce) with some crisp bacon and it was really good. Jacques is a consistently great spot.

Only been to Jacques once. We ordered salads to start, all three of which we found slugs in. They were apologetic-ish and said it was down to the freshness of their food.. Gave us a choice of different starter. The rest of the meal was alright but that experience has kind of put me off going back there since.

Went to jacobs Saturday. ..oh dear. The food was great but we had to wait an hour for our main course after our starter. Totally unacceptable, very annoyed I made it known to management but I got no satisfaction, they were actually very defensive. Ruined the meal for me I'm afraid, won't be returning.

After reading other reviews it turns out this wait isn't too uncommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭bridgettedon

Nothing worse than a long wait. Even with the best company it is quite off putting, no matter how nice the food is.

Ya my wife is a quiet enough person so doesn't like hassle so my complaining to them wasn't too much but ill be sending an email later on to them just to register my complaint and see if I get any sort of response. Seated at half 8 and we got our mains at 10 it's just completely ridiculous for any restaurant not to mention the calibre of jacobs.

rob316 wrote: »
    Went to jacobs Saturday. ..oh dear. The food was great but we had to wait an hour for our main course after our starter. Totally unacceptable, very annoyed I made it known to management but I got no satisfaction, they were actually very defensive. Ruined the meal for me I'm afraid, won't be returning.

After reading other reviews it turns out this wait isn't too uncommon.

yep i had the same experience there..

and i am sure they were quick to pour your wine though? well.. that was the case with us anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Silly connection went, right third time round. We called to the Wilton Inn for lunch and must say it was loverly. Just got toasties but it was very nice the salad was really tasty with them. This was around 4 and they still had the carvery lunch going too. Nice spot,good atmosphere to the place.

On the other hand we called to Mount Oval with the intent of a nice pint and a small nibble. All i can say is the place looks and feels dirty... The bathroom was shocking not nice at all, found himself still waiting at the bar and we ended up counting down and just leaving.. Shame as you think they would have a nice deal there with all the local bars being gone now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

any good vegan/healthy restaurants in the city centre guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 qwerticus

The Quay Co-Op has been around for 20 or 30 years. They do vegetarian food (vegetarian lasagne, quiche etc. It's expensive if you get stuff individually (e.g. a soup and a cake and a coffee) but they do deals like a main + 2 sides for around e11 and it's a serious feed. I'm not a vegetarian but I used to eat there a couple of times a week and it's very consistent. I haven't been there in around 3 years.

Cafe Paradiso is a vegetarian restaurant, I've never eaten there. I've heard good and bad about it. They don't open before 5ish IIRC.'

For salads etc there're a couple of salad places in town, Rocket Man (Princes Street) and Loving Salads (Academy Street). I wouldn;t rate Loving Salads at all, I've eaten their stuff twice and it looks great but didn't taste good, I wouldn't go back a third time. Rocket Man is good, e6.50 for a large salad bowl, a decent amount of food.

A number of places do vegetarian dishes, Market Lane (Oliver Plunkett Street) does a vegetarian quiche and also some sort of vegetable bake, I've had both and they're really good. Neither are vegan though.

The Natural Foods Bakery on Paul Street does great soup + sandwiches, fairly unbeatable amount of food for 8 euro, they make all their own bread and salads too. That'd be my #1 spot for a sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

qwerticus wrote:
    For salads etc there're a couple of salad places in town, Rocket Man (Princes Street) and Loving Salads (Academy Street). I wouldn;t rate Loving Salads at all, I've eaten their stuff twice and it looks great but didn't taste good, I wouldn't go back a third time. Rocket Man is good, e6.50 for a large salad bowl, a decent amount of food.

I've had stuff from loving salads and its been brilliant ,my wife gets takeaway ,and bar 1 salad ,( she gets 2 or 3 a time) its lovely, like rocket man as well .
    Not noticed many vegan restauraunts but there's a really good vegan stall at a few of the local markets ( wilton,mahon.douglas,coalquay), this from a carnivore..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭dibkins

I'd head straight to Iyers. ALl vegetarian, and a lot of the menu is vegan.

dibkins wrote: »
    I'd head straight to Iyers. ALl vegetarian, and a lot of the menu is vegan.

i don't understand the praise for Iyers here - they have a tiny menu - had samosas' from there once and they were so greasy that i never went back... and the spice/flavour profile was bland imo..

Aventurous or plain eater?

Cafe paradiso is awesome, special occasion type of place.

Jacobs on the mall has a vegan menu alng with other menus.

Orso has some vegan options, it's Lebanese/moroccan food. Market lane also.

Quay coop is a casual veggie cafe.

Iyers is a casual vegetarian indian cafe with vegan options.

sporina wrote: »
    i don't understand the praise for Iyers here - they have a tiny menu - had samosas' from there once and they were so greasy that i never went back... and the spice/flavour profile was bland imo..

Heard a very bad review also recently, from someone I know, about this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I went to the Meatball Place, as it's been getting pretty positive reviews here. Overall I thought it was good value for money. The owner/manager? was quite friendly and attentive, but our waitress had to be reminded twice to bring us water, and when my dining companion's spaghetti arrived it was stone cold! :pac: We eventually flagged someone down and I think they went and microwaved it.

Still, it was tasty, you can't go far wrong for €10 a main, a decent sized starter, which we shared, and the wine was reasonably priced too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

:) Ate in Feed your Senses on Washington St last weekend. Tiny tapas place but the food and wine were top quality. Food was really fresh, cooked on the spot. Had the cheeseboard, bravas, chorizo, and gambas. All amazing!! Great service too!