Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Dawggone wrote: »
    Damn I'm allowing 18kg with 7kg maize silage and 3kg crimp. Better up the silage.

What are conditions like atm? Are you talkinabout ryegrass swards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

What are conditions like atm? Are you talkinabout ryegrass swards?

Excellent growth with 63mm this week and 16*, rising over 20 next week.

No ryegrass, ordinary grass and clover.
    Planted a drought mix (plantain etc) for summer irrigation but I'm going to plough it down for maize because it hasn't produced enough for a grazing yet.

Excellent growth with 63mm this week and 16*, rising over 20 next week.

No ryegrass, ordinary grass and clover.
    Planted a drought mix (plantain etc) for summer irrigation but I'm going to plough it down for maize because it hasn't produced enough for a grazing yet.

Are you comparing like with like from an intake potential point of view? Which is more palatable? You could well be on the money with your est especially with the sort of intakes you get indoors.

It's an easy enough decision to make. Planted last September and very little on it yet. Second round of grazing on platform and nothing worthwhile on this drought mix. Hard to see 22tdm coming off it, using the same amount of water. The other herd is on the second round of grazing on ordinary grass that was planted at the same time.

I meant more the comparison between the intake characteristics of a typical Irish perennial ryegrass award vs the type of sward you're grazing. I'd imagine the variety within your swards coupled with more favourable weather conditions would mean 18kg might not be that far out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

My lowly stocked neighbouring sheepfarmer who usually sells me 15acres 1st cut has told me he's short on grass, and asked if I'd be happy with taking it for may/June instead, ie alot later a cut. What would any of yous value a later bulky 1st cut at? It would be pure dry cow feed. My alternative would be to cut a very light crop of leafy stuff late May, and graze with heifers afterwards (he isn't really keen on a 2nd cut). 2bh neither really ideal, however I'm between a rock and a hard place as it's a good local hassle free 15acres of silage usually so I'd like to keep it moving forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote: »
    My lowly stocked neighbouring sheepfarmer who usually sells me 15acres 1st cut has told me he's short on grass, and asked if I'd be happy with taking it for may/June instead, ie alot later a cut. What would any of yous value a later bulky 1st cut at? It would be pure dry cow feed. My alternative would be to cut a very light crop of leafy stuff late May, and graze with heifers afterwards (he isn't really keen on a 2nd cut). 2bh neither really ideal, however I'm between a rock and a hard place as it's a good local hassle free 15acres of silage usually so I'd like to keep it moving forward.

If you get around the old lad and make enough surplus bales for cows you could get away with a late cut, what are the chances?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

visatorro wrote: »
    If you get around the old lad and make enough surplus bales for cows you could get away with a late cut, what are the chances?!

We usually make 44 acres 1st cut (cut late May), this year there are 37acres closed off but we are stocked slightly higher. I'm thinking of only putting 1bag of urea/acre on 10acres of that and cut it as bales in early May (it has about 7/800 on it already), it got 2k gls/acre of slurry today with should cover the k nicely. What sort of bales/acre would I expect off that? With the lower amount of set 1st cut I'll hopefully end up with a decent few more excess paddocks, and they will be taken out as leafy bales (with the usual "bloody lawn clippings" from both my dad and possibly the contractor also haha). Ideally I'd go with bales from the whole lot in early May (I'd like at least 150 leafy bales this summer to get me over any droughts, the shoulder months and the winter), but thats a battle too far this year ha.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Jaysus lads this spring is tough going, the brutal weather would get ya down and cows likely to be back in this wkend, anyone else expecting to put them back in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Jaysus lads this spring is tough going, the brutal weather would get ya down and cows likely to be back in this wkend, anyone else expecting to put them back in?

Will be housing from 2 nite fulltime, ground conditions in ****. Right pain esp when I have the grass to keep out fulltime and extend first round till the 10.

Scanned y day, will have 31 aut calvers calved in 4 weeks, should be done by 2nd wk nov, plus 2 heifers the bull served to calve in dec. Should have pulled him out but twas the handiest spot to keep him for winter as put aut calves in his pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

fecking tbc of 96 on nearly last collection of the month, really put ya in a bad mood :mad: have been under 15 for months and months

whelan2 wrote: »
    fecking tbc of 96 on nearly last collection of the month, really put ya in a bad mood :mad: have been under 15 for months and months

There's some spot somewhere in the system where day is building and dropping off. Alternatively you could be letting hot wash run too long. Needs to be cold rinsed rapidly to lower plant temp quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

There's some spot somewhere in the system where day is building and dropping off. Alternatively you could be letting hot wash run too long. Needs to be cold rinsed rapidly to lower plant temp quickly.
    I fixed the problem yesterday was a leaking diaphragm, ordered tests for each day until april 2

P in last two collections was after climbing back over 3.4 whatever the wkend housing will do to it. My bins were empty of the winter mix so I just ordered a few ton of coarse maize balancer should be on today, handiest seeing as I will be away myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭stanflt

Milked out wrote: »
    P in last two collections was after climbing back over 3.4 whatever the wkend housing will do to it. My bins were empty of the winter mix so I just ordered a few ton of coarse maize balancer should be on today, handiest seeing as I will be away myself

How low did the p go milk out
    We don't seem to be getting it as bad up in the east coast as in weather wise- still feck all growth
    Cows still in at night and 1st round stretched out till April 16 now at this stage-Sr. 4.3
    If a burst does come they can go out at night to finish first round earlier
    Basing second round on a 24 day rotation to start so set amount per day and buffer feed to deficit- hopefully around 25 April buffer will be out
    Silage around 10 days behind schedule so will cut around May 20th

Cows milking 34litres 4.25f and 3.54p with 38% heifers- 55% of herd are 1st or 2nd lactation cows

Cows now split into 2 mobs with 80 in each as we felt heifers were suffering in the larger groups

stanflt wrote: »
    We don't seem to be getting it as bad up in the east coast as in weather wise- still feck all growth
    Cows still in at night and 1st round stretched out till April 16 now at this stage-Sr. 4.3
    Basing second round on a 24 day rotation to start so set amount per day and buffer feed to deficit- hopefully around 25 April buffer will be out

Cows milking 34litres 4.25f and 3.54p with 38% heifers- 55% of herd are 1st or 2nd lactation cows

Cows now split into 2 mobs with 80 in each as we felt heifers were suffering in the larger groups

Dropped to 3.27 back in mid march when I put them out full time and pulled maize to improve clean out, went up to 3.32 for a bit and last 2 results 3.4. Paddocks early March had more dead material in them. Super yields and solids there Stan, yields here at 27L, have 15 to dry off, when they are out a yield may have went to 28, unlikely with change in conditions. If weather had stayed some way reasonable they would really have started to motor at half the cost

There's a lot of press here about the Irish over production. French Ag. minister is doing the rounds to different countries to garner support for an A+B quota system...and he's claiming that he is getting a lot of support.

I really hope that Simon can put a stop to him.

If your sticking rate was lower Stan and you were able to have em out full time this time of year do you reckon you'd get similar performance with less or no buffer feeding?

There's a lot of press here about the Irish over production. French Ag. minister is doing the rounds to different countries to garner support for an A+B quota system...and he's claiming that he is getting a lot of support.

He has one brit publication on his side anyway

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/irish-milk-war-lead-british-blockade/

If your sticking rate was lower Stan and you were able to have em out full time this time of year do you reckon you'd get similar performance with less or no buffer feeding?

Prob only around 2 litres less but a serious time saver in work load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

When you say a+b quota system, what would it entail, would it be something like A litres (original quota/reference year) have a intervention price of say 30 cent and your B litres (new milk) be payed at a rate of whatever your processor can achieve selling to their customers on the free market with no supports whatsoever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote:

Does an a + b system not simply imply a separate price for contracted vs. Pool milk?

Or is the bone of contention how the high priced 'a' contracts are to be allocated amongst existing suppliers? - which is where the political / quota comparisons come in?

I would have thought in some sense a two tier system was inevitable in a free market but I can't for the life of me see what Govt. Or EU has to do with the contractual arrangements, other than perhaps to mandate that there is always a first purchaser of milk available, or in a general sense in ensuring that cooperatives function properly..

jaymla627 wrote: »
    When you say a+b quota system, what would it entail, would it be something like A litres (original quota/reference year) have a intervention price of say 30 cent and your B litres (new milk) be payed at a rate of whatever your processor can achieve selling to their customers on the free market with no supports whatsoever

A quota is the original quota.
    B quota is production over original quota.

Sodiaal have now put this system in place. They are paying 31cpl + vat for A quota and 16 cpl for B quota.

This has serious ramifications for me because I've more than doubled the production of the original quota that was here...

A quota is the original quota.
    B quota is production over original quota.

Sodiaal have now put this system in place. They are paying 31cpl + vat for A quota and 16 cpl for B quota.

This has serious ramifications for me because I've more than doubled the production of the original quota that was here...

V similar to uk processor where a milk is liquid and b milk for manufacturing
    In uk some processors don't want manufacturing milk iicrc

V similar to uk processor where a milk is liquid and b milk for manufacturing
    In uk some processors don't want manufacturing milk iicrc

Lovely.

If things pan out the way Sodiaal are paying I'll be getting 24cpl + vat. I'm happy enough atm with 28.75cpl + vat.

Just got a text message from my Coop, Egm next week...

Lovely.

If things pan out the way Sodiaal are paying I'll be getting 24cpl + vat. I'm happy enough atm with 28.75cpl + vat.

Just got a text message from my Coop, Egm next week...

Will try and look up which processors were at it last year- arla springs to mind
    I think there was 11pence difference between a and b with some farmers who were way over supplying b milk asked to find a new processor- don't quote me on this as I'm only recalling my memory-kowtow might fill us in more

Will try and look up which processors were at it last year- arla springs to mind
    I think there was 11pence difference between a and b with some farmers who were way over supplying b milk asked to find a new processor- don't quote me on this as I'm only recalling my memory-kowtow might fill us in more

This could get serious Stan. I honestly can't see Ireland being allowed to produce at will while the rest of us are muzzled.
    At the figures you quoted hardship can be the only result.

The upside might be that quota could be traded as an asset. :)

Similar rhetoric coming from market commentators here.

This could get serious Stan. I honestly can't see Ireland being allowed to produce at will while the rest of us are muzzled.
    At the figures you quoted hardship can be the only result.

The upside might be that quota could be traded as an asset. :)

First Milk has overhauled the way its 1,200 farmers are paid for milk to help it cope with a difficult trading year ahead.

The dairy co-op will bring in “A” and “B” pricing from 1 April, with farmers receiving a set price for a fixed volume of milk each month and a fluctuating value for any extra.

First Milk will announce the “A” price with 30 days’ notice and give a possible range for the “B” milk, which will reflect returns from short-term markets such as spot milk and powder.