Dawggone wrote: » Damn I'm allowing 18kg with 7kg maize silage and 3kg crimp. Better up the silage.
freedominacup wrote: » What are conditions like atm? Are you talkinabout ryegrass swards?
Dawggone wrote: » Excellent growth with 63mm this week and 16*, rising over 20 next week. No ryegrass, ordinary grass and clover. Planted a drought mix (plantain etc) for summer irrigation but I'm going to plough it down for maize because it hasn't produced enough for a grazing yet.
freedominacup wrote: » Are you comparing like with like from an intake potential point of view? Which is more palatable? You could well be on the money with your est especially with the sort of intakes you get indoors.
Dawggone wrote: » It's an easy enough decision to make. Planted last September and very little on it yet. Second round of grazing on platform and nothing worthwhile on this drought mix. Hard to see 22tdm coming off it, using the same amount of water. The other herd is on the second round of grazing on ordinary grass that was planted at the same time.
Timmaay wrote: » My lowly stocked neighbouring sheepfarmer who usually sells me 15acres 1st cut has told me he's short on grass, and asked if I'd be happy with taking it for may/June instead, ie alot later a cut. What would any of yous value a later bulky 1st cut at? It would be pure dry cow feed. My alternative would be to cut a very light crop of leafy stuff late May, and graze with heifers afterwards (he isn't really keen on a 2nd cut). 2bh neither really ideal, however I'm between a rock and a hard place as it's a good local hassle free 15acres of silage usually so I'd like to keep it moving forward.
visatorro wrote: » If you get around the old lad and make enough surplus bales for cows you could get away with a late cut, what are the chances?!
jack o shea wrote: » Jaysus lads this spring is tough going, the brutal weather would get ya down and cows likely to be back in this wkend, anyone else expecting to put them back in?
whelan2 wrote: » fecking tbc of 96 on nearly last collection of the month, really put ya in a bad mood :mad: have been under 15 for months and months
freedominacup wrote: » There's some spot somewhere in the system where day is building and dropping off. Alternatively you could be letting hot wash run too long. Needs to be cold rinsed rapidly to lower plant temp quickly.
Milked out wrote: » P in last two collections was after climbing back over 3.4 whatever the wkend housing will do to it. My bins were empty of the winter mix so I just ordered a few ton of coarse maize balancer should be on today, handiest seeing as I will be away myself
stanflt wrote: » How low did the p go milk out We don't seem to be getting it as bad up in the east coast as in weather wise- still feck all growth Cows still in at night and 1st round stretched out till April 16 now at this stage-Sr. 4.3 If a burst does come they can go out at night to finish first round earlier Basing second round on a 24 day rotation to start so set amount per day and buffer feed to deficit- hopefully around 25 April buffer will be out Silage around 10 days behind schedule so will cut around May 20th Cows milking 34litres 4.25f and 3.54p with 38% heifers- 55% of herd are 1st or 2nd lactation cows Cows now split into 2 mobs with 80 in each as we felt heifers were suffering in the larger groups
Dawggone wrote: » There's a lot of press here about the Irish over production. French Ag. minister is doing the rounds to different countries to garner support for an A+B quota system...and he's claiming that he is getting a lot of support. I really hope that Simon can put a stop to him.
Milked out wrote: » If your sticking rate was lower Stan and you were able to have em out full time this time of year do you reckon you'd get similar performance with less or no buffer feeding?
Dawggone wrote: There's a lot of press here about the Irish over production. French Ag. minister is doing the rounds to different countries to garner support for an A+B quota system...and he's claiming that he is getting a lot of support.
jaymla627 wrote: » When you say a+b quota system, what would it entail, would it be something like A litres (original quota/reference year) have a intervention price of say 30 cent and your B litres (new milk) be payed at a rate of whatever your processor can achieve selling to their customers on the free market with no supports whatsoever
Dawggone wrote: » A quota is the original quota. B quota is production over original quota. Sodiaal have now put this system in place. They are paying 31cpl + vat for A quota and 16 cpl for B quota. This has serious ramifications for me because I've more than doubled the production of the original quota that was here...
stanflt wrote: » V similar to uk processor where a milk is liquid and b milk for manufacturing In uk some processors don't want manufacturing milk iicrc
Dawggone wrote: » Lovely. If things pan out the way Sodiaal are paying I'll be getting 24cpl + vat. I'm happy enough atm with 28.75cpl + vat. Just got a text message from my Coop, Egm next week...
stanflt wrote: » Will try and look up which processors were at it last year- arla springs to mind I think there was 11pence difference between a and b with some farmers who were way over supplying b milk asked to find a new processor- don't quote me on this as I'm only recalling my memory-kowtow might fill us in more
Milked out wrote: » He has one brit publication on his side anywayhttps://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/irish-milk-war-lead-british-blockade/
Dawggone wrote: » This could get serious Stan. I honestly can't see Ireland being allowed to produce at will while the rest of us are muzzled. At the figures you quoted hardship can be the only result. The upside might be that quota could be traded as an asset.