Violence erupts at circus protest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

snmp wrote: »
    Hold on, Do you not recall Paul Murphy's AAA/PBP mob violently attacking a peaceful protest in O'Connell St a few weeks? What goes around comes around I suppose

Again, what madness has possessed you to think this is the same group of protesters?

And for the people suggesting the wounds are faked, jesus. Fruit cakes, fruit cakes everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Jeez. People are really upset about Paul Murphy being associated with this incident. He may not have been there. He may just have been commenting on it. It's really a secondary issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

Booooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 snmp

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Again, what madness has possessed you to think this is the same group of protesters?

And for the people suggesting the wounds are faked, jesus. Fruit cakes, fruit cakes everywhere.

Forgive me for been skeptical, but Paul Murphy and his AAA/PBP cohorts have a track record for using violence and intimidation to further their aims, who's to say they didn't instigate the trouble

snmp wrote: »
    Forgive me for been skeptical, but Paul Murphy and his AAA/PBP cohorts have a track record for using violence and intimidation to further their aims, who's to say they didn't instigate the trouble

Because they weren't actually there, unless you're suggesting mind control, are you? Because we need to know now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Jeez. People are really upset about Paul Murphy being associated with this incident. He may not have been there. He may just have been commenting on it. It's really a secondary issue.

I wasn't at the rape of nanking, but I know it was bloody horrific.

Am I associated with it because I have now commented on it:confused:

I wasn't at the rape of nanking, but I know it was bloody horrific.

Am I associated with it because I have now commented on it:confused:

What are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 snmp

Because they weren't actually there, unless you're suggesting mind control, are you? Because we need to know now.

Perhaps he wasn't there, but I still find it Ironic that Paul Murphy is crying over intimidation when AAA/PBP commies have a track record for using intimidation tactics at their protests/demos

I think the circus workers should have waded into the battle on the backs of elephants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭enricoh

Good on the lads in the circus. It's a tough enough game to be in without these eejits trying to turn customers away.

Was one beside me a few years ago and the workers were serious grafters. An animal rights crowd came out ( all 8 of them!) , unfurled there banner for 10 minutes while a hape of journalists took photos and off the protesters went.
    Big write up in the local paper about the 'outrage'. Outrage me arse!

enricoh wrote: »
    Outrage me arse!

Is that the transitive verb "outrage"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

I'm guessing something sparked the circus guys into retaliating. Animal rights activists can be fairly overbearing from what I've seen. Add in the water protesters that planned on turning up and you can be sure it wasn't just a "peaceful protest'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Aineoil wrote: »
    There was a debate last week on Joe Duffy's radio show about this.

The main thing established in the Liveline thread last week was yer wan who runs it is a fine thing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Was one of theTigers sticking his head out of the passenger window of the car when they arrived?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I wonder who was the ringleader !

I'm guessing something sparked the circus guys into retaliating. Animal rights activists can be fairly overbearing from what I've seen. Add in the water protesters that planned on turning up and you can be sure it wasn't just a "peaceful protest'"

WTF, what water protestors that planned on turning up? And even if they were planning on turning up, by your own inference they weren't actually there so what the hell do they to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭enricoh

Is that the transitive verb "outrage"?

Yeah, that's the good one isn't it? So, yeah!

What are you talking about?

I think my post was pretty clear.

You're claiming Paul Murphy was associated with a protest against a circus because he commented on it.

Can't see the local Gardai doing anything apart from buying all the circus folk a drink

I think my post was pretty clear.

You're claiming Paul Murphy was associated with a protest against a circus because he commented on it.

No I amn't. You're just being overly protective of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

WTF, what water protestors that planned on turning up? And even if they were planning on turning up, by your own inference they weren't actually there so what the hell do they to do with anything?

Some Water Warriors group or something like that were calling for their members to help support the protest of the circus. Rent-a-mob style.

I never implied they weren't there BTW. They had planned on turning up.

No I amn't. You're just being overly protective of him.

I don't even know the guy, but when you claim in an opening post that he "seemed to have been there" and a few others follow up, not only placing him at the scene, but close to claiming he was the instigator and cause of the trouble.

Anyone reading the news report could tell Paul Murphy was speaking about the protest in his capacity as a TD for the area. That somehow puts him at the scene, and guilty by association around here.

Mind you if he had of stayed schtumm about the incident they'd prob have claimed he wasn't representing the area, or some other excuse to whinge about him, haters gonna hate I suppose.

I think you're confusing calling out bullsh1t with being overly protective.

I don't even know the guy, but when you claim in an opening post that he "seemed to have been there" and a few others follow up, not only placing him at the scene, but close to claiming he was the instigator and cause of the trouble.

Anyone reading the news report could tell Paul Murphy was speaking about the protest in his capacity as a TD for the area. That somehow puts him at the scene, and guilty by association around here.

Mind you if he had of stayed schtumm about the incident they'd prob have claimed he wasn't representing the area, or some other excuse to whinge about him, haters gonna hate I suppose.

I think you're confusing calling out bullsh1t with being overly protective.

Listen, I just assumed he was there going by his comment and his condemnation of one side. This is what the article said
    Speaking following the protest, Paul Murphy TD said what happened was “an act of thuggery”.
    “People who had gathered at the circus to protest and ask people to boycott their shows were set upon and attacked. They were kicked, punched and thrown on the ground. This included women as young as 15,” the deputy said.

That sounds like he was there and giving an eyewitness account. And it's given more credance by the fact that the people posting video and photos appear to be associated with his Jobstown rent a mob crowd.

Listen, I just assumed he was there going by his comment and his condemnation of one side. This is what the article said

That sounds like he was there and giving an eyewitness account. And it's given more credance by the fact that the people posting video and photos appear to be associated with his Jobstown rent a mob crowd.

That's fair enough mate, as an animal lover, I'm with the protesters on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Animal rights and violence in the same sentence... I'm shocked I tell you. When will we expect the dawn raids on houses ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Protip: don't mess with carnies. They will **** you up and they don't care.

Some Water Warriors group or something like that were calling for their members to help support the protest of the circus. Rent-a-mob style.

Source?
    Animal rights and violence in the same sentence... I'm shocked I tell you. When will we expect the dawn raids on houses ?

You seem to misunderstand what happened, it was the protesters that were attacked, the attackers have no houses to raid at dawn, they have already been arrested. That's what seems to have happened anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Source?

You seem to misunderstand what happened, it was the protesters that were attacked, the attackers have no houses to raid at dawn, they have already been arrested. That's what seems to have happened anyway.
    It’s unknown exactly how the violence began but one witness says there were at least two separate altercations.

The lovely Nadja is on FM104 now

Amazing how the working classes have turned against the circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

Can't imagine an elephant would have much of a life been traipsed all round Ireland in a trailer, same goes for tigers, monkeys etc. I wouldn't be a professional protester but I am very uncomfortable with animal circuses, especially the large animals they seem to favour. No room to graze, or access to grasslands.