Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Violence erupts at circus protest

• 23-03-2016 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/circus-protest-2677175-Mar2016/

So a group of protesters got in a scuffle with circus staff while protesting the use of animals. While Gardaí were dealing with that incident a car full of circus folk arrived and attacked the protesters again. Seven arrests made. I find myself wondering how many people where actually in the car that arrived on scene. I have this image of an impossible number of clowns getting out of it with weapons and attacking the protesters.

And Paul Murphy seems to have been there too.

EDIT: Paul Murphy may not have been there and may just have been commenting on it. People seem very upset about his inclusion in my post.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Paul Murphy TD said what happened was “an act of thuggery”

What a very ironic statement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

A rent-a-mob and Paul Murphy in the same place? That can't be right surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

It all kicked of in co Wexford few days ago with the same crowd

https://www.facebook.com/carla.danielle.56/posts/10153704706498089

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭JackieBauer

Bunch of clowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

One of the clowns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Bunch of clowns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

The way to nip a circus protest in the bud is to go straight for the juggler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I hope the lovely Nadja wasn't hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Davei141 wrote: »

Paul Murphy causing trouble instead if actively trying to help in constructive talks to help form a Government?? Well I've seen it all now. So out of character. #rabblerabble#watercharges#Enda#sayyestoclowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭misslemon

I remember reading an article where Paul Murphy said he always has a megaphone in his car boot in case he comes across a protest...best to always be prepared I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I'm conflicted, I cannot abide circuses that use live animals, and I have a dislike for Murphy. But this circus has managed to do what I previously thought impossible, siding with Murphy in a dispute.

Every circus should have a Papa Lazarou.

You're my wife now Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Every circus should have a Papa Lazarou.

You're my wife now Dave

What a show :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Despite my support of stopping circuses using animals, it is very refreshing to see the tables turned on Murphy and Rent-a-mob. Their bully and intimidation tactics don't work against these guys.

Davei141 wrote: »
    Despite my support of stopping circuses using animals, it is very refreshing to see the tables turned on Murphy and Rent-a-mob. Their bully and intimidation tactics don't work against these guys.

You blokes realise that someone "condemning an incident" doesn't put them at the scene, right?

Paul Murphy's represents the area the protest took place in, be pretty normal for him to comment on it I would have thought?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You surprise me Ricardo.

The protesters weren't his mob, he's just speaking in his capacity of a local TD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

That "injury" in the photo looks interesting.

There is blood above the "wound".
    There is no blood on the jeans.
    The blood is too red.
    A rip in jeans would be a straight line, not a "viewing window" opening.

But I could be wrong.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The protesters weren't his mob, he's just speaking in his capacity of a local TD.

That's exactly how I read in to it.

Paul Murphy doesn't seem to have been anywhere near this, its hardly an election issue for him or his party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

All a bit of a circus jerk.

diomed wrote: »

The blood is too red.

But I could be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

Not like rent a voice boards members to jump to conclusions now is it :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

So a group of protesters got in a scuffle with circus staff while protesting the use of animals. While Gardaí were dealing with that incident a car full of circus folk arrived and attacked the protesters again. Seven arrests made. I find myself wondering how many people where actually in the car that arrived on scene. I have this image of an impossible number of clowns getting out of it with weapons and attacking the protesters.

Still hating Paul Murphy i see. Serious agenda against the man :rolleyes: Where does this link say that PM was there? He condemned it because it happened in his constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

So a group of protesters got in a scuffle with circus staff ......

Seems to
    have been there being the important bit. He commented on it (as he does!!!) but I don't see anywhere that says he was actually there.
    As an elected representative for the area why shouldn't he be there in any case ?
    Paul Murphy causing trouble instead if actively trying to help in constructive talks to help form a Government?? Well I've seen it all now. So out of character. #rabblerabble#watercharges#Enda#sayyestoclowns

It took 12 minutes to go from seems to have been there to causing trouble there. Not bad, but not great. Thought it would have been faster than that. I presume that you've reported this troublemaking that you witnessed to the Gardai ?

BTW, I'm no fanboy but the eagerness of some people to get on his back astounds me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

There was a debate last week on Joe Duffy's radio show about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Hippies assume Carnies are like scientists, students, pet owners or whoever else they mess about with.

Ends as expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

diomed wrote: »

The blood is too red.

But I could be wrong.

Looks quite consistent with a 'dragging' style injury to me. I'd be fairly positive that it's genuine. Known in the motorbike world as 'Road Rash' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 snmp

Hold on, Do you not recall Paul Murphy's AAA/PBP mob violently attacking a peaceful protest in O'Connell St a few weeks? What goes around comes around I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Looks quite consistent with a 'dragging' style injury to me. I'd be fairly positive that it's genuine. Known in the motorbike world as 'Road Rash' !
    As a long time motorbike user who has hit knees off the road, ripped clothes and ripped knees, I say you need to hit the ground at 50 km/hr+ for that injury.
    Looks inconsistent with static protesters to me. I would welcome some video of the injury happening, just to confirm I am wrong.

snmp wrote: »
    Hold on, Do you not recall Paul Murphy's AAA/PBP mob violently attacking a peaceful protest in O'Connell St a few weeks? What goes around comes around I suppose

Again, what madness has possessed you to think this is the same group of protesters?

And for the people suggesting the wounds are faked, jesus. Fruit cakes, fruit cakes everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Jeez. People are really upset about Paul Murphy being associated with this incident. He may not have been there. He may just have been commenting on it. It's really a secondary issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

Booooo

Again, what madness has possessed you to think this is the same group of protesters?

And for the people suggesting the wounds are faked, jesus. Fruit cakes, fruit cakes everywhere.

Forgive me for been skeptical, but Paul Murphy and his AAA/PBP cohorts have a track record for using violence and intimidation to further their aims, who's to say they didn't instigate the trouble

snmp wrote: »
    Forgive me for been skeptical, but Paul Murphy and his AAA/PBP cohorts have a track record for using violence and intimidation to further their aims, who's to say they didn't instigate the trouble

Because they weren't actually there, unless you're suggesting mind control, are you? Because we need to know now.

Jeez. People are really upset about Paul Murphy being associated with this incident. He may not have been there. He may just have been commenting on it. It's really a secondary issue.

I wasn't at the rape of nanking, but I know it was bloody horrific.

Am I associated with it because I have now commented on it:confused:

I wasn't at the rape of nanking, but I know it was bloody horrific.

Am I associated with it because I have now commented on it:confused:

What are you talking about?

Because they weren't actually there, unless you're suggesting mind control, are you? Because we need to know now.

Perhaps he wasn't there, but I still find it Ironic that Paul Murphy is crying over intimidation when AAA/PBP commies have a track record for using intimidation tactics at their protests/demos

I think the circus workers should have waded into the battle on the backs of elephants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Good on the lads in the circus. It's a tough enough game to be in without these eejits trying to turn customers away.

Was one beside me a few years ago and the workers were serious grafters. An animal rights crowd came out ( all 8 of them!) , unfurled there banner for 10 minutes while a hape of journalists took photos and off the protesters went.
    Big write up in the local paper about the 'outrage'. Outrage me arse!

enricoh wrote: »
    Outrage me arse!

Is that the transitive verb "outrage"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

I'm guessing something sparked the circus guys into retaliating. Animal rights activists can be fairly overbearing from what I've seen. Add in the water protesters that planned on turning up and you can be sure it wasn't just a "peaceful protest'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Aineoil wrote: »
    There was a debate last week on Joe Duffy's radio show about this.

The main thing established in the Liveline thread last week was yer wan who runs it is a fine thing :pac:

Was one of theTigers sticking his head out of the passenger window of the car when they arrived?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I wonder who was the ringleader !

I'm guessing something sparked the circus guys into retaliating. Animal rights activists can be fairly overbearing from what I've seen. Add in the water protesters that planned on turning up and you can be sure it wasn't just a "peaceful protest'"

WTF, what water protestors that planned on turning up? And even if they were planning on turning up, by your own inference they weren't actually there so what the hell do they to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Is that the transitive verb "outrage"?

Yeah, that's the good one isn't it? So, yeah!

What are you talking about?

I think my post was pretty clear.

You're claiming Paul Murphy was associated with a protest against a circus because he commented on it.

Can't see the local Gardai doing anything apart from buying all the circus folk a drink

I think my post was pretty clear.

You're claiming Paul Murphy was associated with a protest against a circus because he commented on it.

No I amn't. You're just being overly protective of him.