Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

yop wrote: »
    Okay, so Cork topped the table last year in the league, Kerry finished just above relegation. How did the Munster and AI series end up for both of them?

Who said they were no threat......

Anyway, welcome to the Mayo forum, we love facts here ;)

Did he not state something that's fact.
    4 losses from 5 games.
    Mayo have been a shambles this year so far, that's another fact.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Did he not state something that's fact.
    4 losses from 5 games.
    Mayo have been a shambles this year so far, that's another fact.

Thanks for your first post ever in GAA;

The farmers must be busy in the fields ;) It is the season for them though :D:D:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Mexcanelo wrote: »
    Your sarcastic response to my first post suggests to me that you laughed at the mere suggestion that Roscommon could beat Mayo in League or Championship, that they were no threat.

It's true, strong league form often doesn't translate to Championship success. But you have to give them credit for their results and have the humility to respect them as challengers to the Connacht Championship.

We'll see what happens on Sunday. Looking forward to a great game. :)

There you go Yop. You lack humility. That's your problem. Sure I've been saying that for years. ;)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

ProudDUB wrote: »
    There you go Yop. You lack humility. That's your problem. Sure I've been saying that for years. ;)

No, you've been saying humanity, at least get that fact right will you.

And Dublin aren't the form team either, now thats another fact, isn't it :) :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Two people with facts where in trouble now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Unexpected good league form does not necessarily translate to Championship success.

Yops example of Cork over the last few years shows that.

Mayo in '07, '10 are also good examples.

So I'll not worry about Roscommon until we meet them in the Championship, assuming other results go both teams way of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Never seen Mayo in such a fluster before a league match. Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

No, you've been saying humanity, at least get that fact right will you.

And Dublin aren't the form team either, now thats another fact, isn't it :) :P:P

Yop, me aul mucker, we all live on Planet Rossie right now.We mere mortals, are just glad that they let us breathe the same air as them. Fact !

Syferus wrote: »

Who exactly is in a fluster ?

Syferus wrote:

No a fluster is when Rossies implode last year and posters disappear for 4 months.
    If Rossies win fair play to them. Playing great football and will set them up for a big year.

No a fluster is when Rossies implode last year and posters disappear for 4 months.
    If Rossies win fair play to them. Playing great football and will set them up for a big year.

Sad that you don't keep up enough to know I didn't disappear anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Serious amount of rain on the way over the next few days. Will the hyde sink again?

Ah now syferus after the ros sligo game last yr you where very quite.
    Didn't I meet ya at a mayo game since.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Mexcanelo

Unexpected good league form does not necessarily translate to Championship success.

Yops example of Cork over the last few years shows that.

Mayo in '07, '10 are also good examples.

So I'll not worry about Roscommon until we meet them in the Championship, assuming other results go both teams way of course.

So you're not bothered about being relegated to Division 2?

Like the Hyde, only available when the sun shines. :D:P

At this stage if Mayo win then it will be a big shock.

Like the Hyde, only available when the sun shines. :D:P

At this stage if Mayo win then it will be a big shock.

Shock of the century.

So you're not bothered about being relegated to Division 2?

Nothing in the post you quoted refers to Mayo and Div 2, so why are you asking me am I worried about it.

For my opinions on Mayo and Div 2 read a few pages back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Regarding the Mitchels lads I'd be seriously concerned with Tom Cunniffe's form,I think he'll a fight on his hand to secure a championship start with Brendan Harrison performing quite well in the league.

Not convinced by Danny Kirby,as mentioned already he was'nt overly convincing in last year's league and had a very poor day out in the All Ireland club final.TBF it was endemic on that sorry day.He's definitely worth bringing into the squad though and one can see how he develops.

Patrick Durkan must be in real contention to start on Sunday,he is potentially a real gem.

Is there even the remotest possibilty the game will be moved from the Hyde with the forecast for heavy downpours over the latter half of the week?Can't imagine it would be feasible to contemplate moving it with the crowd expected....

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Serious amount of rain on the way over the next few days. Will the hyde sink again?

Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada is ready as an alternative venue.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Regarding the Mitchels lads I'd be seriously concerned with Tom Cunniffe's form,I think he'll a fight on his hand to secure a championship start with Brendan Harrison performing quite well in the league.

Not convinced by Danny Kirby,as mentioned already he was'nt overly convincing in last year's league and had a very poor day out in the All Ireland club final.TBF it was endemic on that sorry day.He's definitely worth bringing into the squad though and one can see how he develops.

Patrick Durkan must be in real contention to start on Sunday,he is potentially a real gem.

Is there even the remotest possibilty the game will be moved from the Hyde with the forecast for heavy downpours over the latter half of the week?Can't imagine it would be feasible to contemplate moving it with the crowd expected....

Durkan and Moran are the only 2 possibilities, Cunniffe has had a poor 12 months and Danny Kirby is not there, he may yet, but not for this term.

It's like his turbo is gone........

Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada is ready as an alternative venue.

Not at all up to Castlebar with ye

Nothing in the post you quoted refers to Mayo and Div 2, so why are you asking me am I worried about it.

For my opinions on Mayo and Div 2 read a few pages back.

You are aware the Roscommon are playing Mayo this Sunday right?
    You are aware that a loss for Mayo means relegation, unless Monaghan lose both remaining home games right?

Keep up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Anyone hear that Cillian O'Connor is supposedly back in training? Haven't been around or online for the last few days, so only hearing about this now that I'm home.

As Yop said it's all about facts here

Syferus posts on the day of the Sligo V Roscommon game last year

And then disappears, only to turn up in the Cavan thread 3 days later, and if that was not enough he\she goes missing for a another 7 days, this time reappearing in the Mayo thread.

If that's not being very quiet I don't know what is.

PressRun wrote: »
    Anyone hear that Cillian O'Connor is supposedly back in training? Haven't been around or online for the last few days, so only hearing about this now that I'm home.

That would be great. Will take him a while to get near fitness though.

Any chance some of the U21 will get a chance? Great return from play against Leitrim.

You are aware the Roscommon are playing Mayo this Sunday right?
    You are aware that a loss for Mayo means relegation, unless Monaghan lose both remaining home games right?

Keep up!

Oh I'm keeping up alright, if you bothered to read my posts here and on other threads you would realise that.

A Monaghan win and a Mayo loss will relegate Mayo.
    A Mayo win will allow them to fight another day, as could a loss if Monaghan also lose.

But ironically two Mayo wins could still relegate them if they are in a tie breaker with 2 or more teams (Mayo have bad points difference) or if they are in a head to head with Donegal or Cork
    And in theory they could also make the playoffs.

That's a article about Limerick who have spent 7 seasons outside the 'top flight' in hurling

It bares zero relation to Mayo being relegated to Div 2 in football.

If Mayo spend 7 years in Div 2, you might have a point.

Oh and who is grandstanding about relegation by the way ?

The same people who are getting flustered ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

That would be great. Will take him a while to get near fitness though.

Agreed. Have no idea if he's at a stage where he could appear for a few minutes towards the end of a match or some such, but it's great that he's starting to get back into the swing of things anyway, if it's true. Think Keith Higgins is expected back for Roscommon too (apologies if this was already mentioned a few pages back).