Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

EA Sports UFC 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,520 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I think it's much better. The last game I had no reason to enter the clinch. This time, i don't use it much but when i do, there are a lot of options between throws, Thai strikes and the new thai whip where you can hold there had out and lace them with a knee, always leading to a knockdown (anytime I've tried it anyway)

This is the 1st mma game where i didn't mind where the fight went, standup, ground or clinch, as all felt very natural with lots of options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Guys, how do you defend punches in the normal clinch? I've tried R1 or R2 but don't seem to be having any noticeable success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭14murphy

Anyone know the cheapest place to pick this up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Nebaw

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I think it's much better. The last game I had no reason to enter the clinch. This time, i don't use it much but when i do, there are a lot of options between throws, Thai strikes and the new thai whip where you can hold there had out and lace them with a knee, always leading to a knockdown (anytime I've tried it anyway)

This is the 1st mma game where i didn't mind where the fight went, standup, ground or clinch, as all felt very natural with lots of options.

That thai clinch and knee is the most frustrating move to be caught in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,919 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Nebaw wrote: »
    That thai clinch and knee is the most frustrating move to be caught in.

Once you hold low block, it's easy to defend the knee. Block 2 strikes and you can easily transition out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Nebaw

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Once you hold low block, it's easy to defend the knee. Block 2 strikes and you can easily transition out.

Gonna give that a try, I just started panicking every time i got caught in it because I wasnt able to defend it haha.

Paully, not sure must check that next time I'm on. Usually when we clinch we try transition into something else.

Nebaw, exactly like Pudsey said, works a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

lost two straight UT fights because of the Thai clinch, but once you know how to defend it then it's avoidable.

Managed to get a 4 Star armbar from the clinch last night. Its really handy since people automatically think you're going for the Thai clinch when you grab them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

14murphy wrote: »
    Anyone know the cheapest place to pick this up ?

Argos 63e was the cheapest I seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Gamebred wrote: »
    Argos 63e was the cheapest I seen.

Argos always the cheapest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Finally got to put some hours into this today; it really is great; mostly playing ranked online; you can nearly feel every punch/kick! Stand up is great and getting used to the new transitions! Huge step from last game IMO; can't believe some of the mediocre reviews I've seen of it; they must be playing a diff game!

Felt a bit bad for the devs about the reviews. Proper gaming sites given it 6 and 7 out of 10 as they didn't know how to play it. One crowd said the ground game was a minus part as it was 'unresponsive', just mental.

A tourney will have to be setup soon before people like Marty get too good (bollix is just collecting UT belts atm)

Yeah the IGN review was gobsmacking to be honest. I am struggling with the ground game particularly blocking transitions; practice makes perfect I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭jarain

Picked this up this morning and getting my head around it now. Is there any boardsies groups or anything on PS4. Wouldn't mind a few battles!

jarain wrote: »
    Picked this up this morning and getting my head around it now. Is there any boardsies groups or anything on PS4. Wouldn't mind a few battles!

Yeah we do.
    Sent you friend request so should be able to add you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,560 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Felt a bit bad for the devs about the reviews. Proper gaming sites given it 6 and 7 out of 10 as they didn't know how to play it. One crowd said the ground game was a minus part as it was 'unresponsive', just mental.

A tourney will have to be setup soon before people like Marty get too good (bollix is just collecting UT belts atm)

Playing FIFA today to let you catch up in UT. ;)

To be honest, I don't want to get tired of it too quickly like I did with the last one, so I don't want to put all my time into it right away. Watching plenty of ground game videos in the meantime though to learn the tricks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Finding it tough to block transitions myself but I've improved in the short time I've played already so it should get easier.

Had some good back and forth fights with Axwell(I think) last night. A personal low point was fighting as Lombard and getting ko'd by Rogan with a few seconds left in the first round.

I'm absolutely clueless on the ground. I understand the concept but I just don't know when or which way to deny. I just end up transitioning into full mount, then they just transition back to full guard. Rinse and repeat. I just don't know what to do

Yeah how the f do you hold mount when your on top? finding it hard to stay there and reign down bombs,also can finish a sub for my dinner when I stick one on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Was like a fish out of water on the ground for the week, getting the hang of it now though after some time in practise mode on ground movement have finished the last five fights by submission...am actually starting to prefer taking it to the ground now..

I'll be on after 11 tonight, Send me a message, sheehy83, if any of ye just want a grappling match. Much easier to learn when you're not worrying about gnp. The main thing is to hold R2 but don't press the right stick before the other guy moves. This will cause your joypad to vibrate like crazy telling you you went to early and the other guy will get a free transition.

Knowing what direction to press comes from practice with another player i find. If your on top in mount, press up to posture up and just wait and hold R2. If the guy puts his hands to the right, press right to deny him.

I'm still trying to work out how to debt getting pulled into closed mount.

Anyone find takedowns a little awkward? Its more of a grapple animation than a shoot.

It's also hard to pull off the special takedowns. If I hold down L2 + L1 + Takedown it'll sometimes only do the regular one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Jeez I'm still totally clueless when I'm on the ground. I can't seem to block any transition. You must have to be lightening quick or there is a tiny window to block it that I haven't figured out yet.

If I just hold R2 and wait for someone to transition, I only ever block 1 in 10.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

v3ttel wrote: »
    Jeez I'm still totally clueless when I'm on the ground. I can't seem to block any transition. You must have to be lightening quick or there is a tiny window to block it that I haven't figured out yet.

If I just hold R2 and wait for someone to transition, I only ever block 1 in 10.

Its all down to timing and knowing what to look for. Best video I have come across that explains it is this one. After that its just down to practice and the best way is just to go into a game with someone else and just grapple (no punching etc) and practice transitions and blocking them.

Axwell wrote: »
    Its all down to timing and knowing what to look for. Best video I have come across that explains it is this one. After that its just down to practice and the best way is just to go into a game with someone else and just grapple (no punching etc) and practice transitions and blocking them.

Watched that before and still I'm useless haha may give it another rattle tonight for a few hours

Love that fight are much more likely to go the distance in this game; was a big gripe with the last one where fights were always nearly over in the first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭RebelSoul

I can't seem to block takedowns from the clinch. Anyone else having difficulty with this?

Some class CAF's going on in Ultimate Team. I made Spiderman, Batman and the Joker. Give em a wave if you come across them on UT.

Lads can ye explain in simple english what UT is?

Gamebred wrote: »
    Lads can ye explain in simple english what UT is?

Ultimate Team - Make 5 characters from scratch and either play against AI or Online. Playing fights gets you points that you can spend on cards which unlock moves, attributes & perks for your fighters like a basic leg kick or Ronda's Arm Bar.