The boom is back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

maudgonner wrote: »
    I saw a crane the other day too. For a second I thought we were being invaded by the Imperial Walkers from Star Wars, but it turns out they're just building a swimming pool.

For anyone else who forgot what they look like, this is a crane.

I seen a Crane the other day too!
    Except mine was a Dr Frazier Crane.
    And he looked like he had a pret-teee penny to his name if his Seattle apartment is anything to go by!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

Panthro wrote: »
    I seen a Crane the other day too!
    Except mine was a Dr Frazier Crane.
    And he looked like he had a pret-teee penny to his name if his Seattle apartment is anything to go by!

I "seen" a crane too. I also saw a crane.

Do you know warra meurn Anto? Jayziz giv us some more heroin der ya bleedin geebag, roight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bastarding EU banned patio heaters, this boom just won't be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

Apparently the old 2p coins fit in the Aldi trolleys, as one lady kindly showed me one day. I dont know what I was more impressed by, the fact that she had a 2p coin or the fact that she had gone through her old coin collection just to find an alternative coin to stick it to the Aldi powers that be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Getting breakfast rolls on a Saturday & Sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

The most reliable indicator of economic growth in Ireland is seeing tradesmen/builders buying breakfast rolls from delis. Seen it the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The most reliable indicator of economic growth in Ireland is seeing tradesmen/builders buying breakfast rolls from delis. Seen it the other day.
    Hasn't anyone told these lads they should be eating quinoa and kale burritos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

These things tend to come near enough in 10 year cycles.

Recent signs I've seen....
    The new section at liffey valley
    SuperValu Lucan revamp makes it look like Harrods food hall...plus it's always packed!
    Car sales massively up and returning to pre recession numbers...
    Houses for sale and rents up
    people who "brunch"
    Kildare outlet recent expansion
    Good rental properties impossible to get
    Tradesmen not turning up
    Normal people (two income households) employing cleaners and gardeners

The Celtic tiger was good to me and even though I bought my home at crash point(2008) it's creeping back up price wise..

I hope people don't get carried away like they did last time, but unfortunately people have short memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

retalivity wrote:
    Lidl seem to have changed their trollies to take both €1 and €2 coins.

retalivity wrote:
    What a time to be alive.

Actually made me laugh out loud.

Good mang yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I use lidl bag for life's when I'm cleaning out the fireplace for the open fire!
    No recession in my house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I use lidl bag for life's when I'm cleaning out the fireplace for the open fire!

Pauper. An Ash Vac is where the money is at these days.

Menas wrote: »
    Pauper. An Ash Vac is where the money is at these days.
    Steady on! I said no recession but I didn't win the lotto!

The boom is back baby! I am ordering one of these Ash Vacs and we dont even have an open fire! How is that for wastefulness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

When we crashed in 2008 the govt should have given every man women and child in the country 250000 each , that would have cleared all debts more money to spend and we would have had no recession, all it would have cost is a few billion which in the grand scheme of our national debt is peanuts.
    Did we all forget we owe 200 billion plus, great recovery.

Menas wrote: »
    The boom is back baby! I am ordering one of these Ash Vacs and we dont even have an open fire! How is that for wastefulness?

Are you buying your child a suv so as he can drive himself to school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

anto9 wrote: »
    You have an 06 Citroen ? .thats kind of extravagant .mine is a 1996 Nissan.

I once had a 1998 Nissan primera . cracking car, I reakon if I'd kept it it still be going . loved that car ;)

Are you buying your child a suv so as he can drive himself to school?

No point in getting him something he would not drive but it is so hard to source a Hummer in sky blue with yellow flashing lights on top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

mcko wrote: »
    When we crashed in 2008 the govt should have given every man women and child in the country 250000 each , that would have cleared all debts more money to spend and we would have had no recession, all it would have cost is a few billion which in the grand scheme of our national debt is peanuts.
    Did we all forget we owe 200 billion plus, great recovery.

You do realise that 250k to everybody would come to 1200billion? Hardly a few billion. It's maths like that that got people in such debt in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭Lisha

:(

I hate when my husband does this!!
    So wasteful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Lisha wrote: »
    :(

I hate when my husband does this!!
    So wasteful

Husband? Well la dee da, no recession here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

A good few cranes and building work going on in cork city too. Unfortunately v little of the building is residental v difficult to find something decent to rent here...im currently trying to find aomethjh to renr
    A lexus dealership due to open here in May.
    Brunch is another one

A good few cranes and building work going on in cork city too. Unfortunately v little of the building is residental v difficult to find something decent to rent here...im currently trying to find aomethjh to renr
    Brunch is another one

A house down the road from me had an open viewing the other day, must have been about 30 people there! Was mental. More rental property is badly needed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Brunch is another one

They should do up Spike island, have a ferry into the city a few times per day. No traffic unless you get stuck behind a container ship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭pepe the prawn

The boom is making an appearance in cork also. People buying new cars and S.U.V's when they can't really afford them but are getting finance direct from the manufacturers, people putting deposits on houses that are still green field sites, no houses to rent anywhere and if there are then the rents are colossal, oh and everyone's going on expensive holidays again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Another sign is its taking a lot longer to sell items on adverts/done deal than a few years ago when you are doing a clear out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

The boom is making an appearance in cork also. People buying new cars and S.U.V's when they can't really afford them but are getting finance direct from the manufacturers, people putting deposits on houses that are still green field sites, no houses to rent anywhere and if there are then the rents are colossal, oh and everyone's going on expensive holidays again.

They are all Tuscon Crdi's though and most of them are 2-wheel drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭CFlat

Considering the banks aren't exactly throwing money at people, I think some of the purchases we see like new cars, houses, holidays, decking, whatever you're having yourself, a lot of that is money that people had stashed away and now that things are improving they're feeling confident in spending it. Don't forget there was 90 billion in savings in this country back when the downturn hit.

Confidence in an economy is paramount to recovery. I personally think its a good thing to see people spending money. One thing I would do myself if I could manage to get back my pre-crash wages(which probably won't happen) is that I'd put away some rainy day money. That's a big regret I have to this day.

I live close to Kildare Town and there's definitely signs of recovery there. Local garage(Chapmans) that reopened about 18 months ago had a Bentley for sale recently and it didn't spend too long in the show room. As someone else said the Kildare Retail Outlet extended in the last year. A load of houses also being built on Melitta Road. I play bit of music and local bar recently started back up weekend music which it pulled 5/6 years ago.

TL,DR Celtic Tiger 2.0 is coming to a town near you soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

CFlat wrote: »
    Don't forget there was 90 billion in savings in this country back when the downturn hit.

On a connected matter the Credit Unions have proposed a €5 billion house building fund, I had no idea savers had so much money (11 billion) in the CU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Every second car on the road is 161, so that points towards a definite recovery of sorts..