Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Still on track. Excellent stuff. Good to hear the hip thing has gone away.

You're a mere slip of a thing these days. I'm getting older looking while you're getting younger looking. What's the secret? All that time spent with TBL??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

RedRunner wrote: »

You're a mere slip of a thing these days. I'm getting older looking while you're getting younger looking. What's the secret? All that time spent with TBL??

Sure that would put years on you, R.........no he decided at the age of 28 to spend a couple of years working hard to make himself look 50 at the age of 30 after that he could spend 20 years with people telling him he is getting younger :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

RedRunner wrote: »

Cheers R, as you said yourself, at least you have hair. I'd kill for that!! Sure TbL is as old as Methuselah, easy feel young running with him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Sounds like a perfect training run/race. Great going :)

perfect county too of course!

Delighted to see you enjoying it so much, B! Made me nostalgic for the race. You are really flying, what a difference in a year, you're in great shape for Rotterdam. :)

annapr wrote: »
    perfect county too of course!

Delighted to see you enjoying it so much, B! Made me nostalgic for the race. You are really flying, what a difference in a year, you're in great shape for Rotterdam. :)

Thanks Anna, I thought of D shortly before that snap was taken and how much of a jock I was in last year as I passed there. The past year has been very good to me running wise thankfully.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Firedance wrote: »
    4weeks......;)

Balls.

Balls.

You still joining us?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

tang1 wrote: »
    You still joining us?

Yep...could do with a weekend break. Shame about the 3 - (hopefully no more than) 4 hour stint on the Sunday. :)

Training has just been a nightmare since Donadea - between picking up a slight injury there, work being mad, trying to hold off an cold for a week or so and Jim Mc being sick, I just never really got going again. I'm fine with that though, doing MSB 5k, might do Clontarf 10 mile, will probably do Dunboyne 4 mile and will go out and enjoy my weekend in Rotterdam. :) I'm not bothered, I'm still averaging 40+ miles a week, swimming, cycling and doing a bit of S&C...just not getting the sort of quality I want out of my running.

Yep...could do with a weekend break. Shame about the 3 - (hopefully no more than) 4 hour stint on the Sunday. :)

Training has just been a nightmare since Donadea - between picking up a slight injury there, work being mad, trying to hold off an cold for a week or so and Jim Mc being sick, I just never really got going again. I'm fine with that though, doing MSB 5k, might do Clontarf 10 mile, will probably do Dunboyne 4 mile and will go out and enjoy my weekend in Rotterdam. :) I'm not bothered, I'm still averaging 40+ miles a week, swimming, cycling and doing a bit of S&C...just not getting the sort of quality I want out of my running.

You'll be the finest, the other stuff no doubt will stand to you.

Catch up needed here:

Monday 14.3.16 to Wednesday 16.3.16

Rest, my wife was on a training course on Monday and fell and cracked her rib. She is a tough cookie but said the pain she was experiencing was worse than child-birth. I was with her on both occasions so knew things were bad. She sneezed Tuesday morning and cried uncontrollably with the pain for about 20 mins after!!!

Thursday 17.3.16

7miles Easy@9.05min/miles in 63min 33secs

Out early before everybody woke to get this done, effort and pace felt very comfortable. All good.

Friday 18.3.16

Rest, missus in a lot of pain, drugged up on painkillers to help give her some ease.

Saturday 19.3.16

12 miles Various@8.11min/miles in 1hr 38mins 16secs

Got out to do this while our teeniest was down for her morning snooze, it was 2E, 4x1 mile@MP/ST, 2E. Miles flew by and everything felt good. MP miles were:

7.33, 7.31, 7.33, 7.30.

Again they felt very comfortable, as they should do at this stage I suppose.

Sunday 20.3.16

20miles@ 8.53min/miles in 2hrs 57mins 38secs with last 2@MP

The last long one before the big day, so final dress rehearsal. Had my marathon gear on save for light short sleeve base layer as it was still bit nippy at 8am when I started out. Took a gel before I started and headed from Thomastown Harbour again towards Mullingar along the canal.

Legs were fine after previous day's faster miles, miles ticked by till my turn around at ten miles which happened to be Mullingar town this time around. Retraced my steps taking a gel every 3 miles up till 15 miles which will be my plan come the 10th of next month. Legs were chomping at the bit to start the MP miles and felt nice and spritely by time they came around. Final two miles clocked in at:

7.32, 7.30

and felt great. Hopefully they will feel this way on the big day, couldn't find anything to complain or question myself on from this run. It was how I hoped it would go and gives me huge confidence heading for Rotterdam.

39 miles from 3 runs for the week, I won't complain as it could have been zero miles from 7 days the way things were going. One more decent week mileage wise then the madness begins. Looking forward to my first taper!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

How many gels is that on the day, 6? Are you stopping taking them at 15 miles?

Murph_D wrote: »
    How many gels is that on the day, 6? Are you stopping taking them at 15 miles?

It'll be 6 up to mile 15 with 2 left in the belt still if I feel I need them. I felt strong up till 20 miles yesterday so hopefully will feel the same come race day. Is that to many, to little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Everyone's different, B. Whatever works for you. I can usually only stomach four max. Haven't taken one at all yet this year, which reminds me I probably should get reacquainted over next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

It'll be 6 up to mile 15 with 2 left in the belt still if I feel I need them. I felt strong up till 20 miles yesterday so hopefully will feel the same come race day. Is that to many, to little?

so you're carrying 8? that's loads, what did Meno say? take them in the first half if you can so if things get tough later in the race you won't have to worry about digesting a gel - I'm sure there are lots of varying opinions on taking gels though :) you won't need 8 though but no harm carrying spares!

what page was your log on by the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well done B, you're in good shape.
    Sounds like a lot of gels to me.

Everyone is different but I usually plan for three or four, maybe starting at 10k, 20k, 30k with the last for a spare. I find an isotonic drink in the last 5 miles or so gives a good boost too. Haven't checked if they give them out in Rotterdam yet.

snailsong wrote: »
    Well done B, you're in good shape.
    Sounds like a lot of gels to me.

Everyone is different but I usually plan for three or four, maybe starting at 10k, 20k, 30k with the last for a spare. I find an isotonic drink in the last 5 miles or so gives a good boost too. Haven't checked if they give them out in Rotterdam yet.

Cheers P, I have tried the 6 gels out like this twice now and it has shown no ill effects. Helps I have a stomach like a rubbish tip and very little upsets it. As far as I know there is isotonic drink on the route in a few spots but it's a local Dutch brew. If it's like there beer it'll be the finest!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Cheers P, I have tried the 6 gels out like this twice now and it has shown no ill effects. Helps I have a stomach like a rubbish tip and very little upsets it. As far as I know there is isotonic drink on the route in a few spots but it's a local Dutch brew. If it's like there beer it'll be the finest!!

Best to stick with what you know in that case.
    Did you say they're giving out beer on the course? :-)

...............Legs were chomping at the bit to start the MP miles and felt nice and spritely by time they came around. Final two miles clocked in at:

7.32, 7.30

and felt great. Hopefully they will feel this way on the big day, couldn't find anything to complain or question myself on from this run. It was how I hoped it would go and gives me huge confidence heading for Rotterdam......

Nice going, B. I will hold this quote for refresh your memory on the 9th, lest the madness makes you forget ;)

I hope the Boss is recovering OK. It was very nice of her to wait until you had the bulk of your training done to get injured. Don't forget that when it comes to making amends for all the neglect over the last 15 weeks and the next 3 weeks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

There is on course drinks at every 5k so last time I alternated a drink and a gel at each 5k marker. It worked really well, it meant I needed to carry just 4 gels with me. The drink is in cups but the cup has a sponge which means you can drink without any spillage. You need to start taking energy on early and keep it consistent so you don't have dips. 8 gels is a lot to carry but if it's your routine stick to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great stuff on the Long Run B. Looks like you are in great shape for Rotterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Nice long run B. On the gel strategy I wouldn't go changing anything at this stage. It's seems to work for ya. If it's not broken & all that. I would suggest carrying your full compliment of gels on this weekends long run just to be used to carrying that many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Great work going on here B - you are in great shape for Rotterdam.

All runs on the plan got done this week, unfortunately Gangland paid the leafy commuter village of Ratoath a big visit this week so work has been complete bedlam, this is as much detail I'll have the opportunity to give this week. Sleep is a reduced luxury, but I'm well used to that by now.

Two weeks to the Big Show and all is going well.

Monday 28.3.16

20 mins Recovery, legs were feeling the effects of the previous day's 15 mile progression so stuck to the soft surface of the GAA pitch for this. Legs loosened out a bit by the end of the 20 mins.

Tuesday 28.3.16

5miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 45mins 09secs

By now standard run at easy pace, nothing of note from it only it was freezing out.

Wednesday 30.3.16

10.40miles Various as follows:

1E, 2x4miles@MP off 5mins Rec, 1E.

Last big one before Rotterdam, wanted to nail this run and hopefully feel comfortable and in control doing it. It was windy in my part of the country early this afternoon and knew the prevailing wind would be in my face for first block of 4 miles, nothing I could do about that so no point fretting about it. Mile easy warm up, quick tinkle and into the MP miles.

Into my running handy enough and never noticed the wind as the four miles flew by, feeling controlled and comfortable. First block of four were:

7.33, 7.29, 7.30, 7.30.

Into 5 mins recovery and took it handy, was sweating buckets and it was only 5 degrees out. Happy with the first block and soon into the second. Few hills to negotiate on this but concentrated on effort on these rather than checking the watch. Was zoned in on this block and just cruising along, second block came in at:

7.27, 7.31, 7.27, 7.25.

Three quarters of a mile cool down brought me back home. So that's it really regarding the longer MP sessions, have 3 more incorporated into a run next week but this was the one I wanted to nail and I'm happy to say I did that this afternoon. Hay is in the barn now as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

All your ducks are lined up nicely now :) Delighted to see things going so well for you! You should feel very confident.

Ososlo wrote: »
    All your ducks are lined up nicely now :) Delighted to see things going so well for you! You should feel very confident.

Cheers A, confident and excited but equally nervous and terrified if I'm honest. I can't do no more now so will have to make do with what cards I'm dealt on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Well done on putting together a very solid block of training there Tang - like you say, the hay is indeed in the barn ( what's hay? What's a barn?)....enjoy the taper now, you've put yourself in a very strong position and that's about all any one of us can ever do

Thursday 31.3.16

5miles Easy

Friday 1.4.16

Rest

Saturday 2.4.16

5miles Easy

Sunday 3.4.16

11miles Easy

The paces on these runs are not important at this stage, they all felt super easy and very very comfortable. Sleep hasn't been great the past week but not to concerned about that really as I feel rested and less tired than I have in the previous 4-5 weeks.

Training:

I've run over 700 miles in preparation for Rotterdam, I ran just over 1,000 miles in 12 months last year so that gives an indication of the work put in. I ran a 10 mile PB in Trim and a disappointing Half in Kinvara that was nothing to do with my training, more an old injury letting me down at the wrong time. I missed a few runs due to work issues and family stuff but I'm more than happy with the training I've put in. The long runs along the Royal canal thought me I can do this.

I've not once gotten bored with training and that's all down to the variety coach gives me to keep things interesting, I've been tired heading out for runs but honestly can say I have never thought "I don't want to run today" along the way.

Hopes:

This is the first time I've trained for a marathon correctly that I've gotten through the plan fit to make it to the start line. He will deny this and is to humble to accept it but I put all this down to Myles Splitz, he was kind enough to say yes back last October when I asked for his help when I decided to run Rotterdam. I run the runs yes, but it's his knowledge and wisdom of putting the runs in the right place for me to run that has got me here typing this. Much thanks for that L, wouldn't have done this without you.

The goals I have in mind are as follows:

Gold - sub 3.20
    Silver - sub 3.25
    Bronze - sub 3.30

I feel I have the training done to achieve my Gold goal and think it's a realistic target considering my PBs from other races. I've nothing but respect for the marathon distance and know the marathon can chew the best up and spit them out. Just don't do it to me next Sunday please!! If the going gets tough which I'm sure it will, I will have this thought in the back of my mind to think of:

"Enter the Pain Cave, at the back there's the Hurt Box. Inside you'll find a suit, a pill and a can of drink. Zip up the Man Suit, swallow the suck it up pill and wash it down with the Can of Hard"

Thanks all for taking the time for following my log and the kinds words of advice along the way, all are very much appreciated and valued. I hope I can do ye proud next Sunday and run the race of my life. From me till next Sunday from here, Adios!!!

Best of luck, B. Remember this one is for you so don't be worry about anything but doing yourself proud....that's the gold so go get it. ENJOY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Just make sure you finish strong.

Best of luck