Do you believe in Ghosts, paranormal etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

kneemos wrote: »
    What's real evidence?
    Repeatable, measurable and quantifiable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Would you believe them if you saw them?

Of course not. The mind always tries to make sense and find recognisable shapes in the things the eyes see. Seeing is not believing and if I saw something that looked like a ghost I would know that it couldn't be and try to logically examine what it could be.

Malari wrote: »
    Of course not. The mind always tries to make sense and find recognisable shapes in the things the eyes see. Seeing is not believing and if I saw something that looked like a ghost I would know that it couldn't be and try to logically examine what it could be.

One person sees a shadow in the corner of the room and says 'There's a shadow'.

Another person sees a shadow in the corner of the room and says 'There's a presence'.

Trial lawyers often speak of how notoriously unreliable even eye-witness testimony is but we're expected to believe in the existence of paranormal phenomena on the basis of what someone saw when they woke from a deep sleep, in the dark, after a bereavement (for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I never used to until I went along to Loftus Hall for the tour. I was only going for a laugh and for something to do- I'm a very logical and analytical minded person who would have always dismissed ghosts as the creation of the vulnerable or distressed.
    Then I got to tour Loftus Hall and I never felt so threatened and uneasy in my entire life. The place has a malevolence to it that is beyond description. The rooms glow with the awful history of the house from black satanic masses to the horribly unnerving Tapestry Room.
    I was very shaken after leaving the tour and i put it down to theatrics or placebo effect, so I went back for a daytime tour and again all the hairs on the back of my neck stood on end for the entire hour. I couldn't get out of there fast enough. Not even the OWNER is allowed upstairs as the spirits slam doors and hiss in his face.

So yes I'm a recent convert to the idea of an afterlife!

So what you're saying is "Scary old dank mansion is scary, hence the paranormal exists!"

I did the same tour. It has a weird atmosphere but that's down to two factors. It is essentially a textbook haunted house. Dark, damp, creaking floorboards, lots of old world grandeur now decayed and crumbling. Many rooms still left as they were years ago. Then to top it off, a tour guide tells you about the Devil visiting the place, about people being imprisoned in a room forever and plenty of other auld nonsense designed to boost ticket sales!

Still not wanting to spend a weekend there though xD

Candie wrote: »
    One person sees a shadow in the corner of the room and says 'There's a shadow'.

Another person sees a shadow in the corner of the room and says 'There's a presence'.

It's called paradolia and it evolved for a very good reason - someone who sees scary shapes everywhere was much more likely to survive on the rare occasion where the scary shape was actually a predator.

What people see and what they remember are incredibly unreliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ghosts seem to appear to individuals rather than groups.They may appear to an individuals consciousness rather than a physical prescence.
    It could be real or imagined of course.

Ghosts seem to appear to individuals rather than groups.They may appear to an individuals consciousness rather than a physical prescence.
    It could be real or imagined of course.

What does that even mean?

Is it the special language that people who buy this stuff use? You know, the guff about spirits and presences and entities and being caught between planes and the language used to give some sort of gravitas to the subject?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭12Phase

Almost all "hauntings" are just a sign you need to upgrade your heating, insulation, wiring or call someone to get rid of rats or mice !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Nope. I don't believe in ghosts... Though I'm still afraid of them.... Aliens, well I do think there are plenty of them about, just maybe not in our galaxy. Why would we be the only living things? It doesn't make sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

For the last 4 or 5 nights, at exactly half one I've heard the banshee screeming! The first night I was out the yard an I nearly shat myself! Truly the scariest thing I've ever heard..I was too scared to tell anyone because they'd think I'm crazy.. She was an hour early tonight an I managed to see her.. It was a barn owl! Anyone ever heard these things screem? Fuking hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

ceecee14 wrote: »
    For the last 4 or 5 nights, at exactly half one I've heard the banshee screeming! The first night I was out the yard an I nearly shat myself! Truly the scariest thing I've ever heard..I was too scared to tell anyone because they'd think I'm crazy.. She was an hour early tonight an I managed to see her.. It was a barn owl! Anyone ever heard these things screem? Fuking hell

One night we heard what sounded like a baby screaming outside, not just regular crying but a baby in genuine agony. Next day we found a new born litter of kittens in bush out the back garden, mystery solved. I think most of those screaming women/children myths can be put down to animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,354 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

One poster quoted this about Loftus Hall

Not even the OWNER is allowed upstairs as the spirits slam doors and hiss in his face.

Really? Well you do know there is one way to prove this, let the owner take a camera crew up with him/her and see if he/she is allowed upstairs and if the spirits hiss in their face. Has no-one thought about doing this before? We could have proved the existence of spirits a long time ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

mansize wrote: »
    You can't prove a negative- the onus is to prove they DO exist
    Prove it?

You bother wrongly assume I believe they exist, when the fact is like you both I don't know either way.

I have an open mind though on things that nobody has yet proved don't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Total bollox I'm afraid. When you're dead - you're dead. no floating around switching lights on and off or throwing books off shelves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

My other half doesn't believe in spirits or ghosts or anything.
    But he did see our dead neighbour in the window one morning and took a picture too (unfortunately the pic is on his old phone which he lost) but I got the fright of my life when I saw the image of our neighbour smiling at him from the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Repent Repent Repent. Back to confession with the lot of ye filthy sinners. Someone on the internet said they saw a ghost THEREFORE ye shower of atheist agnostic church hating gowls have to admit ye were wrong. I mean all his friends from the church of the redeemed and everlasting and uplifting spirit descending and upending geeezus will be in shortly. Repent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Not ghosts IMHO but I travelled to very remote places and met tribes who tell me about large undiscovered animals. They get annoyed when zoologists tell them they're mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭holy guacamole

Why do ghosts only frequent old deserted houses, and why do they only come out at night?

If they weren't so secretive, and so downright weird, maybe more people would believe in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

Why do ghosts always wear clothes? no one ever saw a naked ghost as far as I know, and years ago it was ghosts and spirits and today we are more advanced and so now our ghosts are Aliens who really really want to give you an anal probe,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Well for a we know 'ghosts' could simply be a disruption in the space time continuum or a break down in the barrier between parallel Earth's. Not the dead as such,but humans from another time or another earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

NIMAN wrote: »

Not even the OWNER is allowed upstairs as the spirits slam doors and hiss in his face.

Really? Well you do know there is one way to prove this, let the owner take a camera crew up with him/her and see if he/she is allowed upstairs and if the spirits hiss in their face. Has no-one thought about doing this before? We could have proved the existence of spirits a long time ago!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ldW3CpxTTgU

Check 29 minutes in and 32 minutes in- top floor Loftus Hall, then get back to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Repent Repent Repent. Back to confession with the lot of ye filthy sinners. Someone on the internet said they saw a ghost THEREFORE ye shower of atheist agnostic church hating gowls have to admit ye were wrong. I mean all his friends from the church of the redeemed and everlasting and uplifting spirit descending and upending geeezus will be in shortly. Repent!

Ghost belief is not always or even a religious belief.

I don't believe in ghosts but I always dress well just in case. Because if you get killed those are your ghost clothes.

You know what ghosts are really scared of? High resolution cameras. If you are ever in a haunted house just point a >4 megapixel camera at them and they scarper.

(They flock to low resolution cameras with bad digital zooms though. Don't use those. )

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ldW3CpxTTgU

Check 29 minutes in and 32 minutes in- top floor Loftus Hall, then get back to me.

Oh my god are you serious? Lol, that's your convincing 'evidence'? :-D

Although it was worth watching for the bit where he says 'I heard it with my own ears!' Because you know, stuff you hear with other people's ears just isn't reliable.

Well someone closed a door loudly off camera. That's proof enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

kingchess wrote: »
    Why do ghosts always wear clothes?

And always old-fashioned clothes or robes. No one ever saw a ghost with a gelled down fringe and a Celtic jersey whispering, "Story bud?", from the location where a stolen Audi smashed against a wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

NIMAN wrote: »

I believe two local farmers bought the land Loftus Hall stands on and the house itself came with it. One of them has taken over the tourist business for the house (built a nice café, setup tours etc) and he makes no bones about recouping the cost of his investment by maximizing the haunted house aspect. Fair play to him, it's all good fun and it's nice for people to be able to see the house and grounds and get an account of it's very strange history.
    Far better that than a no tresspassing sign on a locked entrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,749 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

well, if 6,316 people die every hour,
    perhaps ghosts/ spirits is human energy that manifests itself in some other form after death, or perhaps they are simply humans who have learnt to cross from other dimensions or worlds?
    if the latter is the case though, why do they only appear at night, also why do they appear to be different dependent on who sees them?