Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louise Duffy show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

I'm with heybaby on this one, I think Anton is a really good broadcaster.

I liked him as a stand in and at the start but I just find him grating on me now.
    He comes across as smarmy and fake like he's putting on a complete show, I know nothing about him, I don't know whether he's married, whether he has children or anything, now I completely understand broadcasters wanting to keep their private lives separate and i don't want a Ray Darcy or Alison Curtis situation where we hear about Kate, Tom and Joans daily toilet schedule but I just need him to be somewhat relatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

I'm with heybaby on this one, I think Anton is a really good broadcaster.

I think Louise is great, she's easy listening. Her and Ann have a bit of craic and it's all light hearted . I don't think they are looking for a heavy hitting serious minded DJ in that time slot, it's all a bit of fun and she fits that bill nicely in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Mrs Shrek

I'm with Michael Weston here. I really don't get the hate for Louise on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

That's cool, each to their own and all of that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭robo

She is playing that Brian Deady song to death my good god make it stop. I don't mind her, not hugely talented but you'd listen away.

Noooooo - she has it on alreayd. Sure getting it out of the way nice & early today, or will she try to sneak it in again atfter 4pm?? :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

I think Louise is great, she's easy listening. Her and Ann have a bit of craic and it's all light hearted . I don't think they are looking for a heavy hitting serious minded DJ in that time slot, it's all a bit of fun and she fits that bill nicely in my opinion.

Dead air would be better.

She is probably the worst DJ I ever heard on the radio.

Nothing but Ehhhhhs and Ammmms and takes forever to tell her unfunny stories which were in the news or on reddit a week previous. She just is not a natural on the radio and the "craic" between her and Anne comes across so forced.

I change the channel when she comes on at work or in the car, I just cannot hack her, I have heard enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

I liked her show at first but I find myself turning off now after half an hour now, its just the same stuff everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭ofcork

She would be better suited to a late night love song show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

statto25 wrote: »
    She's on Today FM?

You're quite right, apologies- I was mixing her up with the one who used to write all that nonsense on thejournal. McSharry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭g0g

Haha only just came across this thread! Thought I was the only person who couldn't stand LD on the radio. In the past I thought most DJs made their way up through the ranks via pirate/local radio and hoped for a national job. I'm fairly certain Louise Duffy was simply the Today FM traffic report person in the mornings. Next thing she has the early morning slot and I always got the inference was that Ian Dempsey got her the slot and then suddenly she's on middle of the day. I had noticed same as posted already that this show was specifically mentioned in two Today FM surveys over the past couple of years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

Anyone catch the start of Matt Cooper today after LD?

They had their rooftop party in remember of Tony Fenton which was great. Bell X1 played 'Just Dance', lovely. Then Louise said g'luck and they went to an ad break, standard.

At about 5:32 Matt Cooper came on and said something along the lines of "welcome along, slightly later than usual but that's okay because the party was for Tony Fenton.."
    He then went on to mention that they were later than usual (2 minutes, like!) but how it was okay.
    Then he cut to the news, and again mentioned how it was late but that was grand too.

Like why? Does he have his head shoved that far up his bottom all the time? He clearly wanted to make his point that his show was delayed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭loudnoises89

I love this thread. it keeps me entertained. As for Lil' Louises next gig i think she would do very well on one of those game show things they used to have on TV3 there a few years back in the early hours. You know those ones you solve the impossible riddle and ring them 60 times and never get through while they have been standing there in silence waiting for your call for 2 bleeding hours. That's the standard and caliber Lovely Louise is at. Maybe she could iron Pauls skinny jeans for us all mid-way through. I'd watch that on a loop.

I'd love if she did a Q and A from this thread on air. It would be beyond epic. If your reading Louise I've created a new segment for you to replace the dreadful diarrhea segments you currently torture the country with.

kerryked wrote: »
    At about 5:32 Matt Cooper came on and said something along the lines of "welcome along, slightly later than usual but that's okay because the party was for Tony Fenton.."
    He then went on to mention that they were later than usual (2 minutes, like!) but how it was okay.

He normally starts at 16:30, so he was apologising to regular listeners for being over an hour late I suppose? I don't see the problem really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

He didn't come on an hour late, he came on 2 minutes late. Poster above just put in the wrong time.

gimmick wrote: »
    He didn't come on an hour late, he came on 2 minutes late. Poster above just put in the wrong time.

Fair enough, I could only go on what information was before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

My apologies - just realised I put in the wrong time.

Was doubting myself then when I thought he was actually an hour late, thought I was an eejit for not realising :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Is there any other case in national radio where a presenter is given a daily weekday national show on his/her own (in this case early breakfast Jan 2011 taking over from Tim Kelly), without having previously presented a full radio show before in their lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Is there any other case in national radio where a presenter is given a daily weekday national show on his/her own (in this case early breakfast Jan 2011 taking over from Tim Kelly), without having previously presented a full radio show before in their lives?

Plenty of examples on RTE radio 1 and 2FM

Also Louise took over from AM Kelly who went to Midlands, Tim may have just been the interim presenter at that point in time if memory serves

heybaby wrote: »
    Plenty of examples on RTE radio 1 and 2FM

Also Louise took over from AM Kelly who went to Midlands, Tim may have just been the interim presenter at that point in time if memory serves

I can't think of any others, maybe documentary makers on Radio 1?...Paula McSweeney on Today FM I dont think had 'presenting a show' experience before her weekend sat evening show?

Anne Marie Kelly left Today FM in June 2009, so Tim was the early presenter for over 18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

The Westlife guy (whasshisname) on 2fm and the real DJ to cover his ass when he doesn't know what to do.

selous wrote: »
    The Westlife guy (whasshisname) on 2fm and the real DJ to cover his ass when he doesn't know what to do.

the nicky byrne show with jenny greene. he covered for michael cahill and did 'celebrity' dj slots on 2fm before he and jenny were given the daily show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

That time of day again, time to change the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    That time of day again, time to change the station.

Tracy Clifford has gained a lot of listeners thanks to Louise Duffys car crash radio.

Both of them shouldn't be on prime time radio, a relay of RTE Gold or TXFM on both stations would be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭ofcork

Tracy Clifford is much better than ld i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

Terrible show every song must tell us its today fm. Her listening figures are through the floor and how can she take over from tony from 5am slot. Just done a terrible maria thing awful. I think duffy show is only one that has today fm presenters in her ads other shows don't

Could do a drinking game everytime sje says today fm have a shot you be hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

jjll wrote: »
    Terrible show every song must tell us its today fm. Her listening figures are through the floor and how can she take over from tony from 5am slot. Just done a terrible maria thing awful. I think duffy show is only one that has today fm presenters in her ads other shows don't

Could do a drinking game everytime sje says today fm have a shot you be hammered.

Get it right, It's Todaaaaay fmmmmmmmmmmm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

She's getting worse, hopefully she'll be replaced soon with someone with talent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

She's getting worse, hopefully she'll be replaced soon with someone with talent

Totally agree don't understand why she got to have ann on either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

As someone who quite enjoys her show I would like to know what people actually want from her show? I think she plays a better than average mix of music for commercial radio and her manner comes across as nice and easy going.

I suspect a reason why people don't like her is because she is good looking and has a husband with a media profile.