Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Why didn't Diaz knock the face off him when he had him on the ground? With McGregor was completely at his mercy, he seemed to give him the easiest/softest option to tap out. And why did he tap out so quickly?

Its heat of the moment stuff,when Conor rolled to avoid strikes nate flattened him out and his neck was there for the taking as a bjj practicioner Nate would automatically dive on it,he was done so its tap or go to sleep no issue with this at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

He does have Roddy in his corner. They talk during rounds and JK relays the advice to Conor. Every fighter has a lead corner person who talks but that doesnt mean theyre making all the decisions.

Dammit wrong person. Stupid broken quotes

Cool . I just didnt see him so assumed he wasnt there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

What could ever make you think this?

Conor panicked when he realised Diaz could take that left hand shot, in a rematch he would be a lot wiser with his output.He will also be aware that its not wise to let Diaz punch him, he will protect himself a bit more. Diaz was on the back foot for all but 50 seconds of that fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Why didn't Diaz knock the face off him when he had him on the ground? With McGregor was completely at his mercy, he seemed to give him the easiest/softest option to tap out. And why did he tap out so quickly?

There was no way he was ever getting out of that choke. Maybe, at best, he had about 3% chance to get out. Tap or go asleep. I know what I'd choose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Jiu Jitsu based fighters use striking as a means to forcing an opponent to make a mistake, thus allowing them to attempt a sub on an exposed joint or neck.

Conor tapped quickly because the choke was sunk in perfectly. When you see fighters resisting what appears to be a choke for a long period of time, its only because the choke is not fully ''in'' and they may be able to resist by turning their head or some other defense.

Lot of people are saying he ''tapped too quick'' or ''he should have let himself be put to sleep like Holly did''. Bull****. No one who has ever been choked out or been close to being choked out would ever criticise him for it.

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

John_D80 wrote: »
    So sick of you coming in here slating Conor.

So sick of everyone licking McGregors mushroom tip, time to suck it up and accept that people are happy he quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Never thought I'd be extolling Conor's virtues to Gamebred of all people. Strange days!!

Conor is far and away the better and more complete fighter of the two. I'm a huge fan of both guys and have loved watching Nate fight since he first appeared on TUF 5 but Conor was easily the main architect of his own demise.

I definitely agree that if he was hunting points instead of a TKO he would have done better. It was Conor's total lack of gameplan that led to his defeat more than anything else. A calculated gameplan could have seen Conor decimate Diaz slowly over the course of 3 or four rounds and there is no doubt in my mind that if he had been patient he could have gotten the legit stoppage that he was hunting so furiously, too early on. McGregor believed too much in his own hype and just didn't give Diaz the respect that he deserved.

Where I disagree with you though is that IMO Conor remains the better all-round fighter of the two. A rematch (at any weight) would be a very different fight and very different result.

"More complete fighter" Better jitz? Better grappling? Better cardio? Conor has more KO power but the striking adv is up for debate.

So sick of everyone licking McGregors mushroom tip, time to suck it up and accept that people are happy he quit.

Sorry for upsetting you precious!!

That post you just quoted was actually just a bit of banter between two regular MMA forum posters. Possibly may have went over your head.

Everyone that posts here regularly knows Gamebred's form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Just to put things in perspective, I think if RDA adopted a similar game plan against Nate he would have also lost.

Every fight doesn't have to a highlight reel finish, his domination of Holloway was brilliant.

Conor is a smart bloke, he will realise the errors and fix them I'm sure.

Davei141 wrote: »
    "More complete fighter" Better jitz? Better grappling? Better cardio? Conor has more KO power but the striking adv is up for debate.

Diaz has some advantages but yes McGregor is most definitely a better all rounder than Diaz IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

You lost me at Ewan McKenna.

He has probably had that article written and waiting in the wings since the last time he got burned by John Kavanagh.

How he ever got anything published in a paper like The Times is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,872 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Meh, Ewan Mackenna hates everything. Good writer but he's so begrudging and miserable

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

Sorry for upsetting you precious!!

That post you just quoted was actually just a bit of banter between two regular MMA forum posters. Possibly may have went over your head.

Everyone that posts here regularly knows Gamebred's form.

I did not know this. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

What could ever make you think this?

Diaz out boxed Conor... without his left hand he has nothing. How do you think Conor would go the distance when he gassed in the 1st round here, gassed in the 2nd against Mendes and has never even fought a 5 round fight.

Diaz has Conor beat in every aspect, striking, ground game, cardio, mentality.

At 155 plus whatever after weigh-in McGregor would have roughly 15lbs less mass .......he mightn't be as hampered by the extra bulk, he's never fought with that much weight ........or he might be just not as good at this weight anyway, we'll have to wait and see

https://vine.co/v/iX6YQgIm6rl

That was just gold best response to a rogan question ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

He has probably had that article written and waiting in the wings since the last time he got burned by John Kavanagh.

words like deity, mean he is in the broadsheets even when the article is red top tripe. When did he fight bums below him in the rankings to "pad" his record. People were giving out a few years ago that he was going up too fast ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

It's not a bad article until the last sentence of the last paragraph.

100% off topic because there's none yet but I;m disgusted at this shyte!!
    wtf!! rousey V tate 3?? how about rousey V holm 2??

anything to get the prized pig back in action. I wonder if the answer came "holm just destroyed tate" would ronda be saying, "back to work".

this tripe makes me hate that Dana white cun* even more.

http://www.msn.com/en-ie/sport/mma/ronda-rousey-to-return-to-ufc-to-fight-new-womens-bantamweight-champion-miesha-tate-reveals-dana-white/ar-BBqr87N?ocid=spartandhp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

_oveless_ wrote: »
    anyone criticizing Conor needs to be banned he may have lost but he is the best thing to ever happen to mma in many ways he saved the sport only a few whiny begrudgers will say negative things about him nate got lucky as well and choking isnt even a proper fighting technique in my opinion it's like biting or kicking someone in the groin nate was scared so he used a choke on him very unsportmanlike he's not a real sportman like conor he is just a thug

Conor is not going to come to your house and have sex with you in gratitude for white knighting for him on a message board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

You see this is why some people get annoyed about the large influx of MMA 'Fans' to the message boards , yes everyone is welcome and everyone has an opinion.

However , saying thing's like using BJJ to finish a fight is an illegal move like punching someone in the groin (Which is an illegal move actually) is just down right stupidity in terms of MMA and well...general fighting.

Most people agree Conor has done great thing's in terms of increasing the sports appeal and revenue, but more than anyone that has opened the door for him to be critizised even more. He did not save the sport either , there are a number of brilliant fighters in the UFC and general MMA world.

Most of the people here giving opinions on him and the fight are simply doing what Conor does 'Telling it like it is'. It isn't that we want him to fail or be beaten or kicked while he's down , we don't , well I don't anyway. I want him to rise above it , get better , come back...but until then were free to comment on the fight and glaring holes in his game that need to improve in order to be a truly great fighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

rusty cole wrote: »

anything to get the prized pig back in action. I wonder if the answer came "holm just destroyed tate" would ronda be saying, "back to work".

http://www.msn.com/en-ie/sport/mma/ronda-rousey-to-return-to-ufc-to-fight-new-womens-bantamweight-champion-miesha-tate-reveals-dana-white/ar-BBqr87N?ocid=spartandhp

If its Rhonda Vs Tate at UFC200 its win-win for the UFC. If Rhonda wins it sets up Rhonda - Holm 2, if Meisha wins its Tate - Holm 2.

Rhona fighting Meisha is much more marketable than Meisha Holly. Its common sense. This fake outrage over Dana not doing the "right thing" is laughable sometimes. Not to mention Rhonda has been Champ for years and she doesn't deserve the rematch over Holly? He had to pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,463 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Were Conor's family at the show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

rusty cole wrote: »

Agreed. Dana and the Ferittas are a pair of jackasses. They wanted to leave the division in limbo until Ronda was ready to return. Which was supposed to be over a year with her movie commitments. Now that Meisha won the belt Ronda is ready to get back into training [and talk about MMA in interviews again] and apparently they're going to hold up the division again for Ronda to hopefully return in Nov.

I swear to God there is not much difference between the WWE and UFC they way they carry on.

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Agreed. Dana and the Ferittas are a pair of jackasses. They wanted to leave the division in limbo until Ronda was ready to return. Which was supposed to be over a year with her movie commitments. Now that Meisha won the belt Ronda is ready to get back into training [and talk about MMA in interviews again] and apparently they're going to hold up the division again for Ronda to hopefully return in Nov.

I swear to God there is not much difference between the WWE and UFC they way they carry on.

Come on man this is the crew letting cm punk fight in the ufc on ppv,tis worse than wwe,they only care about $$$ the sport means very little to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

jaysus, if someone is not t-bagging McGregor's nads, he's out of order - is that it?

I see that Aldo has come out thrash-talking McGregor.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/mma/he-looked-like-a-kid-getting-slapped-jose-aldo-continues-war-of-words-with-conor-mcgregor-34517664.html

but sure it's just Jose's "persona". it's all for the ppv, they're working together on this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

I wouldn't be sure Holm will be part of the next WBW title fight and not because Ronda coming back she is supposed to be on the shelf till Oct, really WW,FW and WBW titles are in play with all others having something scheduled.

Although the UFC I imagine hope the winner of DC Jones will come through April's PPV to play a part at UFC200.

I would suggest they keep the division ticking over by having Tate defend against Nunes,although getting nowhere near Ronda numbers Tate is marketable enough more so than Holly, Holly will be first to admit she was railroaded into the title fight and seemed in the press conference not to campaign for a rematch perhaps a different challenge is needed for her first.

Also I expect an announcement that Zingano who holds a win over both Nunes and Tate to be fighting Pena soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

Still haven't figured out which was my favourite part of the night/morning!!! Sure having tate and nate in on my treble was good, as was watching McGregor give up and do all the things he was so vocal against i.e panic wrestling etc. His bandwagon jumping loudmouth fans tears were also a treat but alas not my favourite....

For me the best moment was when nate had McGregor against the fence and was landing some bombs on McGregors face, never seen a man look so broken, probably replaying the interviews over in his head repeating with every blow administered by the butt of his jokes.

Nate "the Karma" Diaz!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

gallag wrote: »
    Still haven't figured out which was my favourite part of the night/morning!!! Sure having tate and nate in on my treble was good, as was watching McGregor give up and do all the things he was so vocal against i.e panic wrestling etc. His bandwagon jumping loudmouth fans tears were also a treat but alas not my favourite....

For me the best moment was when nate had McGregor against the fence and was landing some bombs on McGregors face, never seen a man look so broken, probably replaying the interviews over in his head repeating with every blow administered by the butt of his jokes.

Nate "the Karma" Diaz!!!!!!!

I never quite understand people who don't get behind fellow countrymen who fight on the worlds stage.Sure,Mcg is mouthy and brash but its all part of the entertainment.
    Seeing an Irishman( I assume you are irish) berating another Irishman who is fighting on the worlds stage always puzzled me regardless if you like the man or not.