Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

Annoyed that I have to go to the doctor tomorrow, as I am beginning a series of tests to see if I have MS :( It's in the family and I'm showing symptoms. More than annoyed if I have it!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Damn, Lisa, that's waaaay more than a trivial annoyance... :( Fingers crossed all will be fine.

For some odd reason, I'm not upset or worried. I'm just somewhat annoyed! Thanks, hopefully it's nothing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

KatW4 wrote: »
    My boyfriends inability to be even slightly normal annoys me sometimes. Last night he was telling a woman he didn't know about what we bought in the shop. It's not like we bought anything interesting. When I asked him why, he said he was chatting. God he drives me mad sometimes.

He sounds very endearing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭somuj

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Witnessing groups of friends or families in McD's / Burger King leaving their table in rag order & strolling off, without simply loading stuff onto a tray and binning it.

It ain't the crime of the century by any means, but it really makes my blood boil.

Do you clean your table after you eat in any other restaurant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

xLisaBx wrote: »
    Annoyed that I have to go to the doctor tomorrow, as I am beginning a series of tests to see if I have MS :( It's in the family and I'm showing symptoms. More than annoyed if I have it!

*hugs*

Best of luck with it, Lisa. Hopefully all will be ok there.

*hugs*

Best of luck with it, Lisa. Hopefully all will be ok there.

Thank you :) hopefully. I'm going to accept it either way, it's a bad condition but I could be much more unlucky I guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

A common one: Breaking a nail really far down and the accompanying dart of white-hot pain followed by the ritual trimming of the entire nail until all that remains is a sad stub. Le sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Very trivial compared to some posts above but...

When adverts use songs you like and edit them... and your sitting at home saying out loud... "that's not how it goes!!!!"

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Had a really good day, and now can't stop getting a bit emotional when I think about how great it was! I'm getting a headache from crying and I'm not even upset!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

mud wrote: »
    A common one: Breaking a nail really far down and the accompanying dart of white-hot pain followed by the ritual trimming of the entire nail until all that remains is a sad stub. Le sigh.

Me favourite trick here. Super glue the broken nail. It looks ok, and keeps growing until it grows a bit more and you can cut it without crying. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Now really. People in shopping centres are in a coma walking around.

I brought my mam today for a treat. She is knackered, uses a wheelchair and can be overwhelmed sometimes. I know other people may not realise this too, so don't get me wrong.

But HONESTLY, would it be too much to ask for you to actually let us through there for a minute.

Sorry, it was coma central there today.

But Mam is ok again. And so am I. I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Rubbing your eye and forgetting about the eyeliner or mascara you're wearing until your eyes feel like they're on fire and you want to rip them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Was looking at the betting for the UFC fight yesterday and noticed that Diaz was 4/1. I was going to do the bet, and then I forgot.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

xLisaBx wrote: »
    Thank you :) hopefully. I'm going to accept it either way, it's a bad condition but I could be much more unlucky I guess!

Hope your doing ok, a number of people in my family have it and while it isn't as bad as my great uncle in-laws Huntington's that doesn't mean the testing isn't scary :) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

FFS, my nerves are fried.
    Few drinks on board and my mother is going on and on about 9/11 conspiracies to my aunt and grandmother.
    Give me strength!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭chrissb8

When a group of teenagers enter a shop when only one person is buying something. Then when someone wants to get somewhere in said space they're all apologetic like "oh sorry" "sorry, no problem" when people move around them, stop saying sorry and just bloody move outside for 5 minutes while your friend gets their whatever!

When someone won't let you be when you don't want something "are you sure?"...."are ye sure now?!"......."it's no problem".....I will karate chop you in the throat if you don't stop. I was sure a minute a go I'm still sure now.

When people take an experience like watching a sunset and make it a commodity. As in sharing this on social media will boost my persona that I am a person who enjoys sunsets and loves nature. I am a free and open person. No. You are not. You are someone who does these experiences and can't enjoy them because they are so self centered and needy that they need to be vindicated. You are the kind of person who can't enjoy the simple things in life. Because really if you were enjoying that sunset the last thing you'd be thinking about would be what the best filter for a picture of it would be and how many likes can it get. Get a grip you are the thing you suppose to hate.

Beards. Great. You grew one...and?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

So, I went to the shop

So, I grew a beard

So, I love Facebook

So so so so

I get very annoyed when people begin a sentence with "so"

I might have mentioned it here before, but it annoys the sh1t out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

What's all the hate on beards???

Nothing planned for this eve has me ta'ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I think I lost my favourite bookmark :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

TA'd that I'm nearly 40, and there isn't a hope in feck that I would be able to grow a beard. It's just fluff on my little chin:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

I get very annoyed when people begin a sentence with "so"

Is it a uniquely irish thing to end sentences with so as well?

"I might as well go so!"

"you won't be needing me so!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭Calypso27

I think I managed to get about 3 hours of sleep last night, so tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Calypso27 wrote:

Same here Calypso

:mad:

I am nearly used to it at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Same here, lads. Woke up in the afternoon yesterday. Not a hope of an early night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Same here, lads. Woke up in the afternoon yesterday. Not a hope of an early night.

What the fcuk is an early night? Is that when you go to bed and don't sleep for another 2 or 3 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Calypso27 wrote: »

Same here, but I was afraid to go to sleep, having had the squirts all evening...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Is it a uniquely irish thing to end sentences with so as well?

"I might as well go so!"

"you won't be needing me so!"

Yes, as far as I know it comes from Gaelic, because a lot of the time you can end sentences with "so it is", or just "so"

TA'd when I see a word written with 2 different biros. It's really unpleasant to look at!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Talking about biros, my TA is that I don't seem to be able to get those BIC biros with a fine ballpoint any more, they were yelloy/orangy on the outside - I've been told they've been discontinued. Poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

This didn't annoy me as such - just made me question why.

Sitting in the library in WIT. I don't hear anything, it's fairly quiet and all of a sudden an announcement comes on from the speaker, with the head 'whatever-he-is' reminding us that we "are in a quiet study area" and to "not disturb others" - to "keep the noise down as much as possible and respect other individuals who need the piece and quiet".. Or words to those effect.

The irony is that the intercom made me jump out of my skin, it was so sudden.

Save the "keep the noise down" announcement for when there are legitimate, disturbingly loud whispers and noises!

aaand back to work :P