Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Takes a guy from quitting mma to most paid world champion in mma loses 1 fight and sbg is rubbish and Kavanagh hasnt a clue,I hope people saying this rubbish are fishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

WarZ wrote: »
    Could someone please tell me what are Ido Portal's fighting credentials?

ZERO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

No way the UFC don't put Conor on 200.

I'd imagine there's no way he leaves SBG either, he seems very loyal.
    Perhaps at the detriment to his career, imagine him training at Tristar coming up with game plans with Firas.

Admittedly none of this was an issue 24 hours ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

SBG and Kavanagh are incredibly overrated. Best gym in Ireland by a mile but it doesn't come close to some of the gyms in the US. Gunnar has taking a dive since training there, Cathal's stand up was atrocious and every other fighter looks completely out of their depth. Connor is getting by on pure talent.

I'm sorry but any coach that would step aside to allow Conor to spend a huge amount of his training time doing yoga in the park with a hipster should really be asking himself questions.

Has Ido Portal pushed John Kavanagh aside?

I don't understand how you are still posting tbh

Way to miss my point. SBG are an excellent gym and deserve recognition. MMA is incredibly young in Ireland but already they have an excellent amount of prospects and have had 4 fighters in the UFC, which is incredible for a country as small as Ireland.

Gunnar lost to Meia, the best grappler in MMA. Shock. He was a major underdog in that fight.

Cathal took up combat sports relatively late in life and managed to have a career many people who train their whole lives can only dream of.

You are also ignoring the amount of young prospects at the gym who I have no doubt, many will make the final cut for the UFC.

How do you know how much training he does with Ido? From the looks of it he only joins up on fight week, mainly to help keep Conor loose. Conor's fight camp is over at this stage so it doesn't make one iota of difference to his prepration. He's not there because John Kavanagh is a fan, he's there because Conor likes to work with him.

I don't know why I even bothered to reply to that, but congratulations you've wasted 7 minutes of my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

SBG and Kavanagh are incredibly overrated. Best gym in Ireland by a mile but it doesn't come close to some of the gyms in the US. Gunnar has taking a dive since training there, Cathal's stand up was atrocious and every other fighter looks completely out of their depth. Connor is getting by on pure talent.

I'm sorry but any coach that would step aside to allow Conor to spend a huge amount of his training time doing yoga in the park with a hipster should really be asking himself questions.

Has Ido Portal pushed John Kavanagh aside?

It's hardly a shame that SBG doesn't come close to some gyms in the States, surely? Given size, fighter pool, resources etc. But in any case, I think the assessment is off.

McGregor is the featherweight champion of the world which is absolutely huge on its own. I don't think that achievement gets the recognition it deserves. Top gyms such as Tristar and Team Alpha Male don't even have a UFC champion on their books at the moment. Then you've got the likes of Holohan (who is just outside the top 15 in his division), Daly (who should be ranked in the top 15 but is just outside it), Gunnar was ranked up until his defeat to Maia last year and now sits just outside the top 15 of a stacked welterweight division. Regardless of what people think of him Pendred was 4-0 in the UFC at one stage and only Neil Magny was on a longer win streak than him at the time. He retired at 4-2 in a stacked welterweight division. For a gym in a country the size of Ireland to produce 1 UFC champion and 3 fighters who are in the rankings mix of their respective divisions is superb IMO. You've now also got other fighters starting to come over to join such as the brilliant prospect in Amirkhani so the only way is up IMO as the gym will hopefully continue to grow.

That's not to mention that there's a conveyor belt of young talent coming through with lads such as Frans Mlambo, James Gallagher and Dylan Tuke all expected to reach the UFC in the future if things go well.

I think SBG, when everything is considered, is actually now underrated if anything. People's expectations have just rose unrealistically and completely out of all reality on the back of what McGregor has done which is an incredible feat.

He doesn't spend a huge amount of time with Portal either. He usually spends fight week with him when the heavy stuff is done and does a few bits and pieces with him outside of that. We just see an awful lot of them together because the most coverage we get to see of the camps is during fight week.

mdwexford wrote: »
    No way the UFC don't put Conor on 200.

I'd imagine there's no way he leaves SBG either, he seems very loyal.
    Perhaps at the detriment to his career, imagine him training at Tristar coming up with game plans with Firas.

Admittedly none of this was an issue 24 hours ago.

He will be on 200 for sure and will get good money again. The question I am interested in is will his featherweight fight still be the Main Event over a heavier weight division.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

Lukker- wrote: »
    I don't understand how you are still posting tbh

Way to miss my point. SBG are an excellent gym and deserve recognition. MMA is incredibly young in Ireland but already they have an excellent amount of prospects and have had 4 fighters in the UFC, which is incredible for a country as small as Ireland.

Way to miss my point. I have already said SBG is the best gym in Ireland but that it is overrated when compared to some of the US gyms. It doesn't have the same level of coaches, same level of fighters and even the same level of facilities that some of the US gyms have
    Gunnar lost to Meia, the best grappler in MMA. Shock. He was a major underdog in that fight.

Gunnar has been on a downward spiral since linking up with SBG.
    How do you know how much training he does with Ido? From the looks of it he only joins up on fight week, mainly to help keep Conor loose. Conor's fight camp is over at this stage so it doesn't make one iota of difference to his prepration. He's not there because John Kavanagh is a fan, he's there because Conor likes to work with him.

The guy seems to be Conor's shadow. There are videos with him all the time, he was living with Conor, doing pad work with Conor, was in Conor's corner! Any coach that allows someone like Ido Portal to yield so much influence deserves to be criticised. And don't even get me started on the idiotic decision to allow Conor to eat steaks 24/7. Not only is constant fatty red meat going to affect your cardio, it is extraordinarily bad for your health and John Kavanagh has a duty to his fighters.
    I don't know why I even bothered to reply to that, but congratulations you've wasted 7 minutes of my time.

I am incredibly sorry for wasting 7 minutes of your precious time. Conor has just wasted 7 weeks of his life doing weird movements in park with a guy who wouldn't look out of place in a hippie commune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

Gamebred wrote: »
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Takes a guy from quitting mma to most paid world champion in mma loses 1 fight and sbg is rubbish and Kavanagh hasnt a clue,I hope people saying this rubbish are fishing.

Can i just ask why when anyone questions the technical minutae of McGregor his training or otherwise ,the McGregor fans usual riposte is about money?

Before he arrived on the scene was the discourse on this forum always about "numbers" "gate" "ppv"?

Its the internet equivalent of saying "look over there "and then running away.

jade goody was a millionaire.

are we all immune to criticism once we reach a certain remuneration threshold?

its bizarre

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Can i just ask why when anyone questions the technical minutae of McGregor his training or otherwise ,the McGregor fans usual riposte is about money?

Before he arrived on the scene was the discourse on this forum always about "numbers" "gate" "ppv"?

Its the internet equivalent of saying "look over there "and then running away.

jade goody was a millionaire.

are we all immune to criticism once we reach a certain remuneration threshold?

its bizarre

A trainer/coach is more than somebody showing you technical aspects of the art,John has guided Conor perfectly in his rise to the top of the sport which is to be commended since were discussing his coaching abilities,
    Way to miss my point. I have already said SBG is the best gym in Ireland but that it is overrated when compared to some of the US gyms. It doesn't have the same level of coaches, same level of fighters and even the same level of facilities that some of the US gyms have

Gunnar has been on a downward spiral since linking up with SBG.

This is just gold about Gunnar honestly i genuinely lol'd reading it you havent a notion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

Gamebred wrote: »
    A trainer/coach is more than somebody showing you technical aspects of the art,John has guided Conor perfectly in his rise to the top of the sport which is to be commended since were discussing his coaching abilities,

This is just gold about Gunnar honestly i genuinely lol'd reading it you havent a notion.

his mouth and marketing got him to the top financially.
    there was a consensus that he got his shot too soon.

im not knocking him just pointing out that whenever anyone questions him the reply is about money.

its like saying "terrible free kick from Ronaldo there, straight into the wall"

and the fanboy saying "yeah but he is on 375k a week. haters gonna hate."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,765 ✭✭✭threeball

He will be on 200 for sure and will get good money again. The question I am interested in is will his featherweight fight still be the Main Event over a heavier weight division.

Don't think there's a chance he headlines 200 now. It's either Jones v rumble depending on the outcome of the dc fight or Lawler vs whoever who headline with Conor as a possible co main. Think his stock with Dana took a serious nosedive last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

threeball wrote: »
    Don't think there's a chance he headlines 200 now. It's either Jones v rumble depending on the outcome of the dc fight or Lawler vs whoever who headline with Conor as a possible co main. Think his stock with Dana took a serious nosedive last night.

Lawlor vs Nate is my bet with GSP's return on the undercard as well and another title match, possibly Conor vs Frankie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Lawlor vs GSP is nailed on for UFC200 IMO.

ZERO.

Now that is interesting.

Why is he threatening to beat up professional fighters and why is he cornering an elite level fighter?

The guy is obviously living in a fantasy land. Conor seems obsessed with the guy.

Yeah, I seriously doubt he will Main Event it! I think maybe the whole thing of the featherweight division getting put in front of heavier divisions could be over for the most part, or am I wrong?

Lawlor vs Nate is my bet with GSP's return on the undercard as well and another title match, possibly Conor vs Frankie.

I'd agree but I have a feeling Dana won't fancy having a Diaz as the face of the biggest event in 5 yrs. He sees them as a liability but Nate really impressed me this week. The guy has a great attitude when he's switched on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭clever user name

Watched the fight again. Conor won the first round, but it was the first round that actually cost him the fight in my opinion. He wasted so much energy throwing punches that he was never going to land due to range/angle. I've also never seen him throw so many wild punches, it was clear he was looking for the knockout from the get go. When he did take his time and pick his shots he was landing well.

People saying he needs a new boxing coach etc is not correct in my view...his boxing is not the problem. He could very easily have picked Nate apart if he had just been smarter with his output. And as for the choke, he was clearly out on his feet...both rocked and exhausted. Almost a carbon copy of Werdum v Cain. Anyways, I'm sure he'll learn from it.

Have to say though, the way he dealt with all was great, fair play to him for that.

PS some of the the comments under Aldo's tweet are amazing :pac:

Yeah, I seriously doubt he will Main Event it! I think maybe the whole thing of the featherweight division getting put in front of heavier divisions could be over for the most part, or am I wrong?

I think a lot of the anomalies associated with Conor get put to bed after last night. No more straddling divisions, no more non title fights outbilling titles or larger weights etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Connor spent too much time playing Game of War methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

I think a lot of the anomalies associated with Conor get put to bed after last night. No more straddling divisions, no more non title fights outbilling titles or larger weights etc

Yeah,he's gonna have to eat some humble pie and deal with a loss of status \ bargaining power, could actually end up a lot more interesting to watch than what was mapped out. Still think his FW defence will do huge numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Conor has nothing to be ashamed of and nothing to regret. such balls to shoot for the stars, well he has fallen in the the gutter of 145 where he's already a king so no harm done. He looked smaller than expected next to Nate, give it a few more fights, if that's possible, and he might be at that level again and in a good position to compete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭floorpie

I just have to lol at people saying SBG or JK or Roddy aren't good enough for Conor. He's the featherweight champion! He demolished Aldo! That didn't happen by fluke, and I can assure you that it didn't simply happen due to Conor's innate ability.

I've also watched the fight again and I'm more impressed with Conor's striking at the start of the second round than I was earlier. I feel like he didn't get his range right in the first, and by the time he did, he was gassed.

Unless there was something I didn't catch in the fight (knees etc), I think he gassed due to bulking. He didn't fight with much more intensity than he always does, and his kicks looked laboured. I don't know why he didn't work the teep at all?

Either way, Ido has to go. It's ridiculously cringey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

martyos121 wrote: »
    Yeah, lost to the former UFC LW champ, the current one, and got finished by a perfectly timed kick. Nothing to be ashamed of at all.

Didn't say it was, I love both the Diaz brothers.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

LaGlisse wrote: »
    Yeah,he's gonna have to eat some humble pie and deal with a loss of status \ bargaining power, could actually end up a lot more interesting to watch than what was mapped out. Still think his FW defence will do huge numbers.

I don't think he'll go down to FW. His is reputation is tarnished. People now see him as someone who only dominates FW because he should probably be fighting at lightweight and its unfair. And imagine if he lost to Aldo in a rematch! His entire legacy would be over. I think he's best sticking to lightweight, having 3-4 fights and then if he wins all 4 going for a title shot

He should definitely vacate the FW belt.

I don't think he'll go down to FW. He's reputation is tarnished. People now see him as someone who only dominates FW because he should probably be fighting at lightweight and its unfair. And imagine if he lost to Aldo in a rematch! His entire legacy would be over. I think he's best sticking to lightweight, having 3-4 fights and then if he wins all 4 going for a title show.

That makes no sense. Why in the world would he vacate the belt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

floorpie wrote: »
    I feel like he didn't get his range right in the first, and by the time he did, he was gassed

He landed plenty in the first? Was a good round for him surely. That and the first half of the second

Either way, Ido has to go. It's ridiculously cringey.

The guy is bad news and has no place doing pad work with an elite fighter training for a fight in the highest level of competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

I don't think he'll go down to FW. He's reputation is tarnished. People now see him as someone who only dominates FW because he should probably be fighting at lightweight and its unfair. And imagine if he lost to Aldo in a rematch! His entire legacy would be over. I think he's best sticking to lightweight, having 3-4 fights and then if he wins all 4 going for a title show.

Oh yeah FW defence will be highest of stakes,huge knock if he loses.
    It'll take a lot for him to let go of the 2 belts at 1 time dream and he has to defend next for that to happen. I did think he should have defended at least once before he went shooting for the stars.
    Hope he comes back strong

That makes no sense. Why in the world would he vacate the belt?

To concentrate on the lightweight division.

Den_M wrote: »
    He landed plenty in the first? Was a good round for him surely. That and the first half of the second

I do think he won the round but through volume rather than accuracy, if that makes sense. He threw a lot in the first that hit air, with Nate countering easily due to range. It wasn't til the second round that he figured out how to avoid the counters, but he was starting to gas at that point.