Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

wally79 wrote: »
    Are there any other type of meetings?

It's generally the same people trying to fill their day by having a 1 hour meeting instead of spending 5 minutes typing a mail or picking up the phone.

It's worse when you've had to travel to them

You wouldn't believe how far I had to travel for this one today, all the way to the other side of the building to the meeting room that is furthest away from my desk.
    That pee'd me off because it was a meeting with my department as well and we have a meeting room, actually 3 meeting rooms beside us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I hope you rang the company / owner and let them know?
    There was a dodgy vending machine in work, and the amount of people who'd get stung and never give out / get their money back was unreal!

my TA - I've been trying to like dark chocolate and kept upping the cocoa % to see if I like it.
    Just got 85%... don't like it, but I've no 70% left to fall back on :(

No. I'm not good doing things like that. :o
    I just muttered an Immortan Joe style "Mediocre!" at the machine and ventured out to the smoking area with a puss on me.

Dark chocolate?! Mediocre! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    You wouldn't believe how far I had to travel for this one today, all the way to the other side of the building to the meeting room that is furthest away from my desk.
    That pee'd me off because it was a meeting with my department as well and we have a meeting room, actually 3 meeting rooms beside us.

I've to go to the arse end of London (Thames estuary) for a meeting next week thats scheduled for 3 hours, though my total involvement in proceedings will be about 3/4 minutes where I may or may not have to answer a few questions on whether we can support or not, to which I will reply "yes, we can support that".

so, a lift to the airport, flights to/from London, a rental car, fuel for the rental car, a lift home all for "yes, we can support that" said once or twice.

could. not. be. arsed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I've to go to the arse end of London (Thames estuary) for a meeting next week thats scheduled for 3 hours, though my total involvement in proceedings will be about 3/4 minutes where I may or may not have to answer a few questions on whether we can support or not, to which I will reply "yes, we can support that".

so, a lift to the airport, flights to/from London, a rental car, fuel for the rental car, a lift home all for "yes, we can support that" said once or twice.

could. not. be. arsed.

Have they not heard of teleconferencing? Even an old foggie like me has used it.

TA today. Neck ache started 2 days ago and just won't ease. Hope it's not delayed whiplash from the crash over 2 weeks ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

When British/Irish people assume you're a foreigner and speak you to in pidgin English, extra loud, as if you're a moron. Or even worse, put on some sort of weird foreign accent. Was just sitting at the gate for my flight to Spain and some woman comes over.

'PERDON PERDON, escuesay, ees thees the gate for Barcelona?"

I just looked at her and said, "yes, it is, but they won't be boarding for a bit because the inbound flight has been delayed."

Then she looks at me I'm I'M the rude one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Poochie05

seagull wrote: »
    If you want to pick a second word, it would be "committee".

While we're on quotes, don't know who said it but this is so true!
    'A camel is a horse designed by a committee"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭Calypso27

My last hour of work dragged so badly, I had nothing to do but I couldn't browse boards so I was just sitting there trying to look busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Have they not heard of teleconferencing? Even an old foggie like me has used it.

The teleconference is tomorrow, the onsite meeting is next week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I was interviewing all day, and came back at 5:00pm to find a string of 9 increasingly irate emails from a manager looking for clarification on an issue. I had my out of office on, it said I was in meetings all day, what did he think I was going to do, bi-locate??

Also I then had to email another department to get clarification so he could have just gone straight to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

KatW4 wrote: »
    Some TA's from school today.

It's world book week and I asked the kids to bring in their favourite book. At least 4 kids said they don't have books at home. Books can be expensive but go to Dealz or the pound shop and buy a cheap one.

got pink paint all over my lovely boots.

To get to the staff room for lunch I have to go outside. I got absolutely soaked because the heavens opened just as I was going on lunch.

I need a holiday.

Not the new boots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

wally79 wrote:
    In this day and age would you have accepted it if they'd brought a kindle or ipad?

No, I wouldn't because they're not allowed to have those things in school and I think 6 year olds should have books and not ipads.
    selous wrote:
    Not the new boots?

Not the new boots but expensive ones that I should know better than to wear to school. I'm annoyed now that I can't wear nice things to school because they'll just get destroyed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Hello all TA people.

I have been missing in action for a while.

In Therapy about my TAs. lol.

Anyway, I am so TA'd that nothing has TA'd me for a while now, so the THERAPY must be working!

Having said that, someone here did not put their cereal bowl in water, so cement is the result. Feckin hate that.

Whoa...I'm back!

Love the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Not the new boots but expensive ones that I should know better than to wear to school. I'm annoyed now that I can't wear nice things to school because they'll just get destroyed :(

Fallon and Shannon will be so relieved! :pac:

(Brace yourself for a comment about wearing nothing at all, so that it doesn't get destroyed)

Well as I am back now, I must get this TA off my chest ahem.

Was out for lunch today. Big place, lots of tables. We chose one at the window and loads of other window places free FAR AWAY from us. We were having a little (ordinary) argument as you do......

So then a couple arrived and plonked themselves right down beside us when there were about six free tables away from us.

OMG I couldn't believe it.

I had to shut up then. That was the worst bit, because I was in full flight!

Why do people shuffle up next to other people when there are so many other places to sit?

I just don't get that.

TA of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I really want a chocolate or strawberry milkshake right now.

Drive in Maccie D's yer only man now I'd say. Go on.

Right, I'm going back to my lair and thinking about TAs for the next while.

Sometimes things can be OK. But that is not for this thread.

I'll be back though!! Can't wait.

I was sitting on the bed having a big glass of chocolate milk when I got a text from my cousin.

"30 years after Chernobyl, still no superheroes"

I snorted/laughed, and chocolate milk shot down my nose all over my white duvet and cream comforter. It looks like I've had another kind of accident. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

People in the construction forum using the word build as a noun! "Oohh my build.." "Oh, Fiachra and I are starting our build" "well, you know, when we looked at the cost of our build..."

BUILD IS A F**KING VERB!

I've worked as a structural engineer for 15 years and have only ever come across this crap terminology on the construction forum here and as used by the muppet on grand designs!

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

People in the construction forum using the word build as a noun! "Oohh my build.." "Oh, Fiachra and I are starting our build" "well, you know, when we looked at the cost of our build..."

BUILD IS A F**KING VERB!

I've worked as a structural engineer for 15 years and have only ever come across this crap terminology on the construction forum here and as used by the muppet on grand designs!

/rant

Build is a Noun as well as a verb. OED confirms it under two uses as a noun; "form or mode of structure " and "the shape and size of a person's body"

But I get what you mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

When the wrong side of the pepper shaker Is used and you inadvertently destroy your dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭bronn

That scratching shrill noise a knife makes against a plate. Was out at dinner earlier and my father-in-law KEPT DOING IT, completely unaware it was even happening. My teeth felt like shattering and he's so lovely that I couldn't just grab the knife off him like I would anyone else. Nails on a blackboard all throughout dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

bronn wrote: »
    That scratching shrill noise a knife makes against a plate. Was out at dinner earlier and my father-in-law KEPT DOING IT, completely unaware it was even happening. My teeth felt like shattering and he's so lovely that I couldn't just grab the knife off him like I would anyone else. Nails on a blackboard all throughout dinner.
    *Shiver* I hate that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I just had one, totally worth the drive-to the shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

1.having to wrestle with packaging to get it open.

2. sia hiding her face - I can understand the need for anonymity.... but isn't it a bit late in her career to start this when there's already heaps of pictures of her on google anyway? if she passed by me in the street id recognise her, especially hidden behind a wig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

bronn wrote: »

The only thing worse than that is when people bite the fork as they eat.

Drives. Me. Baloobas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Some TA's from school today.

I got pink paint all over my lovely boots.

I misread this the first time. Found it a bit strange that someone would refer to a part of themselves as lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Staying at sister in Kerry, on holliers. All gone to bed 'cept moi ........ plenty of vino but can't find corkscrew. All not lost, as I resurrect cordless drill, two 4" screws, tap them into cork about 1" deep, then pull them out with monkey wrench.
    Cheers!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

maudgonner wrote: »
    The only thing worse than that is when people bite the fork as they eat.

Drives. Me. Baloobas.

Taking too many lunches at the Zoo?

Come down to McD's on O' Connell St

Far more civilized!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Our house is far too warm and now I can't sleep because of it. We don't have oil or anything so I can't just turn the heating off. It's times like these that make me wish we had a normal house >:(