Who Will Read The Proclamation On April 24th At The GPO?

I just heard a Dublin woman named Deirdre on RnaG at 17:50 this afternoon and her grandfather on her mother's side was no less than Traolach Mac Suibhne, the Sinn Féin mayor of Cork who died in October 1920, after a massive 74 days on hunger strike. He was the man who said 'It is not those who inflict the most but those who endure the most who'll ultimately triumph.' Enormous funeral followed.

As if that weren't enough, her grandfather on her father's side was no less than Cathal Brugha, who led the anti-Treaty forces that were based in the Hammam Hotel and Turkish Baths during the Battle of Dublin in July 1922. Upon the surrender of the anti-Treaty forces under him, Cathal remained back with Máire Comerford of Cumann na mBan. He instructed her to remain behind, ran out the front entrance (near what is now Cathal Brugha Street) with a revolver in each hand shouting 'No Surrender' and was gunned down. Another enormous funeral followed.

Her mother Máire MacSwiney met her father, Ruairí Brugha, when Ruairí was interned in the Curragh in the 1940s (Ruairí Brugha subsequently became a TD). Her interview starts at 00:40 here.

If it's possible to be a republican aristocrat, this is it. I propose that girl Deirdre to read the proclamation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Get an actor in to do it we don't need some mumbling amatuer making a balls of the proceedings,we could even video it and flog a few tapes to the yanks

Neeson or Gleason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Who read the oration at the O'Donovan Rossa funeral, would that not be the most logical person given it was also Pearse etc. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Irelandcool

Michael Owen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Eamonn Dunphy

In keeping with the original 1916 bunch it should be someone who:

A) is not an elected politician but wants to be in charge of the provisional republic and holds extremist views about 'blood being a cleansing and sanctifying thing'

B) is a member of an unaccountable small armed group who are itching to fight but are very disorganised and keep failing because of informers and incompetence

Someone from the dissidents so..............send out the word

How about the only surviving child of a 1916 leader?

Michael Mallin, second in command of the Irish Citizens' Army under James Connolly, who was executed on 8 May 1916, has a son named Joseph Mallin. He's a Jesuit priest who's a formidable 102 years of age and by all accounts hale and hearty in Hong Kong today. He was 2 years and 7 months old when his father was executed by the British Empire.

Son of executed Rising leader celebrates 102nd birthday

How about a big NO to dynastic rubbish. This is a republic after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Menas wrote: »
    Only the true political descendants of the 1916 heroes could reasonably be expected to read the proclamation.

Who are they?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

How about the only surviving child of a 1916 leader?

Michael Mallin, second in command of the Irish Citizens' Army under James Connolly, who was executed on 8 May 1916, has a son named Joseph Mallin. He's a Jesuit priest who's a formidable 102 years of age and by all accounts hale and hearty in Hong Kong today. He was 2 years and 7 months old when his father was executed by the British Empire.

Son of executed Rising leader celebrates 102nd birthday

We're not a monarchy

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Who are they?

That's the point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Mary Lou.

Apt,seeing as she wasn't getting the limelight she so craved in fianna fail and jumped ship to the shinners, both of the parties who claim to be the 'real Republican party' in this country. My only requirement being that she read it out whilst wearing 10 inch porno stilettos,green hotpants and a gold tube top that barely covers her heaving breasts, leaving her white midriff exposed for all to see. In the pissins of rain naturally,nipples protruding like bricklayers thumbs...Dammit did I just type that? I'll refer you back to a post I just made on the 'manly words thread' if your too busy/lazy to look my word was pisshorn. I must get a cigarette into me and get it back to its flaccid, wrinkly old self,I shouldn't be having thoughts like that about the deputy leader of Sinn Fein :eek: Jesus Christ I f*ckin worry about meself sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Colin "Be Jaysus" Farrell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

How about a actor playing Pearse as a Múinteoir, reciting Little Lad of the Tricks?

http://www.ucc.ie/celt/online/E950004-009/text001.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

A 10 year-old disabled girl.

Just cause it would be hilarious to see all the ones who wanted to read it themselves get really annoyed about it but not be able to give out because they'd look like monsters giving out about a little girl. :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Apt,seeing as she wasn't getting the limelight she so craved in fianna fail and jumped ship to the shinners

I wonder how long this will continue to be brought up? Should probably ask Michael D how long after he jumped from being a FFer did it stop being relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AlanG

Only the true political descendants of the 1916 heroes could reasonably be expected to read the proclamation.

Surely this is what they were fighting against. The claims of some ancestors to hereditary rights based on the actions of their grandparents is the antithesis of a republic. The British queen has as much right to read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AlanG

If it's possible to be a republican aristocrat,.

It is not so she should not. Perhaps she could run for queen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

AlanG wrote: »
    Surely this is what they were fighting against. The claims of some ancestors to hereditary rights based on the actions of their grandparents is the antithesis of a republic. The British queen has as much right to read it.

And thats why I stated 'political descendants'.

I wonder how long this will continue to be brought up? Should probably ask Michael D how long after he jumped from being a FFer did it stop being relevant.

He should probably read it shouldn't he,He's quite eloquent, has good irish and it's not like he does feck all else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

A selection of 6th class national school children from around the country chosen by lottery organised by the Army to avoid the possibility of politically chosen kids or Billy Barry type kids being given preference.

Each school could pick two boys and two girls in a vote to go into the drum and get some nurses to pick winners.

The winners could then read a couple of lines each.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

He should probably read it shouldn't he,He's quite eloquent, has good irish and it's not like he does feck all else.

Agreed.

While we're at it, is there anything to be said for forcing all the lads on the dole to do a re-enactment of the event? :pac:

Agreed.

While we're at it, is there anything to be said for forcing all the lads on the dole to do a re-enactment of the event? :pac:

F*ck that. Get a loada brits to slaughter each other outside Gogarty's in Temple Bar the night before the main event,I daresay it wouldn't take much to convince them,and the irony certainly wouldn't be lost on me for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

foggy_lad wrote: »
    A selection of 6th class national school children from around the country chosen by lottery organised by the Army to avoid the possibility of politically chosen kids or Billy Barry type kids being given preference.

Each school could pick two boys and two girls in a vote to go into the drum and get some nurses to pick winners.

The winners could then read a couple of lines each.

I'd like a camera fixed on your face the moment the four kids walk out and it turns out ones a muslim.

Nodin wrote: »
    I'd like a camera fixed on your face the moment the four kids walk out and it turns out ones a muslim.

Totally off topic, but whilst watching the Welsh Open a fortnight ago I watched a match between Judd Trump and Rory Mccleod. For those not familiar with snooker, The bizarrely named McCleod looks like a text book suicide bomber,complete with the long whispy beard. Here's the funny part, since the tobacco companies were banned from funding the big tournaments, and as such the money has fallen out of the arse of snooker,sponsorship of individual players is all the more important these days. The sponsors logo is usually emblazoned on the right hand breast pocket of the players waistcoat. Trump had the burger king logo on his,huge multinational company and very lucrative for Judd Trump I'd imagine. McCleod had a logo spelling ISIS on his. Pissed meself laughin. Trump won 4-3 by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Nodin wrote: »

The army could check them all for weapons and explosives, but you bring up a valid point, competition open to full passport holding citizens only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The army could check them all for weapons and explosives, but you bring up a valid point, competition open to full passport holding citizens only.

....there are full passport holding muslim citizens. Sorry to disappoint ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Is this a new Dan Brown novel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

Liam Neeson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Ryle Nugent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Sammy Wilson