Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who Will Read The Proclamation On April 24th At The GPO?

• 27-02-2016 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭

The REAL centenary of the 1916 Rising is going to be 24th April which will fall on a Sunday rather than a Monday.

At about 12.20 pm Pearse read the Proclamation outside the GPO.

So who will step up and read the Proclamation at the exact moment 100 years on?

Will an elderly fellow who has used his travel pass step to get to Dublin step forward and bellow it out reading from an original parchment his grandfather kept in his attic for just this day?

Will a young fella grey tracksuit bottoms tucked into his white socks and white runners do the honors from a page torn from an old schoolbook?

Will a crowd of weirdos each of them carrying a copy printed off the internet jostle each other at the portico where Irish liberty was proclaimed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

The REAL centenary of the 1916 Rising is going to be 24th April which will fall on a Sunday rather than a Monday.

Will an elderly fellow who has used his travel pass step to get to Dublin step forward and bellow it out reading from an original parchment his grandfather kept in his attic for just this day?

Will a young fella grey tracksuit bottoms tucked into his white socks and white runners do the honors?

Will a crowd of weirdos each of them carrying a copy printed off the internet jostle each other at the portico where Irish liberty was proclaimed?

WTF?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

I'm happy to put my hat in the ring, so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I'm happy to put my hat in the ring, so to speak.

I'll vote for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Denis O'Brien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Jean Byrne in one of her outrageous and stylish outfits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Jedward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Lisacatlover

One of the jedward twins, the one that had the sex change and now they're a champion UFC fighter, not the one that went on to be involved in that nuclear weapon scandal in Russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Not Enda anyway by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Mary Lou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Colin "I'm talented at hitting people" McGregor... Sure he's a big hit with "deh yoooth" isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jim Beglin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Isnt it always some army officer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Will a young fella grey tracksuit bottoms tucked into his white socks and white runners do the honors from a page torn from an old schoolbook?

It will be decided by gladiatorial contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nodin wrote: »
    It will be decided by gladiatorial contest.

D Higgins as Emperor will have the final say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Gerry Adams :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Seriously though.

Will the GPO be surrounded by nutjobs each armed with their own proclamations and will they be fighting each other under the portico?

I would imagine a range of mad republicans of various stripes will turn up with tricolors while Pearse admirers from near and far will turn up dressed in identical khaki uniforms and with identically slouch hats and sabres will be clashing with each other so they can do they honors.

I'm going to turn up myself and have a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Someone somewhere is writing Enda's speech at this moment in time.

Enda is good at reading things out so he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Seriously though.

Will the GPO be surrounded by nutjobs armed their own proclamations and will they be fighting each other under the portico?

I would imagine a range of mad republicans of various stripes will turn up with tricolors while Pearse admirers from near and far will turn up dressed in identical khaki uniforms and with identically slouch hats and sabres will be clashing with each other so they can do they honors.

In this day and age my guess is that it is a toss up (probably the wrong phrase) between David Norris and Panti Bliss ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If RTE have anything to do with it, it will probably be Nicky fúcking Byrne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Kurt Angle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Only the true political descendants of the 1916 heroes could reasonably be expected to read the proclamation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Gerry Kelly. Will also be a nice way to celebrate his 43 old bailey bombing anniversary & his 33rd prison escape anniversary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Menas wrote: »
    Only the true political descendants of the 1916 heroes could reasonably be expected to read the proclamation.

Surely anyone who wants to can stand at the GPO and can read the proclamation?
    The official ceremonies are taking place in March over Easter when the real anniversary is April 24th.

I don't see anything organized so it might be up to ME to go up to Dublin get my proclamation printed off in an internet cafe and read it out to passersby which will probably include a bored Garda on the beat, an evangelical handing out bibles, some old bloke collecting for the soup kitchens and few junkies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

D Higgins as Emperor will have the final say.

Hobbits are not eligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I read somewhere that RTE have lined up Noel Edmonds for the gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

The new taoiseach, Michael Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,823 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I am one.

Don't want to.

Hobbits are not eligible.

His poetry does automatic damage plus d10 at close range - you tell him hes not eligible.

Seriously though.

Will the GPO be surrounded by nutjobs each armed with their own proclamations and will they be fighting each other under the portico?

I'm going to turn up myself and have a go!

That sounds like the craic, tbh. Last man standing gets to read it and clatter john bruton off the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Odds widened on Slab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Linda Martin hopefully.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Well it's not really, is it? People give out about the commemorations of the Easter Rising moving in accordance with the changing date of Easter but why not? It's the traditionally accepted time which simplifies the date.

Your date is equally invalid to a degree, it's not 100 years exactly. I mean you haven't taken into account the various leap days, leap seconds into your calculation. Usually we let them go, equally by traditionally accepted idea of simplifying the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Prince Charles?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Well that only rules out the Green party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Roy Keane.... only for a mobile to ring during his reading..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Irelandcool

better not be Joan Burton as I'd rather go deaf then to listen to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Has to be Teresa Mannion surely, anyone else would be "treacherous!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Michael D would be my choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Panthro wrote: »
    Has to be Teresa Mannion surely, anyone else would be "treacherous!"

I don't want to make an unnecessary journey to Dublin though.

Will he stand on a box?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Eghh. I think we need to steer clear of politicians who give 'favours' to their friends, nice salary favours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Slab Murphy. Followed by a duet of Boolavogue by the Healy Rae's. everyone gets bladdered then in the Dail bar and an IW protest march starts for the Vaticant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Will he stand on a box?

Couple of phone books. Be grand

matchthis wrote: »
    Couple of phone books. Be grand

They still have phone books?

Shannon757 wrote: »
    They still have phone books?

They do where the healy raes are from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

A member of the public might be able. Someone from the GPO.

Nodin wrote: »
    They do where the healy raes are from.

Don't be picking on the Healy Raes. And if you want to pick on Michael, you'll have to go through his brother first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

The new series of Game of Thrones is back that day, yay! :D

Nobody is going to be paying attention to this so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Realistically I think Michael D would be the best choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I'd say Michael Jackson