Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

OK
    I've had it.
    There is YET ANOTHER Home Instead Senior Care as on the fukkn radio.
    That's 3.
    Three fukkn ads that make me want to strangle the voice-over bitch, whose mother is "cooking up a storm" in the kitchen, with her carer, who is also her "best friend".
    Oh and, "I wasn't her daaaughter any more, I was her caaaaarer"
    " I hadn't got the tiiiiiime, all I felt was guilt"
    But now, someone else does it and it's fukkin PARTY TIME!!!!
    And I can go off to my job, which is caring for PHYLISS, with whom I share a great love of "classical music"......!
    I think this is about my third post about this fukkn company and their radio ads in the past couple of years, and YIZ ARE NOT LISTENING!!!!
    GET YER FUKKN ADS OFF MY RADIO!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

You left out the bit where Orla helps the Mammy to change her will....then bitch face who dumped her in the Granny Farm will be singing a different tune. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

OK
    I've had it.
    There is YET ANOTHER Home Instead Senior Care as on the fukkn radio.
    That's 3.
    Three fukkn ads that make me want to strangle the voice-over bitch, whose mother is "cooking up a storm" in the kitchen, with her carer, who is also her "best friend".
    Oh and, "I wasn't her daaaughter any more, I was her caaaaarer"
    " I hadn't got the tiiiiiime, all I felt was guilt"
    But now, someone else does it and it's fukkin PARTY TIME!!!!
    And I can go off to my job, which is caring for PHYLISS, with whom I share a great love of "classical music"......!
    I think this is about my third post about this fukkn company and their radio ads in the past couple of years, and YIZ ARE NOT LISTENING!!!!
    GET YER FUKKN ADS OFF MY RADIO!!!!!

This! It reminds me of some Hollywood weepie !!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I will continue to tolerate those Sunday World Gangland ads as long as Jonathan Ryan keeps doing the voiceovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Six great reasons to visit the new Galway Shopping Plaza....almost identical to the awful Barak Obama Plaza..Pappa John's, the Visitor Centre...Jeez who comes up with this brain damaging guff.

Not to mention the prick with his appliancesdelivered.ie ad. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Six great reasons to visit the new Galway Shopping Plaza....almost identical to the awful Barak Obama Plaza..Pappa John's, the Visitor Centre...Jeez who comes up with this brain damaging guff.

Don't forget the Texaco garage...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

You must be a very placid individual as about 95% of Ads make me change channel or turn the radio off. :D

I'd usually just turn off when the ads come on for more music somewhere else, if im not paying attention i'd jsut leave them running but this ad pricks my ears everytime...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Same guy (Pat McDonagh of supernacs "fame") owns both. If only he'd waited until November we could have had Donald Trump Plaza.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Same guy (Pat McDonagh of supernacs "fame") owns both. If only he'd waited until November we could have had Donald Trump Plaza.....

A big canopy with feck all underneath?
    I think Pat has it sussed already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

soc160 wrote: »
    Its fairly rare an ad annoys me to the point that I want to turn it off, usually I stick with it to see what it's about.

I havent been on the thread in a while, but coming on here tonight I was just saying to myself "there is no way that volkswagen ad hasnt got a mention".

It's the longest, must stupid ad I've ever heard. A "marketing" making statements and some "Mr Average Punter" remaking about everything he says.
    "Oh I like models" "GMBH no less".. Volkswagen must have been ingesting their own emissions before they rubber stamped that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

I love the way they have the stereotyped the motor mechanic to being a working class Dublin man.

"Howrya, if ya want ta get de best outa yer motor, ye have to be puttin the best fuel in ...... or if you needs paarts, de only place to go is ta Mick's garage.. So in summation, if you need something done with yer motor, you need to call.......

A NORTHSIDER"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I love the way they have the stereotyped the motor mechanic to being a working class Dublin man.

"Howrya, if ya want ta get de best outa yer motor, ye have to be puttin the best fuel in ...... or if you needs paarts, de only place to go is ta Mick's garage.. So in summation, if you need something done with yer motor, you need to call.......

A NORTHSIDER"

In fairness, I regularly buy parts online from Mick's Garage, but hadn't heard their radio ad. It might have put me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

I havent been on the thread in a while, but coming on here tonight I was just saying to myself "there is no way that volkswagen ad hasnt got a mention".

It's the longest, must stupid ad I've ever heard. A "marketing" making statements and some "Mr Average Punter" remaking about everything he says.
    "Oh I like models" "GMBH no less".. Volkswagen must have been ingesting their own emissions before they rubber stamped that one.

VW have a long and ignoble tradition of producing the most moronic and irritating car radio ads in Ireland - anyone remember 'nervous norm' from a few years back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Saw the Supermacs ad with Pat McDonagh and Sean O'Brien for the first time last night and it is just awful. It looked like it was scripted in-house (as opposed to an agency) and shot on a camcorder.

Let's start with the labelling of Sean O'Brien:
    BEEF FARMER,
    RUGBY INTERNATIONAL
    IRELAND & LEINSTER

Why doesn't it just say "Rugby player"? Is Leinster a country now?

The dialogue is so forced and it's overloaded with sound-bytes. It reminds me of the Fasinex ads from the 1980s where you had two people discussing the benefits of worming cattle. If you dissect it further however, it's USP is the fact that the burger is fresh (not frozen) actually sh*ts all over the rest of the company's burgers as they are.....well, frozen. So you've just indirectly dissed a large proportion of your offering. Genius.

The scene however where Pat is cooking the burger is the worst; half the burger is cooked, the top half is a horrible pinky-red colour (yes I know this is what meat looks like when being cooked but a more appetising shot would have been the whole burger fully cooked). And the belly on Pat McDonagh.....wow.

http://www.joe.ie/sport/video-the-new-sean-obrien-supermacs-ad-is-everything-we-could-have-hoped-for/530027

Edit: Just realised I posted this in the wrong thread....apologies...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Kamili

that DSPCA King of Paws Dog training ad is just terrible. Like who the eff came up with an ad for dog training involving the dog (called Ramsey) cooking dinner for the family. Stupid. The owner rings up and thanks the trainers for training her dog so wonderfully and that he now knows how to cook dinner.

Then adding a disclaimer stating that the training doesn't actually teach your dog to cook. That is really bad advertising, hey we can train your dog to do this! Oh but wait we actually don't so this but still you need to come to us to train your dog.

Really? Did anyone think about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Kamili wrote: »
    That is really bad advertising, hey we can train your dog to do this! Oh but wait we actually don't so this but still you need to come to us to train your dog.

Did you actually listen to that ad and think that they could genuinely train your dog to cook dinner for you?

JustShon wrote: »
    Did you actually listen to that ad and think that they could genuinely train your dog to cook dinner for you?

no thats the point, why say something that is that obviously impossible to do and use it to advertise? then say BTW we can't actually do this.

I thought advertising was to advertise things that you can do no?

no thats the point, why say something that is that obviously impossible to do and use it to advertise? then say BTW we can't actually do this.

I thought advertising was to advertise things that you can do no?

Advertising is to get attention, that's it. Nothing more and nothing less, it's an attention grab. They're clearly making an attempt at humour.

Haven't heard that specific ad though, so can't say if it comes across as actually funny but it sounds like it's sh1te.

Miss Fit Skinny Tea. It's so annoying I can't concentrate on what I'm doing so I have to stop until they're finished yapping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

soc160 wrote: »
    Its fairly rare an ad annoys me to the point that I want to turn it off, usually I stick with it to see what it's about. But... There's an ad for volkswagen running now, I can't understand what's going on. It's two voices, not sure if they are talking or ones in his head. Basically he comments on what the other guy had said... one point is "they have a greats range of models" "oh I like models" "these are volkswagen models" "even better"

What annoys me most is I can't actually figure out what's happening in the God Dam ad.

I came onto this thread explicitly to vent at this ad. It drives me mad!
    "Finance by GMBH" "GMBH no less!"
    "check out our website" "oh i will, don't you worry!"

It is absolutely awful

JustShon wrote: »
    Advertising is to get attention, that's it. Nothing more and nothing less, it's an attention grab. They're clearly making an attempt at humour.

Haven't heard that specific ad though, so can't say if it comes across as actually funny but it sounds like it's sh1te.

oh trust me it is really full of doggy doo doo, sounds like its being badly read from a script and delivery is awful. :)

Think you just described every ad made by an Irish person ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

I think i have found the actual worst ad ever.
    Permanent TSB.
    'I'd like you to meet my new boyfriend Frank'
    'Oh, lovely to meet you Mr Hughes'
    'That's Mrs Hughes'

What the actual f**k?????????

I can't even....

<stabs ears with pencils>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

UsedToWait wrote: »
    I think i have found the actual worst ad ever.
    Permanent TSB.
    'I'd like you to meet my new boyfriend Frank'
    'Oh, lovely to meet you Mr Hughes'
    'That's Mrs Hughes'

What the actual f**k?????????

I can't even....

<stabs ears with pencils>

I suppose we are meant to believe Mrs Hughes has a terrible problem with the auld hirsuteness.
    Perhaps it would have been better as a Ladyshave advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I suppose we are meant to believe Mrs Hughes has a terrible problem with the auld hirsuteness.
    Perhaps it would have been better as a Ladyshave advert.

I really can't figure what we're meant to believe..

Like where does he get Mr Hughes from?
    Yet one says meet my new 'boyfriend', so why is 'Frank' suddenly a woman..
    It really is horrifically bad..

More cringeworthy radio advertising from the Irish marketing industry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

I heard Teresa Mannion doing an ad for the Road Safety Authority. Inspired choice!

I listened right until the end expecting her to say "Don't make unnecessary journeys! Don't drive on treacherous roads!"

(She didn't of course...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

I've heard this once or twice but I thought it was playing in.the difference between miss and Mrs....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

It's not that hard to comprehend, it's just an awful ad;

Girl comes home to her parents house with her new boyfriend. Her boyfriend's name is Frank. Frank has never met the girls parents previously. When girl introduces Frank as her boyfriend, Frank uproariously mistakes his girlfriend's mother for her father. The girls mother is frosty and indignant, correcting poor Frank's mistake. Hilarity ensues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I came onto this thread explicitly to vent at this ad. It drives me mad!
    "Finance by GMBH" "GMBH no less!"
    "check out our website" "oh i will, don't you worry!"

It is absolutely awful

And it's probably the longest advert I've ever heard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

It's not that hard to comprehend, it's just an awful ad;

Girl comes home to her parents house with her new boyfriend. Her boyfriend's name is Frank. Frank has never met the girls parents previously. When girl introduces Frank as her boyfriend, Frank uproariously mistakes his girlfriend's mother for her father. The girls mother is frosty and indignant, correcting poor Frank's mistake. Hilarity ensues.

I thought it was going for the trans vote myself.