If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,596 ✭✭✭✭cson

We're not out of it but it's going to take something special, something that we haven't shown ourselves to be capable of this year... yet.

I was critical of him during the week but Souness was bang on there today; a patched together United team there for the taking and we we're afraid of it. We really lack a leader imo; no one there today was able to take the game by the scruff of the neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Not clutching at straws or anything but when is Santi back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

greendom wrote: »
    Not clutching at straws or anything but when is Santi back?

We've missed him so much. Our midfield is dirt without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Far from out of it. Plenty of twists and turns left in this season. As it is in every season, shouldn't be a surprise, but a defeat just feels tough I suppose. One thing is for sure though. If there is any hope of winning the title then this current run of bad form must stop. Definitely not going to win the league if they continue to play like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,290 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Boskowski wrote: »
    Far from out of it. Plenty of twists and turns left in this season. As it is in every season, shouldn't be a surprise, but a defeat just feels tough I suppose. One thing is for sure though. If there is any hope of winning the title then this current run of bad form must stop. Definitely not going to win the league if they continue to play like this.

We are done for sure. No heart in this team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

If we needed a draw against a relegated team to win this league, we'd stroll around for 30 mins and concede first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Looks like it ye. Next week is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

well i wont be coughing up anymore money to see this team play again this season. **** these lot. they dont even try anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I am right in saying we came from behind to beat the league leaders...what, last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,229 ✭✭✭omega man

Boskowski wrote: »

We've lost way too many games and we'll lose more. It's our form as a team and that of our best players that's the real concern. Can't just switch that on and off at will.

League was there for the taking but Wenger looks like he's blown it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

There is no ambition at the club. We are a company now not a football club. Ill never buy any club merchandise now until the club strengthens.

The gap is wider then the five points off Leicester or three off Spurs. There is a 20 point gap in desire and hunger.

We need Simeone (before Chelsea or China tempts him) and he needs to be given the time to bring in his own personnel. Give him that blank canvas to give existing lads a kick up the arse or get shot of those who are not committed to the cause.

I accept its very hard to manage in the modern day. Even Mourinho who is regarded as a good man manager has had his troubles, but our club is now gripped by a disease that needs rid. Not only Wenger should walk the plank but some of the players. Gabriel looked Sunday league today.

Even another cup wouldnt rescue Wenger imo. Time for him to exit the stage gracefully and take his seat among the legends. Someone elses turn now.

irishmover wrote: »
    You's are your own worse enemy. Plenty of football to go.

We (Spurs) could easily drop 6 points the next two games and you're right in the mix.

Spurs to their credit are showing willingness and desire. You'll stuff us next week and the first warning signs were there when you should have battered us in the Emirates in November

FixitFelix wrote: »
    When özil is playing out of his skin he can complain, he was ****e today regardless of his goal

Are u for fu king real. He has 18 assists this season and plenty of goals. He is too good for this pathetic side and if he knows what is best for him he should be off in the summer. How dare any fan point the finger at one of our best players before Walcott, Ramsey etc.

We are a joke of a club that is a company now, with a great manager who just wont spend the money to improve the side. Hes ruining his legacy.

Basil3 wrote: »
    I dunno. We scored 2 goals at OT today. That should be enough to win. It's not the lack of spending that cost us, it's team tactics/momentum/whatever.

We have been playing like ****e for months.

Your an apologist for mediocrity. Im sick of you defending the indefensible.

Should be 33/1. Spineless.

Absolutely gutless. Im so angry at Wenger for how far he has let us slip. A great coach no doubt that has become s poor judge of player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,290 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Koscielney and Gabriel were brutally bad today for the goals.
    Wenger saying we had the desire and the effort ??? What was he watching? He is the Minister for Silly Excuses now.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Are u for fu king real. He has 18 assists this season and plenty of goals. He is too good for this pathetic side and if he knows what is best for him he should be off in the summer. How dare any fan point the finger at one of our best players before Walcott, Ramsey etc.

We are a joke of a club that is a company now, with a great manager who just wont spend the money to improve the side. Hes ruining his legacy.

There is more than money at question here. Our general workrate, attitude and application has always been questionable. There is a culture of mediocrity and incompetence that has swept through this club like a cancer and its going nowhere.

We're a busted flush, we're finished.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Coming good? They're lucky to be in 5th after spending about 20 billion quid.

At least they spend. Better to try and fail than to not try at all

Absolutely gutless. Im so angry at Wenger for how far he has let us slip. A great coach no doubt that has become s poor judge of player.

His tactics are shít too in all honesty. Any manager who would look at his players tipping around the box for a decade now needs to be seriously questioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

At least they spend. Better to try and fail than to not try at all

That makes no sense. We've beaten them 2 of the last 3 times we played them and are above them in the league.

Christ almighty, I can imagine what it'd be like round here if we did spend all our cash and fail.

Edit: 2 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss in last 4. But the point still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,532 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Pretty depressing spectacle today. After Ozil got one back there was still twenty-five minutes for the players to dig deep and force something, and it just didn't happen. That was a fairly average United side and, whatever about not winning, to not make them feel any sort of pressure for the final section of the game; that's what really worries me.

Looking at things with one eye, I say to myself, "Eleven games still to play, five points behind two teams who surely are going to stumble a bit in that rarified air"; I haven't totally given up hope, even though I know it's fast becoming faint and I should probably stop torturing myself.

It's a simplistic thing to say, but it is true: The team lacks steel and characters. That type of someone who just won't accept going down without a fight. Arsenal probably went out of the title race today, at the home of one of their great rivals, who are themselves a shadow of their former glory and who were just begging to be turned into pants spattering nervous wrecks. But Arsenal didn't seem to have the stomach in themselves for the battle. What's going on when Depay - a player who has looked totally shot of confidence all season long - feels so dominant that he can showboat and take the piss freely, even when it's still only a one goal game. I don't usually condone such things, but someone should have flattened him in the next challenge and gone full on Keown mode on it, with the veins bulging and the fists pumping towards the away end. Maybe a bit childish, but it would have put a bit of a marker down: The team has enough pride to respond when it's being mocked. It also would have felt good for the fans - Violence might have led to an instantaneous red-card and, once we'd all thought about it rationally, we'd probably all tut-tut a bit at it, but, at least at that moment we'd get that ball-tightning feeling of righteousness and fight and, as sad and all as it might be, that one moment of brainless defiance against the script would probably feel better than the slow predictable weak willed death by a thousand cuts that has to be endured yet again.

Coming good? They're lucky to be in 5th after spending about 20 billion quid.

Your right, lets be under no illusions.... United are rubbish... and we lost to rubbish. I could almost bare losing to Fergies teams but there is just no excuse for this shíte.

Arghus wrote: »
    Pretty depressing spectacle today. After Ozil got one back there was still twenty-five minutes for the players to dig deep and force something, and it just didn't happen. That was a fairly average United side and, whatever about not winning, to not make them feel any sort of pressure for the final section of the game; that's what really worries me.

Looking at things with one eye, I say to myself, "Eleven games still to play, five points behind two teams who surely are going to stumble a bit in that rarified air"; I haven't totally given up hope, even though I know it's fast becoming faint and I should probably stop torturing myself.

It's a simplistic thing to say, but it is true: The team lacks steel and characters. That type of someone who just won't accept going down without a fight. Arsenal probably went out of the title race today, at the home of one of their great rivals, who are themselves a shadow of their former glory and who were just begging to be turned into pants spattering nervous wrecks. But Arsenal didn't seem to have the stomach in themselves for the battle. What's going on when Depay - a player who has looked totally shot of confidence all season long - feels so dominant that he can showboat and take the piss freely, even when it's still only a one goal game. I don't usually condone such things, but someone should have flattened him in the next challenge and gone full on Keown mode on it, with the veins bulging and the fists pumping towards the away end. Maybe a bit childish, but it would have put a bit of a marker down: The team has enough pride to respond when it's being mocked. It also would have felt good for the fans - Violence might have led to an instantaneous red-card and, once we'd all thought about it rationally, we'd probably all tut-tut a bit at it, but, at least at that moment we'd get that ball-tightning feeling of righteousness and fight and, as sad and all as it might be, that one moment of brainless defiance against the script would probably feel better than the slow predictable weak willed death by a thousand cuts that has to be endured yet again.

Its over mate stop torturing yourself.

Pudders wrote: »
    So I'm now on the train back to London. Last time we lost to Chelsea I got banned for a month. I'll try to be measured but:

There are probably few on here that go to as many games week in week out as me. Season ticket. Only missed the Christmas period games. Today was my 8th away game this season (home and abroad). Have been at all cup home games including the Mickey Mouse cup. Going to the Barca away leg which no doubt will be a disaster.

I know I am lucky and privileged to be able to do so. But I also think the money I spend and amount I see this team gives me a right to an opinion even if it goes against people who question my loyalty.

Wenger has to go. He is not up to it. Won't spend the £150m or whatever amount of cash we have. He is too loyal to players not up to it. He won't make the hard decisions on dropping players out if form. He says he doesn't want to buy too many players (more than 2-3) as it will disrupt the team but then buys nobody and leaves gaping holes where it is painfully obvious that we need help for years. Tactically he is weak. Too many big games we are beat before we start.

This year and 2 years ago were prime chances for us to win the league if he had bought well. 2 years ago Walcott crocked so he buys a player with a broken back. This year both transfer windows have been utterly ludicrous. And if people say we can't sign anyone better than what we currently have they are being delusional.

The league is gone. Worse it will probably be Spurs. Worse they deserve it. A young manager going places.

This train is like a morgue. Coming up people weren't optimistic but now it is depressing.

Wenger did great things but his time is up. The sooner the better.

This is sad but so very true.

That makes no sense. We've beaten them 2 of the last 3 times we played them and are above them in the league.

Christ almighty, I can imagine what it'd be like round here if we did spend all our cash and fail

Cash is just one of the many foibles and yes we shouldnt fall into the trap of paying through the nose for players but as fans we expected something resembling a performance today. As per the script from the last 10 years, we were beaten yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭irishmover

Spurs to their credit are showing willingness and desire. You'll stuff us next week and the first warning signs were there when you should have battered us in the Emirates in November

We are the form team with 6 wins from 6 but runs like that never last and we're still not top. Plenty of football to go. March 5th is massive for both clubs.

Its over mate stop torturing yourself.

But he can console himself with the thoughts of the same shyte next season.

irishmover wrote: »
    We are the form team with 6 wins from 6 but runs like that never last and we're still not top. Plenty of football to go. March 5th is massive for both clubs.

No its over. We were coronated in WHL twice in our history but we are now attending yours.