If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,285 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I've given up on arsenal. Seasons over

Said the same a few weeks ago. RIP 2015/16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I nearly always defend Arsene, but I just can't after that inept performance from the majority of the players. No excuses, that was a game that had to be won. We were virtually given an open goal to win the league, with traditional rivals United and Chelsea so far of the pace and City not playing at the level expected.

It looks like that open goal has been missed, and to make matters worse it's Spurs that will benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Like making a team who's priority is victory. We should have smashed that United side. Instead they deserved a win. Even the ref was favorable to us.
    I've had enough of this groundhog stuff. We're an annual joke now. Serial bottlers in the league, always knocked out of the CL at the same stage.
    Tired of it.

So you're saying Wenger went there today with the priority of...what? Not winning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

greendom wrote: »
    I nearly always defend Arsene, but I just can't after that inept performance from the majority of the players. No excuses, that was a game that had to be won. We were virtually given an open goal to win the league, with traditional rivals United and Chelsea so far of the pace and City not playing at the level expected.

It looks like that open goal has been missed, and to make matters worse it's Spurs that will benefit.

Yes indeed. Spurs at least fight in every match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,285 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    So you're saying Wenger went there today with the priority of...what? Not winning?

He can't motivate a team now.
    They should have been jumping out of their skins at the thoughts of playing a very young and inexperienced United team but again they didn't seem up for a fight and the result shows that.
    Can't wait to see the back of choker Wenger.

I understand the frustration with Wenger, although I certainly don't think getting rid of him is the right thing to do.

From what i saw today, the players need to look at themselves.

Whoever the f*ck though it was a good idea to literally evacuate midfield for the Herrera goal deserves the blame. That was preposterous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I understand the frustration with Wenger, although I certainly don't think getting rid of him is the right thing to do.

Whoever the f*ck though it was a good idea to literally evacuate midfield for the Herrera goal deserves the blame. That was preposterous.
    Not sure if Ramsey was to blame for that but he was awful today. Almost as bad as Walcott and that really is saying something

What's more Alexis needs to shake his f***in head up. It kills me to say it, but we looked more dangerous while he was injured.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Can you explain to us the changes that Wenger made so? Because to me 2 of them don't make any sense whatsoever.

Upcoming gigs and events: Nova Twins, Tanita Tikaram, David Byrne

Alan Davies make a comment after we got stuffed by Southampton that after we beat City the club, the supporters and the media had all decided we were champions and the rest of it was a formality.

It looked to me, indeed still does, that some of our players seem to think they are too good to have to work. Our intensity levels are lacking way too often since then.

Alan Davies make a comment after we got stuffed by Southampton that after we beat City the club, the supporters and the media had all decided we were champions and the rest of it was a formality.

It looked to me, indeed still does, that some of our players seem to think they are too good to have to work. Our intensity levels are lacking way too often since then.

And they're being allowed get away with it too.

I agree with the consensus. Wenger has run out of road. We couldn't have had the more ideal conditions to take an extra step and win the league this year. He did tbf add a World class goalkeeper who has been brilliant and i dread to think where we would be only for him but apart from the non investment, there is a worrying decline in the players that we actually have.

Walcott, Gibbs, and Chamberlain, need to be shown the door come summer. All three have been utterly useless for most of this season and Wenger rested the future of the club on these players. Its not just their form but their body language seems off.

All have been dogshít this year. Wilshere is no good to us either. He is forever injured. He'll never amount to anything. Time to cut him loose.

I was optimistic we could sneak it this year or at least go down to the bitter end but finally the candle sadly blew out today.
    Truth is the cups bought him a stay of execution, but its time for change. A wide open league and we have made a spectacular bóllocks out of it.

Time for new energy, new ideas, new impetus. Doesnt look as if Simeone will get the Chelsea job and he has to be approached. We need to bring steel into our game and defiance. Some of our lads don't looked pushed regardless of the importance of the game. Its like they don't look at the table. I don't care about this cul de sac football we are playing any more. let it be more of a barn dance then ballet, so long as its a fruitful barn dance.

I'm incredibly grateful for not only what Arsene Wenger has done for us, but what he has done for football as a whole in England. He added so much value to the premier league with his innovation and flair and reinvented players who were in a comfort zone and brought the competition to levels it hasnt seen before or never seen since, perhaps never will be seen again. but the Wenger of 1998-06 is long gone and in his place is a man who is living off reputation alone with football that doesn't seem to have a plan or purpose and players that dont seem as if they are fully invested in his philosophy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

[/B]

And they're being allowed get away with it too.

Wenger's loyalty is both endearing but utterly frustrating. Joel Campbell should start on Wednesday. Walcott shouldn't be near that side. Welbeck should start too. We need to start players that work their knackers off. Far too many strolling about safe in the knowledge that no matter what they do their place in the team is never under threat.

Irish Aris wrote: »
    Can you explain to us the changes that Wenger made so? Because to me 2 of them don't make any sense whatsoever.

Giroud for Walcott made sense. Iwobi for Welbz? Maybe Welbz was tiring, I don't know.

Well tbh id have no problem with Iwobi getting a game. I mean a young fella who no one had heard tell of on Thursday at half 7 absolutely destroyed us today. If anything we dont use enough young lads anymore. I can remember David Hillier, Ray Parlour emerging in the 90s and doing a job for us.

Rocky Rocastle, Paul Merson, Paul Davis, Liam Brady, Tony Adams all emerged from the youth system. LVG can come across as a pig but i admire how he has started the youths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

How many times have you said that mate? well not specifically you but others here for the past 10 years?

we have had players come and go and they all seem to not care to play under wenger when the going gets tough

Well tbh id have no problem with Iwobi getting a game. I mean a young fella who no one had heard tell of on Thursday at half 7 absolutely destroyed us today. If anything we dont use enough young lads anymore. I can remember David Hillier, Ray Parlour emerging in the 90s and doing a job for us.

Rocky Rocastle, Paul Merson, Paul Davis, Liam Brady, Tony Adams all emerged from the youth system. LVG can come across as a pig but i admire how he has started the youths.

I was led to believe that Van Gal had to play these youngsters due to the serious amount of injuries he had?
    He could have sent out the tea lady and the cleaners and they'd still have beaten us.

• Moderators Posts: 8,893 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I'm still fucking gutted.

All of my life I haven't known what a Wenger-less Arsenal would be like and even in tough times, never once contemplated it, never mind said that he should be gone. However, now I'm not so sure...

As heartbreaking as it is to say, either Arsene's approach changes (unlikely), or we change Arsene.

He is the common denominator in our relentless mediocrity.

*goes off to cry in the corner*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Two things are evident from the game today and I doubt any Arsenal supporter could deny it.

We haven't go the players to hurt teams when they are vulnerable especially up front, and it's time for AW to rethink his "Philosophy" - it hasn't worked in years, the game has moved on and he either needs to adapt or we get someone in who is familiar with the modern game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

They didn't look like winners at any point in that match donie. They didn't look like they believed in it. We've seen teams of winners before with that swagger, almost arrogance, where they know that they're going to smash a weakened opponent. Not this arsenal. They're not focussed enough. They're meek.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    They didn't look like winners at any point in that match donie. They didn't look like they believed in it. We've seen teams of winners before with that swagger, almost arrogance, where they know that they're going to smash a weakened opponent. Not this arsenal. They're not focussed enough. They're meek.

Ah, look...I know.

But in our gaf we ripped into them. That's what I was expecting today.

Hyzepher wrote: »
    Two things are evident from the game today and I doubt any Arsenal supporter could deny it.

We haven't go the players to hurt teams when they are vulnerable especially up front, and it's time for AW to rethink his "Philosophy" - it hasn't worked in years, the game has moved on and he either needs to adapt or we get someone in who is familiar with the modern game.

We have no fighters on the field when things get tough and no fight on the sideline either. Where's the Adams, Bould, Keown, Vieira, Petit or Bergkamp in this present squad? There's none. No fighters who shout in a players face when he's not performing, lads who put the fear of God in our opponents.

Jaysus i miss that.

We are soft now and teams know it only too well.

We have no fighters on the field when things get tough and no fight on the sideline either. Where's the Adams, Bould, Keown, Vieira, Petit or Bergkamp in this present squad? There's none. No fighters who shout in a players face when he's not performing, lads who put the fear of God in our opponents.

Jaysus i miss that.

We are soft now and teams know it only too well.

Or Parlour. I used to give Palour abuse for not being as good as the others.

I'd have f*ckin loved to have Ray Parlour out there today.

Or Parlour. I used to give Palour abuse for not being as good as the others.

I'd f*ckin loved to have Ray Parlour today.

Even David Hillier, hell even Pal Lyderson or Peanut Carter would have had a good stab at it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Still so angry after this game, I think this is the turning point for Wenger. His comments after the game were better then any comedian, a sign of incompetent and arrogant man who thinks he's untouchable. Fans need to start shown their displeasure at him, couldn't care less if it upsets the players it's been ongoing for years and he's been relying on his past glories far too much. He's taking the piss out of us for years.

my most worrying thing is Ozil and Alexis look like they can't be arsed anymore. I wouldn't be surprised if one of them handed in a transfer request come the summer. Walcott needs selling off, add OX, Per, Flamini, Arteta and if we get a big offer for Ramsey I would sell him off too. None of them can offer us anything and need moving on.

I'm off to the Swansea game on Wednesday and I can't get myself excited at all for it. My first time seen the team and after todays match I can't get myself up for the match at all. I could see another bottle job happening.

I was led to believe that Van Gal had to play these youngsters due to the serious amount of injuries he had?
    He could have sent out the tea lady and the cleaners and they'd still have beaten us.

And thats a shíte United team. Im sure Ozil must wonder 'What the fúck have i done here?!'

His retention and distribution is so good. None of this nonsense blind flicking that Ramsey engages in. Its very sad that in a day Ozil got an assist and a goal and had a stormer, that the other gutless lot couldnt bring anything to the table.

Looper007 wrote: »
    Still so angry after this game, I think this is the turning point for Wenger. His comments after the game were better then any comedian, a sign of incompetent and arrogant man who thinks he's untouchable. Fans need to start shown their displeasure at him, couldn't care less if it upsets the players it's been ongoing for years and he's been relying on his past glories far too much. He's taking the piss out of us for years.

my most worrying thing is Ozil and Alexis look like they can't be arsed anymore. I wouldn't be surprised if one of them handed in a transfer request come the summer. Walcott needs selling off, add OX, Per, Flamini, Arteta and if we get a big offer for Ramsey I would sell him off too. None of them can offer us anything and need moving on.

I'm off to the Swansea game on Wednesday and I can't get myself excited at all for it. My first time seen the team and after todays match I can't get myself up for the match at all. I could see another bottle job happening.

A couple of the Barcelona players were supposed to be tapping up Bellerin too last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

A steaming pile of ****e.

Ughh

Looper007 wrote: »

There is such a familiarity about it all now i cant even bring myself to be gutted any more. Im just bored with this time warp we seem to be stuck in. Hope is dead, and if it isnt im calling in the family to advise them to turn the life support machine off. :(

Time to become a big club again. Thanks for everything Wenger but next stop is yours.

Everton have got a new investor today who originally invested in Red and White holdings with Dein and Usmanov, so its going to be an even more competitive battle ground down the line. Fresh ideas, fresh thinking, young hunger is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭irishmover

You's are your own worse enemy. Plenty of football to go.

We (Spurs) could easily drop 6 points the next two games and you're right in the mix.