Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I'm not aware of them for the footballers.
    Is there a demand or any Dublin football fans willing to organise it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Jesus, if I could get a bus to/from Castlebar for a tenner, I'd be all over it. No hunt for parking & having to abandon the car in a ditch, a mile from the ground. No starting a 3 hour drive on a dark winters night at 9pm. No spending fifty quid on petrol and tolls. Getting dropped off and picked up from right outside the stadium, so no walk up from the train/bus station, in the freezing cold and lashing rain. No having to splurge on a hotel, if you don't drive, because the last train/bus home left an hour before throw in.

All that for a tenner. I'd be all over that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

10 seems cheap coaches are what 58 seater? thats 580 for a coach for 8/9 hours even at that though I'm sure plenty of people would pay 15/20 for a trip like that.

FODH bus is €10 for members (membership is €20 and includes very useful text alerts), €5 for kids or €15 (I think) for non members. Sometimes if there is a small demand it will only be a 30 seater bus. To be honest I kind of prefer driving down because you don't have to leave as early and you get home much earlier, particularly for night time games. It is really handy to have the option there though!

I only ask about the demand for the football because I rarely go to the away football games so I've no idea the kind of numbers travelling. It's expensive enough going to all the hurling, other counties hurling games and club hurling games.

The footballers bring big crowds with them. I'd say a couple of thousand traveled to Castlebar at least. At brekkie on Sunday morning in the hotel, all our fellow diners were Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,543 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The footballers bring big crowds with them. I'd say a couple of thousand traveled to Castlebar at least. At brekkie on Sunday morning in the hotel, all our fellow diners were Dubs.

The hurlers bring a big support too. Seen bus loads of dubs in Waterford when we play ye and can't wait to play ye again on the 13th march down here (the last time u played us in walsh park u gave us a good beating)

The hurlers have a core group of supporters who would follow them to Timbucktoo, if asked, and fair play to them for it. But it will always be dwarfed by the size of the football crowds. I wonder if the footballers not going on the road in the summer is a factor? The hurlers do, so there is a year round demand for a supporters bus. The footballers don't have that. Hopefully, this Junes Trip To Not Quite Tipp, changes all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Right you are. He wasn't really in the game at all, bar that great point and the few frees.

Anyone see the big red Expressway bus parked out side PP? T'was the Galway supporters bus. Tenner a head, leaves from Eyre Sq, picks up at 5 towns along the way & drops you right outside the ground. Smashing value. It's a shame there's nowt like that for our away league games in the big ball. I know FODH do them, for the hurling games, but I'm not aware of them for the footballers. Odd that !

There was a bus years ago - going back to late 80s now - that was run by priest in Mount Argus to all football matches.

As I recall it used to attract quite a few messers and often took a long time to fill after the match was over, and was plagued by stops on the way home. Once went to league game in Newry in middle of Winter and didn't get back to Dublin until 1am next day!

Ha ha ha, I don't doubt it. All it takes is for a few messers to ruin it for everyone else. I've heard some pretty epic tails of pure eegitry, from survivors of the trip to Longford in 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Ha ha ha, I don't doubt it. All it takes is for a few messers to ruin it for everyone else. I've heard some pretty epic tails of pure eegitry, from survivors of the trip to Longford in 2006.

I was on a bus eireann bus all set to go for the Longford game.Back in 2006 there was no windows to open, it was sweltering hot. Passengers were still waiting for bus driver to turn up two hours later.
    A new driver was found. Arrived way late missed 1st half. Whoever that bus driver was I still think they are a pr1ck for making a bus full of fans late.

I am not a complete Nutcase I just hold a grudge against this particular busdriver.
    Are these fan buses more reliable then Bus Eireann?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

The FODH bus is very strict and properly so. Nice crowd and good mixture of people including a few parents and other family of players. Billings (God rest him) was a regular and had some scurrilous stories I enjoyed eavesdropping on :-)

Usually get there a good hour before games, but straight onto the road afterwards.

When I was drinking I was often dying on the way to Thurles or Kilkenny or Waterford or wherever so would be anxiously looking at the phone, calculating if there would be time for a cure!

One morning on way to Thurles I think the bus stopped at hotel at around half eleven for "tea and sandwiches".

That left myself and the other garglers in a bit of a dilemma as it was before serving time and meant we probably wouldn't get to Thurles in time for a comfortable hour or so in the pub.

Anyway, as we gingerly entered the hotel, we were met by a barman who obviously knew his men, as they say! He took one look at the sorry heads on us and said: "I'd say now you boys aren't here for the soup and sandwiches"!

Sorted :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ah super Bonnie...... them were the days when an away day was a military exercise to find the pre match pints and it was twofold aim .. find a place that would be pouring pints before 12.30 and more importantly for a late throw in, a place that was lax on the observance of the "holy hour" .. jaysis brings me back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

For someone who sadly can't make it to Croker tomorrow night, what are the live options (will be following on twitter) that i can listen or watch?

BKWDR wrote: »
    For someone who sadly can't make it to Croker tomorrow night, what are the live options (will be following on twitter) that i can listen or watch?

Yeah it's on Setanta Ireland tomoorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Yeah it's on Setanta Ireland tomoorrow

Apols, i needed to add that i am only on mobile...

I have a bit of a cold. I actually had forgotten about the Monaghan match!
    I have brought the pre-paid series ticket. But it is on Setanta and all.
    This is going to test my loyalty to the Dubs.
    Do I want to sit in front of the telly with a hot whiskey or sit in the cold in croke park and watch the mighty monaghan put it up to the Dubs?

Croke Park obviously :P

Team for tamarra - and the return of Flynner

6922417c3aea21d715694272fe11d987.png

I have a bit of a cold. I actually had forgotten about the Monaghan match!
    I have brought the pre-paid series ticket. But it is on Setanta and all.
    This is going to test my loyalty to the Dubs.
    Do I want to sit in front of the telly with a hot whiskey or sit in the cold in croke park and watch the mighty monaghan put it up to the Dubs?

I have just four words to say to you.

Man Up 'Ta Fcuk !!!!

A paltry cold is no excuse to miss a Dubs game. If your entire body was covered in sores AND, you were bleeding profusely from all major body cavities, I may, just may give you a free pass.

But a mere cold?

Not a hope ! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Consey

Anyone got a spare premium going for tonight ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Can ya buy on the way in tonight?

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Can ya buy on the way in tonight?

No. It's Croke Park. You can never pay on the way in. You have to go to the ticket office, or a van if there is one, which I doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Was that as good as it looked on Twitter?

Feckin' women expecting you to do things on a Saturday. I wanted to watch it too.

Monaghan hard done by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

crackin game, open, fast skillful

A donegal man would have hated it, mind you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Connolly and Flynn need a good kick up the hole.

Far too lax again. What should have been a comfy win we made hard work of.

Conor McManus. Best forward in the country outside the Dublin lads by a mile. He's sublime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Bambi wrote: »
    crackin game, open, fast skillful

A donegal man would have hated it, mind you :D

I would say something about our scoring this year but very aware of what may come tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭ilovespudss

Slattsy wrote: »
    Connolly and Flynn need a good kick up the hole.

Far too lax again. What should have been a comfy win we made hard work of.

Conor McManus. Best forward in the country outside the Dublin lads by a mile. He's sublime.

Best forward in the country full stop.

Great game, fair play to both teams, really enjoyed that

I have just four words to say to you.

Man Up 'Ta Fcuk !!!!

A paltry cold is no excuse to miss a Dubs game. If your entire body was covered in sores AND, you were bleeding profusely from all major body cavities, I may, just may give you a free pass.

But a mere cold?

Not a hope ! :p
    Haha dead right we would never win Sam with that attitude. Although I did go with two wooly hats on me two jackets, under armour and a tracksuit. So I am not sure if it counts as manning up! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

A strange game. From 7-2 down to 1-11 to 0-9 up before falling behind by a point and then winning from there, it lacked Championship bite.

We got away with this win. Did not deserve it. Fair play to Monaghan. If that ball went in off the post they had it.