Anti-social behaviour that you just don't get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

crocs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

keying a car.... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

lawred2 wrote: »
    You're not a parent... your time might come. It might not.

I used to think like that.

I do not anymore. We have a two and a half year old and no amount of pleading, cajoling or discipline will keep him in line..

As a result - we now don't go out because we know there are those out there that just don't have a clue but have no issue letting us know all about it.

Well, that's the thing. My sibling has 3 kids under the age of 4, not an easy feat but she would never drag them somewhere that they don't need to be.

My SIL never saw the inside of a supermarket until she was 13 years old which is strange in my opinion but that's the choice her parents made. If we caused a ruckus anywhere, we were removed.

Babies cry, little kids make noise but there seems to be the idea that these little kids should be at places that in actual fact aren't suitable environments for them.

I also don't think that having kids automatically makes you immune to being annoyed by this. My sibling (the one who deals with 3 under 4 years old) is the first to roll her eyes if she's out on the rare evening and some one has their baby there crying and just ignoring it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

first world problems

ignorant for sure but hardly the worst on this thread

Oh, I must have missed the bit in the OP where it said this was a competition?

I'm breaking out the roll eyes...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

first world problems

ignorant for sure but hardly the worst on this thread

the thread title is "anti-social behaviour that you just dont get" not "the worlds worst present issues"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Getting in peoples faces for no reason.

You're not a parent... your time might come. It might not.

I used to think like that.

I do not anymore. We have a two and a half year old and no amount of pleading, cajoling or discipline will keep him in line..

As a result - we now don't go out because we know there are those out there that just don't have a clue but have no issue letting us know all about it.

My experience of small children - and what I would assume is obvious - has been that they are each as individual and unique as adults.

I've spent many a day and week in the company of a two year old and barely a peep out of her.

Also just because a person isn't a parent doesn't mean they can't have an opinion and indeed experience of children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

arayess wrote: »
    getting rid of waste like electrical gear costs.
    dumping is free.
    It cost me nothing when I brought a van load of electrical junk to my local civic amenity site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Roaring comments about strangers' appearance. Whether it's 'nice tits!' 'cut your hair!' or whatever. I can kind of get why that seems like an appealing thing to do to certain sorts of people, I really don't get why the reaction of all their friends is usually to act like they said something really funny. "Ha, did you hear what he said, he told yer man to cut his hair, jaysis he's one witty bastard'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Young lads walking around with their hands down their trackies:confused:

Roaring comments about strangers' appearance. Whether it's 'nice tits!' 'cut your hair!' or whatever. I can kind of get why that seems like an appealing thing to do to certain sorts of people, I really don't get why the reaction of all their friends is usually to act like they said something really funny. "Ha, did you hear what he said, he told yer man to cut his hair, jaysis he's one witty bastard'

I was trying to explain this to my OH, we're moving back to Dublin next month and he couldn't understand what I was trying to explain.

I said, 'sometimes people shout things at you on the street' and he says 'like what?' and all I could remember was once on O' Connell street when somebody said 'nice nose' to me (I have a weird nose). He was so confused. It's because it makes absolutely no sense! It's not funny!

I always just think, 'what a life to be so bored that your entertainment is shouting random comments about people in the street'

But then there was that ****er who was doing it on Grafton St. He thought he was hilarious. They had him do a show at College when I was there. I never understood why he got all that attention when a few of the lads in tracksuits just North of the river could give him a run for his money. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I was trying to explain this to my OH, we're moving back to Dublin next month and he couldn't understand what I was trying to explain.

I said, 'sometimes people shout things at you on the street' and he says 'like what?' and all I could remember was once on O' Connell street when somebody said 'nice nose' to me (I have a weird nose). He was so confused. It's because it makes absolutely no sense! It's not funny!

I always just think, 'what a life to be so bored that your entertainment is shouting random comments about people in the street'

But then there was that ****er who was doing it on Grafton St. He thought he was hilarious. They had him do a show at College when I was there. I never understood why he got all that attention when a few of the lads in tracksuits just North of the river could give him a run for his money. :confused:

It's definitely a feature of life in Limerick as well, though it tends to be a bit more surreal/poetic. Friend of mine was getting the bus up from Cork when he was a student so he had a big backpack of laundry with him. Some lad was standing at the door of the bus giving everyone getting off the usual line about 'sorry scuse me I need to get the bus but I was robbed earlier' or whatever, wasn't having much luck so by the time he got to my friend he was fed up and pissed off and went 'Yeah look at you with your fcuking BACKPACK, fcuk off!' :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

When evil thugs kill and torture dogs and cats. I read some horrible stories about this happening in Ireland every now and then in newspapers

Like most non psychopaths these stories absolutely horrify me. I just can't comprehend how any human being could get a thrill out of committing such heinous crimes on a dumb, defenceless creature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

My experience of small children - and what I would assume is obvious - has been that they are each as individual and unique as adults.

I've spent many a day and week in the company of a two year old and barely a peep out of her.

Also just because a person isn't a parent doesn't mean they can't have an opinion and indeed experience of children.

I'm not sure where you got the notion that I was saying that someone who was not a parent was not entitled to hold any opinion...

I said that I used to think the exact same way as the piece I quoted.

Now after a year and a half of being beaten by my son.. I no longer think that way. Can't beat personal experience.

I'm not sure where you got the notion that I was saying that someone who was not a parent was not entitled to hold any opinion...

Now after being beaten by my son.. I no longer think that way. Can't beat personal experience.

It was probably the part where you said 'just don't have a clue'.

People who don't have kids mostly don't live in a bubble where they only experience children on television or the likes. Many of us have large families or like myself have jobs working with children. Not the same as living with them 24/7 but far from not having a clue.

Now after a year and a half of being beaten by my son.. I no longer think that way. Can't beat personal experience.

I echoe what R.D just posted.

I've had personal experience. Like many others I'm sure. But really the point I was trying to make was that not every two year old will run rings around their parent/adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

People clearing their nose then spitting it out, or spitting in general, disgusting

Young lads walking around with their hands down their trackies:confused:

listen, they have small willies and are prone to losing them, dont victimise them anymore than they are already! :D

aunties, uncles, grandads, etc however are rarely the people that dictate how a child is rared and punished for wrong doing. generally they are babysitters and 'lets go to the park / play centre' people.

Not disagreeing with your comments concerning controlling kids, just that parenting is a different kettle of fish altogheter and what you see as lazy parenting can have all sorts of reasons that you dont know / see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Public toilets - sh*tting on the seat, sh*tting on the floor or deliberately blocking the toilet by stuffing it with toilet roll.

Often see this in work and not just public toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Often see this in work and not just public toilets.

Every Monday morning... whoever are in over the weekend are animals

esforum wrote: »
    aunties, uncles, grandads, etc however are rarely the people that dictate how a child is rared and punished for wrong doing. generally they are babysitters and 'lets go to the park / play centre' people.

Not disagreeing with your comments concerning controlling kids, just that parenting is a different kettle of fish altogheter and what you see as lazy parenting can have all sorts of reasons that you dont know / see.

Of course it's different for every family but the poster implied that people without children 'just don't have a clue'.

I'm fairly sure in your above example that a granda or granny know what it's like to rare a child.

In my opinion, people should have a right to a peaceful existence in our shared environment. There shouldn't be a dismissal of 'you don't have children, therefore you don't get a right to have a say in anything.' But to be honest, any parents I know can't tell me what legitimate reason any parent would have for letting their child roar and scream in a restaurant at 9pm at night. As i mentioned earlier my SIL, mother of 3 young children, has said before 'oh for ****s sake, what do they have that baby out at this time of night for? Would they not take it home?'.

I mean maybe they have a reason but even a fellow parent can get annoyed with it. When does being understanding stop and accepting obnoxious behaviour begin?

Of course it's different for every family but the poster implied that people without children 'just don't have a clue'.

I'm fairly sure in your above example that a granda or granny know what it's like to rare a child.

In my opinion, people should have a right to a peaceful existence in our shared environment. There shouldn't be a dismissal of 'you don't have children, therefore you don't get a right to have a say in anything.' But to be honest, any parents I know can't tell me what legitimate reason any parent would have for letting their child roar and scream in a restaurant at 9pm at night. As i mentioned earlier my SIL, mother of 3 young children, has said before 'oh for ****s sake, what do they have that baby out at this time of night for? Would they not take it home?'.

I mean maybe they have a reason but even a fellow parent can get annoyed with it. When does being understanding stop and accepting obnoxious behaviour begin?

where did I say grandparents have no experience of raising children? can you quote me please? I said they rarely decide how the child in question is raised and disciplined.

a child is brought out for a family meal because the sitter cancels and then gets collic following its bottle, now theres a reason of the top of my head in 5 seconds.

I was only trying to clarify something. You have a gripe with something you dont possess making noise in your ear shot, fine we get it. I live in an apartment, I hate people cutting their grass while Im snoozing and so on and so forth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Public toilets - sh*tting on the seat, sh*tting on the floor or deliberately blocking the toilet by stuffing it with toilet roll.

Don't forget the toilet handle and toilet door handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

I think I know who you mean. He could never handle it when drunks or beggars would come around his crowd when he was performing. "F*ck this! Dublin wit - no such thing! I don't even need to be doing this! I'm just trying to promote Vicar Street!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

People standing on the bridges of a motorway and throwing rocks at the cars below.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The Galway Races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Not the most anti-social of behaviours but young fellas wearing their trousers around their knees so we can see what fancy underwear they are wearing annoys the feck out of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Chewing gum under everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

When ASB becomes criminal behaviour, there is still little response from the Guards.

The scumbags know this, so I will ask what is the solution?

The broken window thing in NY comes to mind. Ignore the minor things and it will escalate beyond all proportions.

This is happening.