Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

mdwexford wrote: »
    Does it drive anyone else nuts when people say 'thrash talk' instead of trash talk?:pac:

i was sure it was spelled trash talk but then i seen all of ye spell it thrash talk so i followed the crowd!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

could be just me but the press conference made me less excited, Diaz seems so uninterested and basically there for the money ,
    Never seen him seem so unconfident,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

JJayoo wrote: »
    McG v Diaz has made it onto the BBC news app.

I always check this app when.I need to.kill.some time.and it's the first time any MMA related topic has showed up.

The un beaten feather weight champion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

could be just me but the press conference made me less excited, Diaz seems so uninterested and basically there for the money ,

Probably why it doesn't matter is because everyone knows on fight night he's gonna come and have a go,and will go down fighting if he goes down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,254 ✭✭✭SteM

akelly02 wrote: »
    i was sure it was spelled trash talk but then i seen all of ye spell it thrash talk so i followed the crowd!!

No its chrowd. You followed the chrowd...

Haha just seen video of Nick saying if nate didn't take fight he would have @170lb.

Was only thinking last night be mad if it was nate v Conor and gunnar v Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

and who in their right mind would turn down a big pay-day in his position. anyway i thought he handled the presser pretty well. he may not be the most eloquent of speakers, but he seemed wise to McGregors tactics and didn't seem fazed by it. he was impressive in his last fight against Michael Johnson, so as long as he's kept himself in shape, we could be set for a pretty decent fight

I hope this goes to ground as good an all as nates boxing is, he won't last long with conor. Bjj is his best hope here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

He doesn't like all that press conference stuff. Come on people know your Diaz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I think Conor enjoyed the press conference more cos he knew Diaz could handle the **** talk and give a bit back. Looked like he was having great craic.

Plus I think it's the first time I've heard him say he has respect for his opponent before the fight, he seems to like the Diaz's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Some absolute garbage posted lately this new thread is cursed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Plus I think it's the first time I've heard him say he has respect for his opponent before the fight, he seems to like the Diaz's.

For sure he does, I think it was after the Holloway fight when he was being interviewed after and he asked what were some of the positives of coming to the US were and what he was looking forward to doing there in the future. One of the first things he said was he would like to train with the Diaz brothers.

Nick and Nate are the only other true flim flam boxers in the UFC and it wouldn't surprise me one bit if Conor's goading style while fighting is a bit inspired from the likes of Nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Davei141 wrote: »
    He doesn't like all that press conference stuff. Come on people know your Diaz.

I know that but he normal still comes across confident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I like his mental strength, his confidence, his work ethic - and I don't mind the banter ... but why bring that he has loads of money every few mins into it ?
    smacks of immaturity and insecurity - which is really paradoxical with this guy.

People get offended too easily by **** going on in mma (its a sports entertainment business) im guilty of it myself,couldnt care what McGregor talks about or anyone else Diaz saying everyone is on steroids ect couldnt care less their only trying to get viewers by **** talking,when you meet 99% of fighters they are very cool and down to earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

I know that but he normal still comes across confident

He is like that quite a lot. I thought he came across pretty well and chilled out. Certainly played his part in a hugely entertaining presser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

To be fair rda's injury could be a stupid injury. If he was throwing 100% kicks out this close to the fight. But thats only something his camp knows. But its not up to me judge others training techniques.

I sprained my foot badly in light sparing before a fight. Foot got caught between someones neck and shoulder. Twat decided to kick my other leg from under me.

Took about 12 weeks to be able to kick on it at 100%.

**** happens.

Diaz to pocket an easy million and to **** off to bellator.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Gamebred wrote: »

Its a few days out before a McGregor fight. This is the norm and there is always going to be an influx of interest, the return of the people on the bandwagon, the return of those looking to put down McGregor and an increase in the ratio of garbage to normal posts! Its all part of the experience. :pac:

In fact I would go as to say this is even mild compared to whats been posted before other fights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

rusty cole wrote: »
    It reads superior if you've an inferior mind, otherwise it's half banter half point making. I didn't mean to be a dick and I read your above post as borderline lets agree we were both wrong so on we go.

we're all good as they say in the states!

Haha cheers man. Suppose I took your reply to me too seriously didn't really see the banter to it at the time :P Apologies :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Axwell wrote: »
    Its a few days out before a McGregor fight. This is the norm and there is always going to be an influx of interest, the return of the people on the bandwagon, the return of those looking to put down McGregor and an increase in the ratio of garbage to normal posts! Its all part of the experience. :pac:

In fact I would go as to say this is even mild compared to whats been posted before other fights :D

Less than 24 hours since the other thread shut & this thread has about 20 pages(of sh*te lol) and its still 9 days to the fight :eek: I'm not even attempting to read through it and think its about time not to bother with the McGregor thread :D See y'all in here in about 3 weeks when things calm down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Oh sweet sweet irony.

John_D80 wrote: »
    Oh sweet sweet irony.

I know more about martial arts than 99% of the morons posting rubbish on here about RDA's injury,I might be a Conor fanboy alright but im not ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

I know more about martial arts than 99% of the morons posting rubbish on here about RDA's injury,I might be a Conor fanboy alright but im not ignorant.

Good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Here we go again,

The usual, I know more about MMA than you or I've been watching it longer than any of you :rolleyes::rolleyes: No one cares and it's so childish

Must be a full moon all the clowns online today,

anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

anyways

Well done Conor, about time someone spoke the truth to one of them TMZ clowns. All I ever see them do is bother famous sportspeople at airports at inconvenient times, forcing a camera onto them and expecting them to respond.

Vile human beings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

anyways

Good man Conor, calling them out on their baiting bullsh*t. Probably the same clowns asking the fighters what they were going to spend the money on. Surprised they didn't ask them "who they were wearing".

Sensei segal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

That video is epic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Mod:
    This thread is only 24 hours old and already we've had 2 posters yellow carded and one poster forum banned and then subsequently site banned.
    Childish bullshít isn't going to be tolerated in this thread. The last 2 McGregor threads have been a mess, let's try keep this one civil.
    Use common sense when posting and don't be a dick.

Gamebred, as already stated in the OP, this rubbish isn't welcome in the forum either. Give it a rest.