Do you tip takeaway delivery drivers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

RobertKK wrote: »
    Never, as I never get takeaway since they don't deliver in rural Ireland.

I do get my groceries delivered but that is paid by card so I never tip them. I had paid a delivery fee.

IF I indulged in takeaway (which I would never ever touch) and IF they could find me they would deserve a medal... When I needed an ambulance up here, they got lost in the back lanes and were thinking they would have to call the Gardai to lead them in....many miles from any such ... thing!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 758 ✭✭✭JacquesSon

There was a particular take-away I used order from regularly in Dublin, it was a small place and ocassionally it was the owner who delivered. I used always tip but one day I only had the exact change on me and he gave me a look as if to say "What? No tip?"

Never used them again. If I tip it's because I want to but if I feel someone is taking it for granted they get nothing from me again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Yes you said it minium wage. Who the hell doesn't tip 10%+ in a restaurant after good service? There is nothing 'Yank' about it. I live in Germany you tip your bartender, waitress, taxi driver, barber even in fast food outlets you at least round up the total. Naturally you tip your delivery driver when the food arrives prompt and hot. Why the hell wouldn't you?

The point that poster was making was that why are we expected to tip waiters/waitresses if the are getting at least minimum wage. Why don't we tip the person in the newsagents for example? In fact, am I correct that people working in "hospitality" get a higher hourly rate? If that is the case then there should be even less incentive to tip over said person in the newsagent.

Tipping restaurant staff into the US has always been required because waiters'/waitresses' minimum wage is considerably lower than the "standard" minimum wage. So, culturally it's the norm, as these people depend on tips for any decent take home pay. That's not the case here, so technically, tipping should not be required. Furthermore I hope it doesn't get like the US, where the tipping culture has gone from the sublime to the ridiculous.

Saying all that, suffering from white middle class guilt, means I tip all the time for what is generally mediocre service.

Before I done deliveries I thought it was a 90% norm to tip the delivery driver so I always did a couple euro even when their is a delivery charge. I'll be awaiting for the "why should we tip for food to be delivered agenda" from some on here but seriously an odd euro wouldn't go a miss when some spend 30 euro on an order

Yeah it would. I too have to pay for my daughters creche so why would an odd euro be better in your pocket than mine? If you aren't being paid enough then it's between you and your employer, not me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

[…]
    Tipping restaurant staff into the US has always been required because waiters'/waitresses' minimum wage is considerably lower than the "standard" minimum wage. So, culturally it's the norm, as these people depend on tips for any decent take home pay. That's not the case here, so technically, tipping should not be required. Furthermore I hope it doesn't get like the US, where the tipping culture has gone from the sublime to the ridiculous.
    […]
    The thing about that is the tipping came before the 'tipped minimum wage'. The prevalence of tipping was used by the proponents of that law to justify paying customarily tipped employees less. It should also be noted that employers may only pay the tipped minimum wage where the sum of the tips and the wage at least equal the general minimum wage - it is illegal for tipped employees to end up taking home less than those on the general minimum wage.

On the subject of 'ridiculous', try absorbing the minutiae of this regrettable site before you order another pizza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Speedwell wrote: »
    Always, but I'm a Yank. I know that the "delivery charge" is a way for the restaurant to recoup the costs of hiring drivers and packaging for takeaway, not a tip for the driver. If I'm going to indulge in delivery food anyway and pay the delivery charge itself, I'm not going to be too cheap to toss in a euro or two for the driver, who is probably the lowest-paid person in the chain as it is.

I can't tell you how much it annoys me to be considered cheap for paying the asking price for a service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Off licence delivery? Where? I need this.

Finglas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

seamus wrote: »
    If the food has arrived within 40 minutes I'll usually throw them a euro or two. If not, they get nothing.

Or if I've ordered online and then the restaurant or the driver claims there's a "delivery surcharge" they get no tip and a complaint to just-eat.

40 minutes? Jaysus. My local dominos are slow if the hand hits 20mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

I don't really understand the argument for "tipping for better service" with deliveries.

Surely the amount of time it takes is dictated by the kitchen and traffic?
    The delivery person can't get out to you any quicker than allowed by those and if it's late then it's not the driver's fault either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

8 Bit Girl wrote: »
    Answer the door in a tshirt, no bra- my food never arrives cold :p
    ^^^^^Probably an obese dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Yes you said it minium wage. Who the hell doesn't tip 10%+ in a restaurant after good service? There is nothing 'Yank' about it. I live in Germany you tip your bartender, waitress, taxi driver, barber even in fast food outlets you at least round up the total. Naturally you tip your delivery driver when the food arrives prompt and hot. Why the hell wouldn't you?

After good service???? As in what? You ask for vinegar and the wee girl manages to walk 5 yards to bring it. She brings you that small bottle of lukewarm harp that you are being charged a fiver for???

That is what they are paid for. I assume the waiting staff don't volunteer to just come in and stand around an eating establishment every night. They surely must have some job description.

It is very much a yank thing. Just because they do something because of dodgy employment laws doesn't mean we have to. And where does the 10% come in anyway? A figure just pulled out of your arse??? 😀.

What about a bus driver? Why doesn't he get tipped? He provides a service, good service even...... Or maybe he just does his job.. Just like a waiter or a delivery driver..

The term good service is completely ridiculous. If you are paying big bucks already for a meal in a restaurant then getting hot chips and some red sauce is hardly good service, more as just what you pay for in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I would usually give a euro or two.

I remember times I used to order food when I was in university. I would usually walk past the place so make the order in person and pay, then walk home and the food would arrive a bit later.

It was always the same delivery guy.Every time, he would ask me to pay for the food, and every time I would say I had already paid. He would make a pretence of checking the receipt or some list or something, and feign surprise when he saw that I had indeed paid already.

One time I didn't pay in the shop as I didn't have enough money so I said I would pay the delivery staff. To see what would happen, when he arrived and he asked for the amount as usual, I said I had already paid, as usual.

He didn't need to check anything that time to be certain I hadn't paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Never fcuk with the people who handle your food.

It's a good lesson to live your life by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

mdwexford wrote: »
    Never fcuk with the people who handle your food.

It's a good lesson to live your life by.

Fair enough but I don't think not tipping could be considered fecking with someone. If a driver or waitress fecked with your food for this reason then a word with the management would soon enable them to add the word unemployed to their cv.

I don't think any eating establishment wants it getting around that staff mess about with their food..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

NiallBoo wrote: »
    I don't really understand the argument for "tipping for better service" with deliveries.

Surely the amount of time it takes is dictated by the kitchen and traffic?
    The delivery person can't get out to you any quicker than allowed by those and if it's late then it's not the driver's fault either.
    If the driver heads out with 3 or 4 deliveries, and you are known as a non tipper, the simple fact is you will be getting your food last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

masti123 wrote: »
    To all the sneaky delivery drivers that think the longer you fumble with your money the more chance there is of me saying ".. eh.. sure its grand, cya" - think again.
    The longer you fumble, the longer i want to stand there and watch you do it. My record is a very awkward 12 minutes with his two trips back to the car for change.

Did you then complain about your food being cold? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭anothernight

pablo128 wrote: »
    If the driver heads out with 3 or 4 deliveries, and you are known as a non tipper, the simple fact is you will be getting your food last.

When I worked in a takeaway, the drivers would follow whichever route they considered most efficient. Tipping shouldn't be expected for standard service; it's supposed to be a reward for outstanding service (and I'm saying that as a waitress). I would consider it very unprofessional to deliberately worsen the level of service just because the customer had the cheek to not pay more money than the asking price for the service.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Chucktastic

I usually round up to the nearest if it's a few Euro. If it's a multiple of 10 on the nose I might part with 2-3 extra. Providing the service is fast and the food it hot that is.
    Not too bothered if I don't have it handy TBH. I'd hate to see Ireland go the road of the automatic tip, which isn't even good for the server/driver in the long term as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Here's a tip for all you fat , lazy, takeaway munchers; put on your clothes (over your pyjamas if necessary), a pair of shoes, and WALK to the takeaway, the exercise will do you good, and possibly lessen the odds of your being found some day merged with your sofa, and still clutching half a can of Bavaria and a Bhindi Bhaji.

(If you found this tip useful, please make a voluntary contribution to my Paypal account)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

osarusan wrote:
    He didn't need to check anything that time to be certain I hadn't paid.

osarusan wrote:
    One time I didn't pay in the shop as I didn't have enough money so I said I would pay the delivery staff. To see what would happen, when he arrived and he asked for the amount as usual, I said I had already paid, as usual.

Did you tell that story before in another tipping thread? Rings a bell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Joe prim wrote: »
    Here's a tip for all you fat , lazy, takeaway munchers; put on your clothes (over your pyjamas if necessary), a pair of shoes, and WALK to the takeaway, the exercise will do you good, and possibly lessen the odds of your being found some day merged with your sofa, and still clutching half a can of Bavaria and a Bhindi Bhaji.

(If you found this tip useful, please make a voluntary contribution to my Paypal account)

some people may find it difficult enough to reach and open the front door due to the severity of the hangover never mind trying to navigate through civilisation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Speedwell wrote: »
    Always, but I'm a Yank. I know that the "delivery charge" is a way for the restaurant to recoup the costs of hiring drivers and packaging for takeaway, not a tip for the driver. If I'm going to indulge in delivery food anyway and pay the delivery charge itself, I'm not going to be too cheap to toss in a euro or two for the driver, who is probably the lowest-paid person in the chain as it is.

Both the delivery charge AND tip are the drivers, and least in any of the Chinese Take Away I've worked.

When I worked in a takeaway, the drivers would follow whichever route they considered most efficient. Tipping shouldn't be expected for standard service; it's supposed to be a reward for outstanding service (and I'm saying that as a waitress). I would consider it very unprofessional to deliberately worsen the level of service just because the customer had the cheek to not pay more money than the asking price for the service.

Am I getting this right. You have never worked as a delivery.driver, but consider them getting tips from their customers unprofessional. However in your role as a waitress you would accept a tip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Am I getting this right. You have never worked as a delivery.driver, but consider them getting tips from their customers unprofessional. However in your role as a waitress you would accept a tip?
    That's not what that says at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

No, you're not getting it right.

The post was quite clear - worsening the level of service as retribution for not getting a tip is unprofessional. Do you disagree with that?

maudgonner wrote: »
    No, you're not getting it right.

The post was quite clear - worsening the level of service as retribution for not getting a tip is unprofessional. Do you disagree with that?

As you have made the point, I will address it.

The driver goes out with a delivery with multiple drops. There are 2 ways to do it, go to the furthest first, or the nearest first. The driver will do either way, depending on who tips them. And yes, if a house is known for never tipping, it will generally be done last.

I know, because I used to accompany a friend while he did deliveries in Ballyfermot. The cheapskates might do well to remember the cost of running the car, fuel, tyres, clutch etc, along with the ever present risk of being robbed at knifepoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Did you tell that story before in another tipping thread? Rings a bell.

Very possibly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Chucktastic

Joe prim wrote: »
    Here's a tip for all you fat , lazy, takeaway munchers;
    So this doesn't apply to us slim, fit, takeaway munchers then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Usally, the odd time I get delivery, €1 or €2 if your prompt and quick. Last delivery was made in under 20 minutes, driver was in such a hurry, he was half back down my drive with me calling him back to give him his tip.

If you have taken 40 odd minutes, and you have rang a couple of times to find the house, with the second conversation being told you are on my doorstep ringing the bell, when you are clearly not, I will wait on my doorstep when you eventually arrive whilst you fumble for my 50c or €1 change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

I pay x as advertised. Why would I add percentages to that and only for some professions and not others?

We'll have the balls to tell your waitress/waiter before you order that you don't tip. Be fair at least but of course someone like you would not. You sound like the type of person who would be first to ask for the management if they thought you had bad service.

Do you get a Christmas bonus? How would you feel if didn't get one after all your work contact doesn't say you'll get one.